• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Lim Boon Heng thread... merged

Re: Lim Boon Heng ask you to be kind and considerate to the PAP!

... even if AIG and GM take back their own bonuses, the PAP will not. ...
even if aig n gm dun take back ze bonuses, ah obama wil tax dem 90% ...

in sg, :mad: ...

†††††

Lim Boon Heng quit PAP to focus on PA, NTUC and reading

Lim Boon Heng stepping down as MP
MP Wee Siew Kim also leaving; total of 18 PAP lawmakers making way for others
By Cai Haoxiang
http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20110410/ST_IMAGES_P1BLURBS11-P3O.jpg

PEOPLE'S Action Party (PAP) chairman and Jurong GRC anchor minister Lim Boon Heng yesterday announced his retirement from politics, but quashed rumours that he would be running for the presidency.

Also announcing his departure from politics yesterday was Ang Mo Kio GRC MP Wee Siew Kim.

The duo did so to grassroots leaders in their respective constituencies.

With their announcements, the full complement of 18 PAP MPs who are giving way to new blood this year is now known. Sixteen had been announced earlier.

The PAP has already unveiled 18 new faces to be fielded in the coming election, and is slated to unveil another six this week.

The additional six come about because two parliamentary seats have been left vacant since Dr Balaji Sadasivan and Dr Ong Chit Chung died, and three new wards have been created with the recent electoral boundary changes.

One new face, Mr Desmond Choo, is slated to take over from Mr Eric Low as the PAP's man in opposition-held Hougang.

Mr Lim, 63, entered politics in 1980. He disclosed yesterday that he offered to retire from politics at the 2006 General Election, but was asked by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong to stay on for at least one more term.

Now that he has stepped down, the five-member team for Jurong GRC will comprise Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam, veteran unionist Halimah Yacob, and new faces Desmond Lee, David Ong and Ang Wei Neng.

'Our three understudies have come for some time. They have been tested, evaluated, assessed and they have passed... So, after more than 30 years of public service, I can now retire, pleased that we have a new team in place that will serve the people in Jurong and Yuhua well,' he said.

Jurong GRC took in parts of Boon Lay following electoral boundary changes. Mr Lim said his Jurong Central ward and these parts of Boon Lay will be split into two wards: Jurong Central and Jurong Spring. Mr Ang and Mr Lee will stand in these wards respectively.

Mr Ong will stand in the Bukit Batok ward of the late Dr Ong.

Meanwhile, Mr Tharman will stay on in Taman Jurong ward, while Madam Halimah will handle her current Bukit Batok East ward as well as the Toh Guan area, now part of Jurong GRC after the boundary changes.

Senior Minister of State (Education and National Development) Grace Fu will stay on in Yuhua ward, which has been carved out as a single seat.

Mr Lim began his career with shipping giant Neptune Orient Lines before joining the National Trades Union Congress in 1981, a year after he was elected MP of Kebun Baru ward. He was also secretary-general of NTUC from 1993 to 2006.

He will step down as deputy chairman of the People's Association (PA), a post he assumed in 2007, 'because you need a minister to be deputy chairman'. He will, however, volunteer his services to help the PA further develop its grassroots organisations, he said.

Mr Lim is currently a Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, where he takes care of ageing issues. He is also chairman of NTUC's Social Enterprises Development Council, which oversees cooperatives such as FairPrice supermarkets, insurance and training services.

He said he will also continue to play a role in overseeing the cooperatives, and in particular, stay on as the chairman of NTUC ElderCare.

One thing he will not be doing, however, is to run as a candidate in the presidential election, which must be held by August this year.

'I do not wish to be President. My roles for the future are much more modest,' he said.

Other than his PA and NTUC commitments, Mr Lim said he wants to do some gardening, spend more time with his family and catch up on his reading.

'I think it is time for me to try to get back into the habit of reading good novels, and improving my English - I think it has deteriorated a bit,' he said.

Mr Lim's Jurong Central ward's grassroots leaders yesterday said his retirement came as a surprise as he was highly visible on the ground. He is also still the PAP chairman, a post which he has held since December 2004.

Citizens' Consultative Committee assistant secretary Patrick Goh said: 'I am surprised and very sad. I have been working with him since 2001. But he told us he will meet us often.'

