• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thai girl said she was pushed onto MRT tracks, You believe?

AyamGoreng

Nitcharee had prosthetic legs fitted in July last year in Bangkok, and is now able to walk short distances. They were made in Germany and each cost 1 million baht (S$40,000). Part of her $3.4 million claim is to pay for 20 pairs of prosthetic legs that she will need over her lifetime.

20 pairs = $800,000

What about the rest of the $2.6 million? Why so much?

Missile

20 pairs = $800,000

What about the rest of the $2.6 million? Why so much?

She is going to need something like the Iron Man or the robotic pants from Wallace and Gromit.

WallaceandGromitinTheWrongTrousers.jpg

Extremist

SINGAPORE: Two videos from Ang Mo Kio MRT station's CCTV cameras were shown in court on the third day of the lawsuit filed by the father of a Thai teenager who lost both legs in a MRT accident.

16-year-old Ms Nitcharee Pen-Eakchanasak is seeking compensation from rail operator SMRT and the Land Transport Authority (LTA).

In the videos, which were filmed at slightly different angles, Ms Nitcharee was seen standing among a crowd of about 25 people.

The upper half of her body appeared to lean forward and she fell forward. Her torso flipped over the edge of the platform, bringing her legs up into the air - before she landed on the tracks.

About six seconds later, the train pulled into the station and ran over her legs.

Expert witness for the plaintiff, civil engineer Professor Natarajan Krishnamurthy, who was on the stand for a second day, said that while footage showed that there were about three layers of people standing behind Ms Nitcharee that day, there did not appear to have been any physical contact between her and the other passengers.

He also said there did not appear to be a surge of people moving forward at the sight of the approaching train.

He had watched the videos while preparing his evaluation on the safety aspects at the Ang Mo Kio station.

Ms Nitcharee maintained that she had been waiting behind the yellow line on the platform when she fell, and that SMRT and LTA had not taken enough measures to prevent the injuries she sustained when she fell, thereby breaching the duty of care on their premises.

But in the video footage, the position of her legs were blocked from view, and defence lawyer K Anparasan suggested that she could have taken a step forward or that her feet could have been on or over the yellow line.

Prof Krishnamurthy argued however, that it is possible to give a probable location of where Ms Nitcharee's feet were positioned - by tracing what can be seen of the yellow line in the video to where she is standing, and by tracing the curve of her body as she fell.

Based on those factors, he said he was "quite sure" that Ms Nitcharee was standing behind the yellow line at the time.

He added that the fact that both her legs came up at the same time when she fell, and the suddenness of her fall indicated that she had not taken a step forward.

Prof Krishnamurthy said earlier that while the distance between safety lines and platform edges at MRT stations here exceed those in other countries, service providers must provide for worst-case scenarios to the best possible extent.

They must also anticipate potential problems and prevent them from happening.

At a number of times during the day's proceedings, Mr Anparasan questioned Prof Krishnamurthy's credibility as an expert on transport safety.

He said that Prof Krishnamurthy's expertise lies generally in the construction industry.

He also made reference to a another case where Prof Krishnamurthy was called as an expert witness and the judge in that case was not satisfied with his expert report.

But Prof Krishnamurthy argued that he has published a book, as well as given talks, on risk management.

Ms Nitcharee, who gave her testimony on Monday, has flown home to Thailand.

- CNA/xq

dredd

Hope she gets the most out of MRT. I won't shed a tear for the MRT - A supposedly public transport system that has been cunningly run like a company to benefit a few fat cats above.

watchman8

Hope she gets the most out of MRT. I won't shed a tear for the MRT - A supposedly public transport system that has been cunningly run like a company to benefit a few fat cats above.

Agreed. LTA and SMRT ought to have installed the barriers much earlier. It was getting unsafe with the train platforms getting overcrowded.

The compensation should be taken out of LTA CEO and SMRT former CEO's paychecks.

Extremist

but getting the most out of SMRT means to get more from tax payer money, our money

ray_of_hope

Agreed. LTA and SMRT ought to have installed the barriers much earlier. It was getting unsafe with the train platforms getting overcrowded.

The majority of subway systems around the world don't have such nonsense. The fact that they have installed such barriers here indicates 2 things: (1) sinkies are very sissified; and (2) the increasing number of suicides on the network was causing embarrassment to the regime.

watchman8

The majority of subway systems around the world don't have such nonsense. The fact that they have installed such barriers here indicates 2 things: (1) sinkies are very sissified; and (2) the increasing number of suicides on the network was causing embarrassment to the regime.

SMRT and LTA should benchmark against the best in terms of reliability and safety, instead of using mediocre overseas train systems to become complacent and overpay their own CEOs. Even most of the new China subway stations have barriers.

Don't be like the PAP, when it comes to ministers pay, they benchmark with the top earners. But when it comes to MRT system, they tell us to be contented by comparing with the super crowded Tokyo, or the unreliable century-old london or NYC subways.

Sinkies should always demand to have the best.

soIsee

SMRT and LTA should benchmark against the best in terms of reliability and safety, instead of using mediocre overseas train systems to become complacent and overpay their own CEOs. Even most of the new China subway stations have barriers.

Don't be like the PAP, when it comes to ministers pay, they benchmark with the top earners. But when it comes to MRT system, they tell us to be contented by comparing with the super crowded Tokyo, or the unreliable century-old london or NYC subways.

Sinkies should always demand to have the best.

You go fly kite lah, who are you as peasants to demand the best. The world don't owe you a resposibility to you to watch over your own personal safety!

YOUR MIW PAYS THEMSELVES SO MUCH BECOS AS SINKIE YOU'RE TOO BALLESS TO ACT UNITED TO CHECK SUCH ABUSE!o

Paying the MIW so much does not equate for you to make your demands on them as a matter of fact, if you were so balless to stand up for your rights it just shows the MIW would lever the advantage on your ballessness, to make life as unequal between them and you.

Get some balls or else let the MRT train run over them since although those balls of yours are physically attachecd to you they are useless and serve you no purpose to have them there at all!:biggrin:

dredd

but getting the most out of SMRT means to get more from tax payer money, our money

That's like saying we should protect a thief and his money because he stole from us and fining him in court will only result in him stealing more from us. I would rather the Thai girl get the money rather than some smart-assed scholar bigwig continue to plunder us.

You go fly kite lah, who are you as peasants to demand the best. The world don't owe you a resposibility to you to watch over your own personal safety!

YOUR MIW PAYS THEMSELVES SO MUCH BECOS AS SINKIE YOU'RE TOO BALLESS TO ACT UNITED TO CHECK SUCH ABUSE!o

Paying the MIW so much does not equate for you to make your demands on them as a matter of fact, if you were so balless to stand up for your rights it just shows the MIW would lever the advantage on your ballessness, to make life as unequal between them and you.

Get some balls or else let the MRT train run over them since although those balls of yours are physically attachecd to you they are useless and serve you no purpose to have them there at all!:biggrin:

Very very well said.. i will up you.. hehe..

That's like saying we should protect a thief and his money because he stole from us and fining him in court will only result in him stealing more from us. I would rather the Thai girl get the money rather than some smart-assed scholar bigwig continue to plunder us.
It's his type of dumbass logic typical of the 60.1% that is keeping the pappies in power