• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tourists find S'pore too expensive

Ah Guan

She was charged $9 for a pot of tea at a cafe. The same order would have cost about A$5 (S$5.05) in Australia, she said.

Ms Kelly Zhang from Shanghai also spent five days in Singapore. She told my paper: "The service here is quite good. But things are expensive for my budget, which affects the enjoyment of shopping.

Nah beh ... They will use this reason to devalue SGD.

kiwibird7

The Singapore Tourist Promotion Board as usual is the last to admit that SINGAPORE is too expensive even for ANGMOH tourists.

The Airport departure tax, the hotels, the food at food courts (like The Republic), retail goods, tourist attractions etc are all VERY EXPENSIVE in that they do not offer VALUE for MONEY, in short a rip off.

The SG Tourism Board fails to understand that Singapore's neighbours have caught up with infrastructure developments for tourism BUT charge a lower price for the same enjoyment and experience.

Like all govt scholars and technocrats, they will start giving crap excuses and comparison charts with 1st world countries to say that Singapore charges are still cheap or at least comparable.

Which ANGMOH tourist would pay a high price airticket, airport taxes to visit S'pore for mediocre attractions, shopping, food etc and pay more or less for the same things he can see, do, buy or eat if he remains at home?

The ones I've met in the planes, did not intend to visit Spore. They only want to transit in Spore, on the way to places like Bali. As transit passenger they don't have to pay the Changi taxes.

Free excursions to the city are being offered to transit passengers. Which is adding to the numbers to the official statistics :rolleyes:

Spores EXPENSIVE reputation has gotten around & people are avoiding this place

The_Latest_H

Nah beh ... They will use this reason to devalue SGD.

What they say is actually factually true, by the way. Even cafe coffee is generally cheaper in Australia- especially if you use Starbucks as the benchmark.

Starbucks coffee usually starts at $4 per cup, small here. A Gloria Jeans coffee cost $3.45 in Perth, Australia in comparison.

kiwibird7

The ones I've met in the planes, did not intend to visit Spore. They only want to transit in Spore, on the way to places like Bali. As transit passenger they don't have to pay the Changi taxes.

Free excursions to the city are being offered to transit passengers. Which is adding to the numbers to the official statistics :rolleyes:

Spores EXPENSIVE reputation has gotten around & people are avoiding this place

It has gone beyond what damage control can rectify now. Word that SG is expensive has really spread far and wide. Even my Kiwi friends here know that. Even SIA has now gained the reputation of an 'expensive' airline.

Not only is it expensive to dine in Singapore but service standards in Singapore need urgent attention too. The tea, towel, titbit/peanut charges, 10% service charge for lousy service + 7%GST really cause serious damage.

Would tourists come when the IR project is completed when that kind of 'expensive, ripoff' reputation has sunk in Internationally?

"IF" the project is completed :biggrin:

With hotel(3 stars & above) prices starting at $200+ I'm sure there'll be a rush of tourists :wink:

What I do see are Indonesian tourists comming in on the ferries from Batam. Spore is the cheapest place they can visit. Many are on day trips, stay with friends & relatives, or stay in those cheaper Fragrance & Hotel 88 hotel chains.

kchunjeng

FYI :

A small unit in foodcourt rent cost : S$10,000
Two employee working each draw a salary of S$2500 average.

That will total to S$12,500/ month

Assuming open 10 hours a day and full month. monday to Sunday
That will be average S$12,500/30 = S$416 / day
or equal to S$416/10 hr = S$41.6/hr to break even only !! not talking about profit !

Assuming selling unit of S$3.50/serving, that would have to sell 12 serving per hours just to cover that.

Here we are calculated only based on break even, if you add up the profit to be earned.. I couldn't image how much will each serving cost ??

Holly Shit ! why tourist complain too expensive !!

HTOLAS

I recently took a Filipino tourist to Queensway Shopping Centre and L3 Golden Mile Food Centre. He was very surprised to find that shoes are cheaper in Singapore than in either the Philippines or Malaysia (where he had just come from). He was also happy to be able to get things that he would not have got back home. In addition, he found the food near these two places tasty and not costly.

Am I trying to counter the case that tourists tend to find Sg expensive. Absolutely not. But I do think that tourists find Sg expensive becuse of the Tourism Board's policy to focus on the high end of the market. Friends from abroad have told me that whenever he apporached STB for info, they would do two things -
- refer them to something else they might also want to buy;
- refer them to something more expensive that they are prepared to pay.

In the end, these tourists leave without seeing anything uniquely Singapore and paying more than they would in say HK or Bangkok.

If tourism is to have a future, STB must look at those things which have developed in spite rather than because of government intervention, and promote them. And please let the real market forces, not GLC led pricing determine the prices.

annexa

19vbb9.jpg

"People could buy frozen food instead of more expensive fresh food"
"They could opt for house brand goods, which cost less than others. "

Or you can vote oppos, cheaper than pappies!

JadedBeach

my 2p worth...

To be fair, Hong Kong will take #1 spot for efficiency and Taiwan, #1 for customer service. But IMHO, Singapore is definitely not more "expensive" than HK / Taipei.

