• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SPG: 33 year old engineer earning less than 4k a month OK?

<TABLE class=forumline border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=3 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TH class=thLeft height=26 width=150 noWrap>Author</TH><TH class=thRight noWrap>Message</TH></TR><TR><TD class=row1 vAlign=top width=150 align=left>Veronica_QQ

</TD><TD class=row1 height=28 vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD width="100%"> Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:46 pm Post subject: 33 year old engineer earning less than 4k a month</TD><TD vAlign=top noWrap> </TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=2><HR></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=2>Hi,

Just curious. If a guy at 33 years old earn less than 4k a month as an engineer. Is he considered poor by Singapore standards?</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

angie II

Hi Veronica, are u a fan of QQ?

If a guy at 33 years old earn less than 4k a month as an engineer, then its probably the keling FT is willing to accept to same pay or lower. So why not ok? Anyway can i go off topic & ask u more about yourself?

ah veronica ...

is he poor? ... u gotta check how much his daddy got ... n wat is ur 4tune n u got assets anot? ...

soIsee

Hi Veronica, are u a fan of QQ?

If a guy at 33 years old earn less than 4k a month as an engineer, then its probably the keling FT is willing to accept to same pay or lower. So why not ok? Anyway can i go off topic & ask u more about yourself?

QQ giving you hint, if now at 33 yrs at $4k niah, then 10 years down the down at 43 yrs, even if double that amount still at $8k niah!

Still able to qualify within the H-Dee-Bee pigeon Hole standard which she doesn't want!

She wants YOU to break outta the H-Dee-Bee qualifying bracket (or at least show a potentiol hope of doing so, right NOW!) of being able to make at least more than $10k per month, 10 yrs down the road or else YOU can take a hike!:biggrin:

angie II

QQ giving you hint, if now at 33 yrs at $4k niah, then 10 years down the down at 43 yrs, even if double that amount still at $8k niah!

Still able to qualify within the H-Dee-Bee pigeon Hole standard which she doesn't want!

She wants YOU to break outta the H-Dee-Bee qualifying bracket (or at least show a potentiol hope of doing so, right NOW!) of being able to make at least more than $10k per month, 10 yrs down the road or else YOU can take a hike!

Don't want lah.. i only want to pull a fast one! :biggrin: SPGs like what makapaaa would call them are for angmos!

CPTMiller

Gone are the days when Ang Mo get super high pay package when they relocate to Singapore.
Nowadays employer does not pay a lot of benefit eg. housing , children etc.
But obviously the same position which a local taking up the job will get a lesser amount.

angie II

<table class="forumline" border="0" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td class="row1" align="left" valign="top" width="150">soluna

</td> <td class="row1" height="28" valign="top" width="100%"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td width="100%"> Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:43 pm Post subject: </td> <td nowrap="nowrap" valign="top"> </td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="2"><hr></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="2"><table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1" width="90%"><tbody><tr> <td>colby wrote:</td> </tr> <tr> <td class="quote">China and India have mother lode of engineers on the cheap. Just imagine, they pay their engineers less than $1k p/m, there's no way a local company employing even FT can ever compete with the China companies. The crazy part of all is here we pay China FT much more than China pay their own and yet we'll still be unable to compete on quality.

Picture this example, Singapore-owned company with China FTs competing with a China-owned company for a piece of a US hard-disk deal. Apart from the fact that FT-assisted Singapore is unlikely to have the low-cost advantage, there is no critical mass to mount a labour challenge. From the point of view of the US client, the Singapore company has the same generic talent as the China company but with a unimpressive high-cost operations.

The important point is the pervasive use of FT here is a miscalculation of comparative advantage.</td> </tr></tbody></table>

senior engineer in china can afford car and house. feedback from friend in china. singapore engineers can barely afford.

feedback from ex indian colleague: engineer all over the world can afford car, but not singapore.</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

soluna
icon_lol.gif
ok. indian engineers can afford better foriegn made cars.

moolightaffairs

She wants YOU to break outta the H-Dee-Bee qualifying bracket (or at least show a potentiol hope of doing so, right NOW!) of being able to make at least more than $10k per month, 10 yrs down the road or else YOU can take a hike!:biggrin:

paiseh ho! in sinkapoor at age 43 you will be getting ready for pay cut or even retrench!!!

NT-Farcist

It depends on what sort of commitment you have. If you are still single, that 4K is probably enough to support your lifestyle. But if you are married with kids, your commitments are high. Then the 4K is certainly not enough.
Step 1 milk powder used to cost $55 per tin. Today, the same cost $75. What you think?

But you have to worry as you enter 40s in near future. That's the vulnerable time. Once you resign, you can never get back the 4K job anymore. At 40s you must have 打死不走 attitude. Otherwise you'll become a taxi driver (of course better than beg MP for help).

dysentry

It depends on what sort of commitment you have. If you are still single, that 4K is probably enough to support your lifestyle. But if you are married with kids, your commitments are high. Then the 4K is certainly not enough.
Step 1 milk powder used to cost $55 per tin. Today, the same cost $75. What you think?

But you have to worry as you enter 40s in near future. That's the vulnerable time. Once you resign, you can never get back the 4K job anymore. At 40s you must have 打死不走 attitude. Otherwise you'll become a taxi driver (of course better than beg MP for help).

that is true, see alot of parents in their 40s, die die cannot resign, will take any abuse you can throw at them. they have enjoyed for so long they forgot to let their skills keep pace with the real market.

wrcboi

on an average or generally does a 43 years old engineer or 18 years of engineering work experience (say grad at 25yo) seriously earn 8k??

NT-Farcist

on an average or generally does a 43 years old engineer or 18 years of engineering work experience (say grad at 25yo) seriously earn 8k??

If you hold Manager's post....that 8K should be achievable.
But if you are an Engingeer at 43, then 8K not likely.
If you are paid 8K as an Engineer, you must start to worry....
Cos' you have become too expensive to hire. The management will not hesitate
to replace you with a fresh engineer who has more current knowledge and more
likely to work harder than you. Also the threat of foreign engineers from India, China, Myanmar and Philippines. They are hungry for jobs. 4K can probably hire 2. Your boss will be very glad to have them.

Unrepented

IMO, one important factor is what additional value can one bring to the employer, in the capacity of one's own occupation inrelation to competition in their professional field.

Sometimes, it is also necessary to redefine our own job scope to exhibit our own value to the employer inorder to be above the competition.

ivebert

Sinkie Local Trashes ah :oIo::oIo::oIo:

Sinkie "engineers" are Real Engineers meh???

By American standards, they are more like technicians

Techncians still think they are engineers and want $8K

Damn er xin and xia suay
:mad::mad::mad::mad:

AH BERT, what are you doing at this time of the day? you should be sleeping after taking medicine.:biggrin::p

Sinkie Local Trashes ah :oIo::oIo::oIo:

Sinkie "engineers" are Real Engineers meh???

By American standards, they are more like technicians

Techncians still think they are engineers and want $8K

Damn er xin and xia suay
:mad::mad::mad::mad: