• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taking free items in bulk is criminal misappropriation

Mukai

Taking free items in bulk is criminal misappropriation
By Kheng Leng | Posted: 10 May 2012 2054 hrs

display_image.php

Man caught on hidden camera pocketing napkins.

SINGAPORE: People seem to be helping themselves to more than what they need at self-help counters at fast-food chain McDonald's.

At a McDonald's outlet in Tampines Mall, people took napkins, sauces, or even free drink refills in bulk, and paid no heed to warnings by staff.

Although it is not considered as theft, the actions amount to criminal misappropriation.

Those found guilty could be jailed up to two years, fined or be liable to both.

- CNA/ck

<iframe src="http://player.vimeo.com/video/3244739" width="624" height="480" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen="" mozallowfullscreen="" allowfullscreen=""></iframe>

You think MacDonald or any fast food resturant will commit a marketing suicide by bringing their patrons to court or hang this over the place where they tell you to do SELF SERVICE , "Although it is not considered as theft, the actions amount to criminal misappropriation, Those found guilty could be jailed up to two years, fined or be liable to both" , who take more than the usual napkins or condiments to court?

Cannot blame him, he knew that everytime he ate Mcdonald food, he will sure Lao Sai. So better take "extra" - precaution.

NoNewsGood

Mukai;1066023 [COLOR=#000000 said:
SINGAPORE: People seem to be helping themselves to more than what they need at self-help counters at fast-food chain McDonald's.[/COLOR]

At a McDonald's outlet in Tampines Mall, people took napkins, sauces, or even free drink refills in bulk, and paid no heed to warnings by staff.

Although it is not considered as theft, the actions amount to criminal misappropriation.

Those found guilty could be jailed up to two years, fined or be liable to both.

- CNA/ck

This must be a paid presentation (by McDonald's) disguised as news.

Normally the news would quote from some lawyer or police if an act is criminal. Here we have NOTHING! Where is the basis to say something is "criminal appropriation"?

Kid278

This must be a paid presentation (by McDonald's) disguised as news.

Normally the news would quote from some lawyer or police if an act is criminal. Here we have NOTHING! Where is the basis to say something is "criminal appropriation"?

I think I would agree with you. Until and unless McDonald makes a report I dont see how anyone taking things bulk or not that are meant to be free can be breaking the law.

Are these sinkies or FTs?
sinkies are cheapskates and kiasu by nature......
but how many are doing this out of neccessity?
why has it come to this that sinkies need to 'criminal appropriate'? i doubt few do it for kicks....ultimately everyone has a sense of shame

That lawyer who said criminal misappropriation needs to be sent back to law school for recourse. It's outright theft under the legal definition of theft. It satisfies all criteria of theft, taken without permission, dishonestly and with intention of permanently depriving rightful ownership. It doesn't matter that there's no price tag on it. The owner (the restaurant) placed it there to make it conveniently available to its customers. It's like going into a shop and trying to make off with a bottle of test sample perfume just because there's no price tag on it. Why don't you take some nice utensils or chairs from a nice restaurant just because there're no price tags? Can a hawker running a self-service stall go to a fast food restaurant and haul off the trays to save cost just because there's no price tag? Criminal misappropriation is like, when someone leaves a watch or wallet in a public toilet, you saw it, took it and kept it without any effort or intention to find out who owns it and return it.

You leave your cheap $10 casio watch on the table, nobody want to take it, they may throw the watch at you, when you walk away. Lolex...it is finders keeper, looser weeper!

Equalisation lost his S$20 Casio in a flash flood. Somebody happily picked it up and wore it. Equalisation went to police station everyday before he's drunk and everynight after he's drunk to complain until police tracked that bugger down at Woodlands CIQ. Equalisation then decided to drop all charges and forget it since he bought a new S$25 Casio and likes it. Police asked Equalisation, why pursued everyday and everynight, then dropped all charges if something worth only S$20 didn't really matter to him? Equalisation replied, I thought you all very free no job to do, scared you all got retrenched, so give you all some job to do.

Kuailan

What sinkies are good for "complaining" every thing and anything also can not!!!

Please lah, taking a little napkin is nothing, if he has a running nose, the poor man needs it!

The balance napkin on the table will be thrown away by the MacDonald staff anyway!

So stop complaining!! You must be the 60% of sinkies!

RonRon

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/BcDFsf54iFA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>...........