• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

These are the countries which will have no World Cup broadcast just like Singapore

Maverick01

Myanmar...North Korean and Somalia........We are very proud as Singaporean to not watch world cup along with them.. Cheers.

Ash007

Re: These are the countries which will have no World Cup broadcast just like Singapor

Instead of swiss standard of living we are now Myanmar standard of living?

myo539

Re: These are the countries which will have no World Cup broadcast just like Singapor

Instead of swiss standard of living we are now Myanmar standard of living?

What frame of mind are you in to equate playing balls with standard of living?

You know in Singapore football is equated with m&ds who smoke and play computer games before the game and during halftime, and who are late for practices or even going to the game itself.

Of course we like it because the m&ds get to kick the balls that they like while the others get to bet and make some money out of it - similar to hounds sweating it out on the tracks and you betting on the hounds.

Pay by all means if you can afford what FIFA wants - and be a sucker. Smart people like you will not have any problem watching them games - even without paying from the comfort of your armchair.

But don't get the government to subsidize the games which last only ONE month and are forgotten. $400 million can be better used to build a few schools which can last more than 100 years for our children and grandchildren.

besotted

I am in a minority on this issue

I really don't know what the big fuck is with World Cup

Bid one price to Fifa, take it or leave it

Worst case don't watch, so many other better things to do anyway

You know in Singapore football is equated with m&ds who smoke and play computer games before the game and during halftime, and who are late for practices or even going to the game itself.

Of course we like it because the m&ds get to kick the balls that they like while the others get to bet and make some money out of it - similar to hounds sweating it out on the tracks and you betting on the hounds.

Pay by all means if you can afford what FIFA wants - and be a sucker. Smart people like you will not have any problem watching them games - even without paying from the comfort of your armchair.

But don't get the government to subsidize the games which last only ONE month and are forgotten. $400 million can be better used to build a few schools which can last more than 100 years for our children and grandchildren.

yeah as if u have any say in what that money is being spent for maybe ho ching will blow it away on some stupid investment. :rolleyes:

You are missing the point!, the SINkingpore government is clever enough to use means testing for those who have to be hospitalized, are now getting their own medicine; from FIFA who dishes out MEANS TESTING.

We like to boast we are this & that, so, we tell FIFA we are ot a country, but a STATE, so we do not have to pay so much?

So, what's like to be means tested? ha ha ha:biggrin:

poore

I am in a minority on this issue

I really don't know what the big fuck is with World Cup

Bid one price to Fifa, take it or leave it

Worst case don't watch, so many other better things to do anyway

this is exactly how i thot too......

Frankiestine

Myanmar...North Korean and Somalia........We are very proud as Singaporean to not watch world cup along with them.. Cheers.

Hmm interestingly are these countries also ran by dictators??

myo539

You are missing the point!, the SINkingpore government is clever enough to use means testing for those who have to be hospitalized, are now getting their own medicine; from FIFA who dishes out MEANS TESTING.

We like to boast we are this & that, so, we tell FIFA we are ot a country, but a STATE, so we do not have to pay so much?

So, what's like to be means tested? ha ha ha:biggrin:

You missed the point too! Our money is locked up with CPF - so we don't have our money safely in our hand. The government therefore calls the shot.

Where FIFA is concerned, Singapore is the master - we control our money. They want our money - come take it and deliver the goods. They play hard to get - well there will be $100 million dollars less in their coffer. They want to kill the goose that lays the golden egg? Well the goose will still be around and keeping the golden eggs.

Come on lah, see the big picture. Football is just a game - a leisure activity. You won't die not watching football. You won't die of withdrawal symptoms.

Asian Games, Olympics, Euro-soccer come and go - none die not watching. May be they just reported sick for work or school. Come on, give stand up for Singapore. Give FIFA the boot!!!

I've been a lifelong football fan, but I'd call for boycotting this World Cup. Don't pay FIFA. Don't negotiate with extortionists, especially when one's a country stupid enough to send two bidders to begin with.

batman1

It's not cannot see world cup lah ! but sinkees want to see world cup must first pay $200.00 levy or entrance fees just like when entering IR casino.But of course Foreigners see free world cup,no need to pay anything cos they are Foreign Talent.Without FT,sinkeeland will go down the drain,productivity will go down the drain,anyway,let's move on ...LOL

ccchia

If FIFA is auctioning the price of the football telecasts, then if one or more bids are received from each country, shouldn't the highest bid get the deal?

Since FIFA does not accept the auction outcome, then we should forget about it, and just telecast the delayed matches next day instead of the live games. I am no big football fan and I do not bet on the games. Also, do not need to stay up all night to watch the games.

I assume the live FIFA telecasts are only a big deal for the gamblers and betting people.
Let the casinos take care of the betting; the Sinkie gahmen should not be involved in spending our hard-earned money by paying FIFA through the nose (remember that Singtel and Starhub are owned by Temasek).

Frankiestine

Doesn't matter if they getting the rights, I am watching it on line and thats free...:biggrin::biggrin:

Queen Seok Duk

I've been a lifelong football fan, but I'd call for boycotting this World Cup. Don't pay FIFA. Don't negotiate with extortionists, especially when one's a country stupid enough to send two bidders to begin with.

And you're going to secretly move to Johore for one month to watch World Cup :biggrin:

No. I'm going Thailand. :biggrin: Actually Johor also can if Thailand situation still not stable. I've got relatives with big houses and cable or satellite equipped guest rooms in both Malaysia and Thailand.

aurvandil

No. I'm going Thailand. :biggrin: Actually Johor also can if Thailand situation still not stable. I've got relatives with big houses and cable or satellite equipped guest rooms in both Malaysia and Thailand.

I can bet you a large sum of money that we will get to watch. I heard a rumour of a far fetched plan to hold a certain event during WC 2010. The idea was that with many people watching, less people are likely to attend rallies and speeches.

Also another tasty rumour. Have you noticed how good the programming on TCS 5 has become? We have blockbuster movies even on Mondays. The rumour was that the programming on TCS 5 had become so bad that it lost so much veiwership to the extent that it was no longer an effective channel to convey critical political messages. Hence the spending of large sums of money to boost viewership so that it can regain its power as a political tool.

I can bet you a large sum of money that we will get to watch. I heard a rumour of a far fetched plan to hold a certain event during WC 2010. The idea was that with many people watching, less people are likely to attend rallies and speeches.

And I wouldn't take your bet. I also believe somehow Singapore TVs will still be able to show World Cup matches. Just a matter of price.