• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thaksin's Open Letter

kensington

http://www.prachatai.net/english/node/1139

Thaksin Shinnawatra

The past few days have been a terrible tragedy for the Kingdom of Thailand, as peaceful pro-democracy protests were met with force, first by state sponsored armed militias, then by the state itself. Well over a hundred protesters suffered injuries, and an unknown number of people have died.

Like all Thais everywhere, I was horrified to watch these events and want to express my sympathies and condolences to all those injured, including those in the security forces. They are our brothers, too, and although I strongly condemn the use of state violence against the Thai people, I also recognize that these foot soldiers were only carrying out orders. The blame must lay squarely with their superiors and with the government.

I have been giving this pro-democracy movement moral support for many weeks now, encouraging the people through video link and phone calls to fight for their democratic rights. In my remarks, I repeatedly emphasized the importance that this pro-democracy movement be peaceful, and that this peoples’ revolution be non-violent. Tens of thousands, indeed hundreds of thousands, of Thais answered that call, rallying peacefully in recent weeks to demand the return of real democracy to Thailand. I have been proud and deeply moved by the commitment of so many Thais to this cause – a call for “democracy for all”.

Those who have joined this movement are not just my supporters. On the contrary, the majority of people who have suffered through sweltering heat and rain showers to make their voices heard have been students, academics, housewives, businesspeople, and even policemen and other civil servants who have decided that the time has come to say no to the politics of intervention by the military. The time has come to reject a political order that repeatedly overturns the will of the people. And the time has come to demand a Thailand where all Thais enjoy the same rights, with equality, liberty and justice for all.

For more than three years now, the political elite groups in Bangkok have gone to extraordinary lengths to consolidate power at the expense of the Thai people, shredding all semblance of democracy in the Kingdom. This privileged class nullified the results of an election; executed and supported a coup; imposed an undemocratic constitution on the country; disbanded political parties (but onlyagainst those associated with me); supported sustained street protests that led to the takeover of government institutions and even the seizure of our nation’s primary airport in order to bring down another democratically elected government; and then supported the military’s intervention to establish the current Abhisit-led government, in what for all intents and purposes was a not-so-silent “silent coup.”

The “red shirt” pro-democracy movement was born of these repeated injustices and will continue to grow until true democracy is returned to all the Thai people. The blatant hypocrisy of this latest round of events, with the Thai military violently suppressing the pro-democracy “red shirt” movement after indulging, and indeed actively encouraging, the pro-aristocracy “yellow shirt” movement’s seizure of government institutions and the nation’s primary airport earlier this year, will only make our people more determined to fight on.

I reiterate my call here to all my fellow Thais that our struggle for democracy must be non violent. We must build the future we seek through the force of our ideas and our principles, and resist all the suppressive and aggressive attempts by the state and state-sponsored thugs to provoke us and incite us to violence. I know well, as do all who participated in the pro-democracy protests, that the bus burnings and other scenes of alleged red-shirted violence were created by the enemies of democracy with the intention of discrediting our movement. It is all too easy to put on red attributes and run amuck in the streets. Rest assured that the Thai people will not be fooled by this. We absolutely reject any form of violence, and reject the efforts of such enemies to tarnish what we stand for, to portray us as a mob, and to legitimize a crackdown on our people.

This is why the courageous leaders of the pro-democracy movement called on the tens of thousands of Thais still gathered outside Government House and elsewhere in the city to stand down on April 14 and return home. Confronted with tanks, thousands of soldiers and armed militias, and faced with the government’s false pretext of restoring law and order, the leadership of the pro-democracy movement rightly assessed that both their people and innocent bystanders would be badly injured and even get slaughtered if they remained on the streets. The leaders’ number one priority was protecting lives, and I commend them for putting the people first. Too many Thais have died in the past at the hands of the state. We must come together now and say “not this time.” This time, we must resist the temptation and provocation to fall back into the pattern of violence and hatred that has poisoned our politics for so long. We must reject the use of force by and on behalf of the state, just as we reject the determination of the Bangkok elites to rob the vast majority of the Thai people of their fundamental rights.

And so, today, we have stepped back from confrontation. But we will not retreat from our pursuit of democracy. If we are stopped, our work will not rest, for the pursuit of democracy is a just cause. In the end, I am confident that the will of the Thai people will prevail.

Thaksin Shinawatra
April 15, 2009

yinyang

Balance this against how last week's events alienated average bkk joe:

http://www.bangkokpost.com/opinion/opinion/15267/where-thaksin-went-wrong

Where Thaksin went wrong
By: Voranai Vanijaka
Published: 19/04/2009 at 12:00 AM

Remember hundreds of thuggish men armed with axes, machetes and other weapons attempting to take over Bangkok and succeeding in vandalising the Royal Cliff Beach Resort's convention centre in Pattaya?

Remember an angry mob trying to kidnap Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva and sending Asean leaders scurrying away? Secretary-general to the PM Niphon Phromphan left with broken ribs?

Remember gas trucks planted in different areas in Bangkok - their explosions can wipe out entire city blocks?

Remember reports of two civilians supposedly gunned down by the red shirts; taunting and wielding of weapons, burning of buses and tyres?

Remember that one guy, who unzipped and urinated on the street, in an act of mocking defiance, in front of soldiers and all the cameras?

Remember - and this is by far my favourite - the two red-shirt women ranting and raving, running up to a group of men? One, a flabby woman perhaps in her forties, took off her shirt, revealing a black bra, in rage, posturing and taunting the men? While the other one simply jumped on a man and attacked him?

Images on TV. What went through your mind while watching? Many thoughts, no doubt. Though I would venture that most of our thoughts more or less came to the same conclusion. Which was: "Holy crap! Somebody better do something! Call in the marines! Where's spider-man?! These thugs are going nuts! Wait a sec! Are they gonna come after me next?" Chaos, anarchy, the absence of law - scary stuff.

That, fellow citizens, residents, illegals and everyone else, is why Thaksin Shinawatra and the red shirts failed in their uprising. He wanted, needed popular backing. But instead of inspiring and rallying, the red shirts scared the pah khao ma (traditional sarong), the Gucci pants and fisherman's pants off the poor, the rich and the farang respectively alike.

TV images of thugs running amok all over the city is too unsavoury. It turned public opinion against him. Not all, of course. But enough to lose the Songkran War for Thaksin.

Thaksin was banking on his popularity, sure of a mass uprising to support him and oust the Democrat-led coalition government, paving the way for his exoneration and return to power - that was the goal. It could have happened. I, for one, have always thought that Thaksin is the most popular man in Thailand. Well, next to singing sensations Golf & Mike, of course - we Thais have our priorities straight.

But alas, it wasn't meant to be.

You can blame it on poor generalship. Whoever is chief advisor to Thaksin should be fired. Hire me instead. I want a flat in London and a life-time supply of free chips at a Cambodian casino. I read Sun Tzu's Art of War once in elementary school, so I'm qualified!

Why did yellow succeed and red fail? Both started as peaceful demonstrations, then graduated to terrorism.

The PAD's "final solution" was taking the airport hostage. Sure, there were weapons, violence and deaths. But there was also organisation to the movement. Key leaders were always visible, leading the charge, keeping the mob under control. For the rest of us Thais, Suvarnabhumi is way over there - isolated, way, way, way over there. It was annoying. It was unfortunate. It was inconvenient. But it did not threaten people of their properties. It's not right outside our windows. Unless a trip was planned, it didn't directly touch us.

The UDD's "final solution", on the other hand, was to take over Bangkok. Oops. Who thought that one up? An armed mob running amok all over the city. Key leaders were nowhere in sight. Citizens were threatened and killed. Yup, that will win over public opinion alright. Their actions were way, way, way too near and menacing for comfort. People's revolution? Nope, mob rule.

Like in many cultures and societies, we Thais too prefer to bury our heads in a rice bowl - see no evil, hear no evil - as long as evil is a safe distance away. But this one was right in our faces, and no amount of mascara or skin-whitening cream could hide our terror. It's a matter of proximity, and we won't stand for it.

The red shirts came undone because of images on TV. No wonder they threatened the media with violence, for being so bias as to capture realities with cameras.

