• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

sinkie mentality on jobs

All jobs suck. That's why they have to pay people to do them.

If jobs were fun and exciting the employee would pay the employer for the pleasure.

There is 1 fun job being paid for pleasure - male masseuse massaging female client :biggrin:

Seee3

You should check out the selection process here, especially usyd. Its not just about good grades, there is an extensive interview process just to make sure this is what you want to do for a living.

http://sydney.edu.au/medicine/future-students/medical-program/admissions/MMI_info.pdf

So no, its not just the grades here to qualify you as a doctor.
Thanks for the info. Interviews can be used to assess ones' knowledge and attitude. However, good surgeon needs both knowledge and hands. Dr Victor Chang could do a by-pass for my friend's grandfather who was 85 year then because he needed less than half the time a normal surgeon would require. After his passing, I have not heard of another one with the same or better pair of hands.

I was just wondering why can't surgery be conducted by two separate parties; theory and practical. In engineering, engineer provides the knowledges on how the repair is to be done. However, it is the highly skilled welders and tradesmen who carry out the actual repair. The engineers do not have the practical skill of the welders or tradesmen. At the same time, the welder may not have the ability to decide on how the repair is to be done.

Currently, a surgeon is one who must possess both good knowledge and good hands. Individuals with both talents are rare. Therefore, perhaps surgery can evolve to be carried out by separate entities, one with the knowledge and the other with a good pair of hands, taking instruction from the former. In A & E, for patient with multiple injuries, there is a chief doc, who do not use his hands. His job is purely to coordinate and decide on the priority of the works of a team of specialists who are tackling different aspects of the injuries. It is an option that is already in practice.

Sorry for diverting from main topic. Just sharing my wild thoughts.

i was brought up to believe that all jobs are equal, if there is one day i need to work in Mc Donalds for $5 an hour, so be it.
but i was quite astonished that majority of sinkies dun think like that, they want high paying and to do what they like, as good as a dream job. seemingly, everyone wants a dream job.:rolleyes:

I remember at my time used to be $1.75 per hour, seems like things had improved.

JackyCheung

Personally I only feel that all jobs are equal when I am financially dependent. E.g when I have a savings of say $800k to $1mil.
Without financially sound I will feel dejected, depressed if I am working as a security guard or macdonald.

Well..reach 1 million cash saving. Still working?

I will probably still work, no working. Very sian at home.

Ash007

Thanks for the info. Interviews can be used to assess ones' knowledge and attitude. However, good surgeon needs both knowledge and hands. Dr Victor Chang could do a by-pass for my friend's grandfather who was 85 year then because he needed less than half the time a normal surgeon would require. After his passing, I have not heard of another one with the same or better pair of hands.

I was just wondering why can't surgery be conducted by two separate parties; theory and practical. In engineering, engineer provides the knowledges on how the repair is to be done. However, it is the highly skilled welders and tradesmen who carry out the actual repair. The engineers do not have the practical skill of the welders or tradesmen. At the same time, the welder may not have the ability to decide on how the repair is to be done.

Currently, a surgeon is one who must possess both good knowledge and good hands. Individuals with both talents are rare. Therefore, perhaps surgery can evolve to be carried out by separate entities, one with the knowledge and the other with a good pair of hands, taking instruction from the former. In A & E, for patient with multiple injuries, there is a chief doc, who do not use his hands. His job is purely to coordinate and decide on the priority of the works of a team of specialists who are tackling different aspects of the injuries. It is an option that is already in practice.

Sorry for diverting from main topic. Just sharing my wild thoughts.

It should be case by case basis. Being a surgeon, doctors is not as easy as some people think. Long work hours, huge responsibility etc. Like engineering, doctors do consult with one and other, hence the selection criteria for the interview process. Notice that knowledge is just the first step, the final step is actually consideration for everything! My point with the cleaner and surgeon is because to be a doctors needs more skills, dedications and knowledge. Again, if you have a heart attack in the middle of the road, who would you trust your life with?

Well..reach 1 million cash saving. Still working?

I will probably still work, no working. Very sian at home.

Yeah probably I will still work a part time job and do not mind Macdonald. I will be happy even if customer ranting at me :p

All jobs are equal in what way? Usefulness? Status? Importance? Difficulty? The market does not appear to think so and you can see this as reflected by the salaries.

if only all salaries are dictated by the market,as u can see some salaries can be pegged to anything they like,such as the top 0.1 percent of all sectors.free market is a joke,this economy is a communist state planned economy.

many years ago, my relative a senior manager was retrenched from chartered semiconductor. he can't find a job that matches his previous one and 'd rather sit at home, he still has 2 young kids at school. this is sinkie mentality.:rolleyes:

JackyCheung

many years ago, my relative a senior manager was retrenched from chartered semiconductor. he can't find a job that matches his previous one and 'd rather sit at home, he still has 2 young kids at school. this is sinkie mentality.:rolleyes:

I will run a business.

SgGoneWrong

Personally I only feel that all jobs are equal when I am financially dependent. E.g when I have a savings of say $800k to $1mil.
Without financially sound I will feel dejected, depressed if I am working as a security guard or macdonald.

Without being financially sound, would you feel dejected if you work as a clerk assuming that it pays the same as security guard?

... but i was quite astonished that majority of sinkies dun think like that, they want high paying and to do what they like, as good as a dream job. seemingly, everyone wants a dream job.:rolleyes:
juz rook @ ah loon ... evry sinkie behaves like tis xecellen role model ...

dictate n astronomical salary 4 urself ... do as li'l wok as possible, bestest is no nid 2 do anyting ... pass ur wok on 2 others ... totally no accountability ... haf sum1 2 take ur brame if tings go wrong ... kips telling ppl u r ze bestest person 4 ze job ...

isnt dat a dream job? ...

I remember at my time used to be $1.75 per hour, seems like things had improved.

For many NS was their 1st paying job. As a recruit I think the pay was only $99/month:(
I don't know what the recruits pay is nowadays but wouldn't be surprised if it is as pathetic.

Without being financially sound, would you feel dejected if you work as a clerk assuming that it pays the same as security guard?

If i were to work as a clerk/Admin Asst/Security without being financially sound, I will probably endup in bedok reservoir :cool:
How it will endup with this is that i will feel very ashame everyday, no money to parktor, no money to buy things I like, i will probably use my miserable salary to go casino and bet all in 1 stake.
I will then endup with pile up debts and end it in bedok.
On the other hand if I am financially sound, when i work as a clerk or guard, everyday i go work happily without stress and laugh at executive who need to slog so much :p

SgGoneWrong

If i were to work as a clerk/Admin Asst/Security without being financially sound, I will probably endup in bedok reservoir :cool:
How it will endup with this is that i will feel very ashame everyday, no money to parktor, no money to buy things I like, i will probably use my miserable salary to go casino and bet all in 1 stake.
I will then endup with pile up debts and end it in bedok.
On the other hand if I am financially sound, when i work as a clerk or guard, everyday i go work happily without stress and laugh at executive who need to slog so much :p

You should be a pap supporter.
You thinking is very much align with theirs.
Money = dignity.