• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TCB: SGs Suspect CPF $ No Enough!

https://www.facebook.com/TanChengBock

Wednesday, May 28, 2014 at 1:41am

CPF and beyond.

The current heated discussion on CPF boils down to a question of a lack of public trust.

Most Singaporeans have high expectations of realising some cash after their retirement. Changes made to the CPF and the constant reminder that they may not have enough disposable income when they grow old, created a sense of insecurity. This is backed by the fact that only half of active CPF ...account holders have enough to meet the minimum sum requirement. To add to the anxiety, the minimum sum was increased recently resulting in less disposable money for their retirement.

Human nature is such. Many live on hope and promises. How did we come to this scenario? CPF was intended to give us comfort in old age but this do not seem to be so now.

Questions were asked why CPF investment was not giving us better returns. As answers were not so forth coming, they inferred that probably there was not enough CPF fund to give back and thus the need to retain more in the minimum sum. This may not be the case but nevertheless confidence in the system has been dented.

Younger Singaporeans, better educated, and with a more enquiring mind zoomed in on how the CPF money was invested. They raised some pertinent questions like interest rates and want to know where, how and quantum of return from investments but they got same standard answers ( e.g. CPF are invested in Singapore government bonds). This did not satisfy their young minds. They want to know whether GIC and Temasek holdings are also managing the funds. But apparently these questions were not well clarified. This created a suspicion of the government not being transparent and that the government was not revealing the true status of our money in the CPF.

As the answers were not forth coming, more pressure was exerted through the new media and some got carried away too far with allegation of wrong doings by the authorities. So the big stick was used.

The CPF issue is but one of many such encounters that the government will have to face. It is very challenging and difficult .

There will be more such standoffs. But for now, how is the government going to manage this?

Will the tough action taken, strengthen the resolve of the young or a more engaging approach be a better way for such encounters in future?

How hard the big stick is used will be carefully watched both by Singaporeans and Singapore watchers abroad.

Sinkees also realized that their hard-earned money have generated negative real returns. They want to get their money out before it becomes pennies.

This mistrust arose out of the recognition by growing numbers of the population that the govt has been very hypocritical on many issues. You cannot fool all of the people, all of the time.

phouse3

It started as lobbying for better returns which later morphed into faster return. The two are conflicting. Since people already know CPF is invested in bonds (triple A rated), they should also know the only way to achieve higher returns is by lengthening the maturity.

If younger Singaporeans are curious about how the CPF money is invested, older Singaporeans are extremely anxious about when the CPF money is going to be returned to them. The former is academic whereas the latter is a matter of life and death.

TCB has skewed the issue to lack of trust in the government. Quite the contrary, the real issue is about the lack of trust in the people. We are asking the government to trust us more as mature adults who are capable of managing our own retirement money.

CPF is fully funded and personalised. How much a rich guy has in his account does not affect the poor guy and vice versa.
If CPF money is insufficient, it is because a person is not earning enough, not because the returns in the pool are not high enough.

Also a large portion of CPF is stuck in housing and medisave.

So the solutions are:
(1) help low income Singaporeans earn more;
(2) make it easier to unlock our hidden wealth; and
(3) the government should fund healthcare more.

Stirring shit and VTO 2016 is not a solution. It is about voting people with constructive ideas and practical solutions. People vote the Opposition for a voice in parliament. It has not changed since time immemorial. The constructive voice will act as a deterrent to bad policies. Simply occupying seats in Parliament and looking responsible by not opposing will not change anything.

Better not look! Wait CPF left only fifteen cents for every dollar then how? All the FTs same time run road one cent also not left for sinkies!

Cosmos10

Stirring shit and VTO 2016 is not a solution. It is about voting people with constructive ideas and practical solutions. People vote the Opposition for a voice in parliament. It has not changed since time immemorial. The constructive voice will act as a deterrent to bad policies. Simply occupying seats in Parliament and looking responsible by not opposing will not change anything.

