• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The 2 IRs mati liao...

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - The 2 IRs mati liao...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:50 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30849.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Uncertainty over how long Singapore's casinos will take to break even
By Georgina Joseph |
Posted: 30 March 2010 2016 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore's two integrated resorts with their casinos have gone over budget, according to a panel discussion on the subject on Tuesday.

The discussion was organised by the Singapore Press Club and Asia Journalism Fellowship.

The panelists said the casino operators have overpaid for bidding and building the two integrated resorts.

Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) spent S$7 billion on its development instead of its original target of S$5.2 billion.

Marina Bay Sands will spend S$8.4 billion, up from the original S$5 billion.

The question now is how long they will take to break even, but the panelists acknowledged it is still too early to assess their viability.

However, they raised other issues.

They said that RWS appeals to a mass market. But with an estimated daily taking of S$3.5 million, it seems to suggest they are not breaking even yet.

Universal Studio's future is also questioned, once the novelty wears off.

"My only hesitations about RWS is more to do with theme parks," said Sean Monaghan, managing director of AG Leisure Partners. "Disney in Hong Kong had a troubled start, so trying to predict the viability and the feasibility of theme parks can be more problematic."

According to gaming analysts, Marina Bay Sands should draw in S$5 million a day in the initial stages.

It has also positioned itself to cater to a more niche market of high quality gamblers, coupled with its MICE appeal.

Ronald Tan, a gaming analyst, said: "They have a very established theme at the moment, and they have also the Macau casino, and a huge data base of gamblers, quality gamblers from China... I think they will capitalise on that as well."

The panellists said that the higher start-up costs would mean the resorts must look for more ways to increase revenue. </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

cleareyes

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - The 2 IRs mati liao...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:50 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30849.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Uncertainty over how long Singapore's casinos will take to break even
By Georgina Joseph |
Posted: 30 March 2010 2016 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore's two integrated resorts with their casinos have gone over budget, according to a panel discussion on the subject on Tuesday.

The discussion was organised by the Singapore Press Club and Asia Journalism Fellowship.

The panelists said the casino operators have overpaid for bidding and building the two integrated resorts.

Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) spent S$7 billion on its development instead of its original target of S$5.2 billion.

Marina Bay Sands will spend S$8.4 billion, up from the original S$5 billion.

The question now is how long they will take to break even, but the panelists acknowledged it is still too early to assess their viability.

However, they raised other issues.

They said that RWS appeals to a mass market. But with an estimated daily taking of S$3.5 million, it seems to suggest they are not breaking even yet.

"My only hesitations about RWS is more to do with theme parks," said Sean Monaghan, managing director of AG Leisure Partners. "Disney in Hong Kong had a troubled start, so trying to predict the viability and the feasibility of theme parks can be more problematic."

According to gaming analysts, Marina Bay Sands should draw in S$5 million a day in the initial stages.

It has also positioned itself to cater to a more niche market of high quality gamblers, coupled with its MICE appeal.

Ronald Tan, a gaming analyst, said: "They have a very established theme at the moment, and they have also the Macau casino, and a huge data base of gamblers, quality gamblers from China... I think they will capitalise on that as well."

The panellists said that the higher start-up costs would mean the resorts must look for more ways to increase revenue. </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Are you that dumb????????

ahbengsong

HK has a huge mainland market next door... the pap singapore has mudland next door... haha... and smelly tong hyui koh hiding in JB next door... how to be profitable ??...

Z

Zombie

was there today... hot in the mid-day and then wet in the late afternoon.. no place to hide from the weather...
it would be a liability in the long run...

was there today... hot in the mid-day and then wet in the late afternoon.. no place to hide from the weather...
it would be a liability in the long run...
Aiyah, just cover the whole UU studio with glasses and on aircon lah, will feel like in Japan, LOL :biggrin:

Do they really earn $5mil a day? i highly doubt so :confused::confused:

dysentry

some of the rides look fun enough ... hope to try revenge of the mummy, battlestar, jurassic park and waterworld at least once ... of course must bring a hot chick along ...

kind of kills the fun when you have seen the youtube videos though...

LEt the whole damn casino go bankrupt lah.. You sinkies are too ball-less to fight for your rights so that is what happen, your tax money are all gone to waste by doing stupid things like building a casino. Good luck sinkies!!! WAHAHHAHAH!!! oh btw, you dun even have world cup too, what other things you will be deprived of in future?

ahleebabasingaporethief

What to do? We have MINISTARs or should I say MINIGODs running this country who think they are the BEST OF THE BEST. I use the word "think".

The 2 idiot Companies that OVER PAID for land that otherwise could not be sold deserve to fuck up their operations; for they do not know who they are dealing with. They are dealing with MINIGODs. Perhaps they actually BELIEVED the SCUMS official statistics adn built their BUSINESS PLAn and PROJECTIONS based on those statistics. Hahahaha! Welcome to the real Singapore.

Honestly building 2 casinos fucked up alot of things in this country. Those in the know will know what I am talking about. It affected everyday lifes of CITIZENs in this country; in a very negative way. The "casino effect" was used by the SCUMS and most property players to ramm up property prices. Also the cost of building materials sky-rocketted becos of lack of resources in our small country. Our "BEST OF THE BEST" never even saw that building 2 MEGA projects at the same time cannot happen in this "really not that efficient run " country.

Even the NEW NATIONAL STADIUM have to be delayed and shelved just for these 2 casinos.

World class GARMENT with highest pay in the world doing thiS. really laughing stock for the whole world to LAUGH at. EFFICIENT MY ARSE!

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

fenwick

The biggest winner still the garment lah, just put some staff and scanners outside and start to collect $100 each........... Nabeh!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

It affected everyday lifes of CITIZENs in this country; in a very negative way.

this is very true. some days i go to vivo for lunch. i see many aunties waiting for the casino bus. many times i overhear their conversation about their bad luck and can't help worry about their retirement money.
$100 surcharge will not stop hardcore gambling addicts. and in singapore there are many such people.

Can the 2 IR generate income from their hotel or even break even in the 1st year operating cost ?
Unless there is alot of convention held in 2 IR or sure die. I think Suntec wll suffer because mostly or 50% convention will shift to Sands IR.
If both IR hotel, theme park,shop rental and conventional hall cannot sustain income by themself then if doom for the IR. Because operating Casino/overhead cost is very high.
After 2nd year many local will be in debt for those gambling weekly. Many maybe need to sell of the HDB and rent room/live with their relative. Most relative will not accept gambler because will give them trouble like bad influence and Ah Long problem.
Just how long can the IR survive?????

the problem is business is dependent on tourism and not local support. Without local support base, these business cannot survive. You need a huge population to able to support this type of business.

they over-scaled the whole thing. an exclusive-sized one like st moritz casino is ok. but greed and face make them want to build 2 gambling dens and make the whole country become las vegas or macao.