[email protected]

GRC MPs pay tribute

JURONG GRC MPs and a potential candidate fielded there pay tribute to Mr Lim Boon Heng's leadership of the GRC:

'He's been very important to me personally for the last 10 years, a quiet, very often an unseen guidance, giving me tips here and there, giving each of us the autonomy to run our wards well.'

Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam and MP for Taman Jurong ward

'I learnt from the way he conducts his Meet-the-People sessions and the tips he gives, for example, his practice of meeting every single resident.'

Madam Halimah Yacob, MP for Bukit Batok East ward

'When I had problems resolving differences on the ground, he's always been there to give me very measured and well-considered advice.'

Ms Grace Fu, Yuhua ward MP and Senior Minister of State (Education and National Development)

'He's very humble, mixes around with residents, so a lot of residents respect him. It's big shoes to fill, I'll learn to do that.'

SBS Transit vice-president Ang Wei Neng, understudying Mr Lim in his Jurong Central ward

Manager

Don't mess with me
Re: Lim Boon Heng quit PAP to focus on PA, NTUC and reading

you hear it here first... he will be running for the presidency come later part of the year. old tactic.

kingrant

The legislation should be changed to bar former PAP Cabinet Ministers from eligibility for the Elected President for at least 5 years.

Obviously, there is a conflict of interest since the EP is to guard the reserves and hold the second key.

How can he perform his job well when he is still close to the ruling Party in government?

This is something Singaporeans ought to seek to change.

Manager

Don't mess with me

ong teng cheong, ah nah are good examples.. ah boon will be next.. All from NTUC..nbz

batman1

Quit ? Quit jit kee lan lah.After hiding so many years inside PMO as "minister without portfolio" and collecting $10 to $20 millions (???) from taxpayers money.Will he forgo his pension and return back to society part of his undeserved salaries and allowances ??? Imagine u working in a company with the title "Executive without Any duties" that means "CHO-Boh-Lan" and why must we pay Cho-Boh_Lan or Good-For-Nothing millions of Dollars ??? Wake up Sinkees !!!

Khun Ying Pojaman

If he is not aiming for presidency, then the decision to quit must have been forced on him by LHL camp, as LBH is GCT camp. And LHL gives GCT camp in MP a dud in the mould of Tin Tin. Looks like the infighting is fermenting.

This piece of shit should consider himself very lucky. After last GE he was moved to PMO coz of his ECA with his NTUC lady colleague. Promoted to superscale somemore. Is this abusing his position as SG NTUC? Can anyone confront him and ask if this is true? Hahahaaa. LBH's wife went to see LHL then.

LBH, don't behave like a saint. You are just a piece of white shit!

batman1

This piece of shit should consider himself very lucky. After last GE he was moved to PMO coz of his ECA with his NTUC lady colleague. Promoted to superscale somemore. Is this abusing his position as SG NTUC? Can anyone confront him and ask if this is true? Hahahaaa. LBH's wife went to see LHL then.

LBH, don't behave like a saint. You are just a piece of white shit!

The MIW-controlled painted and msrepresented the MIW so-called leaders as "Saint" or "God" AS IF there is NO skeletons in their closets .
Yeah,the MIW are trumpted and misrepresented as perfectly clean and white,even whiter than the washing powder and they don't fark,fart ,shit or pee or don't have immoral desires !!! PUI !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
with this type of calibre,u can get a dime a dozen !

KuanTi01

Please include farming! He said he has lost his "green touch".:biggrin::biggrin::rolleyes:

you hear it here first... he will be running for the presidency come later part of the year. old tactic.

1. bro, don't ever expect much from some toothless dog or betterer sheep!
2. say you say me man.

If only he would take WKS with him.

dankos

Saw the 630 news. Lbh talk until cry you know. So drama. Knnb.

hotbot

i dun know wheterh you all remember what i said in my last posts years ago. i saw lim boon heng at my friend's wedding. i remember that he gave me the sibeh sia lan stare, if i interpret correctly, it is the "dun mess with me, i am pap" look. If i lie about what i siad here, i will be butchered alive. to me his crying only show how hypocritical and i was right about him all the while. he may be able to fool others but not me!