Well said. Like :smile:

Fully funded? What rubbish! You give me your wallet money i tear a page from my scrapbook tell you this piece of paper is backed by the Government of Mojito means fully funded. Nabei! You heard of Weimar Republic or not? What happened? Why they need to print money? Don't tell me you forget those ass clowns lose money until pants drop 5 years ago? Why former GIC chair now president? Why raise drawdown age and minimum sum? Is that not related to inflation and cost of living? Who is responsible for keeping inflation under control? Why did it spiral out of control? Why do we have so many immigrants in the last 5 years? Why semi permanent residents can get same return as sinkies whose CPF gets stuck while they can choose to fold their cards anytime? Cheebye all this together don't make you wake up with cold sweat then you are really a cockernathan!

kingrant

During Old Man's time, matador supremo Lee Senior would have come out guns blazing and shirt sleeves up, and dived into the masses to take the bull by the horns. And because he did that, the people were prepared to listen, even if it may always been the complete truth.

But not this coward who is the head of govt. and head of his party. They should sack him.

Agreed with TCB that Roy's error was precipitated by the deafening silence and stone-walling of the govt. to give an adequate response - not just an answer.

kingrant

Obviously you have not been following the arguments and now you have jumped in and make silly statements. The reduction in employers contribution was made again and again over the years since 1994, thus depleting the pool in the worker's CPF. Then, interest rates which were helpful when they were high, were cut back to 2.5% from their highs, ostensibly to please businesses and companies who were impacted by the recessions. However, the govt never raised the rate again, and then we have the situation today. It may be that the govt was again sleeping and never kept track since Zorro remained smiling every morning when he looked at his CPF. There you are, the labour union chief who is supposed to protect workers' rights and security, fiddling while Rome burns.

It started as lobbying for better returns which later morphed into faster return. The two are conflicting. Since people already know CPF is invested in bonds (triple A rated), they should also know the only way to achieve higher returns is by lengthening the maturity.

If younger Singaporeans are curious about how the CPF money is invested, older Singaporeans are extremely anxious about when the CPF money is going to be returned to them. The former is academic whereas the latter is a matter of life and death.

TCB has skewed the issue to lack of trust in the government. Quite the contrary, the real issue is about the lack of trust in the people. We are asking the government to trust us more as mature adults who are capable of managing our own retirement money.

CPF is fully funded and personalised. How much a rich guy has in his account does not affect the poor guy and vice versa.
If CPF money is insufficient, it is because a person is not earning enough, not because the returns in the pool are not high enough.

Also a large portion of CPF is stuck in housing and medisave.

So the solutions are:
(1) help low income Singaporeans earn more;
(2) make it easier to unlock our hidden wealth; and
(3) the government should fund healthcare more.

xingguy

This mistrust arose out of the recognition by growing numbers of the population that the govt has been very hypocritical on many issues. You cannot fool all of the people, all of the time.

Excerpt from likedatosocanmeh blog

CPF not Ponzi scheme because previously all members were paid

When it comes to investing, history lovers should take note that “past performance is no guarantee of future results”. Ponzi schemes usually start off well and the problem is at the tail end where redemptions occur.

The reason why CPF was able to pay all its members in full upon reaching 55 was the increasing support of new members. Presently, the rate of increase in the number of CPF members and also the CPF amounts have declined. Changes in immigration policy will also have an effect.

The PAP is trying to prevent CPF withdrawals leading to a net reduction in GIC assets ie sell its investments in the open market to pay CPF members. From a paper loss, GIC’s losses will then be realised and reported. PAP must prevent such disclosures at all costs.

Ponzi schemes ultimately collapse because of redemption (withdrawal)

Bernard Madoff Ponzi scheme, the biggest financial fraud in US history, unraveled because of a $7 billion redemption. Without the redemption, Madoff would not have been caught. Redemptions are equivalent to withdrawals in CPF.

CPF faces a similar situation where the mother of all withdrawals (redemption) is at its doorstep. What makes it so different from the Madoff case is that the government is able to change the rules of the game at its whim by mandating more funds for GIC. The only way for for GIC to get caught with its pants down is to have all its books opened. With the PAP’s overwhelming presence in parliament, this is not likely to happen any time soon.

1959482_742425675790422_1430967333_n.jpg

blindswordsman

There is general perception among many sinkies that CPF does not have the funds to pay them when due and therefore, the pappies keep on shifting the goal post like increasing the min sum and revising the retirement age upwards. This fear of not getting their CPF money back generates mistrust of the pappies. Coupled with the frequent news in the foreign media that GIC/Temask had suffered losses in foreign investments, the sinkies' balls really imploded from this fear.

escher

Sinkees also realized that their hard-earned money have generated negative real returns. They want to get their money out before it becomes pennies.

