• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Victimization @ Singapore Polytechnic Ref Re-employment - Heap of Shit in the Library

Hans168

I know someone who worked 41 years in SP. When the person reached 62, there was plain denial of re-hire despite having got to that position thru good performance and promotions. There was even a long service award by the Minister MOE. However the director of library is such a arsehole that a few years before reaching 62, she orchestrated a series of events to tar her performance appraisals such that a re-employment became difficult if not impossible!! Upon appeal to SP principal and MOM a re-employment contract for 2 years was reluctantly offered .... on condition that the incumbent met up with the director (library)!!! Though doing the same job at same position, pay was cut some 35%, leave reduced almost 80% and medical benefits shrunk considerably. The re-hire contract was shafted down the director's rear end.
So what was Amy Khor talking about when she said most took up the re-hire with no cut in pay ...(& presumbably benefits????). Clearly the re-hire policy as mooted by PSC and NTuc stinks and govt is now doing damage control and back paddling!!!!!!!! Why was there a need to drastically cut pay and perks after crossing the 62 years line????????????? Did't LKY worked till 91 without pay or perk cut???

Re: Victimization @ Singapore Polytechnic Ref Re-employment - Heap of Shit in the Lib

Seriously, by the time u retire, u should have figured out a income stream that does not involve working. E.g. rental income, dividends from investments etc.

Hans168

Re: Victimization @ Singapore Polytechnic Ref Re-employment - Heap of Shit in the Lib

Seriously, by the time u retire, u should have figured out a income stream that does not involve working. E.g. rental income, dividends from investments etc.

many have Plan B but inflation and COL is fast and brutal only millionare ministers escape unharm

cocobobo

heh...

at least the director bothered to take effort to justify not renewing her contract.

i have many older friends in glcs, after working there since their 20s, simply got put into contract positions at 62 automatically, then about 9 months later given remaining pay till end of year and asked to leave by weekend.

worse, there are those let go in govt depts from their mid 40s despite doing their jobs ok. Just that they need to jump through more hoops to meet same KPIs as years before. Bizarre. Work is supposed to be easier the older/more experienced you get but here its opposite.

Reddog

I know someone who worked 41 years in SP. When the person reached 62, there was plain denial of re-hire despite having got to that position thru good performance and promotions. There was even a long service award by the Minister MOE. However the director of library is such a arsehole that a few years before reaching 62, she orchestrated a series of events to tar her performance appraisals such that a re-employment became difficult if not impossible!! Upon appeal to SP principal and MOM a re-employment contract for 2 years was reluctantly offered .... on condition that the incumbent met up with the director (library)!!! Though doing the same job at same position, pay was cut some 35%, leave reduced almost 80% and medical benefits shrunk considerably. The re-hire contract was shafted down the director's rear end.
So what was Amy Khor talking about when she said most took up the re-hire with no cut in pay ...(& presumbably benefits????). Clearly the re-hire policy as mooted by PSC and NTuc stinks and govt is now doing damage control and back paddling!!!!!!!! Why was there a need to drastically cut pay and perks after crossing the 62 years line????????????? Did't LKY worked till 91 without pay or perk cut???

Hans, it is not valid to use LKY as a comparison. He was unique and worked to the Japanese invaders during WWII, when thousands of Singaporean were killed by same LKY's Japanese employers. Incomparable !!!

Back when I was younger I would encourage people to vote in more opposition MPs because if they didn't, the day would come when they would be the victims of PAP policies.

Well most didn't listen & preferred to discuse topics like where to go for holidays, car prices,....:o

If you have supported the PAP & their GLCs, then you really can't complain. Unfortunately it's too late now because the PAP is bringing in new tenants to replace the old & used up tenants.

batman1

The 70% have voted for the MIW.So,no point complaining now.The 6 Oppp MPs really cannot do much and in most cases would be ridiculed by the MIW Ministers and MPs.
The worst thing is everyday kenna bombared by the deceiving and misleading MIW propaganda.The fact is The Employer and MIW have been victimising the Employees at the workplace.The MIW think the Sinkees are stupid.Ok we should not be complaining anymore and accept whatever the MIW are doing.

lifeafter41

Frankly, at age 62 he/she should be happily retired and go for travelling with their spouse. Why still want to bother about work.
Long service award nowadays don't count for anything, even if one worked for 4 decades or more.......