So here we are. PM Abhisit emerged from the Songkran War looking prettier than he usually does. People are quick to forgive his earlier misjudgment and indecisiveness. He recovered well enough. Through careful orchestration, and perhaps sheer luck, the military did not end up killing anyone - at least not that we know of at the moment. Many now call him a national hero for exercising the virtue of patience and taking control of the situation.

Thaksin, meanwhile, in reports from Dubai on Friday, has softened his stan

ce and said he's willing to talk. Well, that's what he said.

Is it over? Of course not. Also on Friday, there was an attempted assassination on PAD leader Sondhi Limthongkul. Fortunately, if not miraculously, he survived a close range attack by gunmen with automatic weapons, who fired almost 100 rounds. Well, whatever Buddhist relic Sondhi was wearing, look for copies to become the hottest selling items in Thailand since Roti Boy. Anyway, this conflict might go underground and get even uglier.

Is it over? Of course not. This is beyond Thaksin, Sondhi, red or yellow. History has shown that, be it coup, murder, corruption, uprising, terrorism or whatever other evils the rich and powerful orchestrated - rarely, if at all, does anyone ever get punished. Rarely, if at all, does anyone ever get held responsible. So there will always continue to be coups, murders, corruption, uprisings, terrorism and others. Why not? Rarely, if at all, are there ever any repercussions.

Is it over? Of course not. This is beyond Thaksin, Sondhi, red or yellow. When disaster strikes due to the incompetence and ineptitude of officials, no one is ever fired or jailed. At worst, they get transferred to continue being incompetent in another government post. How that's for encouraging criminals into believing they stand a good chance of terrorising the country?

All these, of course, are mai pen rai. But don't post any inappropriate content on the internet, or the wrath will be upon you like white on jasmine rice! We Thais have our priorities straight.

[email protected]

jly69

Ha ha ha ...

To believe whatever crap written about Thaksin by the Bangc0ck Post, The Nation, etc., is to believe Hitler's infamous "Last Territorial Demand". These media are controlled by the army, royalists & Bangc0ck elites whose interests (power, influence, greed, $$$$) were at stake during Thaksin's premiership. They sure hated him and would do the utmost to ensure that he and his followers would not return to power by whatever means.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Good post with a canny satirical insight:smile:

Let me share a quote from a Singgie lady travelling to LOS

My luggage will only contain black and white outfits

Lady packing for holiday in LOS avoiding getting mistaken for protestors wearing yellow, red and blue:biggrin::p
Is it over? Of course not. Also on Friday, there was an attempted assassination on PAD leader Sondhi Limthongkul. Fortunately, if not miraculously, he survived a close range attack by gunmen with automatic weapons, who fired almost 100 rounds. Well, whatever Buddhist relic Sondhi was wearing, look for copies to become the hottest selling items in Thailand since Roti Boy. Anyway, this conflict might go underground and get even uglier.
Is it over? Of course not. This is beyond Thaksin, Sondhi, red or yellow. History has shown that, be it coup, murder, corruption, uprising, terrorism or whatever other evils the rich and powerful orchestrated - rarely, if at all, does anyone ever get punished. Rarely, if at all, does anyone ever get held responsible. So there will always continue to be coups, murders, corruption, uprisings, terrorism and others. Why not? Rarely, if at all, are there ever any repercussions.

Is it over? Of course not. This is beyond Thaksin, Sondhi, red or yellow. When disaster strikes due to the incompetence and ineptitude of officials, no one is ever fired or jailed. At worst, they get transferred to continue being incompetent in another government post. How that's for encouraging criminals into believing they stand a good chance of terrorising the country?

All these, of course, are mai pen rai. But don't post any inappropriate content on the internet, or the wrath will be upon you like white on jasmine rice! We Thais have our priorities straight.

[email protected]

yinyang

Good post with a canny satirical insight:smile:
Good you saw the light:biggrin:. Some blinkered (mono-chrome sighted?) blokes just cannot tell diff between a khun thai's self dig at recent events or their own misfortune vs personalities.:rolleyes: At least, I'm colour blind
Lady packing for holiday in LOS avoiding getting mistaken for protestors wearing yellow, red and blue
Lingerie, how?:p:wink:

cowbehcowbu

Thasin has no moral credit to call for revolution.in the name of democracy...
Thasin is so scare to face trial in his own country...bcos, a lot of shit and evidence will come out to discredit him and put him in jail

a traiter to his people and nation...who had commited crime and try to make use of those naive demonstrator to cover for him....

