• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's hidden history

psy83

RSN shouldnt have done that.. Its against Basic Human etiquette... You dont just dump a group of desperate people out into the sea and wash your hands off the case.. What Type of Bastards do we have Governing this country, Yet they allow dictators to come here to seek medical help. Its morally wrong to do that. The government could have easily open up a centre and house this people.

What strain will it be on the economy to allow this people in, The government dont even need to fork out a cent..I believe members of the public will quickly donate to the cause..

I hate reading this type of things..

Harry Lee

In those crazy days, all appointments had to be according to TV programmes.

ei041220064.jpg

This was Singapore's favourite couple in 1979/80. How we hoped they would become a couple in real life..... Chow Yun Fatt later married a Singapore girl....

"Man in the net" featured all the big names:

Chow Yun Fat
Cora Miao (繆騫人)
Carol Cheng
Au Yeung Pui Shan (歐陽佩珊)
Simon Yam
Lee Dou Hung (李道洪)
Liu Wai Hung (廖偉雄)
Lau Dan
Tang Bik Wan (鄧碧雲)
Wong Sun (黃新)
Shek Gin (石堅)
Kwan Hoi San
Lee Heung Kam
Nam Hung (南紅)
Tam Bing Man
Hui Siu Hung
Susanna Kwan (關菊英)
Lo Lan (羅蘭)
Kam Kwok Leung (甘國衛)
So Hung Shue (蘇杏璇)

See the video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5yGic0wiXw

Force 136

images

Ah Chan ..... the comic element in "Man in the Net"
Who can ever forget his Hamburger antics?...... this was even before "Mee Siam mai Hum"!

sirus

It look like there are 2 school, might it be May north and May South school?.

Cannot be May north and south, because May north and south school building faced each other.
Moreover, both shared a big field and don't have a parade square like the 1 in the pic.

neddy

To be honest, RSN did the right thing, what would happen if these people end up on singapore shores? they would have to be fed and clothe at the Peoples expense. Look at what all these boat people are doing to europe and australia? they come bcos they know can get in, Everyone has problems, but they should not bring their problems upon others. However PAP has made amends to this situation by opening the doors to Foreign Trash,, more of them are here than ever before,

Sometimes, we need to look further...

The Aussies were quite happy because of the skills they refugees brought with them.

Eg Imagine having instant doctors without having to spend money n time training them.

HE describes his survival as a miracle, and now more than 20 years after swapping the jungles of Vietnam for life as a GP in suburban Cabramatta in western Sydney, Dr Tien Nguyen has seen his work rewarded.

Dr Nguyen, president of the Vietnamese Community in Australia, was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia in this year’s Australia Day honours for his work with refugees and the Vietnamese community.

“I’m very proud, and proud for my people too,” says Dr Nguyen. “I think it’s important for ethnic groups to have individuals recognised for their good work, and that encourages more good work in the community.”

Dr Nguyen began his medical career as a doctor with the South Vietnamese Army.

RSN shouldnt have done that.. Its against Basic Human etiquette... You dont just dump a group of desperate people out into the sea and wash your hands off the case.. What Type of Bastards do we have Governing this country, Yet they allow dictators to come here to seek medical help. Its morally wrong to do that. The government could have easily open up a centre and house this people.

What strain will it be on the economy to allow this people in, The government dont even need to fork out a cent..I believe members of the public will quickly donate to the cause..

I hate reading this type of things..

I agree with you. How the govt treat others will be how it treat its own people eventually.
BTW
How is the plan to transplant old useless Singaporeans to JB?

Harry Lee

The Japanese Kempei-Tai in Singapore

The Kempei-Tai carried out Sook Ching operations in Singapore.

default.jpg

[video=youtube;DLQyddnij0g]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DLQyddnij0g[/video]

Hooded collaborators were used to point out suspects to the Japanese Police.

Little attempts were made to discover the identities of these hooded traitors after the war......

Harry Lee

After the war, only seven men were charged for their alleged role in the Sook Ching murders :

1. Lieutenant Colonel Oishi Masayuki, commander of 2nd Field Kempeitai.
2. Lieutenant Colonel Nishimura Takuma, commander of the Imperial Guards Division.
3. Lieutenant General Kawamura Saburo, commander of Syonan Defence Garrison.
4. Lieutenant Colonel Yokota Yoshitaka.
5. Major Jyo Tomotatsu.
6. Major Onishi Satoru.
7. Captain Hisamatsu Haruji.

Kawamura and Oishi received the death sentence while the rest were given life sentences but served just 5 years till 1952 ........

Tuji_Masanobu.jpg

This is the man who planned the sook ching killings - Col Masanobu Tsuji

He became an MP in the Japanese parliament after Word War 2

Where is the justice?

Harry Lee

Adapted From the post of :
ecclesiastes the teacher

Hidden History - The RI boy who went astray

One of Singapore's most infamous Singapore racehorse owners Fatty Loo passed away in china in 2011 while under going treatment for diabetes.

In the 80s and 90s the name fatty loo struck fear into the hearts of people in horse racing circles, especially trainers and jockeys..he was so influential that he reportedly could fix quite a number of races during that period. In the 90s he team up with an indonesian syndicate - the three kingdom stables, under their leader hong li in fixing races and tote dumping..till the CPIB stepped in.

Both fatty loo and the indon Hong Li were also suspected of dealing in ecstasy pills which helped them rake in millions during the 90s

Fatty loo was a RI boy who graduated with a law degree.

He was barred from practice after losing his case against the law society for misconduct. He was taken to court by OCBC in the late 90s in a dispute over the sale and transaction of Satnam house in High street which he bought after getting a loan from them..OCBC was reportedly cheated of $20mil in that deal. He fled spore while the hearing was ongoing.

As a fugitive on the run with his connections he had no problems in getting a new id and moved about freely in m'sia and the phillipines.

He reportedly sent about 100 gangsters from KL to the Penang turf club to beat up a particular trainer in 2001.

His last foray was when he leased the gambling cruise ship Asia star from Stanley Ho, in 2009 to operate in the waters off m'sia. The casino ship business closed shop when the IR opened in 2010.

Some people claimed Fatty repented and became a born again Christian before he died. His (great?) grand father was a pastor.......

Some people believe he is still alive.......because no one has ever seen his dead body.....

Harry Lee

Singapore businessman 'Fatty Loo' found dead in China

AsiaOne
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011

20110831.134634_bizman.jpg

Singaporean businessman and lawyer Loo Choon Beng was found dead in Guangzhou, China earlier this month.

Sources told The Straits Times that the 57-year-old was found in his hotel room bed on August 3 or August 4.

The former Raffles Institution (RI) student is speculated to have either died in his sleep or from complications from health problems, including diabetes and high cholesterol.

Mr Loo, who won a gold medal in judo in the 1975 South-east Asia Peninsula (Seap) Games, was reportedly behind the first high-tech baccarat casino scam in the Philippines.

Asian media reported that he and three others had allegedly used hidden cameras to cheat at baccarat games in three casinos run by state-gaming firm - Philippine Amusement and gaming Corp (Pagcor).

They cheated the firm of about 160 million pesos (S$4.5 million) in May this year.

The three were arrested and detained but fled the country after posting bail.

The funeral is believed to have been attended only by very close friends and a few family members.

Background on Loo Choon Beng

Mr Loo was well known in horse-riding circles in Singapore as 'Fatty Loo' because of his physique.

In the 1980s he owned more than 50 horses and was a familiar figure at race meetings in Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Ipoh and Penang.

In 2000, the divorcee and father of two daughters was held under Malaysia's preventive detention laws for his alleged involvement in fixing the outcome of horse races at Malaysian turf clubs.

# Allegedly spat in a Singapore Airlines stewardess' face, after she accidentally spilt a soft drink on him during a flight from Hong Kong to Singapore
# Accused of grabbing her arm, turning her around violently and raising his arm and threatening to slap her
# The case was settled out of court

# Suspended from legal practice for three years for misconduct

# OCBC Bank filed a suit against him and a fellow lawyer for an $80.6 million loan which they failed to repay
# Sued by OCBC for not paying back a $4.5 million personal loan

# OCBC moved to declare him a bankrupt

More than a pinch of salt. The only part true is Satnam House, RI Boy, Law etc. Common sense will tell you that you don't need 100 gangsters to do the job. This is kopitiam talk. If you are really in the know about Turf Clubs of M'sia and Singapore, the intimidation is via bullets sent by mail or dropped in the letter box. If they want to cause harm, the guy will be shot in the leg or assaulted with a weapon. Murder is not sanctioned by those who control Turf Clubs.

The same author tried to bullshit about Genting and MBS and got caught out by one Merle and since GD's presence, he stopped talkin about these 2 places.

Adapted From the post of :
ecclesiastes the teacher

Hidden History - The RI boy who went astray

One of the most infamous Singapore racehorse owners Fatty Loo passed away in china in 2011 while under going treatment for diabetes.

Some people believe he is still alive.......because no one has ever seen his dead body.....

More than a pinch of salt. The only part true is Satnam House, RI Boy, Law etc. Common sense will tell you that you don't need 100 gangsters to do the job. This is kopitiam talk. If you are really in the know about Turf Clubs of M'sia and Singapore, the intimidation is via bullets sent by mail or dropped in the letter box. If they want to cause harm, the guy will be shot in the leg or assaulted with a weapon. Murder is not sanctioned by those who control Turf Clubs.

The same author tried to bullshit about Genting and MBS and got caught out by one Merle and since GD's presence, he stopped talkin about these 2 places.

Fatty Loo bought himself out from detention in M'sia. One million. Not sure if S$ or ringgit.

No confirmation if Fatty Loo was involved with Hong Li in latter's E pills biz. But they surely teamed up in fixing horse races. This is a unique biz where partners tend to kill each other. Team up overtly. Screw each other covertly. Fatty believes in $$$. Never loyalty or friendship. In a nutshell, never ever trust Fatty Loo.

Fatty Loo was afraid of 'hiong nang'. He 'respected' and made use of a 369 senior chap who also acted as his 'back up'. I know. Coz I went to his home near TCS to bookmake and punt.

And yes, murder is not on the menu. Why attract unwanted attention from the authorities when your sole purpose is to make money. Why kill when your intended victim can be made use of. If your intended victim betrayed you, resulting in huge losses, that same victim can be your trojan horse as you scheme to make even more money. End of the day, everyman has his price.

Those were the days when the main characters in the circuit were Fatty Loo, Wee Chiang, Beh Bin, Kuay Kia, Lau Ta etc.

sukhoi-30

Many world wars 2 japanese soldier are chinese . You all maybe dont believes it , but some of the japanese soldier speaked to us in hokkien and hainanese. Where they come from , how and why they ends up as japanese soldier is a mysterys.
For so many years I wish to hears one of their storys but no one dare to declare he is a hanjian.

Yes, I've heard it from the late grandma.

She recalled that a few days after the British surrenders in 1942, two Japanese came to her house. One was in uniform but the other was in civilian. The civilian speaks in Mandarin and Hokkien and asked her for some clothes. My grandma panicked but the civilian guy asked her not to and "man man na," slowly slowly.."My grandma recalled that the guy told her he is a Taiwanese and assured her he meant no harm.

On the other hand, I was told by an uncle who passed away few years back that the Koreans in the Japanese army behaved cruelly towards the residents in Japanese occupied Spore then. He believed they were recruited by the Japanese who occupied Korea and these pro-japanese Koreans were especially cruel to the chinese whom they suspect were communist sympthaiser out to resist the japanese occupation.

Bigfuck

Sounds like a script from a movie. Wonder why Mediacropse didn't pick up on this. In USA, this would have made into a movie!

Go read the Japanese Occupation Newspapers, " The Syonan Times" You will know where they picked up such trash writing.

Sometimes, we need to look further...

The Aussies were quite happy because of the skills they refugees brought with them.

Eg Imagine having instant doctors without having to spend money n time training them.

HE describes his survival as a miracle, and now more than 20 years after swapping the jungles of Vietnam for life as a GP in suburban Cabramatta in western Sydney, Dr Tien Nguyen has seen his work rewarded.

Dr Nguyen, president of the Vietnamese Community in Australia, was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia in this year’s Australia Day honours for his work with refugees and the Vietnamese community.

“I’m very proud, and proud for my people too,” says Dr Nguyen. “I think it’s important for ethnic groups to have individuals recognised for their good work, and that encourages more good work in the community.”

Dr Nguyen began his medical career as a doctor with the South Vietnamese Army.

I agree with you. How the govt treat others will be how it treat its own people eventually.
BTW
How is the plan to transplant old useless Singaporeans to JB?

Look at the Situation right now, Australia has open its doors to boat people and look at them coming by the boat loads,,costing a bomb in welfare and denying local Australians welfare and taxing the middle class to support these 'illegals'. Under John Howard, the than government made it hard to get residency,,and the boats hardly came, with this Julia bitch,, the boats are coming in,,,think of it, if the Australians just say, all illegals will be deported and will no longer accept asylum seekers but skilled migrants,,,u think those illegals will dare to go Australia?

Look back at Singapore, if Singapore accept the Vn boat people,,,we will be flooded,,,a signal has to be sent that if u are an illegal u are not wanted...but as I said earlier, Singapore has made amends to the Viets as they are now here legally,,,can come as often as they want...and they are flooding singapore,,,so amends and redemption has been made on Singapore's part

houton

I am absolutely sure the police put in 100% effort to trace the murderer. While JS was DCID, Goh Yong Hong was CP then. Goh's daughter was college mate with deceased.

I think there were Thai workers in the vicinity too. Some murder cases are easily solved, with glaring details left behind. Others much more difficult, especially when committed by foreigners.

If God is great, the murderer(s) should be struck by lightning. Or die a terrible death.

Its ridiculous they never mention about finding any semen sample. IMO the crime is less likely done by SInkie in that area, he needs a car to run away fast which means stopping his car on the one lane road before committing. The workers probably know the forest very well and ran through it. However in those years illegal foreign workers are aplenty too, no ID nothing they can't be caught. The first 3 days are very important on such crimes. Surprisingly back in 80s girls are already complacent to run alone in deserted areas.

This thread is great read, should be continued. Pre-2000 Singapore much more exciting and dangerous.