• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The difficulty of convincing Sinkies that public protest is not always a bad thing

Re: The difficulty of convincing Sinkies that public protest is not always a bad thin

This discussion is sure to draw the attention of the "authorities". :rolleyes:

Will those working for the "gov't" please stand up :smile:

hellion83

Re: The difficulty of convincing Sinkies that public protest is not always a bad thin

I agree, Agoraphobic.

Discussing the prevalence of (or rather, lack of) public demonstration in Singapore is definitely a complex issue. We cannot simply attribute our current behaviour to a single factor (e,g., restrictive laws, no balls, political/economic illiteracy, etc.), but rather have to look at the issue in terms of our unique landscape and certainly our upbringing as well. After all, I think that if our collective situation was really "tak boleh tahan", the law would have lost its grip on society a long time ago, as with the recent Arab Spring. I'm optimistic that we won't find ourselves in such a state.

With more and more people jumping onto the digital age, maybe forums and social media represent the new "barometer" of public sentiment. Whether an opinion is posted on a discussion board during lunch hour, or if it's written on a protester's placard, it still represents one dissenting view; one lost vote which the government has to work to earn back.

Cruxx

You can bet that there will be no protests even if Singaporeans are charged a government tax of $10 for every time they have sex. :rolleyes:

You can be sure the lying serpents in power would rationalise this tax as being good for Singapore and Sinkie sheep would internalise their rationale without putting much thought to it. That's Sinkies for you. No matter how the government fucks them, they'll always find a way to rationalise it like a battered wife defending her abusive husband.

lianbeng

Except for countries like North Korea and Burma, peaceful protest against the Establishment in public is actually a right for each and every citizen in this modern world. Why are Singaporeans adverse to such an activity is quite a puzzle. Occupy Singapore is a non event while people all over the world gather to protest in their own countries.

Forummers, your worthy views and opinions.:p:biggrin:

lianbeng replies to u, "malaysia boleh, singapore tak boleh lah. sekali kana tangkup.":biggrin:

Leepotism

You can be sure the lying serpents in power would rationalise this tax as being good for Singapore and Sinkie sheep would internalise their rationale without putting much thought to it. That's Sinkies for you. No matter how the government fucks them, they'll always find a way to rationalise it like a battered wife defending her abusive husband.

Looks like the Stockholm Syndrome.

Leepotism

lianbeng replies to u, "malaysia boleh, singapore tak boleh lah. sekali kana tangkup.":biggrin:

Ah Beng ah, jui hoo kia si bei hiong. Chin kar si.:biggrin:

Cruxx

Typical Sinkie rationalisations:

"I would prefer to have more disposable income but CPF helps us to save up $ for retirement."

"I also hate NS but why not think positive? NS builds character and discipline."

"I know the government is rather restrictive on our freedoms but at least we're not like North Korea right?"

Leepotism

Sinkies give themselves excuses for being lame.

Maximilian Chua-Heng

It's as difficult as telling Samsters here to vote for the PAP. Ingrained perceptions take time to change. It takes time and space.

neddy

This should provide some discussion point. I thought the use of unlawful assembly is at the heart of this question. To me how you interpret any of the listed item will determine if you go to jail or not by the judge.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penal_Code_(Singapore)

At the Commonwealth Heads of Govt meeting next week in Perth, there will be large scale protest. Police has already approved the rally.

Windsor

Actually it's all about moral courage and sense of right and wrong.
Like this single person. He has real courage and a hero. Where is our hero?

cheowyonglee

Except for countries like North Korea and Burma, peaceful protest against the Establishment in public is actually a right for each and every citizen in this modern world. Why are Singaporeans adverse to such an activity is quite a puzzle. Occupy Singapore is a non event while people all over the world gather to protest in their own countries.

Forummers, your worthy views and opinions.:p:biggrin:

If the PAP rise everything x 3, haha... Singaporeans will grow balls within second!!! :biggrin:

byleftcan

At the Commonwealth Heads of Govt meeting next week in Perth, there will be large scale protest. Police has already approved the rally.
As both protesters and police know where to draw the line. Those who stray off the route and those who disturb the peace would be arrested and that is the compact between people and police, a fair and expected agreement.

Cruxx

I would prefer watching a video of someone who has the moral courage to defend the right for individuals, rich or poor, to protect their hard earned wealth from appropriation. Too bad no banker at the moment has the guts to defend the 1% in mainstream media :(

cheekenpie

what's wrong with u morons trying to explain why there is no protest in sg? it doesn't farking matter...u think 10,000 could have made it to raffles place if they wanted to? trains will miraculously break down, as they already frequently do, buses will take hours to arrive and sinkies will just relak at kopitiam watch tv hoping that other sinkies will go...and wanna bet wp will keep these dumb laws if and when they takeover???