Thasin has no moral credit to call for revolution.in the name of democracy...
Thasin is so scare to face trial in his own country...bcos, a lot of shit and evidence will come out to discredit him and put him in jail

a traiter to his people and nation...who had commited crime and try to make use of those naive demonstrator to cover for him....

When a person try to learn from a sinkie and behave like a sinkie, that is what happen, he get booted out from his own country, his passport has been impounded as well.

If he learn from Bush another ass ( a lesser ass) he might still able to stay in his own country.

hairylee

Now we know why Hakkas historically have been kicked from pillar to post and never really have a place to call their own. Now this Thaksin even gets to be kicked out of his own country.
Many years ago a Sinkie also tried to "makan" a certain Tunku and was kicked out in the ass as well.

yinyang

On the run?

http://www.nationmultimedia.com/2009/04/23/politics/politics_30101107.php

Thaksin flees UAE after extradition pledge
By The Nation

The United Arab Emirates has promised to try to arrest fugitive ex-premier Thaksin Shinawatra although he has fled the sultanate since April 20, Vice Minister Panit Vikitseth said on Thursday.

UAE foreign affairs authorities revealed that Thaksin's arrival took place on March 27 declaring himself as businessman, Panit said.

After Thaksin used the UAE as his base to attack Thailand triggering the Songkran mayhem, he was reprimanded to stop his hostile action, he said.

Thaksin fled to an undisclosed location after Thailand notified the UAE about his passport cancellation and his arrest warrants were circulated via Interpol.

Panit paid a visit to the UAE on April 19-to-21 as a special envoy dispatched by Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva. Panit's mission was to speed up the extradition of Thaksin.

He said the UAE authorities recieved the notification of Thaksin's passport cancellation, his two warrants on the conviction on the Ratchadapisek land case and on involvement in inciting the mayhem. The warrants were sent via Interpol.

The UAE also acknowledged the letter from the Muslim community in Phetchaburi Soi 7 pleading for a stop to sheltering Thaksin who incite the red shirts for violent attack on the the community's masjid.

Runaway former Thai PM Thaksin in Liberia

http://www.nationmultimedia.com/2009/04/23/politics/politics_30101151.php

Fugitive ex-Thai prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra is in Liberia, Africa to explore Thai investment and cooperation, Star Radio of Liberia reported on Tuesday. Thaksin has held talks with Liberia's Vice President Joseph Boakai aimed at exploring avenues for a huge investment in Liberia.

The radio quoted Thaksin as telling Boakai that it is his strong intention for Thailand to have good relations with African Countries.

According to him, Thailand would like to share its success and failure in the areas of agriculture and poverty eradication.

Porfirio Rubirosa

For those who missed this interesting analysis by Alex Au
13 April 2009
Abhisit declares emergency in Bangkok over Red Shirts

I was transfixed by the unfolding developments in Bangkok and Pattaya over the weekend. Early in the week, some 100,000 Red Shirts appeared at various rallies in Bangkok, an astounding number.

On Thursday, 9 April 2009, a portion of them besieged the Victory Monument roundabout, causing gridlock and utter chaos in the capital city's public transport system.

Then on Friday, they marched on the Royal Cliff Resort in Pattaya where Asean leaders were scheduled to meet their counterparts from China, Japan, Australia, etc. It was relatively peaceful, and the rally dispersed after they managed to hand a letter over to the Asean leaders protesting the legitimacy of the Abhisit government.

On Saturday, a new "colour" made its appearance -- dark blue shirts. They confronted the Red Shirts, and a short but furious fight broke out between the two sides. The Red Shirts, being far more numerous, pushed forward, and eventually entered one of the conference buildings in victory.

The summit was cancelled and the gathered leaders had to be evacuated by helicopter to U-Tapao air base from where they flew home. Abhisit himself was the first of the heads of government to flee.

