• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's hidden history

Harry Lee

514gFL-jFqL._SL500_AA266_PIkin3,BottomRight,-12,34_AA300_SH20_OU01_.jpg

Book cover on our Koro epidemic - "THE GREAT SINGAPORE PENIS PANIC"

llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

Did you hold on to your penis?:biggrin:

Harry Lee

Hidden history : Pics of various Riots

riots.jpg

350px-Kallangracialriot.gif

Maria Hertog riots

1964%20Riots%202%20-%20scene%202(New).jpg

Caption says 1964 racial riots, but i doubt it

march+singapore+circa+1964.jpg

Nanyang U students protest 1964

1969_Race_Riots_Singapore.jpg

1969 Leftists anti Govt Riot along Bras Basah Road outside the old Raffles Institution

images

1964%20Riots%201%20-%20burnt%20car(new).jpg

1964 racial riots

27maypage1.jpg

Tan Wah Piow and his group 1974...... Poor guy was fixed up by Phey Yew Kok and his sidekick. And where is Phey today?

Hidden history : Pics of various Riots

riots.jpg

350px-Kallangracialriot.gif

Maria Hertog riots

1964%20Riots%202%20-%20scene%202(New).jpg

Caption says 1964 racial riots, but i doubt it

march+singapore+circa+1964.jpg

Nanyang U students protest 1964

1969_Race_Riots_Singapore.jpg

1969 Leftists anti Govt Riot along Bras Basah Road outside the old Raffles Institution

images

1964%20Riots%201%20-%20burnt%20car(new).jpg

1964 racial riots

27maypage1.jpg

Tan Wah Piow and his group 1974...... Poor guy was fixed up by Phey Yew Kok and his sidekick. And where is Phey today?

Happily settled down in Taiwan after he ran away. He may make an appearance soon - on TV, as guest star LOVE.

Harry Lee

Hidden History : the Great Flood of 1978

0002.img.png

1978 Singapore floods

By Tan Lay Yuen written on 1999-04-17
National Library Board Singapore

Monsoon rains brought on Singapore's worst floods on 2 December 1978 causing seven deaths and hundreds to be evacuated.The torrential monsoon rains on 2 December 1978 brought disastrous floods and utter chaos throughout Singapore.

Seven people died during the floods (six were drowned and one was electrocuted by a 'live' lamp post). More than 1,000 people were evacuated from their homes by army and police boats from five submerged areas, namely, Kampung San Teng, Potong Pasir, Lorong Buang Kok, Lorong Kudang, Lorong Kinchir and Lorong Chuan.

Howling winds, lashing rain and swirling waters hit the island at 1:00 pm. bringing two days of destruction to life, property, crops and livestock. Flood waters, unleashed by the heaviest rainfall ever recorded in a single day (512.4 mm), caused roads to be submerged in more than a metre of water and impassable to traffic. Hundreds of vehicles were abandoned and several cars stalled after hitting into deep waters or trees and lamp posts. Airline flights, train and mail schedules were disrupted. Telecommunication cables and power lines were damaged causing failures in communication services and electricity supplies to thousands of households. Trees were uprooted by strong winds while the heavy rainfall caused landslides in several hilly areas.

The worst hit areas were the farm belt zones of Woodlands, Braddell Road, Potong Pasir and Changi where more than 2,000 pigs and poultry perished in the swollen waters. This was the worst flood since the Hari Raya floods that hit the island in December 1969.

http://infopedia.nl.sg/articles/SIP_780_2004-12-30.html

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

The 1969 flood submerged the Newton area badly:

10-december-1969-singapore-flooding.jpg

Harry Lee

Hidden History - Susan Lim and The Crescendos

crescendosIMG_0001.jpg

crescendos.jpg

677405435_9f23fad411.jpg

By Tan Joanna Hwang Soo written on 2010-06-10
National Library Board Singapore

http://infopedia.nl.sg/articles/SIP_1155_2010-06-10.html

The Crescendos were a popular Singapore band of the 1960s. Formed in 1963 and comprising Susan Lim, John Chee, Leslie Chia, Raymond Ho, the band was the first Singapore group ever to be signed by an international record label. The band scored several hits with songs such as Mr Twister and The Boy Next Door. The Crescendos took a break from recording in 1966 and never regrouped after the death of lead singer Susan Lim in 1970.

Early years
The Crecendos started out as a singing group comprising John Chee, Leslie Chia and Raymond Ho. In 1961, they took part in Radio Malaya Talentime, a successful programme that showcased good singers and musicians. For the Talentime contest the following year, the group decided to introduce a female lead vocalist, Susan Lim, a friend of Chia’s sister. Lim was 14 years old at the time and a student at Raffles Girls’ School.

Although The Crescendos eventually took second place on Talentime that year, the band signed a contract with record company Philips International even before reaching the competition finals, making it the first Singapore group ever to sign on with an international record label.

The band was later joined by Israel Lim on bass guitar and Peter Soh on drums, enabling the band to perform onstage as a complete musical line-up.

Recordings
In 1963, the band released its first single, a cover version of Mr Twister. The single was an instant hit and sold more than 10,000 copies in Malaysia, placing it on the Philips World Top Ten list and locally outselling even American pop singer Connie Francis’s version of the song.

The band’s next two singles, In Good Old Summertime and the original composition The Boy Next Door, similarly entered the Philips World Top Ten list. Both singles sold more than 10,000 copies each.

Other memorable songs followed, among these Everybody Loves A Lover, Silver Threads And Golden Needles and Has Anybody Seen My Boyfriend. The band also demonstrated its versatility by recording Malay songs such as Lenggang Kangkong and Waktu Fajar, and the traditional Indonesian favourite Bengawan Solo.

In 1966, at the height of their popularity, the band decided to take a break from recording while Lim pursued studies in political science and sociology at the University of Singapore. During this period, Lim released a solo record with The Thunderbirds, another popular local band.

In 1995, Polygram issued a compilation of Crescendos music titled The Complete Crescendos. In 2002, Universal Music released Treasures From The Past, a compilation featuring The Crescendos as one of the four most prominent bands of the 1960s.

Death of Susan Lim
In 1970, Susan Lim was 22 years old and engaged to be married to John Chan York Lee. After completing her final university examinations, Lim went on a holiday to Malaysia with her fiance and some friends and relatives. On 8 February 1970, while at a beach in Kemaman, Trengganu, Lim was swept away by strong waves despite attempts by her fiance to hold on to her. The body of Lau Kheng Khuang, another member of the party killed in the accident, was recovered, but Lim’s body was never found. Shortly after the accident, the National University of Singapore awarded Lim a Bachelor of Arts honours degree in absentia.

Unlike other bands of the 1960s that reunited over the years for nostalgia and charity events, the Crescendos never regrouped as they felt that Lim could not be replaced.

vamjok

anyone knows the history behind our flag?

i know it was initially 3 stars and with a totally red background. the moon was later added to please the stupid muslim and white added to the background to distant away from the communist. this is the version i heard. anyone has the more complete picture?

Harry Lee

Singapore's flag is an attempt to please the Muslims....

According to Noordin Sophie, Red and White are the colours of MALAY nationalism. See the UMNO flag:

610x.jpg

Thus the Indonesian flag is also Red and White:

IndonesiaFlag.jpg

Singapore shamelessly copied these flags hoping to curry favour with the Malays and Indonesians, and added the Crescent to make it look more Islamic.

Silly fools think the Malaysians and Indonesians can be appleased by our playing the puppy dog in following their lead. They under-estimated the depth of anger against the immigrant races by the Native sons of the soil....

Harry Lee

Even the opposition Islamic party, the PAS, uses the same red and white flag to represent Malay nationalism (plus green for Islam) :

logo4.png

The party website is here : http://www.pas.org.my/v2/

Our teachers and leaders think we Singaporeans are silly fools, that we can believe their tall tales of what red and white means......:oIo:

Hidden History : Girl shot thru heart in Queenstown 1972

Queenstown, 18 September, 1972 - A 22-year old seamstress by the name of Cheng Li Zhen (曾丽珍) was walking with her 19-year old sister Li Bao (丽宝) near Tanglin Halt when she suddenly screamed and collapsed. Blood oozed from her chest. It was only after she was sent to the Outram Road General Hospital that they discovered she had been shot. She died from her wound without regaining consciousness.

X-rays showed that the bullet entered from her upper left chest and hit her heart. Police suspected that the shooter was a sniper hiding in one of the high-rise buildings. There were no witnesses and her sister did not see any anyone with a gun.

The case remains unsolved.....

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Who would want to waste a bullet on this poor girl ?

[]

The sniper was an incredible shot. There was no empty cartridge casing recovered, a real professional job. The so call high rise building was actually the older Queenstown HDB blocks, long since demolished. Given that she was a moving target, and the range was several hundred metres, no evidence at the scenes, ability to make a clean get away, etc. indicated it was a high calibre marksman/assasin. The rumour was that she was randomly selected to send Old Goat a message. i.e. we can get you in your motorcade anytime we want. Message sender reputed to be the indons.

Hidden history :

I believe the history we know is rather a sanitised version. There are episode that we do not know of. Allow me to dig up one here. You may have hidden secret history to share too..... please post them also.

aNY MORE HIDDEN HISTORY TO SHARE?

1) Secret Storage of tactical nuclear weapons in S'pore by the British
2) Secret defence treaties with Brunei, US, etc.
3) Govt. sanctioned theft of valuables from the Vietnamese boat people

allanlee

Who would want to waste a bullet on this poor girl ?

The sniper was an incredible shot. There was no empty cartridge casing recovered, a real professional job. The so call high rise building was actually the older Queenstown HDB blocks, long since demolished. Given that she was a moving target, and the range was several hundred metres, no evidence at the scenes, ability to make a clean get away, etc. indicated it was a high calibre marksman/assasin. The rumour was that she was randomly selected to send Old Goat a message. i.e. we can get you in your motorcade anytime we want. Message sender reputed to be the indons.

I hear another version......... in late 1971 the first batch of poodles from PTF were selected for sniper course training at SAFTI...... the SAFTI sniper course at that time was actually meant for soldiers and the course trainees comprised mostly of regulars from the CDO and Rangers...... the training was super siong under the Israeli / SAS instructors.

One of the PTF poodle could not tahan the training and went bonkers...... as he was from the Queensway Base....... he went awol with the rifle and shot that innocent girl.......... he was sent to Woodbridge and nobody has seen him since.

Disclaimer : This version was told by the instructors from SAFTI on why they do not like SPF poodles attending their courses...... I do not know the sniper or anyone else involved in this case

I hear another version......... in late 1971 the first batch of poodles from PTF were selected for sniper course training at SAFTI...... the SAFTI sniper course at that time was actually meant for soldiers and the course trainees comprised mostly of regulars from the CDO and Rangers...... the training was super siong under the Israeli / SAS instructors.

One of the PTF poodle could not tahan the training and went bonkers...... as he was from the Queensway Base....... he went awol with the rifle and shot that innocent girl.......... he was sent to Woodbridge and nobody has seen him since.

Disclaimer : This version was told by the instructors from SAFTI on why they do not like SPF poodles attending their courses...... I do not know the sniper or anyone else involved in this case

The only problem with this theory is the case is still open. If they can close a case like u said, they would have done so already. Just like the bomb blast outside the Israelic consulate. That is another mystery.

Harry Lee

The Arab terrorist who planted a bomb at the Israel embassy at Orchard Road was caught by Israel a few years ago......

Old_Singapore_Photo_4.jpg

Orchard Road ......

Old_Singapore_Photo_1.jpg

Cold storage.. there was a nice coffee house here with yummy ice cream....:smile: