• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Starsux Hikes Cable TV Fees! CCB!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Higher cable TV fees after StarHub stops Value Packs
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I RECEIVED a letter with my latest StarHub cable TV bill for this month. It informed existing customers that they would have to pay higher subscriptions from the next billing cycle, as StarHub is discontinuing its Value Packs. Customers will have to pay for each additional channel in an a la carte manner, on top of the mandatory three basic group subscription.
This was packaged to sound like the exercise is for customers' convenience; 'to simplify our price plans and to allow customers greater flexibility to choose your own mix of channels'.
To me, it is nothing more than an excuse to raise prices. By giving me this 'flexibility', StarHub will raise my subscription plan by 22 per cent. To soften the impact, it is offering a $10.70 discount for the next 12 months, but my bill will still be 6 per cent higher.
To give StarHub credit, there was already good flexibility in the channels offered in its packages. If there is a need for 'greater flexibility', it should allow customers to choose, as part of their packages, from a greater variety of channels than in the past, or more simply open all channels for customers to mix and match.
It is a common market practice across all industries to give better discounts with more products bought together. Product bundling has never been seen as an inconvenience to customers, especially when there is better value for money spent.
I am disappointed with StarHub's latest move, and am seriously thinking of cancelling my subscription altogether. My only consideration is that my housewife mother would be bored as she spends the afternoons watching cable TV. But even she has told me to go ahead and cancel it if the price is too high. Adeline Tan (Ms)

cowbellc

can't blame them.

people now adays is so tech savvy that they juz watch incoming or latest show foc...

i dont sub to their channels now:wink:

the pros and cons of internet!:biggrin:

Yes, as a starhub subscriber I've eliminated some channels because they are discontinuing those value packs.

They've also discontinued their analog boxes & are only to happy to rent out the newer digital boxes at higher cost :mad:

I will keep on eliminating channels as long as they keep on increasing prices, I expect that in the future I won't even be a Starhub customer :rolleyes:

The_Latest_H

Yes, as a starhub subscriber I've eliminated some channels because they are discontinuing those value packs.

They've also discontinued their analog boxes & are only to happy to rent out the newer digital boxes at higher cost :mad:

I will keep on eliminating channels as long as they keep on increasing prices, I expect that in the future I won't even be a Starhub customer :rolleyes:

Sad really. Too much power for a monopoly usually means this.

TheBonerman

Prime+Minister,+Mr+Lee+Hsien+Loong+2.jpg

This is only the beginning! You ain't seen nothing yet! I'm going to fuck you all in the pocket big time in due time!

TeeKee

I am disappointed with StarHub's latest move, and am seriously thinking of cancelling my subscription altogether. My only consideration is that my housewife mother would be bored as she spends the afternoons watching cable TV. But even she has told me to go ahead and cancel it if the price is too high. Adeline Tan (Ms)

honey if you can get a Satellite Dish, all these channels you are watching are probably free..

no bloody censorship too!

Sad really. Too much power for a monopoly usually means this.

Spore Inc is pricing itself out of the market even for its citizens.

I see myself leaving this place as theres no future. With this recession I expect many others are doing the same :rolleyes:

mengzai

honey if you can get a Satellite Dish, all these channels you are watching are probably free..

bro, may I know how to install the dish? i have the SCV is also for my mum as she is at home all day.... thanks.

Lu Bu

bro, may I know how to install the dish? i have the SCV is also for my mum as she is at home all day.... thanks.

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=11421

<table id="msgUN" width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="3"><tbody><tr><td id="msgUNsubj" valign="top">
icon.aspx
Coffee Shop Talk - Pay me $600, get all cable channels free</td><td id="msgunetc" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">
icon.aspx
Subscribe </td></tr></tbody></table><table class="msgtable" width="96%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td class="msg" valign="top"><table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgbfr1" width="1%">
</td><td><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgF" width="1%" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">From: </td><td class="msgFname" width="68%" nowrap="nowrap">BadNews0 <nobr></nobr> </td><td class="msgDate" width="30%" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">4:55 am </td></tr><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgT" width="1%" align="right" height="20" nowrap="nowrap">To: </td><td class="msgTname" width="68%" nowrap="nowrap">ALL <nobr></nobr></td><td class="msgNum" align="right" nowrap="nowrap"> (1 of 1) </td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td class="msgleft" rowspan="4" width="1%">
</td><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">15317.1 </td></tr><tr><td height="8">
</td></tr><tr><td class="msgtxt">MAN TRIES TO SELL ILLEGAL DEVICE TO TNP TEAM
Pay me $600 & get all cable channels free

By Desmond Ng and Eoin Ee
December 06, 2008 Print Ready Email Article
THE offer was tempting: Free, unlimited access to all of StarHub's 120-odd cable channels.

FREELOADER: A man telling our reporters (in white) more about a device that apparently allows the user to get free access to all of StarHub's cable channels. TNP PICTURE

No pricey subscription fee, no box rental fee and no contract to tie you down. All with a simple decoder. The catch? It is illegal to sell or use such sets here. The penalty can be a $40,000 fine and jail of up to three years if you sell or have one at home.

But such illegal decoders are still available here, as we found out when one man tried to sell a decoder for $600 to The New Paper. The seller, who introduced himself only as Ian, said that the decoder he has allows users to unscramble StarHub's signals for free access to all its cable channels. StarHub's monthly subscription starts from $24 for the basic package to about $100 for the ultimate plan, which allows access to more than half of all its channels.