Quoting S$9 for a pot of tea for purpose of comparison is absolutely pathetic. Imagine it may cost S$9 at TCC but will only cost S$1.00 in local coffee stalls. On the other hand, a cup of tea at Cafe de Coral (foodcourt) in Hong Kong may set you back by HK$10 (~S$2).

Singapore will be neck-to-neck with Taipei for its cost of transportation esp. cabs. Although Hong Kong will be a lot cheaper, foreign tourists may need to overcome language barriers otherwise, HK cabbies may take you on a longer ride knowing that you'd be unfamiliar with the roads.

I am amazed by Mdm Du's comments (Taiwanese based in Shanghai). Having lived in Shanghai, is she oblivious to the hygiene standards that reign in eateries along WujiangLu? And, I will less likely suffer from diarrhoea from Singapore hawker food vs off streets of Shilin or Raohe.

STB is right - Singapore does not compete "solely on price". It offers a variety of tourism offerings. Instead of going for a 30 min London Eye or Miramar Ferris Wheel flight experience, why not head to Singapore for a 6-hr Singapore Flyer experience-of-a-lifetime *BARGAIN!*

Upon completion of Singapore's integrated resorts (god bless Sands), Singapore will be another exciting territory! Instead of 32 casinos in Macau, tourists will be instantly drawn to the superb facilities and recreation (under 30 deg celsius heat) the 2 IRs may offer. It's never about the quantity - but quality *Space to Watch*

Happy 2009!

juz beach

The_Latest_H

someone should remind emily of australia's 48% income tax, 10% GST

And someone should remind shiokshock that the income tax levels depend on how much you earn, how much tax credits the government returns you back, and also how much the 10% GST is applied for different products.

congo9

I recently took a Filipino tourist to Queensway Shopping Centre and L3 Golden Mile Food Centre. He was very surprised to find that shoes are cheaper in Singapore than in either the Philippines or Malaysia (where he had just come from). He was also happy to be able to get things that he would not have got back home. In addition, he found the food near these two places tasty and not costly.

If only tourist know how to travel to all these places to buy foot wear ! But hack , Singapore is all about ORCHARD road and the expesnive shopping belt. What so unique abt singapore ,unless the foreigners know the way to travel to cheap destination to eat and shop in SIngapore '?

redbull313

And someone should remind shiokshock that the income tax levels depend on how much you earn, how much tax credits the government returns you back, and also how much the 10% GST is applied for different products.

Australia is the most unaffordable ripp-off country in the world.

2lanu

I also find it expensive. Though HK price is higher, but I got more value in the product or service.

Those scholars and civil services hiding behind are pricing their bottomline too much. Just imagine the MRT, transport(meter pricing by the companies), rental by those GLCs.

When the local people are saying it is expensive, they said dun spend foreigners will spend. Now foreigners also complain, those white scum can go suck thumb.

redbull313

Well, state the reasons and avoid your tendency to sling m&d when you do so. Don't just give general statements like this.

ok. this is taken from the old forum:

1) if australia's high taxes are supposed to cover health care, why does the ATO levy an additional 1% levy if you dont have private cover when earn more than 50K?

2) if you have free health care, why do you need private hospital cover?

3) why do these private health coverages cost so much?

4) why are waiting times to get health care so long in australia?

5) why are cars 2-3X the price of the US?

6) why is petrol so much cheaper in the US? why is australian petrol so much higher?

7) why is food so much higher in australia than the US?

8) how come Sydney is now more expensive than New York?

9) how come the US allows you to deduct mortgage interest on your primary home on your taxes and australia does not?

10) how come labor/services is 300% higher in australia than th US?

11) how come 2.5 million people applied to become citizens in the US last year when Australia only saw a small increase?

12) how come there is a 10% GST in australia when the GST in the US is much lower, and several states have no tax at all!!

13) how come wages in australia are not as high as the US?

14) how come 30-40% of your income is required to pay a housing loan in australia?

15) how come it takes 104K to pay for a 431K home in australia?

16) how come interest rates in Australia are almost double than the USA? How come inflation in Australia has been almost double than US's in the last 5 years?

17) how come the planning councils in America are efficient and release land for development at a timely pace when the opposite is true in Australia

18) how come there is a "good" housing crisis in America (market will rebond due to low prices) and a "bad" housing crisis in Australia? (people simply cannot afford to buy property)

19) how come airfares from australia are so high? why is it australians pay as much to fly 8 hours as americans pay to fly 18 hours?

20) why are clothes costs so high in australia? why is it the americans sell themselves timberland shoes for $30 and charge australians $200 for the same product?

these are just for starters. i am looking forward to your reply

STB is right - Singapore does not compete "solely on price". It offers a variety of tourism offerings. Instead of going for a 30 min London Eye or Miramar Ferris Wheel flight experience, why not head to Singapore for a 6-hr Singapore Flyer experience-of-a-lifetime *BARGAIN!*

Have you ever visited London?

I have never visited the eye because of the long ques, but there is so many other things to see & do in London. Despite the high prices its worth a visit. With the devalued pound, its now cheaper to do so. Can't say the same thing for Spore.

When Airasia starts its cheap flights to London I expect it to be very popular.

Don't forget that from London you can go to the other nearby EU countries like Paris.