• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Sinkie Parent Upset That Son Is Identified As A Loser And Banished To Uniform Group CCAs Which Are Full Of Losers And Rejects!

This year, my son entered secondary school and was looking forward to joining the IT club as his co-curricular activity (CCA).

He has always had a strong interest in this area, and was in the IT club in primary school too.

Unfortunately, his school limits the number of participants for each CCA, and selects only the best - those who passed an assessment entry test in the case of the IT club - among all the students who showed interest.

The rest are then sent to uniform groups to bulk up the number of participants, regardless of whether the student has any interest in the CCA or not.

Why are students forced to take up CCAs that they have absolutely no interest in? How is this supposed to help them develop holistically?

I have appealed to the school for a change of CCA but the reply was that he did not pass the assessment entry test and was, thus, not selected.

It appears that children now need to pass tests even for their CCAs.

What happened to developing interests and competencies?

Also, why is the school selecting only students who can represent it at competitions and win prizes?

According to the Ministry of Education, that is not the point of CCAs.

It seems this problem is not confined to my son's school, and is an issue in many other schools too.

Goh Lay Sung

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/why-are-ccas-accepting-only-the-best-students

nayr69sg

Staff member
It is the NS mindset. The day sinkies accepted mandatory NS they basically signed their rights and free will away.

After that can have this and that "mandatory"

Why is it so important to have CCA? Look at the clown scholars it has produced.

Bunch of supreme losers!

Meanwhile those who did not excel at CCA because it is rubbish are top dogs eg Tan Min Liang

Uniformed groups a lot of CCA (ECA) points leh, looks good on the CV, the Sinkie parent should feel flattered.

Also, back in the day, no parent had 'shoot letter' to ST forum just because their child couldn't get into a CCA (ECA) he/she wanted. We have come a long way.

I always thought the better group of students get selected to join the uniformed groups. The students look very smart in their uniforms during parades. Now it turns out that it's the rejects of other ECAs that get sent to uniformed groups.

BB-fullU-1024x792.jpg

Dun join uniform groups.
It’s to prepare young sinkies for NS slavery and be brainwashed into subservient beings

Dun join uniform groups.
It’s to prepare young sinkies for NS slavery and be brainwashed into subservient beings

Only NCC, and arguably NPCC.

It's just a waste of time, and it's a pain to maintain your uniform and shoes.

Military band: be prepared for hours spent on music practice. Grades might suffer.

steffychun

I always thought the better group of students get selected to join the uniformed groups. The students look very smart in their uniforms during parades. Now it turns out that it's the rejects of other ECAs that get sent to uniformed groups.

BB-fullU-1024x792.jpg

You mean this

fa-gg-21071_0.jpg

Yes. It turns out that these are losers. They are in uniform groups because they failed the tests to join the more popular ECAs like competitive sports or IT club.

IT club is like chess club or calligraphy club, usually it's a cho bo lan club.

Also, how competitive the sports are largely depends on how competitive your school is in inter-school competitions, how stacked the school trophy cabinet is. If it's some neighbourhood school which gets trounced annually in the heats, no need to bother.

Schools should have a COE system for kids who wanna get into popular CCAs

ChoBohLan

IT club is like chess club or calligraphy club, usually it's a cho bo lan club.

Also, how competitive the sports are largely depends on how competitive your school is in inter-school competitions, how stacked the school trophy cabinet is. If it's some neighbourhood school which gets trounced annually in the heats, no need to bother.

My club??