• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The time has come again, downgrader positions for upgrading

downgrader

The time is ripe for the broad market to turn, with real interest rates poised to rise even after the currency tightening

I think we have seen the last burst of the property market, so look out for directors' trade in this respect for some indication

From next Monday April 26 SELL!

lolabunny

The time is ripe for the broad market to turn, with real interest rates poised to rise even after the currency tightening

I think we have seen the last burst of the property market, so look out for directors' trade in this respect for some indication

Now then sell eggs. :rolleyes: :cool:

LonewolfAlfa

ITS A GOOD THING NO ONE LISTENED YOU -

http://www.propertywire.com/news/asi...004264076.html

Property prices keep rising in Singapore and now set to see a 22% increase by end of 2010

Monday, 26 April 2010

Private residential property prices in Singapore are continuing to rise despite recent real estate cooling measures, the latest figures show. Residential properties prices increased to 175 points for the first quarter of this year, around 5.6% higher than the previous quarter, according to the statistics released by the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA).

This comes on top of a 7.4% increase in the final quarter of 2009 which was judged by analysts to be too high and unsustainable and resulted in a number of measures to try to cool the market amid fears of overheating.

Although the price increases for the first three months of 2010 are showing signs of slowing fears about a real estate bubble persist. ‘Although the price increase has dropped to 5.6% this first quarter, it is still of the higher range’, said Nicholas Mak, real estate lecturer at Ngee Ann Polytechnic.

He said that if this trend continued, by the end of the year the market could have seen a 22% jump in private home prices, reaching the peak level of 2008.

Real estate agency ERA Asia Pacific said the market’s bullishness could be attributed to the opening of the two integrated resorts, as well as the Youth Olympic Games to be held in Singapore.

Singapore is becoming increasingly visible among international investors and high net worth individuals, said Eugene Lim, associate director of ERA Asia Pacific.

According to the URA index, prices of private homes on the city fringe during the first quarter rose the highest, by 7.9%. Prices in the city climbed 4.4%, while those in suburban areas rose 4.3%.

Rentals of private residential properties also increased 4.7% and the index also shows that a total of 4,372 uncompleted private residential units were launched for sale by developers in the first quarter of the year, almost twice the 2,227 units released in the previous quarter.

Colin Tan, head of research and consultancy at Chesterton Suntec International, reckons that the increase in supply of private residential units may help temper prices further in the next quarter.

downgrader

Dow lao sai Friday, STI Monday how?

Even if Greek deal emerges, can hold? Nah....

HP_INDU.png

LonewolfAlfa

a savvy investor (like myself), doesnt put all their eggs in one basket. a mixture of stocks and properties.

http://www.todayonline.com/Business/EDC100504-0000075/Owners-near-the-Circle-Line-look-to-cash-in

Owners near the Circle Line look to cash in
Experts report a 10-20% rise in selling interest
by Wong Siew Ying [email protected] 05:55 AM May 04, 2010SINGAPORE - More property owners are looking to cash in on their homes near the Circle Line train network, even as the property market powers on.

Property experts said that there has been a 10- to 20-per-cent rise in interest in selling such properties since the 11 new Circle Line stations opened on April 17.

Dennis Wee Properties, for instance, has seen sales interest increase 20 per cent over the past two weeks.

Its director Chris Kok said: "There were some owners whom we spoke to who said that we should wait for the lines to be opened before putting their property up for sale.

"Now that the line is up, they are asking for 5 to 10 per cent more than what they used to ask for."

Savills director of investment sales and prestige homes, Mr Steven Ming, said: "With the rise in car prices, home buyers are going for properties located close to such transport nodes or where there is a good network.

"And they may well be willing to pay as much as 20 per cent more."

At a recent industry event, some developers said they were concerned that the expanded rail network could drive up land costs too.

Under the Government Land Sales programme for January to June, 10 out of 26 sites are close to train stations.

The Urban Redevelopment Authority told MediaCorp that it makes sense to release land around train stations for development as this will encourage more people to live there and benefit from the increased connectivity.

But industry watchers said that developers shouldn't worry because homes near a transport network will command a premium and raise margins.

downgrader

STI Tuesday: 2,901.18 -43.04

Wednesday sure slide some more.

Not bad to have let go at 3,000 just a few days ago.

lolabunny

a savvy investor (like myself), doesnt put all their eggs in one basket. a mixture of stocks and properties.

Zen koan of the day:
"Stocks and properties are actually the same type of asset; much like shortbread and cookies are variants of the biscuit family."

Not a perpetual bear myself, but see what I typed on 25th April 2010. :cool:

Your signature:
"Don't listen to bears. Haven't met a rich bear before"

I'll paraphrase that:
""Don't listen to bulls. Haven't met a rich (perpetual)bull before".

Then again I'm a novice. :smile::p:wink:

besotted

You are a useless fuckhead who dreams of upgrading on misery and poverty

When stock market and property goes up, majority benefit exceptr for some good-for-nothing fresh grads with bad attitude

On the other hand when prices fall, many suffer

You are hoping markets fall to upgrade

In other words you are a fuckhead

SwineHunter

When stock market and property goes up, majority benefit exceptr for some good-for-nothing fresh grads with bad attitude

Hahaha What a loser! Stubborn and refused to believe so now cow peh cow bu. That is why we have dumb assholes like you who can't make money even when it drops. :biggrin:

besotted

Hahaha What a loser! Stubborn and refused to believe so now cow peh cow bu. That is why we have dumb assholes like you who can't make money even when it drops. :biggrin:

hahaha, i am long at 1500, even if drop half i can tahan

my point is that this fuckhead hoping to benefit from misery

so what if market correct. it has run from 1474 to 3000 plus, you mean market only forever one way

what a clown you are, want to suck downgrader's OLD COCK

downgrader

By sharing my view that it is a good time to let go I think I have helped people to consider getting out and therefore good for them. Don't be so bitchy. If buay tahan, listen to some good music lah.

downgrader

Published May 6, 2010

Greek-related selling batters STI
Index's three-day loss totals 114.3 points; broad market sustains widespread weakness

By R SIVANITHY
SENIOR CORRESPONDENT

A 2.1 per cent loss for Hong Kong's Hang Seng Index and a sea of red across Europe when markets there opened in the afternoon meant the local market had to withstand another day of selling. The Straits Times Index, which in the middle of the session enjoyed a bit of support from short-covering, fell for the third consecutive session, this time by 40.87 points to 2,860.31, bringing its three-day loss to 114.3 points or just under 4 per cent.

The root cause of the selling was fears of all-out contagion in Europe if Greece's debt problems are not settled. Latest indications are that the IMF-euro zone bailout may not be sufficient, given that it calls for complementary austerity measures which Greek citizens are strongly against.

An additional worry is that even if the Greek bailout succeeds, there may not be enough money left in the various kitties to bail out other similarly indebted and recession-hit countries such as Spain (where the official unemployment rate is 20 per cent) and Portugal.

With the STI tanking, the broad market sustained widespread weakness - excluding derivatives, there were only 67 rises versus 393 falls, or roughly one rise for six falls. As at 5.30pm, accurate figures for volume done were not available. Those that did appear on the Singapore Exchange's (SGX's) website were unnaturally inflated by an error trade in China stock Yanlord involving some 750,000 shares done at an erroneous price of $957 each.

Among the items of news interest was the IPO withdrawal of China shipbuilder New Century just days before its listing, reportedly because the company's prospectus contained material inaccuracies relating to a legal suit the company is facing.

In its Traders Spectrum, DBS-Vickers said that the news could hurt sentiment for shipping stocks and possibly S-chips as well.

'Technically, shares of Cosco should test $1.61 followed by $1.50, which coincides closely with the stock's 65-day exponential moving average (EMA). Cosco's 200-day EMA is currently at $1.33. Yangzijiang should test $1.20. Cosco yesterday dropped six cents to $1.59 while Yangzijiang ended 4 cents higher at $1.32.

Elsewhere, OCBC Investment Research called a 'sell' on Ausgroup, describing the latter's results as being below expectations.

'With three quarters of earnings disappointment and a continual shifting of goalposts of the timing of an earnings recovery, we would prefer to see an actual reversal of trend in performance before pricing in further growth. Our FY10F and FY11F revenue estimates are down 11 and 21 per cent respectively, while our FY10F and FY11F PAT (profit after tax) estimates are down 23 and 32 per cent. Our fair value estimate is down to $0.43 from $0.60 previously (still at 11x 12-month forward earnings).'

Ausgroup finished with a two cents loss at 56 cents with 16.8 million shares traded.

On the possible technical outlook for the STI, DBSV said that although there may be minor rebounds, the consolidation trend remains intact and short-term resistance is seen at 2,930.

'The STI has fallen decisively below its 15-day EMA ( currently at 2,960) and is set to fall below its 65-day EMA (currently at 2,900) in (yesterday's) session. The 200-day EMA (currently at 2,730), which is seen as an important support level, is still some distance away. Thus, we maintain our view that the index should eventually test 2,800,' said DBSV

downgrader

Still stubborn?

Stock slide accelerates
By Alex Twin, senior writer May 6, 2010: 12:02 PM ET

NEW YORK (CNNMoney.com) -- Stocks tumbled Thursday, extending the recent selloff as investors continued to worry that Europe's debt problems will slow a bigger global economic recovery.

The Dow Jones industrial average (INDU) lost 110 points, or 1%. The S&P 500 index (SPX) slipped 15 points, or 1.3%. The Nasdaq composite (COMP) dropped 33 points, or 1.4%.

By sharing my view that it is a good time to let go I think I have helped people to consider getting out and therefore good for them. Don't be so bitchy. If buay tahan, listen to some good music lah.
Why did you say that you will be upgrading this year? Are you also plannin to upturn the downturn?
What kind of music do you like?

downgrader

Dow plunges 1,000 points, still stubborn?

http://www.businessweek.com/news/20...e-1987-before-paring-losses-euro-tumbles.html

Dow Plunges Most Since 1987 Before Paring Losses; Euro Tumbles
May 06, 2010, 4:08 PM EDT
More From Businessweek
U.S. Stocks Retreat as European Debt Concern Offsets Bernanke
Euro, Stocks Fall as Greek Default Concern Overshadows Earnings
Asia Stocks, Currencies Gain on Earnings Optimism; Euro Weakens
Why the Markets Are Against Portugal
How Google Got its New Look
Story Tools
e-mail this story print this story digg this save to del.icio.us add to Business Exchange By Michael P. Regan and Rita Nazareth

May 6 (Bloomberg) -- The Dow Jones Industrial Average had its biggest intraday loss since the market crash of 1987, the euro slid to a 14-month low and yields on Greek, Spanish and Italian bonds surged on concern European leaders aren’t doing enough to stem the region’s debt crisis. U.S. Treasuries soared.

New York Stock Exchange spokesman Rich Adamonis said “there were a number of erroneous trades” during the plunge. The NYSE told CNBC that there were no system errors as speculation of erroneous trades swirled through the market. The Nasdaq OMX Group Inc. said it is working with other markets to review the plunge.

The Dow average lost as much as 998.5 points, or 9.2 percent, before paring its drop to 348.63 points at the 4 p.m. close of trading in New York. It ended the day at 10,519.49, a two-month low. The Standard & Poor’s 500 Index fell as much as 8.6 percent, its biggest plunge since December 2008, before trimming declines to end down 3.3 percent at 1,128.03.

“It’s panic selling,” said Burt White, chief investment officer at LPL Financial in Boston, which oversees $379 billion. “There’s concern that the European situation might cool down global growth and freeze the credit markets.”

European Central Bank President Jean-Claude Trichet held interest rates at a record low of 1 percent today and said the bank didn’t discuss whether to purchase government bonds to stem the region’s debt crisis, defying market speculation that he would take such measures.

The euro maintained losses even as Greece’s parliament approved austerity measures demanded by the European Union and International Monetary Fund as a condition of its 110 billion euro ($140 billion) bailout.

Market ‘Horrified’

“The ECB can fix this instantly by doing what the Fed has done -- instantly providing liquidity by buying bad fixed-income instruments and paying cash in U.S. dollars,” said David Kovacs, head of quantitative strategies at Turner Investment Partners in Berwyn, Pennsylvania, which manages $18 billion. “The reason the market is horrified now is Trichet said it’s not even being discussed. Smart investors are basically selling risk assets.”

The MSCI Asia Pacific Index joined the MSCI World Index and the Stoxx 600 Index in wiping out its advance for 2010. The Dow and S&P 500 briefly erased their yearly gains before paring losses.

Bank of America Corp., Hewlett-Packard Co. and American Express Co. tumbled more than 4.5 percent to lead declines in the 30-stock Dow average.

The benchmark index for U.S. stock options surged as much as 63 percent, the most since February 2007, to 40.71 before paring its advance to 37 percent. The VIX, as the Chicago Board Options Exchange Volatility Index is known, measures the cost of using options as insurance against declines in the S&P 500.

Treasury Yields

Yields on benchmark 10-year Treasury notes plunged 16 basis points to 3.377 percent on demand for assets considered the most safe. The Dollar Index, which measures the currency against six major trading partners, jumped as much as 1.4 percent. The yen and Swiss franc also strengthened.

Yields on Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac mortgage securities that guide U.S. home-loan rates jumped the most relative to Treasuries in almost a year.

Spreads on Fannie Mae’s current-coupon 30-year fixed-rate mortgage bonds widened about 0.1 percentage point to 0.89 percentage point more than 10-year Treasuries as of 2:45 p.m. in New York, the biggest jump since May 27, according to data compiled by Bloomberg.

The gap touched a record low of 0.59 percentage point on March 29 as the Federal Reserve that month completed its purchases of $1.25 trillion of agency mortgage bonds.

“Fear is taking over, and images of Greek mobs aren’t helping,” said Larry Peruzzi, equity trader at Cabrera Capital Markets in Boston, Massachusetts, referring to televised images of demonstrations against austerity measures in Athens. “Buyers are stepping aside and disregarding fundamentals.”

--With assistance from Mark Gilbert and Keith Jenkins in London, Simon Kennedy in Paris, Simone Meier in Dublin, John Detrixhe, Elizabeth Stanton, Inyoung Hwang and Michael Tsang and Mark Shenk in New York and Pham-Duy Nguyen in Seattle. Editors: Chris Nagi, Dan Hauck.

To contact the reporters on this story: Michael P. Regan in New York at [email protected]; Rita Nazareth in New York at [email protected].

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Chris Nagi at [email protected].

LonewolfAlfa

stock market drop nevermind i can hold. maybe can buy somemore even.

what about the property market? got crash? i really want to buy.