• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Treatment of soldiers - Taiwan versus SG

A Taiwanese soldier died because of cock-ups.

Taiwan government offered to pay USD3.3 million for the death of a soldier;
37 military officials received punishment over Hung's death, and 18 cases of criminal prosecutions were initiated under civilian courts;
Court found 13 military officials guilty of abuse of power and handed down sentences of up to eight months imprisonment;
Major General Shen Wei-chih, Colonel Ho Chiang-chung and four other officials were sentenced to six months imprisonment;
Defence Minister resigned;
President apologized to family.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Hung_Chung-chiu

Our soldier died because of negligence

Mindef offers $60k;
Coroner whitewashed;
Mindef blames the dead soldier;
No one got charged ...the officer got promoted to Major next year;
Defence Minister pretends nothing happen;
Court agrees with Mindef that it has no contractual obligation to protect the soldiers;

The Taiwanese government has been caught off-balance. President Ma Ying-jeou and his cabinet quickly agreed to protesters’ demands for a commission to investigate miscarriages of justice in the armed forces. The furore helped claim the scalps of two defence ministers in quick succession. Taiwan’s parliament has also amended laws to transfer jurisdiction of most criminal cases involving servicemen in peacetime to civilian courts.

http://www.economist.com/news/asia/21583271-conscripts-death-has-brought-young-out-streets-blooded

If 100,000 sinkees protest ...will the PAP change the law and sacrifice a few scholar generals and the defence minister?

3 good posts, TS! Jia yu! One look at first post says it all. Sinkies tiok screwed big time and still blur blur like sotongs.

If 100,000 sinkees protest ...will the PAP change the law and sacrifice a few scholar generals and the defence minister?

100k sinkies translate to how many votes only?
Pap got 70%.....shave a few % points off still boh taichi......
But the Taiwan govt knows they will be booted out if they didn't do their jobs.

100k sinkies translate to how many votes only?
Pap got 70%.....shave a few % points off still boh taichi......
But the Taiwan govt knows they will be booted out if they didn't do their jobs.

I tell you that 100k do a public demonstration ...the PAP will pee in the pants. The SPF will kanan kabok. ISD will try to arrest the leader. The group must stand together and stop ISD.

harimau

That is the difference between taiwanese media and our media.

Taiwanese media more powerful than the garmen.

if sinkies have any sense of justice,whats right or wrong and compassion for their fellow men,PAP would have been ousted a long time ago,but until their food and drink runs out or their favourite tv shows u will not see a single sinkie riot or take to the streets.....which is why LKY said its crucial to ensure that the economy is good and that the country is rich,as long as sinkies creature comforts and mortal desires are taken care of.

let me tell u this,if i was able to set up a solar panel setup of 8 X 300 watts monocrystalline panels outside my hdb flat and ensure a unlimited supply of electricity and 24/7 air conditioning....i will never leave my living room and protest against PAP either.

if sinkies have any sense of justice,whats right or wrong and compassion for their fellow men,PAP would have been ousted a long time ago,but until their food and drink runs out or their favourite tv shows u will not see a single sinkie riot or take to the streets.....which is why LKY said its crucial to ensure that the economy is good and that the country is rich,as long as sinkies creature comforts and mortal desires are taken care of.

let me tell u this,if i was able to set up a solar panel setup of 8 X 300 watts monocrystalline panels and ensure a unlimited supply of electricity and 24/7 air conditioning....i will never leave my living room and protest against PAP either.

Have some faith ...sinkees are still human ...there will be a breaking point ...PAP thinks that sinkees can take lots of crap thrown at them ...I think we are close to breaking point and we should continue to chip at it ...eventually, sinkees will be enlightened at direct their righteous anger at the PAP. Hallelujah.

Charlie99

A gathering of five or more individuals in Singapore, is considered illegal.
It is not foreseeable that one thousand or more individuals will gather to protest.
It may be send a serious message, if that happens.
If it happens, the Singapore Police Force appears likely to activate and deploy its Special Operations Force, and may be even deploy the Gurkhas.

Have some faith ...sinkees are still human ...there will be a breaking point ...PAP thinks that sinkees can take lots of crap thrown at them ...I think we are close to breaking point and we should continue to chip at it ...eventually, sinkees will be enlightened at direct their righteous anger at the PAP. Hallelujah.

I used to think like you.
After I saw the 70% improved result....last ounce of hope evaporated liao.....you better be prepare for a long long wait....if it happens at all

PAP does not see sinkies as humans but pawns. Or serf.
Taiwan on the other hand see every citizens life as precious and their right protected.

SG handles the issue far better compared to Taiwan.

What Taiwan does places a heavy burden on taxpayers with ridiculously exorbitant payouts.

Charlie99

Singapore is different from Taiwan (ROC), simply because Singapore was never part of China (PRC).
Therefore, whether or not Taiwan, if and when, becomes part of China, and whether or not Singapore continues to thrive,
may not be totally or significantly due to the Singapore government.
The way the global situation as it affects Singapore (for example NOL, the Port of Singapore, the belief that the integrated resorts / casinos will save Singapore) is evolving,
I have an undesirable feeling that Singapore my not be thriving in 20 to 50 years.