However, as in any company, once a precedent is set, for all subsequent re-contract, will come back and haunt them.
What goes around, comes around.............

bigboss

....Why was there a need to drastically cut pay and perks after crossing the 62 years line????????????? Did't LKY worked till 91 without pay or perk cut???

The pappies are experts in the game of induced self resignation. The pay cut is the first line of inducement. You take pay cut, see how long can you tahan. More work load on lesser pay, see how long you can tahan. Finally, the old employee kuai kuai and lan lan will pack off himself and leave. The pappies will employ a foreign shit to take over.

Who dared to play the inducement game with LKY?

Back when I was younger I would encourage people to vote in more opposition MPs because if they didn't, the day would come when they would be the victims of PAP policies.

Well most didn't listen & preferred to discuse topics like where to go for holidays, car prices,....:o

If you have supported the PAP & their GLCs, then you really can't complain. Unfortunately it's too late now because the PAP is bringing in new tenants to replace the old & used up tenants.

Not that we hate the PAP or the GLC's or whatever they have created over the last 5 decades, I have encouraged people In know & work with to vote in people, who will give them a REAL VOICE in parliament, not overpaid parrots who squawked the same lyrics but in different genres & of the same colour "Ghostly white".. We can't complain, we got what we wished for & live with it.

The discussed topics?? RTS, TCS not Mediacorpse actresses etc...houses, bags..fashions...cars...& most importantly.....4D TOTO numbers....

What their lives will be in 5 yrs, 10 years or beyond....& what rights they have as a citizen or the chosing of a government that serves them...not lip service like " we serve you"....

What they ask....is what they get! like in computer term...WYSIWYG...:rolleyes:

Brightkid

It will be good for these ministers and civil serpents to show audited surveys to back up their claims. Recently many the these living in ivory towers tends to make comment with 'many', 'most', or use % without telling the supporting figures of surveys, if any.

From what I see on the ground, most citizens do not have a job that leverage their trainings and experience pass 55 years of age. A PMET cleaning tables in food Centres is NOT gainfully employed, rather, subsistence. Contract after 62 is never an option for these big group of people.

The old fucker should retire and fuck off. He's taking up a job that a younger person can do.

Who did they vote for??????

Leckmichamarsch

Frankly, at age 62 he/she should be happily retired and go for travelling with their spouse. Why still want to bother about work.
Long service award nowadays don't count for anything, even if one worked for 4 decades or more.......

However, as in any company, once a precedent is set, for all subsequent re-contract, will come back and haunt them.
What goes around, comes around.............

it is a choice to be exercised by the person NOT the director library with hidden agenda of freeing up the job for her relative....

in S'pore.................to make money...............you need money................low-wage workers how to accumulate enough to do what you suggested..........can only blame stupidity for voting PAP lor..........

The old fucker should retire and fuck off. He's taking up a job that a younger person can do.

that's why.............after 41 years......CPF sure enough to retire liao.......

harimau

Basic economic theory dictates.

Younger means cheaper and faster.

Few people like to hire old farts.

I worry if i can still find a job at 50.

Much less 60!!!

They should shift back the retirement age to 50 instead. Many old farts will leave Thailand and return to Singapore.

Not many people can live until 60, with the kinds of food we eat in Singapore.

Too much salt, too much oil, too much fat, too much sugar and just too much of everything!!!!

kryonlight

Why are we even discussing about "re-hiring" at age 62 in this forum?

If all of you had listened to Leongsam's advice to achieve financial freedom by age 45, PAP would have less burden to worry about. Please don't contribute to more white hair for our busy cabinet ministers.

so
Director Mrs Fang Sin Guek tel 6772 1157 is an arsehole.... hmmm. at least she is now cheaper, betterer but not sure will be fasterer.