• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TR is up and running...

rainnix

3.41am SG time - TR is up and running...

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/10/12/corrupt-database-caused-prolonged-site-downtime/

Corrupt database caused prolonged site downtime
October 12th, 2010 | Author: Han Molina
Temasek Review went offline from Monday 2200 hours to Tuesday 2300 hours due to a corrupted database caused by a failed upgrading of wordpress, which powers our site.

We had originally scheduled an upgrading of our wordpress installation on Monday 2200 hours – expecting it to be completed within an hour, but unfortunately it did not.

The upgrading failed due to compatibility issues with our customised theme and certain plugins which were outdated. This caused a serious security breach, allowing any registered users full access to our administrative backend. Our tech had to shut the site down immediately.

* We later learnt that the failed update had corrupted the database. Since our servers were sync in real time, our mirror server suffered the same fate.

As it was already past midnight, we were unable to grab hold of the programmer who customised the theme used on our site to work with support personnel from our service provider to rectify the problem.

Although our service provider had originally suggested restoring the site from the previous day’s backup but we decided against it because hundreds of posts would be lost. Instead, we decided to salvage the corrupted database and try to restore it as fully as possible.

Fortunately for us, the large chunk of data corrupted were subscriber’s information and previous site archives for 2008. Other than that, all data remains intact.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank our host RTG (Asia) Network and our programmer Alan Goh for their professional assistance. Most importantly, our readers for their patience and understanding.

Molina Han

P/S: If you are a registered subscriber of our site but no longer able to login with your existing username, try executing a password retrieval and if it fails, please re-register yourself. Contributors, Authors and Editor’s data are all intact.

rainnix

Although our service provider had originally suggested restoring the site from the previous day’s backup but we decided against it because hundreds of posts would be lost. Instead, we decided to salvage the corrupted database and try to restore it as fully as possible.

Fortunately for us, the large chunk of data corrupted were subscriber’s information and previous site archives for 2008. Other than that, all data remains intact.

Something is fishy here...

Note the comment about passwords. Smart chap, he cleaned up all access records and usernames. Probably to avoid defamation lawsuits. He sounded happy and now focused on finding someone's identity.

Hmm... Archives for 2008 all gone... that's good. :smile:

Goh Meng Seng

Char_Azn

TR's incompetent IT team does it again. lol Not the first time their IT incompetence was plain for all to see

aurvandil

TR rising from the dead is empirical evidence against the “lone gunman” hypothesis. From the way it was done, it was obvious that TR was playing with Scroobal, TOC etc while doing some spring cleaning to harden the site in the event of a crackdown.

Since the TNP scoop, no other MSM paper has carried the story. The police have been silent as have PAP MPs and their lawyers. The complete lack of follow up suggests that contrary to popular expectations, Dr Ong is not going to be sued or ruined.

Strange right?

Whoever is backing TR is obviously so powerful that little PAP MPs (LBW), SPF and the MSM show face and respect. If the goals for a better Singapore are aligned with Opposition leaders like Goh Meng Seng, I am sure that there will be a lot of scope for cooperation. As I understand it, some feelers were already being sent out upon the death of Mrs Lee.

silverfox@

Whoever is backing TR is obviously so powerful that little PAP MPs (LBW), SPF and the MSM show face and respect. If the goals for a better Singapore are aligned with Opposition leaders like Goh Meng Seng, I am sure that there will be a lot of scope for cooperation. As I understand it, some feelers were already being sent out upon the death of Mrs Lee.

Are you suffering from delusion?:confused:

ButtHead

They or He actually think that the readers are stupid? They are removing all previous links, articles, comments, posting that would lead back to Joseph Ong Chor Teck.

This only indicates that Joseph Ong is part of the team although they denied it.

silverfox@

They or He actually think that the readers are stupid? They are removing all previous links, articles, comments, posting that would lead back to Joseph Ong Chor Teck.

This only indicates that Joseph Ong is part of the team although they denied it.

In the 1st place, was there a team? :p

BusNo64

aiya.....like them be lah...if sinkie chose to be brainless sheep, then so it it loh...nobody force sinkie to be sheep, it the sinkies themselves dat want to be sheep...we curse and ridicule all the sheeps dat support MIW even when they are screwing us....yet we have sheeps that support oppositon or TR even though they are also out to screw them...knn screw by a white dildo or a orange dildo got any diff or not?.....:rolleyes:

QXD

Nothing out of the ordinary there. It's the same as SMRT when their CCTV never fails to be turned off when something bad happens to locals.

All in all, it is a shrewd move.

Something is fishy here...

BusNo64

Huh? Joseph Ong got go prison meh? tot ex-con then get yellow ribbon...and also ex-con must turn over a new leaf then got yellow ribbon...if ex-con still kuai lan doesn't wanto repent but instead try to act blur kay siao ... still give himself yellow ribbon arh... KNN yellow ribbon tie his lanjiao issit? knn kong wei like pang bui like dat...:rolleyes::oIo: