• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Sucks! - The Book

Ash007

Many Sporeans know that the only way to stop the PAP is to kick them out e.g. recent GE :smile: However it's sad that many Sporeans waited so long to react.

I'll say 60% of them haven't react anything at all. Sure they KpKb is what they do, and PAP react by saying, they will look into it. The point I wanted to make is that a lot of these are "dependent" on PAP for a very long time. It is hard for them to see a world that is not the "Matrix". Unless they have lived overseas for some time, got themselves "educated" about the country politics. They would still deemed that change is not necessary. I've seen many Singaporean student here with the same attitude when they arrive and when they leave. They keep to themselves without realizing what they could learn in the country other then getting that piece of paper.

I really wonder about that 60% figure:confused:

PAP controls all the media in Spore, have had alot of practise in gerrymandering & LHL admits the PAP is "fixing" the opposition. SDP is complaining of irregularities. Yet in many ridings it was close:eek: Makes one wonder just how much support the PAP really has:confused:

Years ago when I was a student in a foreign land, many Sporeans didn't mix around but the vast majority of male students had no intention of returning:smile: That's how unpopular NS was.

The girls returned but if they married foreign educated Sporeans, many left with their husbands when they emigrated. Met this girl who was spoiled silly by her parents. She would cry every night & make long distance calls back home. Last I heard she'd emigrated to the US:eek:

Had a friend who had a Canadian wife. He's sponsored his mom & dad tp join him in Canada. Talked to his dad who visited him for his son's graduation & he was quite bitter about the Spore gov't.

The only thing that keeps many of my Sporeans colleagues in Spore is a job. Some of them have bought overseas property as investments, which will be future homes.

Many Sporeans might not have benefited from a foreign education. However the PAP has alienated many Sporeans who do know that it's cheaper to own a house, car,... outside of Spore. To them it's a simple case of materialism & nothing to do about democracy. It's about how big a car & home you can afford in Canada/Aust/US vs Spore :biggrin:

With the PAP FT policy the focus has become about survival in Spore. If the PAP does not change course expect them to loose their mandate even with all the gerrymandering & dirty tricks. :rolleyes:

Ash007

I really wonder about that 60% figure:confused:

PAP controls all the media in Spore, have had alot of practise in gerrymandering & LHL admits the PAP is "fixing" the opposition. SDP is complaining of irregularities. Yet in many ridings it was close:eek: Makes one wonder just how much support the PAP really has:confused:

Years ago when I was a student in a foreign land, many Sporeans didn't mix around but the vast majority of male students had no intention of returning:smile: That's how unpopular NS was.

The only thing that keeps many of my Sporeans colleagues in Spore is a job. Some of them have bought overseas property as investments, which will be future homes.

Many Sporeans might not have benefited from a foreign education. However the PAP has alienated many Sporeans who do know that it's cheaper to own a house, car,... outside of Spore. To them it's a simple case of materialism & nothing to do about democracy. It's about how big a car & home you can afford in Canada/Aust/US vs Spore :biggrin:

With the PAP FT policy the focus has become about survival in Spore. If the PAP does not change course expect them to loose their mandate even with all the gerrymandering & dirty tricks. :rolleyes:

I've heard the getting a job argument a lot. I came back to Australia without any job, and found one in one month. Others I know, took them close to 6 months. If you don't try, you won't get any. People that said that, are being brained washed into thinking PAP is providing jobs for them in Singapore. The reality, you mentioned, is that Singaporean are squeezed by the liberal FT policy. The PAP are playing dirty, or they maybe "honorable", I don't know which is which. I think there is something else that is lacking in Singapore that is causing this, and its not just the PAP. Look at our neighbour, Malaysia, they have the same problems in politics, even worst at some levels. Yet, you see real progress being made there, why? Their opposition is stronger, there is a cultural, historic difference in the people voting differently. That is the basis of having something to change in Singapore. People need to want to have real alternative voices first. Not just from the PAP. Not Team A vs Team B from PAP.

There are many other such Uniquely Singapore stories in the book. I hope everyone will enjoy them when the book comes out. Meanwhile, check out the fan page on Facebook if you haven't already.

Singa Crew

Dear Singa Crew, really looking forward to this new book. Any chance it will be launched as an eBook?

Going by the track record of the PAP, I expect such a book to be banned.:(

Books can't be "banned" in this day and age. People don't buy hard copies anymore. They're all purchased on line and stored on ebook readers. I have a backlog of about 30 books on my kindle waiting to be read.

I've heard the getting a job argument a lot. I came back to Australia without any job, and found one in one month. Others I know, took them close to 6 months. If you don't try, you won't get any. People that said that, are being brained washed into thinking PAP is providing jobs for them in Singapore. The reality, you mentioned, is that Singaporean are squeezed by the liberal FT policy. The PAP are playing dirty, or they maybe "honorable", I don't know which is which.....................

Alot of those I know that have made the move don't have problems finding jobs in Canada. Those jobs might not be relevant to their degrees but so what, even in Spore we all end up doing things unrelated to our degrees.

My colleagues shouldn't have any problems but it's the uprooting process that is the obstacle. Changing the jobs of husband, wife, finding a new school for kids, etc. However when Sporeans do make the move, they won't be coming back to Spore.

I do sometimes see friends/relatives who are now Australians working as FT in Spore but with expat packages:smile:

What's important is that the job pays a liveable wage & in places like Canada you have a minimum wage & you don't need alot of $ because housing, car. health care is affordable. There is of course complaints but you have to look at where the complains are coming from, at a much higher level than that which exists in Spore.

I think the majority of PAP supporters are from the older generation. They still remember the work of the old guard. Fewer of them around each year & now with a stronger opposition, they'll see how much better than the PAP the opposition is e.g. Houghangs holding a day of appreciation for general cleaners.

It may take a while for Sporeans to throw off all the PAP conditioning don't forget that in Spore the PAP control all the media unlike in Malaysia.

Ash007

It may take a while for Sporeans to throw off all the PAP conditioning don't forget that in Spore the PAP control all the media unlike in Malaysia.

Malaysia media is controlled by the government. Even Astro, is controlled by them. News on "cable tv" are delayed 30mins to check that undue, riot inciting, news are not reported. The internet, however, is not. You are right, only time will tell if this conditioning can be weaned off. I have a feeling however that the importation of FTs is just to bolster the declining old generation. They could even have voting compulsory for PRs as a resort to retain their power.

Books can't be "banned" in this day and age. People don't buy hard copies anymore. They're all purchased on line and stored on ebook readers. I have a backlog of about 30 books on my kindle waiting to be read.

That's why LKY style of gov't is coming to an end. LHL is not LKY but most of what he's learned about politics is from daddy. so he's got no 10 year series to guide him. :smile:

Books can't be "banned" in this day and age. People don't buy hard copies anymore. They're all purchased on line and stored on ebook readers. I have a backlog of about 30 books on my kindle waiting to read.

Was thinking of getting a Kindle since it's so cheap but Amazon will not accept orders from Spore, Malaysia or Indonesia for Kindle or it's ebooks:(

Singa Crew

johnny333,

I don't think my publisher has any plans to launch e-versions of the book. Just hard copies for now. And I believe since they have their own online store, I don't think they will sell the book via Amazon.

I just write and edit and compile. The publishing house is in charge of printing and circulation of book.

Your post about Singaporeans in a foreign country reminds me that one of our writers wrote about his experience in UK and then back home in Singapore.

The impression I got from reading his story is that Singaporeans are being pushed around abroad and locally because our government does not give a damn about their own citizens.

I have also noticed that Singaporeans tend not to mix around with their own once they are overseas. My friends who were with me at the time commented that "Singaporeans are hao lian lah", but I don't think so. I blame the government for not instilling in us a strong sense of responsibility and consequently, Singaporeans do not have the same sense of patriotism as, for example, Americans. Or they simply think loyalty to the country = loyalty to the PAP, and not to one another.

Also, we hear a lot of talk about this "Singapore culture", but what is it really? It seems that the main things we have in common is living in common fear of One Man and His Party. Fear and loathing cannot be the glue to hold fragments of society together to form a culture to be shared by the community.

Kinda difficult for overseas Singaporeans. I mean, do you expect them to say "Hey fellow Singaporean, remember the good old days when we don't even dare fart in the HDB lift in case the government overhear us?" or "Don't you miss the good old days when the government would tell us exactly what to do and when we can do it and how?".

Singa Crew

johnny333,

I don't think my publisher has any plans to launch e-versions of the book. Just hard copies for now.

The impression I got from reading his story is that Singaporeans are being pushed around abroad and locally because our government does not give a damn about their own citizens.

