• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore will decline like Venice

20 years before tehy have a more stable political climate. No one really is in control now.

Are the years of familee organised raping of Sporeans really better than the corruption that exists in an undeveloped 3rd world country:confused:

Look at the billions lost by madam Ho & compare to the $20 bribe in Malaysia or Indonesia. At least that $20 will feed the policeman's family while the person who lost billions has no regrets

I think things are bad in Spore because the familee feels very secure & what you see is raw unfettered greed.

What is this "20 years to go" ?

Why do they want to catch up with Spore? When our citizens are worried about losing their jobs to foreigners in their own backyard, or for the world class infrastructure that many are having trouble to pay for.

Why would they want our system of multi million $$$ politicians when they've gotten rid of their own Suharto :rolleyes:

I know of many Sporeans who have quitted to Indonesia. They may hold Spore passports but are making a decent living in Indonesia. It's a country of oppurtunites unlike Spore where every business is at the mercy of the Lee regime.
Indon politicians are also making millions loh...through corruption and other means.

Yes, Indonesia is famous for its corruption, the legacy of Suharto. Did you know that Suharto & LKY were good friends.

What's amazing is that Spore has maintained a facade that it is corruption free :rolleyes:

miosux

The possibe key for S'pore's future is an ASEAN Union similar to the present EU structure, perhaps in the next 20-30 years.

dude, we don't even have an extradition treaty with thailand, indo and the pinoys. it'll be more likely that we'll be a vassal of china/india than a member of an asean union along the lines of the EU.

Privpho

Why do we have to be content with being the little red dot?

If Sg can increase the size of her territories and also incorporate a resource-rich hinterland, the majority of our problems can be solved...

And the party will be less preoccupied with implementing nitpicking policies when they are gonna have real work to do in developing our newly-acquired lands.

TeeKee

The Matrix is more than just a movie. It is symbolic of the nature of the society we live in. Most people live their lives oblivious to the control we are subjected to and remain 'plugged in'. The Matrix: You can feel it when you go to work, or when you go to church or when you pay your taxes. It is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth. We have a choice – we can take the blue pill and go back to our daily lives and remain oblivious. If however, you decide to take that leap, take the red pill, and open your eyes to the manipulation that is imposed on us, you will never be able to see the world the same way again. It’s your choice. What are you gonna do?

you are mistaken, going to church is taking the red pill, the blue pill is not going to church and doing the same routine everyday and indugled in your sinful desires and "human" nature.

do compare similarity between neo's resurrection with the resurrection of Jesus.

Why do we have to be content with being the little red dot?

If Sg can increase the size of her territories and also incorporate a resource-rich hinterland, the majority of our problems can be solved...

And the party will be less preoccupied with implementing nitpicking policies when they are gonna have real work to do in developing our newly-acquired lands.
how are we going to increase our size when we are literally locked in between the "jaws" of malaysia and indon?

are you suggesting we reclaim up the straits of johor ? Or reclaim ourselves all the way to Bintan / Batam and in the process cover up our deep water port?

takcheksian

some comments - yes, we thrive mostly because of the apparent / relative disarray of Indonesia and Malaysia.

Singapore that needs to find a niche for ourselves in this part of the world / region. What that is, is for the millonaire politicans to think.

Venice have something that Singapore will never have - her culture and heritage. As time passes, the advantage is on Venice (assuming she don't get totally submerged) - Singapore was labelled to be sterile and lack of attractions.

I stand corrected on one point and beg to disagree on another:

:smile: Yes, Singapore lacks the unique advantage that Venice offers. I don't see it developing any culture, except for the culture of elitist greed. :(

:oIo: The millionaire politicians don't think. They cannot think. If they could think, the FamiLEE would not have them serving the LEEgime. :p

TeeKee

Venice is still good what!

So crowded during tourist seasons....

Prepare to wear water boots during wet weather...because it's always flooded!

I stand corrected on one point and beg to disagree on another:

:smile: Yes, Singapore lacks the unique advantage that Venice offers. I don't see it developing any culture, except for the culture of elitist greed. :(

:oIo: The millionaire politicians don't think. They cannot think. If they could think, the FamiLEE would not have them serving the LEEgime. :p

u are right - Singapore have no culture becos we did not have the chance to develope one. in fact, its not easy to develope one bcos we are not homogenous. And the government does not allow individual sub-culture from developing. If you look at countries like Japan, Korea, China - they have strong culture helped obviously by long history. But more importantly, they are homogenous (or largely so) - hence all Japanese speak Japanese, Korean, Chinese, etc. Even Thailand there is Thai, Malaysia - Malay, Indon = Bahasa Indon. Singapore? English? Malay? Chinese? There isn't. Ditto for Europe - France = French, Germany = German, Italy = Italian.

Even when we try to create Singlish, we kenna bash. Why? Who is to say, 100 to 200 years later, Singlish won't evolve to become our own distinct language? Why bash it? Why can't Singlish exist together with English? Just because some chow ang moh say Singlish is not good, we bash? Like that how to have our own culture? already we are not homogenous given our distinct ethnic groups, we need to have something in common to bind us - and I think Singlish is apt. Heck, even a small country like Iceland have Icelandic.

And don't tell me food is one of our culture because almost every country can count food as their culture.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Simple answer, grouping blocs of trade, US, EU, BRIC etc. Indonesia and Malaysia may well need a grouping under such situations.

ASEAN idea is coined up by GOh Keng Swee? But why would indonesia and malaysia much bigger than singapore want to be on same par with singapore? They are big enough on their own liao.

By the way, these people in this region are much too diverse and greedy on their part to join up together. Only thing they have common is religion here.

Porfirio Rubirosa

I think the realities may finally force all ASEAN states to get their act together fast.
dude, we don't even have an extradition treaty with thailand, indo and the pinoys. it'll be more likely that we'll be a vassal of china/india than a member of an asean union along the lines of the EU.

takcheksian

u are right - Singapore have no culture becos we did not have the chance to develope one.

Even when we try to create Singlish, we kenna bash. Why? Who is to say, 100 to 200 years later, Singlish won't evolve to become our own distinct language? Why bash it? Why can't Singlish exist together with English? Just because some chow ang moh say Singlish is not good, we bash?

You are right my friend.

A certain chow ang moh who graduated from Cambridge with first class honors (although he looks chinese on the outside) is always bashing dialect and Singlish. He is always demanding for more pay and bonuses for his gang of idiots.

He is the reason why we can't develop any culture except that of elitist greed.

Einfield

We have a choice – we can take the blue pill and go back to our daily lives and remain oblivious. If however, you decide to take that leap, take the red pill, and open your eyes to the manipulation that is imposed on us, you will never be able to see the world the same way again. It’s your choice. What are you gonna do?

Not for Sinkies, Some demand for the BLUE pill but when they are useless to the Matrix, when they are jobless and don't pay taxes, they will be kick out of the Matrix, they are the poor chap who took the BLUE pill but had their eyes forced open. Unlike those who choose the take the RED pill, are prepared to take the challenge and ready for what they are about to see.

The_Latest_H

you are mistaken, going to church is taking the red pill, the blue pill is not going to church and doing the same routine everyday and indugled in your sinful desires and "human" nature.

do compare similarity between neo's resurrection with the resurrection of Jesus.

Actually the Matrix is a mixture of philosophy from a host of different religions, both pagan, and non-pagan. Its not just a "One Source" story.