†††††

Lim Boon Heng say public unfair not to scrutinise opposition

'Public should scrutinise opposition candidates'
By Yen Feng
lbh-yen-feng.jpg

PEOPLE'S Action Party (PAP) chairman Lim Boon Heng said on Monday that the public deserves greater scrutiny of the opposition parties' candidates, just as its own candidates have come under public scrutiny.

'During the coming general election, we will see a number of old war horses among the opposition camp, and new faces,' said Mr Lim.

'These new faces have popped up almost at the last moment. Do we know enough about them?

'The public also needs to have the opportunity to scrutinise them, just as they are scrutinising our new candidates. Otherwise, how can voters make a considered choice?'
said Mr Lim, who is Minister in the Prime Minister's Office.

He made the remarks when introducing the PAP's 7th batch of three new candidates.

Mr Lim also asked voters to examine the opposition parties' manifestos carefully.

The Workers' Party unveiled their manifesto last Saturday. The PAP will release its manifesto soon, Mr Lim added.

rusty

Re: Lim Boon Heng say public unfair not to scrutinise opposition

'Public should scrutinise opposition candidates'
By Yen Feng
lbh-yen-feng.jpg

PEOPLE'S Action Party (PAP) chairman Lim Boon Heng said on Monday that the public deserves greater scrutiny of the opposition parties' candidates, just as its own candidates have come under public scrutiny.

'During the coming general election, we will see a number of old war horses among the opposition camp, and new faces,' said Mr Lim.

'These new faces have popped up almost at the last moment. Do we know enough about them?

'The public also needs to have the opportunity to scrutinise them, just as they are scrutinising our new candidates. Otherwise, how can voters make a considered choice?'
said Mr Lim, who is Minister in the Prime Minister's Office.

He made the remarks when introducing the PAP's 7th batch of three new candidates.

Mr Lim also asked voters to examine the opposition parties' manifestos carefully.

The Workers' Party unveiled their manifesto last Saturday. The PAP will release its manifesto soon, Mr Lim added.

This is a typical trick to instill fear into voters who have no idea how the parliament works. No need to scrutinise. We need to bring in 28 opposition members urgently so as to stop them from meddling with our CPF and other issues.

Without enough opp. in parliament, they will do what they like and change the CPF minimum sum, withdrawal age...etc.

We need more than one third to check and prevent them from implementing policies without proper approval in parliament.

We need quantity not quality for the time being,

coolguy

He cried because he is going to lose his job soon.
A multi million dollar comfy job he has been sitting on for so long.
If I were him, I will definitely feel sad because I am going to say bye bye to my
multi million dollar job which I may not get back a job with such a pay in the future.
But compared to the spore senior PMETs who lose their job, his tears are nothing but just a few drops of crocodile tears.
Those spore senior PMETs who lose their job, some may not be able to rise back on their feet again due to intense competition from FTs and employers unwilllingness to hire older workers. They still have their family to feed, but end up taking alternative jobs that pay peanuts to them. And they still have to endure.
And look at LBH. Without this minister job, he can still go into NTUC comfy jobs and even opted for presidency?
Life has certainly been very kind to these MIWs.

†††††

SHOCKING NEWS:- PAP is divided says Lim Boon heng

'There's no groupthink within PAP'
Minister turns emotional during media conference when responding to question
By Yen Feng
lbh2.jpg

PEOPLE'S Action Party (PAP) chairman Lim Boon Heng became emotional during a media conference on Monday when introducing the party's latest batch of candidates.

Tears welled up in his eyes when he was replying to a reporter's question about potential 'groupthink' within the party, which recently fended off criticism about its one-party rule, and slate of new candidates for an apparent lack of diversity.

'There is no groupthink,' said Mr Lim as he composed himself after he was overwhelmed by emotions.

Mr Lim cited the casino issue back in 2005, when it was hotly debated among Singaporeans and MPs.

During the 2005 parliamentary debate, Mr Lim was equally emotional, struggling to hold back his tears when he made a moving speech on how gambling had wrecked a family.

At Monday's media conference, Mr Lim told reporters that the Cabinet was not of one mind on the controversial issue.

'Within the Cabinet it was very divided,' he said. 'For me it was a very difficult process to accept the casinos. I almost couldn't make my speech in Parliament.'

Mr Lim, 63, who is Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, announced his decision to retire from politics on Sunday.

http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElection/News/Story/STIStory_655519.html