• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What does the recent HDB loan changes mean to Singaporeans

WikiTemasek

http://wikitemasek.org/what-does-the-recent-hdb-loan-changes-mean-to-singaporeans/

What does the recent HDB loan changes mean to Singaporeans

HDB prices are still rising despite the slew of cooling measures taken up by the HDB and MAS. Currently, supplies of new flats have been ramp up and an Additional Buyer’s Stamp Duty of 3% over the higher-value property have been imposed. These measures however have proven ineffective as the HDB resale prices continue to climb a further 2 percent in the recent quarter-to-quarter report. The latest changes to curb rising property prices is adopted by the Monetary Authority of Singapore and it:

1) Limits mortgage loans to a maximum of 35 years

2) Decreases the Loan-to-Value(LTV) ratio for loans exceeding 30 years

You may read the exact details of the new housing loan ruling here [Source]

The above measures are steps in the right direction but it could spell disastrous if the housing prices do not drop.

Singaporean HDB flats buyers will:

a) either need to pay more in cash or CPF for deposits in order to lengthen the borrowing period

b) or pay more in cash or CPF for monthly mortgage loans in order to shorten the borrowing period

Either way, both options put HDB flats buyers to pay more in the short term. It brings a question if the HDB is short of cash? This is worrying because somewhere in the national coffers could be leaking in order to warrant a drastic measure that looks like the HDB is desperate for cash. Did Temasek Holdings lose money again?

Nonetheless, the impact will be disastrous if the HDB prices doesn’t come down because the effect is equally disastrous suppose prices remain stagnant. With reference to the two options, if the HDB prices do not come down, young married couples:

a) will delay marriage and baby plans in order to save for higher deposits

b) will have to pay cash to top up the outstanding mortgage loans which will most likely exceeds their monthly CPF contribution given the increased mortgage loan due to the shortening of borrowing period. Some owners may even go homeless if they become unemployed and lose their CPF contributions.

As these moves are really risky, the PAP government better ensure this works or else it will worsen existing problems to a stage where housing prices continue rising and people either start over-stressing themselves to save more in the short term to top up the cash difference or give up altogether the idea of home ownership. The low interest environment in Singapore is somewhat hinted by the Finance Minister that it is here to stay for at least the next few years. This is however seriously jeopardizing people’s retirement as the CPF continues to pay interest rate(2.5%) below inflation rate(3% to 5%).

All these seems to fit into the same old picture that the overcrowded nation simply have too many Permanent Residents and New Citizens competing for a limited resource(housing in this case). The effects of overcrowding on housing is rising property prices, and when the Prime Minister tells you Singapore can take 10% more people by 2016, we should expect to see property prices rising at least a few percentage point more in the coming years. The root cause of all these cooling measures is an overpopulation, or unpopularly, the influx of foreigners. Quick fixes like the one above doesn’t addresses the fact that amenities are simply insufficient to contain such a capacity demanded by the PAP in order to get more votes from new citizens to keep them in power. It is all about political domination and the PAP’s survival for the next 55 years, and this Singapore wouldn’t be a pretty sight in the years to come.

it means sinkie are still screwed.

The only way is to lower down the HDB pricing. and give priority to citizens.

But why get a flat which is rent out to you. Sinkie dun own the flat. it can't be pass down to the next generation. Sinkies are suckers.

sunlee2002

Crazy people..Went to the sinkie banks and took a look at their singapore home loan rates. :eek: Work so hard their whole lives to pay off a shoebox flat. Waaaah...worth it a not. Come to JB, can buy house, land and car for a fraction of what they are paying.

it means sinkie are still screwed.

The only way is to lower down the HDB pricing. and give priority to citizens.

But why get a flat which is rent out to you. Sinkie dun own the flat. it can't be pass down to the next generation. Sinkies are suckers.

Tonychat your situation is the best. Staying with parents forever.

Hamster83

http://wikitemasek.org/what-does-the-recent-hdb-loan-changes-mean-to-singaporeans/

The above measures are steps in the right direction but it could spell disastrous if the housing prices do not drop.

Singaporean HDB flats buyers will:

a) either need to pay more in cash or CPF for deposits in order to lengthen the borrowing period

b) or pay more in cash or CPF for monthly mortgage loans in order to shorten the borrowing period

Either way, both options put HDB flats buyers to pay more in the short term. It brings a question if the HDB is short of cash? This is worrying because somewhere in the national coffers could be leaking in order to warrant a drastic measure that looks like the HDB is desperate for cash. Did Temasek Holdings lose money again?

Nonetheless, the impact will be disastrous if the HDB prices doesn’t come down because the effect is equally disastrous suppose prices remain stagnant. With reference to the two options, if the HDB prices do not come down, young married couples:

a) will delay marriage and baby plans in order to save for higher deposits

b) will have to pay cash to top up the outstanding mortgage loans which will most likely exceeds their monthly CPF contribution given the increased mortgage loan due to the shortening of borrowing period. Some owners may even go homeless if they become unemployed and lose their CPF contributions.

This is however seriously jeopardizing people’s retirement as the CPF continues to pay interest rate(2.5%) below inflation rate(3% to 5%).

Nonsensical post.

A) (either need to pay more in cash or CPF for deposits in order to lengthen the borrowing period) Singaporean who can't afford will just have to pay less for their houses, which means reducing the demand for the overall population who can't afford it. If not how you expect the price to reduce if you do not reduce the ability of citizens to use borrowed money to purchase present day goods.

B) (or pay more in cash or CPF for monthly mortgage loans in order to shorten the borrowing period) If you can't afford, jolly well dun buy la, KNN. Using borrowed money will kill people actually if they are unable to pay in the future.

a) will delay marriage and baby plans in order to save for higher deposits. (You are supposed to live within your means, If a citizen decides to sacrifice kids for an extra 10m square leg space, this rule doesn't matter a difference, it is their values)

b) will have to pay cash to top up the outstanding mortgage loans which will most likely exceeds their monthly CPF contribution given the increased mortgage loan due to the shortening of borrowing period. Some owners may even go homeless if they become unemployed and lose their CPF contributions. (That's why spend less of borrowed money and get a smaller flat, if not really become homeless in the future if can not repay.

Stop misleading people really. The comments reflect bad financial planning.

if you stay away from sinkieland and sinkies, and move to a country where real human being lives, you will not have such problems.

Fook Seng

if you stay away from sinkieland and sinkies, and move to a country where real human being lives, you will not have such problems.

If you have really migrated as you have claimed and are enjoying it, why do you need to constantly seek recognition in almost every post you make? A psychologist will tell you it is an obsession.

wow, you are so smart, i am still in sinkieland.

WikiTemasek

Nonsensical post.

A) (either need to pay more in cash or CPF for deposits in order to lengthen the borrowing period) Singaporean who can't afford will just have to pay less for their houses, which means reducing the demand for the overall population who can't afford it. If not how you expect the price to reduce if you do not reduce the ability of citizens to use borrowed money to purchase present day goods.

B) (or pay more in cash or CPF for monthly mortgage loans in order to shorten the borrowing period) If you can't afford, jolly well dun buy la, KNN. Using borrowed money will kill people actually if they are unable to pay in the future.

a) will delay marriage and baby plans in order to save for higher deposits. (You are supposed to live within your means, If a citizen decides to sacrifice kids for an extra 10m square leg space, this rule doesn't matter a difference, it is their values)

b) will have to pay cash to top up the outstanding mortgage loans which will most likely exceeds their monthly CPF contribution given the increased mortgage loan due to the shortening of borrowing period. Some owners may even go homeless if they become unemployed and lose their CPF contributions. (That's why spend less of borrowed money and get a smaller flat, if not really become homeless in the future if can not repay.

Stop misleading people really. The comments reflect bad financial planning.

Hi Hamster83
Let me reword your setences:

A) Singaporean couples who can't afford housing will be deterred from buying and hence reducing the demand. Are you sure we are targeting the right group? This is not a 10m square leg space, this is basic home ownership. Unless you can reason why HDB do not play an important part to family-building, you are not helping the building of birth rate here.

B) The issue is not getting a bigger or smaller flat, but simply getting a flat. Asking people to spend less on borrowed money when they have no choice but expensive housing is a disconnect. If there is any bad financial planning in it, the PAP is the one framing all the wrong conditions in the first place.