• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Smart Sammboy bros, tell me what's wrong with MM Lee's statements here?

kojakbt

Sep 20, 2010
MM's take on a 'fantastical' scenario
By Jeremy Au Yong

MOSCOW: Imagine two Russian presidents, one young and one old, came to you and sought your advice on the next decade. What would you tell them?

This was the scenario put to Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew last Saturday by Russian business school student Sergei Koltovich at a dialogue in Moscow.

Mr Lee, while stating that the situation was fantastical, said he would give both leaders similar advice: Get out.

'I would say to the older leader, get out of the communist system, shed it. Forget your empire. If you think you can re-create your empire, you are wasting your time and resources,' he said.

[COLOR=_______]To the younger one, his message would be 'to get out of business' and not have the state run all major enterprises.

Mr Lee said that it has been proven time and again that private companies are always more profitable and more efficient than state-run ones.

He said: 'If a man is hired by the state to run the company, his career is not at stake, the company succeeds or fails, his salary may go up and down slightly or he may get the sack. So if there's a crisis, he can go home at 12 o'clock and he's asleep. [/COLOR]

'But if he has a 30 per cent shareholding, that night he'll be working frantically... he must solve the problem or lose his fortune.'

The need to encourage private enterprise was a message Mr Lee would dwell on during his dialogue with the MBA students of the Skolkovo Moscow School of Management. He is a member of the school's international advisory board.

Throughout the hour-long session, he was asked numerous times for his take on Russian issues.

He told the students that the two reasons for his faith in the future of Russia's economy were the enormous amount of natural resources the country had, and the calibre of its people.

But the people were being held back by a system that did not allow private enterprise to bloom and be supported by the government, he said.

'If you discover an oil field, the government comes over and Lukoil says we will look after it. In that way, you control everything, that holds them back,' he said, referring to the Russian oil giant.

Elaborating on the example, Mr Lee said that if the country was more open to letting foreign oil companies in, it could benefit from their expertise. American oil companies, in particular, were very good at drilling, he said.

'If you open up the market, American oil companies like ExxonMobil, Chevron, they come exploring. Yes, they make some money but they discover new fields for you and ways to reach it.

'I think it's not in the Russian mindset, it's something that has to change if they want to grow faster,' he said.

Mr Lee attended the meeting of the school's international advisory board yesterday as he wrapped up his visit to Moscow.

He is in the Ukrainian capital of Kiev today and is due to meet Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych and Prime Minister Mykola Azarov.

kojakbt

Hint: nothing wrong with the statements themselves... But... after you read what he is telling the Russian, you feel like... well, what do you call a person who says 1 thing but practices another?

kojakbt

Pay Ho Ching with Temasek shares instead of cash salary.

Don't you feel TULAN after reading what he is telling the Russians?

It's like telling people to not to steal but then he goes around stealing himself...

HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Don't you feel TULAN after reading what he is telling the Russians?

It's like telling people to not to steal but then he goes around stealing himself...

HAHAHAHAHAHA!

He's never a man like Churchill, Hitler, Stalin or Mao.

They fought staking their own lives. He talks only.

When the fighting cease, he starts to scoop the money.

If he meets my uncle (me too young, unfair fight) in a cul de sac he'd pee in his pants and beg for mercy.

Thick Face Black Heart

Mr Lee said that it has been proven time and again that private companies are always more profitable and more efficient than state-run ones.

He said: 'If a man is hired by the state to run the company, his career is not at stake, the company succeeds or fails, his salary may go up and down slightly or he may get the sack. So if there's a crisis, he can go home at 12 o'clock and he's asleep.

LKY has just shot his own GIC, temasek, and many of his Government linked companies (GLCs) in the foot.

GLCs and other state run enterprises make up over 50% of singapore's economy. He has basically admitted that the reason for singapore lack of productivity is because of them.

kojakbt

LKY has just shot his own GIC, temasek, and many of his Government linked companies (GLCs) in the foot.

GLCs and other state run enterprises make up over 50% of singapore's economy. He has basically admitted that the reason for singapore lack of productivity is because of them.

EXACTLY! Do you know how many Chia Liao Bee SAF scholars have been appointed in ST companies?

Lau Cheebye is really talking cock - "Kong Lan Chiao Uway"...

He's selfishly inhumane, he's not brave. There's no valor in him. Fight a war alongside him and you don't need enemies.

However he's intelligent and master of the twists of times. That's why he controls the country. That we have give it to him, like it or not.

Old Goat is just a bold faced liar and a coward. Run to moscow and than have the temerity to tell the Russians the truth behind the S'pore economy. Why don't he grow a pair of balls and tell it to SInkies in S'pore on national TV, and tell them exactly the same thing.

Imagine we have in power a leader who knows WHAT IS WRONG with the singapore economy, but does nothing to fix it because there is financial benefit to his family and cronies. He will defend himself by saying all the GLCs and even Temasek are private companies. But that's in name only, he is not kidding anyone. The govt. still controls them. I guess he is hinting that Temasek must give 30% of its shares to Ho Ching in order for Temasek to see any profit?

loloba

For MM he knows what is the right thing to do and he don't do it. The bible calls it sin but MM classified as error.

The party also practise this, not helping those in need, is wrong you know not to help when is within your capacity to do so.

Paying themselves bonus, pension and 8.8% of the million dollar salary and sayinng NO to minimum wage for the poor.

Imaging when this generation paid up their HDB 99 year lease. There would not be any money left for the next government (no land to develop, all HDB flats fully paid up) and at the rate they lose money, the government has to resort to delaying paying out of CPF.

Ash007

Someone should quote what he said in Russia to himself or any of the minitoots. Lets see what their responds are.

kojakbt

He will defend himself by saying all the GLCs and even Temasek are private companies. But that's in name only, he is not kidding anyone. The govt. still controls them. I guess he is hinting that Temasek must give 30% of its shares to Ho Ching in order for Temasek to see any profit?

[COLOR=_______]HAHAHAH! He talks about people being "hired by the state to run the company, his career is not at stake, the company succeeds or fails, his salary may go up and down slightly or he may get the sack. So if there's a crisis, he can go home at 12 o'clock and he's asleep."...

How many Cheebai chia liao bee ex-SAF generals are being hired inside ST companies?

Chao CheeBye!
[/COLOR]

:oIo:

kojakbt

> He said: 'If a man is hired by the state to run the company, his career is not at stake, the company succeeds or fails, his salary may go up and down slightly or he may get the sack. So if there's a crisis, he can go home at 12 o'clock and he's asleep.

check this out: http://www.singapore-window.org/sw02/020210gl.htm

Some of the info may be outdated but in Singapore, but certainly the state continues to "hire" ex-civil servants, ex-generals to man our state-owned enterprises (ie, GLCs):

GOVERNMENT-LINKED companies (GLCs) appear to be playing a bigger role in the Singapore economy than ever before. With Singapore experiencing possibly its worst economic downturn since independence, the government is re-examining its economic policies. The government’s deepening and broadening involvement in private enterprise is among the policies being scrutinized by the government’s Economic Review Committee. Some officials hint at a reversal of this practice but others appear to disagree.

A closer look at the issue suggests that reversing this policy is difficult. The government’s withdrawal from business could hurt the employment, income and ownership interests of people closely connected to it –

1) relatives of senior government leaders,
2) former senior government officials,
3) former senior military commanders,
4) current senior government officials, and
5) current and former ruling party politicians.

kojakbt

A fantastical piece of advice...

MM Lee has gone to Russia to impress the Russians with PAP's success story. He was asked by a Russian business students what advice he would give if approached by 2 Russian presidents - one old and the other young:
".....'to get out of business' and not have the state run all major enterprises. Mr Lee said that it has been proven time and again that private companies are always more profitable and more efficient than state-run ones." - Straits Times, 20 Sep 2010.

In Singapore, GLCs (Govt Linked Companies) account for more than 60% of the GDP[Link]. GLCs are closely linked to PAP govt's power hierarchy. For example, when Minister David Lim left the govt, he went to NOL to replace the foreign talent who was then CEO. High ranking officers in SAF and govt transit to GLCs such as ST (Singapore Technologies), Semb Corp and so on. When the PAP needs new blood, it frequently looks for them in the GLCs e.g. MP Wee Siew Kim (father of Wee Shu Min) works in ST, and so on (here is an un-updated list to show PAP govt's link to businesses[Link]). The close association of the PAP govt with this network of GLCs causes the interests of the PAP govt to be aligned with a small group of power-elites and causes policy making to be lopsided trading off the interests of ordinary Singaporeans to maintain a power structure that preserves the PAP's hegemony.

It is strange also bizzare for MM Lee to tell the Russian govt to "get out of business" when his own govt is so closed linked to a network of GLCs.

cheekenpie

[COLOR=_______]HAHAHAH! He talks about people being "hired by the state to run the company, his career is not at stake, the company succeeds or fails, his salary may go up and down slightly or he may get the sack. So if there's a crisis, he can go home at 12 o'clock and he's asleep."...

How many Cheebai chia liao bee ex-SAF generals are being hired inside ST companies?

Chao CheeBye!
[/COLOR]

:oIo:

How many ex-cheebye generals?

Queen Seok Duk

".....'to get out of business' and not have the state run all major enterprises. Mr Lee said that it has been proven time and again that private companies are always more profitable and more efficient than state-run ones." - Straits Times, 20 Sep 2010.

Is MM parroting Dr Chee ?

For MM he knows what is the right thing to do and he don't do it. The bible calls it sin but MM classified as error.

The party also practise this, not helping those in need, is wrong you know not to help when is within your capacity to do so.

Paying themselves bonus, pension and 8.8% of the million dollar salary and sayinng NO to minimum wage for the poor.

Imaging when this generation paid up their HDB 99 year lease. There would not be any money left for the next government (no land to develop, all HDB flats fully paid up) and at the rate they lose money, the government has to resort to delaying paying out of CPF.

what the fuck u talking about? Are u a singaporean? After u pay up the 99 year lease, u have to return the flat to the HDb. That's why its called a lease, get it? The HDb than starts all over again by tearing the 99 year old flat down and building new ones to sell to new suckers.