The illegal decoder - in the form of a silver and black box - uses a wiring system similar to StarHub's set-top box.
It also needs to be connected to the TV via an AV (RCA) cable. The China-made product even comes with all the connecting cables and a remote control. The seller claimed he gets these decoders from a supplier in Singapore and has sold 50 such sets so far. Can he prove that it works? He offered to install one for us, at a cost of $30. And he was adamant that it would work. So how does he find customers? Ian said that he sells only to individuals by word of mouth, to avoid being caught. He cited an incident where a man was caught selling decoders from a shop in Sim Lim Tower. He was fined $40,000 in 2004.

That man had tried to sell 38 decoders to a private investigator hired by StarHub then, The Straits Times reported in 2004. However, that has not deterred Ian or the customers to whom he claims he has sold the sets. Ian, who looks to be in his 20s, claimed he was down to his last decoder. He told us he did not know when his next shipment would be. He said: 'I had a customer who was tired of paying over $100 each month for subscription, so he finally decided to buy one of the boxes.'

We asked Ian if the buyer could be traced. 'It's hard for (StarHub) to trace. '(StarHub) wants to make money, so it tells people that if you get caught using it, you'll get into trouble. 'But I've been using it for over a year already and (I've had) no problems,' he claimed. It would not be wise to take him at his word, because Starhub, when contacted, said it has means to detect unauthorised dealers and viewers. For security reasons, it would prefer not to divulge them.

Unauthorised decoders were once sold at various shops at Sim Lim Tower and Sim Lim Square for between $200 and $600 in 2003. StarHub scrambled its cable-TV signals in August that year and successfully took an illegal decoder trader to court, wiping out most of the over-the-counter sales of such boxes. StarHub said that it is a criminal offence to sell, import or manufacture unauthorised decoders. The company added that it had initiated criminal proceedings against some unauthorised decoder dealers in the past.

Offenders have been fined or jailed in default of the fines. StarHub declined to comment further on these cases or the number of people caught. Users of such illegal decoders are also liable to StarHub for damages if they tap into its network using these decoders, with the intention to intercept and receive the programming signals without authorisation. StarHub has more than half a million cable subscribers, its 2007 annual report stated. Ms Ong Bee Lian, head of StarHub's pay-TV & entertainment division, added: 'We would not hesitate to take appropriate action to curb the increasing sale of unauthorised decoders in Singapore. 'We are monitoring the situation closely and have taken steps to protect our rights, and the rights of our content providers.' The company says that it refreshes the encryption on its signals periodically. Such security measures render the illegal decoders ineffective in unscrambling content on its channels. Ms Ong added: 'We would advise the public not to buy or use such unauthorised decoders, and to abide by the law and respect intellectual property rights. 'Members of the public who buy these decoders may experience service quality issues, and are exposing themselves to criminal and personal liabilities.'
</td></tr><tr><td>
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table> <!-- / message --> <!-- controls -->

Microsoft

Satellite Dish ish different frm decoder...:biggrin: How 2 install in HDB?? Smaller 1 not powerful leh... :confused::biggrin::p

Satellite_dish_1_C-Band.jpg

Satellite Dish ish different frm decoder...:biggrin: How 2 install in HDB?? Smaller 1 not powerful leh... :confused::biggrin::p

Satellite_dish_1_C-Band.jpg

No need for a large dish lah.

Malaysia & Indonesia are accessing the same satellite for their TV channels. This is a low orbit satellit. so can use those small dish(1m diameter).

The problem is not cost but the PAP lah. Its illegal for Sporeans to own these disked but its OK for LKY :eek:

I tried using a Thai decoder in Spore. Can see the picture but color is off, obviously the scramble frequency is not the same. :biggrin:

In SINgapore, there is the broadcasting act, you set up a satelite dish, one will have to go to jail for that...ask the behind Admiral who does no porn, it is his ministry now!:p

oli9

This can only happen in stupid Spore. When people gets a bit creative, theyre penalised. Who said having decoder is illegal? What jurisdiction does Starsux have in the 1st place to deem these decoders illegal?
Starsux should look at their pricing 1st & ask why people chose to give up watching cable.
Im glad Ive given up Starsux for 3 years now. No football withdrawal symptoms as I can watch live games via the internet & its much cheaper!!!!

rickyboy

Bro, which website to catch live EPL, Champions League games on the net? So far, I'm acquainted only with footytube. Not too bad, except that this site is delayed (as opposed to live), and only shows highlights.
I'm sick & tired of succumbing to the monopolistic pressures from Starhub.
Your quick reply will enable me to make a quick Starhub contract termination!

2lanu

Bro, which website to catch live EPL, Champions League games on the net? So far, I'm acquainted only with footytube. Not too bad, except that this site is delayed (as opposed to live), and only shows highlights.

There are plenty I believe. I used to mention it on the old forum and then it got d/c abruptly. Now able to use one site which is "stable" enough.

Lestat

1. Download this application SopCast.
2. Install the application.
3. Bookmark this link http://myp2p.eu/index.php?part=sports
4. Watch all the football you want. :biggrin:

Evo888

well..on account of their content..i thought its still quite ok lah..at least their progs r much better than ur mediacorpse!

better than "sim-tiao" also..that one lagi worse! crap shows! their billings never fail to make ur sim tiao hundred times faster each time u receive..luan luan lai eh