Excerpt from likedatosocanmeh blog

CPF not Ponzi scheme because previously all members were paid

When it comes to investing, history lovers should take note that “past performance is no guarantee of future results”. Ponzi schemes usually start off well and the problem is at the tail end where redemptions occur.

The reason why CPF was able to pay all its members in full upon reaching 55 was the increasing support of new members. Presently, the rate of increase in the number of CPF members and also the CPF amounts have declined. Changes in immigration policy will also have an effect.

The PAP is trying to prevent CPF withdrawals leading to a net reduction in GIC assets ie sell its investments in the open market to pay CPF members. From a paper loss, GIC’s losses will then be realised and reported. PAP must prevent such disclosures at all costs.

Ponzi schemes ultimately collapse because of redemption (withdrawal)

Bernard Madoff Ponzi scheme, the biggest financial fraud in US history, unraveled because of a $7 billion redemption. Without the redemption, Madoff would not have been caught. Redemptions are equivalent to withdrawals in CPF.

CPF faces a similar situation where the mother of all withdrawals (redemption) is at its doorstep. What makes it so different from the Madoff case is that the government is able to change the rules of the game at its whim by mandating more funds for GIC. The only way for for GIC to get caught with its pants down is to have all its books opened. With the PAP’s overwhelming presence in parliament, this is not likely to happen any time soon.

1959482_742425675790422_1430967333_n.jpg

PAPs ARE ATTACKING SINGAPOREANS BY THIS ATTACK ON ROY
PAPs ARE FIXING THEIR PIANO WIRES AROUND THE NECKS OF SINGAPOREANS
PAPs ARE FIXING THE NECKLACE OF BURNING CAR TYRES ON THE NECKS OF SINGAPOREANS
WILL SINGAPOREANS REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH FOR PAPs TO FUCK
AND TO TIEW AND TO TIE PIANO WIRES?

TURN UP AT THE RALLY AT HONG LIM TO SUPPORT ROY AND SHOW PAPs WE FIGHT THIS TIME
ENOUGH IS ENOUGH

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

GET RID OF THE POISON IN SINGAPORE
HANG ALL THOSE FUCKING PAPs AND THEIR COLLABORATORS
BBQ THE BASTARD PAPs

AND SINGAPORE CAN BE AS GOOD IF NOT BETTER THAN SWITZERLAND

OR REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED TO BE TIEWED TO BE KANNED BY THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.

https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

blindswordsman

Better not look! Wait CPF left only fifteen cents for every dollar then how? All the FTs same time run road one cent also not left for sinkies!

PR can always run road first when things go wrong at CPF. They just pack, take every cent from their CPF and fuck off from SG. Can sinkies run road too? Where? You need money to run, leh.

blindswordsman

Fully funded? What rubbish! You give me your wallet money i tear a page from my scrapbook tell you this piece of paper is backed by the Government of Mojito means fully funded. Nabei! You heard of Weimar Republic or not? What happened? Why they need to print money? Don't tell me you forget those ass clowns lose money until pants drop 5 years ago? Why former GIC chair now president? Why raise drawdown age and minimum sum? Is that not related to inflation and cost of living? Who is responsible for keeping inflation under control? Why did it spiral out of control? Why do we have so many immigrants in the last 5 years? Why semi permanent residents can get same return as sinkies whose CPF gets stuck while they can choose to fold their cards anytime? Cheebye all this together don't make you wake up with cold sweat then you are really a cockernathan!

Truth will only emerge when the books at CPF, GIC and Temasek and all GLCs are scrutinised. Meanwhile, many sinkies are indeed waking up with cold sweat but hey, the PRs are not.

Oh, just in case you guys didn't get the hint about "auctioning of goodies", do not follow another party's idea of reducing GST to zero. It is fatal.

Corporate tax, personal income tax, levies, licences, capital gains tax, etc. So many ways to skin a cat, and you choose to defend the anti-poor, regressive option. You want more foreigners so you can stealth tax them through consumption, and to appear "fair" to all you screw the peasants together with them. Very convenient of you to sacrifice the worthless pawns eh! :rolleyes:

PhraRhu

PR can always run road first when things go wrong at CPF. They just pack, take every cent from their CPF and fuck off from SG. Can sinkies run road too? Where? You need money to run, leh.

Sure why not, all Sinkies can hold hands and run to Bedok Reservoir immediately.