• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TR: Singaporeans need at least 36.4 years to afford a roof over their heads

i also live in europe before, and i am just curious. if you do not want to give detail. fine with me.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
i also live in europe before, and i am just curious. if you do not want to give detail. fine with me.

If you stay in Europe, then you should know there are monthly passes ( valid within a certain region, but larger then Singapore ), not the ordinary single journey and it is usually much cheaper... check with any of your other national colleaque...

I am not pulling your leg, just do not want to disclose which country, and it's in the early part of 2000. :wink:

ho_seh_liow

I live in Korea, those young couples cannot afford to buy their own apts. Most rent or if buy their parents have to fork out their life savings to pay for their kids' new apts.
While you can live in the rural areas, where apts are cheaper, but your work may be 400km away. Have to rent another apt at your workplace and can afford to go home once a week if you are lucky. There is always work on weekends and going home twice a month is very lucky for them.

All apts are private, no govt (HDB) like Singapore and buying means taking a loan from the banks at high interest rate. Imagine if the banks here for pay you 5% for fixed deposit acct for 1 year, how much interest they would charge for taking a loan from them?

UseYourBrain

What a load of bullshit !

It is a well-known fact that in Japan, many apartments are paid over 2 generations.

Meaning to say, the parents' mortgages are taken over by their children, who continue to pay for the loan of the apartment !

Ahh, that's because they chose to pay Yen 1000/ month

Microsoft

Y compare 2 other cuntry?? Y not ask how long it take 4 a poly grad 2 save in order 2 buy 1 of dis pigeon hole @ Punggol Waterfront ? Since Mah Chee Bye say "Highly Affordable" i assume poly grad r included?? :rolleyes:

3rm - 65sqm:eek: - $186-$237k

4rm - 90sqm:rolleyes: - $300-$376k

5rm - 110sqm:oIo: - $374-$458k

Tiu Kwang Yew

hahahaha...HDB affordable huh?

Young couples finished paying the 30 -yr HDB loan oredi lau kok kok, no more CPF money liao !
By that time, donch know whether PAP still keen to run sinkapore factory ? By that time, Old fart oredi no more ! Got who to impress ? By that time, you still think the old house can pawn the same price you bought ?
Think again...the scam only last for one- person dream !

Other big cuntries, if no money to buy roof, still got park and beach to sleep, no offence right !

In sinkapore, you becum destitute also jialat, sleep on the bench also got fine $500 right !

20 yrs ago, graduates earned 2 to 3 k , now the new gen graduates also earn the same money but PAP people and HDB houses price shoot up to the moon.

Every year good economy but pay no increase !
This year, laki best---15% you know...100k Fts more, wow, speak like his fathers own the island right !

If compare other cuntries, sinkapore damn sia suay !

Just look at Mudland neighbor --one condo how much ? you know how many sporns live there ? You know the price there ?

you refuck saying JB no security what ? Sinkapore veri safe ?

35 -yrs old HDB 3 room flat---cost price $7500, now shouting for $300k...oh dear, my goddess, local people must be a condemned lot if they still say PAP is God right !

Boliao

And just to give U an idea of how much money we are talking about in Japan, a small apartment(slightly smaller then a 3 room flat) in e.g. Hanzonmon which is where my office is will set you back USD$1.5million.

And a 10,000 sqft bungalow in Kulai will cost you only RM500,000.

To compare apple to apple, look at real wages. My admin in Tokyo is paid over US$70,000 a year.

Char_Azn

And a 10,000 sqft bungalow in Kulai will cost you only RM500,000.

To compare apple to apple, look at real wages. My admin in Tokyo is paid over US$70,000 a year.

U do of coz realize that the average Malaysian earns less then the average SGrean even if we assume the exchange rate between SGD and MYR is 1:1 instead of 2:1

Did your colleague in Tokyo also mentioned that an average meal in Japan cost 1000 yen - SGD$15? In SG, an average meal will cost U less then <$5. And BTW, the average Salary in Japan is only USD$50000(median should be closer to USD$38000). U are seriously over paying your admin

Char_Azn

today your colleague c888 kena banned, so u gotta cover his duties is it? or are u the same guy:cool:

I have no idea who the hell c888 is in which case U will see a hell lot less of me this 2 weeks since I will be flying off again tomorrow

Char_Azn

The figure quoted is about Japan, not Tokyo. So, not going to suck in into an irrelevant loop. I am pretty sure that in Japan, you have the choice to live in pretty comfort at way below the cost of living here. :wink:

What figure? Since U quoted that particular statement, I can say for sure where U are talking about but I can tell U for certain in the following Cities
Tokyo
Osaka
Yokohama
Sendai
Kyoto
Frequency of the express trains are as I pointed out earlier 20-30min. If U go to an ulu place like Yamoto where one of my office is located(Sendai -> Yamoto) the freaking train comes once every hour.

Boliao

Did your colleague in Tokyo also mentioned that an average meal in Japan cost 1000 yen - SGD$15? In SG, an average meal will cost U less then <$5.

The median income for MY and SG is the same at dollar for dollar.

I don't need to ask my colleague to tell you that a decent Japanese meal (with miso soup, green tea and all) cost less than 600JPY. If I go to local Japanese stalls, it's probably $350 JPY; and this is in the heart of Tokyo, Shinjuku area.

Let's use street economic theory.. check out the prices for a cup of Starbuck, a can of coke and a MacDonald's meal. It's 300 JPY, 65 JPY and 650 JPY respectively. Given that Japanese has a higher median income (dollar of dollar) and yet their Starbuck cost $3 USD while it cost $5 SGD in Singapore. Do you still think that Singapore's cost of living is lower?

Stop pretending that you know Japan.

bodycells

Temasek Review Latest News

According to a Chinese Finance magazine, Singaporeans need to slog the longest to afford a 70 square meter condominium in their own countries. (read article here)

Berliners need only work 3 years to pay off the housing loan while Singaporeans need to work a shocking 36.4 years in order to do so.

In Asia, Thais need only work the shortest period of time to buy a similar-sized condominium. Though the wages of Thai workers are relatively low compared to Singapore, their properties are much cheaper which explain the discrepancy.

While Japan is the most expensive country in Asia to live in, the average Japanese need only work 16 years to purchase such a condominium, 20 years less than Singapore.

The authoritative article was not published by the state media which continues to churn out propaganda daily to support the PAP’s lop-sided housing policies in favor of foreigners.

The results should come as no surprise. A UBS report published last year revealed that Singaporeans have the lowest wages and domestic purchasing power among developed nations.

After Hong Kong, Singapore has the largest income gap between the rich and the poor among the thirty most advanced world economies.

The median salary of the average Singapore worker has remained stagnant at $2,400 monthly while the cost of living, especially that of housing has sky-rocketed in recent years.

The low wages of the Singapore worker is contributed partly by the PAP pro-foreigner and ultra liberal-immigration policies which have seen the country being flooded by foreign workers.

A Wall Street Journal article in January this year wrote that the relentless influx of foreigners has depressed the wages of ordinary Singaporeans, increased the cost of living and led to an overall decline in the standards of living.

It will be interesting to know the number of years an average Singapore worker needs to work to afford a similar-sized HDB flat. Based on current prices, it is unlikely to be less than 30 years.

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/0...36-4-years-to-afford-a-roof-over-their-heads/

This article tells me that singaporeans are a bunch of losers.

bodycells

I was at the Tokyo office. And 3 hours to Osaka is by Shinkansen!!!!! If you stay at the Suburbs it can easily take close to 2hrs to get to work!!!! In Japan they actually have business hotels where office workers stay if they work late at night coz it takes too long to get home. Cabs are too freaking expensive if U are wondering why no one takes cab. Hope on fee for cab is about 700yen

And just to give U an idea of how much money we are talking about in Japan, a small apartment(slightly smaller then a 3 room flat) in e.g. Hanzonmon which is where my office is will set you back USD$1.5million.

My friend in Hong Kong bought an apartment for S$1 million ++ too. Kind of sad for her.

bryanlim1972

I don't need to ask my colleague to tell you that a decent Japanese meal (with miso soup, green tea and all) cost less than 600JPY. If I go to local Japanese stalls, it's probably $350 JPY; and this is in the heart of Tokyo, Shinjuku area.

are you shitting me?? the only food you can get for 350yen in shinjuku is take-out at lawsons. even the most basic PLAIN curry rice (no meat!) at those self-serve machines at the train stations will cost 450-550 yen. heck, even ramen at ulu mountain side takaragawa costs 800yen and up.

maybe 350yen can get u a plain bowl of ramen at best???

Char_Azn

Let's use street economic theory.. check out the prices for a cup of Starbuck, a can of coke and a MacDonald's meal. It's 300 JPY, 65 JPY and 650 JPY respectively. Given that Japanese has a higher median income (dollar of dollar) and yet their Starbuck cost $3 USD while it cost $5 SGD in Singapore. Do you still think that Singapore's cost of living is lower?

The median income for MY and SG is the same at dollar for dollar only in major cities in MY that basically limits it to 2 places, KL and Johor Baru. If you go to e.g. Ipoh which is the capital of Perak, the wages drop drastically.

I said average price. I didn't say lowest price. The lowest price of a plate of bee hoon I can find in the CBD in SG is < $1. Dun see me mentioning that. Note Again I want to emphasize AVERAGE price not lowest price of a meal.

Starbucks cost basically the same price everywhere. Starbucks is a very bad example to use because, for example, Starbucks coffee in MY and that in Thailand cost about the same as in sg, +/-SGD$5. The same goes for Europe where a Starbucks coffee goes for around EUR$3. U need to use prices of local stuff not something like Starbucks which generally have a price that is more or less the same in all countries

Char_Azn

are you shitting me?? the only food you can get for 350yen in shinjuku is take-out at lawsons. even the most basic PLAIN curry rice (no meat!) at those self-serve machines at the train stations will cost 450-550 yen. heck, even ramen at ulu mountain side takaragawa costs 800yen and up.

maybe 350yen can get u a plain bowl of ramen at best???

U can get a sandwich for 350yen. U can get a "meal" with tea and maybe miso soup for $650(bare minimum) from one of those stalls that use ticketing machines. Most restaurant(Japan dun have food courts/hawker centres like us which I assume that guy knows) usually have meals between 900-2000yen(the vast majority of shops in Japan). I'm assuming he that is what he is talking about. Or maybe he was just pretending to actually know about it

Boliao

U can get a sandwich for 350yen. U can get a "meal" with tea and maybe miso soup for $650(bare minimum) from one of those stalls that use ticketing machines. Most restaurant(Japan dun have food courts/hawker centres like us which I assume that guy knows) usually have meals between 900-2000yen(the vast majority of shops in Japan). I'm assuming he that is what he is talking about. Or maybe he was just pretending to actually know about it

Okay. I take back my words. You do know Japan and I misunderstood you. It can be very costly if you eat in a restaurant. My usual Tonkatsu place cost 3500 JPY and up per meal but that's premium cut. Dinning with friends at The Oak in the Grand Hyatt (Morton's equivalent) typically cost around 45000 JPY per pax.

If you eat like a local, it is really affordable. Japanese do not spend above 1000 JPY on the average per meal, most set meals in the heart of the city are priced between 700-900 JPY. Ocha is always free flow.

A sandwich doesn't need to cost you $350. You can get it for less than 200 JPY and cheaper; again if you know where. I don't take sandwiches except for their subway (they have delicious wedges).