You may ask: Where were the security forces? What were the police doing? Wasn't the army guarding the place?

And while you're at it: Who are the Blue Shirts?

These questions point to a far more complicated situation than most Singaporeans understand. It is not a simple two-sided conflict of government versus anti-government. On the so-called "government" side, there are multiple forces who can and do act independently of each other, sometimes at cross-purposes. The whole contest is also being played out against a background of repeated uprisings in modern Thai history, the memory of which is shaping both sides' tactics.

On Sunday, a state of emergency was declared over Bangkok and the surrounding provinces. Exactly what the government hoped to achieve with that is not yet clear, but the risk of blood being spilled has risen. I now estimate it at over 50 percent.

Last month, I was speaking to a non-Thai friend who had been living in Bangkok for many years. I asked him: "I know the army does not take orders from Abhisit; there are forces bigger than the Prime Minister, forces he does not control. Who is the central figure behind them?"

I knew it would be hard for him to give a clear-cut answer, because there are many shadowy figures, but his simplified answer illustrated very well the complexity of the situation. He said, "The queen."

This diagram below will give you an idea of the forces at play.

On the left side, we know that the Red Shirts take inspiration from deposed prime minister Thaksin. Is he the one giving orders? I'm beginning to doubt it. I think the Red Shirt movement is now bigger than Thaksin, and I don't think he can fully control it anymore. The movement is a boiling over of the rural and lower classes' long-suppressed frustration at being exploited by the rich and the powerful.

It is couched as a demand for democracy because they know that they have the numbers to win any free election.

On the right side, the first thing you'd notice is that Abhisit is almost naked in that he has no "ground forces" of his own. He is in office by courtesy of the bigger forces on that side of the contest, and he is dispensable. Anytime they don't need him as figleaf, he goes.

The palace and the generals are the ones calling the shots. Their ground forces are the yellow shirts and, in theory, the army. We have not yet seen the army in action, so we don't quite know, in reality, where the army junior officers' and rank and file's loyalties lie. But because the generals are on that side, for now we assume the army is on that side too.

The problem both sides face is that if there is any pattern to be gleaned from previous uprisings, it is this: The side that fires the first shots and causes the first fatalities is the loser. Your moral high ground is immediately forfeited and there is no way Thai society can fully support you.

Thus, so far in this contest, both sides have tried their best to avoid lethal violence. The police, and even soldiers supporting them, in manning protective cordons have generally been armed with no more than batons.

The Red Shirts in turn have shown remarkable discipline, pushing forward steadily but not running amok, and pulling back when ordered.

What has been interesting so far is that many observers have come to the conclusion that the rank and file of the police forces have their sympathies with the Red Shirts. This is hardly surprising. They come from the same social class as the poor and downtrodden. This explains why so often, when the Red Shirts push forward, the police just give way. It may also explain why so many Red Shirt leaders arrested by the police have "escaped".

Take the guy who broke the rear windshield of Abhisit's car earlier this week. This happened when, prior to the Asean summit meeting, Abhisit held a cabinet meeting in Pattaya and found himself nearly lynched by a group of Red Shirts, on his way out of the seaside town. The guy who broke the windshield surrendered himself to the police for that act, but later, when he asked for a smoke break, they let him out, and he just walked away.

What about the Blue Shirts? They're the classic agents provocateurs. It is now widely believed that they were soldiers disguised as anti-Red demonstrators. Eyewitness accounts suggest that they were the ones who started the melee on Saturday morning at the Royal Cliff Resort by throwing objects at the Red Shirts.

Look at the Blue Shirts' haircuts

Quite likely, Abhisit did not even know that a bunch of Blue Shirts was being organised, for it would have risked exactly what happened later, infuriating the Red Shirts so much that fighting would break out, threatening the entire summit and causing him to lose face. More likely, other chieftains came up with the idea behind the prime minister's back, perhaps because saw an opportunity to force a showdown with the Red Shirts.

And now that showdown may be happening, with the state of emergency declared over Bangkok. How will the junior officers and solders respond? This is the question we have to watch out for.

First indications are not good. The Red Shirts managed to seize three armoured personnel carriers on Rama 1 Road, just in front of the chi-chi Siam Paragon Shopping Centre. How did the soldiers give up their vehicles so easily? Are they demoralised? Or are their secret sympathies with the Red side too?

Below is a Youtube video from another part of Bangkok. Not only Red Shirts, but ordinary bystanders are getting heated the moment they spot an army personnel carrier. When surrounded and nearly overwhelmed by people, the army vehicle lurches back and forth, destroying a motorbike (and latter it sounded like it crashed into a car or two), which only leaves more people incensed. Imagine if an accident happened and someone was killed...

Thailand's army is mostly made up of conscripts. Either they wouldn't know how to react calmly and with discipline to protest situations or their obedience to their commanders could be shakey. However, there are crack units who will probably obey orders to shoot if given.

And let's not forget the Yellow Shirts whom we haven't seen in action so far this year. What role is being thought up for them in the coming days or weeks? And how much of all this does Abhisit control? Or even know about?

If the rule is that whoever shoots first cannot win, then how will the generals ever prevail when two-thirds of the country are more or less on the side of Thaksin and the Red Shirts?

Ah, but that rule was only true when the king was active enough to intervene the moment the first shots were fired. Now he is ailing. Suppose he doesn't intervene this time, will the first shots be followed by more shots? And then, some more?

I am getting very concerned with this fast deteriorating situation.

© Yawning Bread

cowbehcowbu

Thaksin is fighting a KINGDOM..meaning a nation with the royalty having the final control,,simply that..
I firmly believe Thaksin shall be labelled as a traitor in Siamese history....as he openly called for 'revolution'...against who??? the ultimate ruler ..the siamese king...
In the past,,all those prime ministers who are deposed by military coup will just leave the country and live a very low profile lifes thereafter..AS THEY KNOW the king want them to quit ,,..BUT FOR Thaksin...he seems bend on a revolution...he wants to be the president of SIAM..HA HA

hairylee

Many years ago there was a Sinkie who tried to be the Sole Proprietor of "Malaysia" and he was kicked across the causeway.

yinyang

Oh, Thaksin's moneybags? New private island to boot:p

http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/politics/143140/montenegrin-govt-issues-thaksin-passport

Montenegro gives Thaksin a passport

By: BangkokPost.com
Published: 13/05/2009 at 11:14 AM
The government of the small Balkan country of Montenegro has issued a passport to Thaksin Shinawatra, Noppadon Pattama, former legal adviser to the fugitive ex-prime minister said on Wednesday.

He would not say if it was a diplomatic passport, like the passport the government of Nicaragua, in Central America, has given Thaksin.

Mr Noppadon also said Thaksin has passports issued by several countries because their leaders are his good friends and sympathise with him for the unfair way he has been treated in Thailand.

He also confirmed reports that Thaksin is interested in buying Sveti Nikola, a small island of 37,000 square metres in the Adriatic Sea with three long sandy beaches.

Th rocky island, only a short way off the coast, is being offered at auction. The reserve price set by the First Bank of Montenegro is 21 million euros, about 987 million baht.

Thaksin sees potential in developing the island for tourism, he said.

The auction is set for May 23.

Thaksin has already informed the Montenegrin government of his interest as an investor in purchasing the island, Mr Noppadon said.

cowbehcowbu

Thaksin has nothing now..he lost credibility..trust..loyalty..honour at homes..[title stripped off]
HE ONLY HAS MONIES now...so he is...befittingly.....good friends of those dubious countries.......He shouted for revolution by democracies..where is his westerner friends like GB, US,AUS,.....EU..they avoid him like leprocy.....
poor thaksin...got what he deserved probably..after calling for revolution..

hairylee

Thaksin has nothing now..he lost credibility..trust..loyalty..honour at homes..[title stripped off]
HE ONLY HAS MONIES now...so he is...befittingly.....good friends of those dubious countries.......He shouted for revolution by democracies..where is his westerner friends like GB, US,AUS,.....EU..they avoid him like leprocy.....
poor thaksin...got what he deserved probably..after calling for revolution..

Not only these it also show what a coward he is. Unlike Chamlong who lead the protest personally, this Thugsin called for revolution from a safe distance.