• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Socialism

I sold both houses. The CPF money was returned with interest because I had not reached the age of 55 at the time. The profit of more than $700,000 went straight to my bank account.

When I reached 55 I withdrew the rest.

It felt like it was mine, I could use it to buy property as if it were mine. I could help myself to it when I turned 55. I have therefore concluded that it was mine.
those were the golden years of cpf. and if baby boomers were financially savvy then there were opportunities to save much in cpf and use them for home purchases, and then cash all out lum sum by migrating to a 1st world amdk cuntry of one's choice. and double down in new cuntry on other investments and real estate. $696k of cpf savings then invested in a few homes should have brought a windfall of more than $1.69m by now.

I moved to Perth and I don't worry about Temasek going belly up because they are very prudent in the way the funds are managed.

I checked the CPF website and withdrawal is still 55.

Withdrawals of CPF savings from 55

When can I withdraw my CPF savings?
Upon turning 55 years old, members can withdraw their CPF savings, after setting aside their Full Retirement Sum or Basic Retirement Sum with sufficient CPF property charge/pledge in their Retirement Account.
Members who turned 55 from 2013 (i.e. born in 1958 or after) also have the option to withdraw a lump sum of up to 20% of the savings in their Retirement Account from their payout eligibility age (includes the first $5,000 that can be withdrawn at 55).
70 refers to the deferred monthly payout AFTER the minimum sum was met. That was not the case before. It was the full amount on the cpf statement that make LSS feel so rich. Not one part lump, another part annuity.

BTW a regular Joe isn't going to have much beyond the minimum sum at age 55 if still holding on to the HDB flat. You were lucky to have a few THOUSAND percent returns on your flat when you cashed out. The exception rather than the norm and current HDB owners certainly are not holding their breath for a similar windfall.

And you know why people are suspicious? Temasek and GIC losses post-2007 seem to be a coincidence is it not? :rolleyes:

Nobody asked for you permission to have CPF money made into an annuity that bets on how long one can live beyond 70. Hard men live hard lifes, and without world class geriatric care you think them poor people old bones can live comfortably to a ripe old age like old thief LKY? :FU:

So I say again. CPF is not in fact your money when the agencies and intermediaries can do as they please without the simple courtesy of asking so god help me Sam you trolling me aren't you? :mad:

those were the golden years of cpf. and if baby boomers were financially savvy then there were opportunities to save much in cpf and use them for home purchases

Don't forget to mention the tail end of the baby boomers missed out on the good old days where folks over 40% contribution rate into CPF, else they huat even more :ninja::ninja::ninja:

If CPF account holders do not have much beyond the minimum sum at 55 they can't blame the government. They should look in the mirror.

Having such a low CPF balance indicates that they are not good at financial management and that is all the more reason why they need to be constrained when it comes to handling money.

70 refers to the deferred monthly payout AFTER the minimum sum was met. That was not the case before. It was the full amount on the cpf statement that make LSS feel so rich. Not one part lump, another part annuity.

BTW a regular Joe isn't going to have much beyond the minimum sum at age 55 if still holding on to the HDB flat. You were lucky to have a few THOUSAND percent returns on your flat when you cashed out. The exception rather than the norm and current HDB owners certainly are not holding their breath for a similar windfall.

And you know why people are suspicious? Temasek and GIC losses post-2007 seem to be a coincidence is it not? :rolleyes:

Nobody asked for you permission to have CPF money made into an annuity that bets on how long one can live beyond 70. Hard men live hard lifes, and without world class geriatric care you think them poor people old bones can live comfortably to a ripe old age like old thief LKY? :FU:

So I say again. CPF is not in fact your money when the agencies and intermediaries can do as they please without the simple courtesy of asking so god help me Sam you trolling me aren't you? :mad:

Follow sam to perth can withdraw 100%.
I think this policy is intentional so that burden of caring for the old are exported.

If CPF account holders do not have much beyond the minimum sum at 55 they can't blame the government. They should look in the mirror.

Having such a low CPF balance indicates that they are not good at financial management and that is all the more reason why they need to be constrained when it comes to handling money.

They should blame the government because of the overpriced HDB flats. After paying the mortgage using your CPF, you don't have much left saved for retirement. That's basic maths, nothing to do with financial management.

Since those who pay taxes contribute to the country, maybe a new form of democracy should be introduced based on the amount of personal tax the person pay.
If say, you pay nothing, you get no vote. If you pay a million, you get a million votes. Its an incentive for the rich to pay taxes otherwise if based on one man one vote, the non tax payers will normally choose leaders that are incompatible with creating wealth.

It is already happening ...just not in votes but the ability to control the elected politicians. Those who have the dough run the show. The elected officials are just their puppets.

The USA has a comfortable safety net for the disadvantaged and is therefore a social democracy.

Social programs in the United States
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to navigationJump to search

The Social Security Administration, created in 1935, was the first major federal welfare agency and continues to be the most prominent.[1]
Social programs in the United States are welfare subsidies designed to meet needs of the American population. Federal and state welfare programs include cash assistance, healthcare and medical provisions, food assistance, housing subsidies, energy and utilities subsidies, education and childcare assistance, and subsidies and assistance for other basic services. Private provisions from employers, either mandated by policy or voluntary, also provide similar social welfare benefits.
The programs vary in eligibility requirements and are provided by various organizations on a federal, state, local and private level. They help to provide food, shelter, education, healthcare and money to U.S. citizens through primary and secondary education, subsidies of college education, unemployment disability insurance, subsidies for eligible low-wage workers, subsidies for housing, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Programbenefits, pensions for eligible persons and health insurance programs that cover public employees. The Social Security system is sometimes considered to be a social aid program and has some characteristics of such programs, but unlike these programs, social security was designed as a self-funded security blanket—so that as the payee pays in (during working years), they are pre-paying for the payments they'll receive back out of the system when they are no longer working. Medicare is another prominent program, among other healthcare provisions such as Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program.

Comfortable safety net? Time for you to visit USA.

Good financial management would dictate renting units from poor neighborhoods but in reality nobody goes into such extremes. You forgot there was an explicit promise by the PAP to house the population and make them homeowners thats why hdb was formed. If HDB prices their flats to an overheating property market it becomes the buyers' imprudent financial management for accepting a bad offer from hdb? Clearly the government is profiteering from a social/cultural/political expectation that HDB homes are affordable.

I daresay if people received their full salary in cash instead they would be less inclined to purchase HDB flats at those prices and they know it.

Good financial management would dictate renting units from poor neighborhoods but in reality nobody goes into such extremes. You forgot there was an explicit promise by the PAP to house the population and make them homeowners thats why hdb was formed. If HDB prices their flats to an overheating property market it becomes the buyers' imprudent financial management for accepting a bad offer from hdb? Clearly the government is profiteering from a social/cultural/political expectation that HDB homes are affordable.

I daresay if people received their full salary in cash instead they would be less inclined to purchase HDB flats at those prices and they know it.
I am sure when the time comes, hdb leases can be extended at the right price.

Unless at a good location, then don't expect a sweetheart deal. in tat case they be evicted in favour of selling land to develop condos. Very calculative one. :mad:

If you look at the price of a 3 room HDB flat I cannot think of any other city in the world where you can get such a good deal. People now take for granted what a fantastic job the HDB is doing when it comes to housing all segments of the population.

HDB makes very affordable homes and CPF does a fantastic job of relieving working families of cash flow issues when it comes to paying the mortgage. Every cent of the mortgage paid for by CPF contributions is a cent extra for the family to spend or invest.

You also conveniently ignore the fact that those who own an HDB unit have their minimum sum reduced considerably so they are able to cash out more when they turn 55.

Sweeping statements are always designed to mislead. When you go into the nitty gritty of how things work you'll see that Singaporeans are getting a fantastic deal compared to citizens of most other developed countries.

The details regarding the minimum sum are at https://www.drwealth.com/understanding-cpf-minimum-sum-scheme/

CPF-Min-Sum-Scheme-Diagram-by-Dr-Wealth.png

If you look at the price of a 3 room HDB flat I cannot think of any other city in the world where you can get such a good deal. People now take for granted what a fantastic job the HDB is doing when it comes to housing all segments of the population.

HDB makes very affordable homes and CPF does a fantastic job of relieving working families of cash flow issues when it comes to paying the mortgage. Every cent of the mortgage paid for by CPF contributions is a cent extra for the family to spend or invest.

You also conveniently ignore the fact that those who own an HDB unit have their minimum sum reduced considerably so they are able to cash out more when they turn 55.

Sweeping statements are always designed to mislead. When you go into the nitty gritty of how things work you'll see that Singaporeans are getting a fantastic deal compared to citizens of most other developed countries.

The details regarding the minimum sum are at https://www.drwealth.com/understanding-cpf-minimum-sum-scheme/

View attachment 53196
That still does not make the CPF moneys yours does it? In the bad old days the family plantations in Malaysia held back portion of their workers' pay to sell them essentials at inflated prices. Should workers be grateful to plantation owners for holding back their salaries? Its an old trick. The similarities are too uncanny sir. :rolleyes:

The term "ownership" is one of the biggest illusions in life because life too is a temporary phenomenon.

I have transferred much of my assets to a trust so on paper I don't own these assets anymore.

However the trust is structured so that I enjoy the yield so in my mind it is as good as ownership in all ways but name.

Just consider CPF to be a similar structure.

If that is the case, then sinkapore is a nanny state where everything is decided by PAP.

The government sets the direction and defines the rules. All societies have boundaries so there is no reason why Singapore should be any different.

However within these boundaries there is huge latitude. While there may tighter constraints in certain aspects of ones life compared to the West, I venture to say that societies in the West are breaking down for that very reason. There are no guiding principles and no moral boundaries anymore..