I have also noticed that Singaporeans tend not to mix around with their own once they are overseas. My friends who were with me at the time commented that "Singaporeans are hao lian lah", but I don't think so. I blame the government for not instilling in us a strong sense of responsibility and consequently, Singaporeans do not have the same sense of patriotism as, for example, Americans. Or they simply think loyalty to the country = loyalty to the PAP, and not to one another.

Also, we hear a lot of talk about this "Singapore culture", but what is it really? It seems that the main things we have in common is living in common fear of One Man and His Party. Fear and loathing cannot be the glue to hold fragments of society together to form a culture to be shared by the community.

Kinda difficult for overseas Singaporeans. I mean, do you expect them to say "Hey fellow Singaporean, remember the good old days when we don't even dare fart in the HDB lift in case the government overhear us?" or "Don't you miss the good old days when the government would tell us exactly what to do and when we can do it and how?".

Singa Crew

I think people are more likely to read the book if its in ebook form:smile:

From what I've heard from those who've studied in places like London, they've had many bad experiences. However I've found that Canada is a great place for the foreign students. I've met alot of nice Canadians.

I envied the Canadians because they had alot of oppurtunities to sudy in Europe, Japan USA,...as there are alot of exchange programs. The Spore gov't is not interested in developing these exchange programs since they are only interested in taking care of their own scholars:(

My Canadian experience is positive. I've been offered lifts when carrying heavy things. Offered help by strangers when my car was stuck in the snow or had a dead battery. When I got out of the hospital some of the nurses even offered to help me with getting my groceries because I was still using crutches & it was winter:eek:

My experience is not unique, many of my Sporeans friends share this positive feelings. :smile:

I did get to meet many ex-Sporeans & they can be nice people outside of Spore. Many of them still remember that they were Sporeans and are involved with Spore students e.g. church activities, opening their homes, socialising , etc

I didn't go out of the way to meet up with other Sporean students when I was there. I ended up mixing mostly with Canadians & Hongkies because there are more of them.

When I did meet other Sporean students the experience was mixed. Happy to meet up with old schoolmates. Then there were the snobs, such as the girl who only went out with medical & business student:( Many of these snobs would ignore Sporeans who they thought were poor, like me:biggrin:

When Sporeans get together they don't talk about politics. They talk about the foods they miss from Spore & for the guys, how to make money & beat the system:smile:

Singa Crew

Good news!

Singapore Sucks! is now available for sale via: http://gbgerakbudaya.com/bookshop/index.php?main_page=product_book_info&cPath=1_4&products_id=1312

The price is 20 ringgit, and if you are ordering from outside of Malaysia, you have to pay 10 more ringgit for shipping.

If you do not wish to have the book mailed to you at your home, you may order from this book shop in Singapore, and collect from them when your book arrives.

The book shop is Mary Martin. You may find it at: Blk 231, Bain Street, #03-05, Bras Basah Complex, Singapore. If you purchase in Singapore, I think the price is about 13 Singapore dollars.

Have fun reading the book!

Singa Crew

Asshole

Singapore is such a wonderful place, why it suck? suck my nipples? maybe suck my vagina? it is so clean, so beautiful, only for rich people, not for serfs, not for peons, everyone either stay in line, or get fined... i like it already. and it is so welcoming to people all over the world, except for it's own kind, dunno why, but foreigner like me love to stay here. it is a paradise!

Singa Crew

Good news for Malaysian readers! Singapore Sucks! (the book) is now available in your MPH bookstores! Visit or call your nearest MPH branch for a copy of Singapore Sucks!

Check out this MPH link: http://www.mphonline.com/b​ooks/nsearch.aspx?do=detai​l&pcode=9789834479398

Borders bookstores in Malaysia should have copies of the book as well, but we are unable to confirm at this time if the books are already on the shelves. Perhaps it would be best if you call your nearest Borders bookstore to find out. Here's a link with contact details for all the Borders branches in Malaysia:

www.timeoutkl.com/books/ve​nues/Borders

As for Singaporean readers, you can get your copy at Mary Martin Booksellers @ #03-05, Bras Basah Complex.

Singa Crew

da dick

"You wouldn't have any Shonen Knife, would you?"

"Sir, this is a music shop."

welll rereading william gib's article makes me feel insulted that no music store would hire me because i'm morbidly overqualified. one such store hired filipinos instead, but nowadays they seem to fill up their stores with chinaman students. cheapskates.