• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore seen emerging Asia's weakest economy

VIBGYOR

This clearly shows that why we shouldn't be paying sky high salaries to our government ministers. Despite having the highest paid govt in the world, Spore is expected to be emerging Asia's worst performing economy next year. Is this the kind of atrociously poor result we should be expecting from our million $ salary ministers? Instead of a 19% pay cut, they should be cutting their salaries by 70% for this.

Nice...the end of PAP Lee Regime is near...Song Man!

Just too bad that there will be casualties..

http://www.forexpros.com/news/forex-news/poll-singapore-seen-emerging-asia's-weakest-economy-12978
POLL-Singapore seen emerging Asia's weakest economy 2008-12-11 (Reuters)

By Susan Fenton

HONG KONG, Dec 11 (Reuters) - Singapore is poised to be emerging Asia's worst-performing economy next year, when it is likely to remain entrenched in recession as the global downturn erodes demand for its exports, a Reuters poll shows.

The poll predicts the island state's gross domestic product (GDP) will contract 1.1 percent in 2009. That marks a rapid deterioration in the economic environment from two months ago as the global financial crisis has deepened -- a similar poll in late September forecast 4.6 percent GDP growth in 2009.

"Singapore is particularly open to external trade -- its export-to-GDP ratio is more than 180 percent, compared with an Asia average of 60-70 percent," said Eric Tsang, an analyst at Calyon in Hong Kong.

"So as U.S., European and Japanese consumers spend less that will hurt Singapore's exports and have a knock-on effect on the rest of the economy."

Economists see some rebound in 2010, forecasting 4.2 percent growth, but that would be well below average annual growth of 6.8 percent between 2003 and 2007.

Singapore slipped into recession -- defined as two quarters of negative quarterly growth -- in the third quarter.

Philip McNicholas, an economist at Ideal Global in Singapore, said the first quarter of next year would be especially tough -- he forecasts GDP will drop at an annualised rate of 15 percent, seasonally adjusted, as exports plunge.

"That will be mainly due to a collapse in U.S. sentiment," McNicholas said. "The U.S. plans a fiscal stimulus package early next year, but it's got to get that through Congress and to the people, so that may not be until the end of Q1 or the start of Q2."

The government pledged $1.5 billion last month to help firms secure credit and said it was prepared to run a bigger budget deficit to boost the economy.

Manufacturing accounts for about a quarter of the economy and factory output fell 12.7 percent in October from September, seasonally adjusted, and 12.6 percent from a year earlier, led by sliding electronics and drugs output.

Manufacturing is expected to be harder hit next year as the downturn in advanced economies accelerates and job losses in the sector will rise as a result, analysts say.

Rising unemployment will dent consumer spending, which is not being helped by a decline in tourism since August.

As the weak economy will encourage the authorities to keep monetary policy loose, the Singapore dollar is likely to remain sluggish, the poll forecast.

I hope the govt can cut their salary further by another 50% in Jan 09 and use the money to stimulate the economy and help the poor. We have been giving them too much money in good time, now is the time to pay back to its citizen. Golden period is a lie to milk singaporean of our money.

jixiaolan

You dun nid to be an economist to figure out why Singapore is emerging as Asia's weakest economy. Singapore is nothing but a concrete jungle with no natural resource to speak of. Our biggest asset is none other than the people we have but now many were displaced by massive foreign workers which our great leaders sayang them so much.

To our great leaders, you want us to soldier on as stayers but yet you choose to dish out so many rubbish policies. I would like to remind them this...You can only be great because we make you so.

ahbengsong

You dun nid to be an economist to figure out why Singapore is emerging as Asia's weakest economy. Singapore is nothing but a concrete jungle with no natural resource to speak of. Our biggest asset is none other than the people we have but now many were displaced by massive foreign workers which our great leaders sayang them so much.
To our great leaders, you want us to soldier on as stayers but yet you choose to dish out so many rubbish policies. I would like to remind them this...You can only be great because we make you so.

the pap has nothing to offer in this new global economic order... singapore will continue to decline... and the people will continue to suffer under the pap... a two-party govt is the only hope for a truly competitive singapore to survive in the new global economic order...

pap must be voted out as the single party govt...

theblackhole

please lah, what can a two party system do to improve the economy and well-being of our people? you got nothing really...nothing at all. credit should be given to our garment for making singapore what it is today.

just too bad, this global depression has eaten into our bones. so face it squarely and stop blaming anybody. it's heaven mandate that singapore should go through this baptism of fire.

you clever? come and do something for singaporeans. stop whinning and complaining all night long.

weakest but getting highest pay.

That is what sinkies vote for. They deserve it.

please lah, what can a two party system do to improve the economy and well-being of our people? you got nothing really...nothing at all. credit should be given to our garment for making singapore what it is today.

just too bad, this global depression has eaten into our bones. so face it squarely and stop blaming anybody. it's heaven mandate that singapore should go through this baptism of fire.

you clever? come and do something for singaporeans. stop whinning and complaining all night long.

They are the highest paid in the world. means they worth something NOW and not in the past. The past is history.

i wonder how the highest paid govt in the world gonna keep the economy to be in higher growth while in the recession, since they are the highest paid.

theblackhole

They are the highest paid in the world. means they worth something NOW and not in the past. The past is history.

i wonder how the highest paid govt in the world gonna keep the economy to be in higher growth while in the recession, since they are the highest paid.

that's not the answer and that's not the solution.

what would you do and what are your plans for singapore during this recession?

the best brains in america and in europe have no concrete and fool-proof plans and suggestions. even obama is trying to fix the damages by getting the best people in his team. the damage has been done.it's almost irreparable.everyone will be drawn in and sucked into this massive financial blackhole created by greed, more greed and more and more greed.

so just take care yourself.take care of your loved ones and families...and pray for the best. this is part of the global karma that all of us will have to go through. no government is spared. it's a matter of who will suffer more and who are the resilient ones. the whole geopolitical landscape will have to change.

in fact this depression is good for the world and for everybody.this world needs a total revamp - it'll get worst before it can be better. even the most severe winter will have to give rise to spring. no winter will last forever.given time and patience, things will change. this recession and depression will change. everything will change.singapore is no exception.

so what is there to worry? just relax,take it easy, enjoy your days and live every single moment of your life as if it's the last. good luck.

boii77

I tot by justifying their high pay.. they shd work wonder during economy downturn... now u tell us we r goin to suffer the same fate as other countries economy... tell me how much different is our mps compare to others to justify their pay...

If our mps dun have such big heads.. pls dun wear such big hats...

if they r not willing to work for us if their pay is low.. pls go ahead n resign den we have an election again... at least during the period... they will not think of more ways to screw us to cover up the big hole amassed from buying troubled stocks/shares/biz...

i still rem few mths ago they were bragging abt the investments in; barclays, UBS, Citibank, Merril lynch, etc... where r they now???

now the situation became so scary that even there a chance to audit the govt coffers i oso wont vote to approve... i rather living in the fantasy our national reserves n CPF reserves r still intact n payable to all the citizen.. truth might make singapore economny collapse altogether.. but still we nid to ensure we will not be in such mess again.. so the only thing we can do is to vote the current incompletant govt out n ensure the new govt r willing to allow we teh citizen to check the country reserves willingly... destroying all the red tapes to audit the country reserves.. clean n transparent...

Einfield

Natural resources is good but it can be a curse too.

Congo is rich is natural resources.

Einfield

I tot by justifying their high pay.. they shd work wonder during economy downturn... now u tell us we r goin to suffer the same fate as other countries economy... tell me how much different is our mps compare to others to justify their pay...

If our mps dun have such big heads.. pls dun wear such big hats...

There's no justification for the pay, it's call legal corruption.

A fair deal I'll say S$500,000 a year for PM

boii77

There's no justification for the pay, it's call legal corruption.

A fair deal I'll say S$500,000 a year for PM

Therefore there shd be a call for bill on pay raise n pay cut... all this shd be done by the ppl representitives or referendum..

but based on the one pt govt... ppl representives or mps seem useless.. tats y we cannot have one pt govt.. it will create your so call legalised corruption...

cheebye thai pimp,

your opinion is not welcomed:oIo:

pls go solve the murder case at bangkok airport.:biggrin:

oli9

weakest but getting highest pay.

That is what sinkies vote for. They deserve it.

Absolutely!!! Hope the stupid 66.6% who voted in this govt will continue to support for more increases & to give in to any bedtime stories spun. I thought Sinkies are smart. But apparently the 66.6% are on par with the low IQ of Msia's clerics who issue a fatwa on yoga. Narrow vision, even narrower grasp on reality!!!

Einfield

Therefore there shd be a call for bill on pay raise n pay cut... all this shd be done by the ppl representitives or referendum..

but based on the one pt govt... ppl representives or mps seem useless.. tats y we cannot have one pt govt.. it will create your so call legalised corruption...

Today's 1 party gov, PM can ask for $10M pay and parliament will pass it, there's nothing you can do about it.
You can't even vote them out for those "Walk Over"

That is why they defended so fiercely on the 1 party system.

And we have no lack of stupid people who actually buy that crap.

TV2008112422090200.jpg

It could be worse...*zzzz*

See how the 154th quickly launched the counter offensive.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>S'pore expected to be first Southeast Asian country to recover from crisis
By Rachel Kelly, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 11 December 2008 1826 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore may be the worse-hit Southeast Asian country in the current economic crisis, but it could well be the first economy in the region to rebound, according to economic forecaster Thierry Apoteker.

A jump in US consumer confidence in November is just one of the indicators that could signal signs of a global recovery next year. Consumer confidence index rose in November to 44.9, up from 38.8 in October which was the lowest on record.

Coupled with signs of liquidity tensions loosening up, it is suggested that banks may start lending to corporations soon which could put the US on a recovery path.

"We have the initial tentative signs that this is taking place. The spreads between money market rates and the fed rates have declined substantially. Not yet to the normal zone but substantial, compared to the rates of 300 basis points that we have seen after the Lehman collapse," said Dr Apoteker.

Increased spending in the US and Eurozone would translate to an increase in demand for exports from Asia.

And while global trade numbers may pick up, Dr Apoteker expects a slower growth rate of between 4 and 5 per cent, as opposed to the almost 10 per cent growth in 2006.

He added that he expects the US and Eurozone to see signs of recovery in the second quarter of 2009, with Asia following suit in the third quarter.

And although Singapore will be hit by slowing trade, its strong asset base and robust financial sector will boost its economic recovery.

The managing director of TAC said: "Clearly, trade transmission is incredibly strong for Singapore because you are a trading nation by construction, so in that sense there is nothing you can do. There is no policy management that can avoid when the whole demand in the world is collapsing. As a major exporting nation, you are very bluntly, brutally affected, but symmetrically, you will be the first one to come out of it.

"What's very interesting is that the other transmission mechanism – both on the asset market and the financing mechanism in Singapore – is pretty strong, much stronger than most.

"We've done an exercise of mapping the banking systems of all the Asian countries to look at where the strengths and the weaknesses are, and you might be interested to know it is rated 1 to 64 in binary ranking.

"Singapore is the only country, apart from Japan and Korea, to have a number one ranking. The financial background is very strong, so as a trading outpost you will be very badly affected, but you will be the first to recover after that."

But a recovery in Asia could also depend on what happens in China.

"The very critical question to what happens in Asia is what happens in China because even if we have a mild recovery in the West, a catastrophe in China will impact the rest of Asia very negatively due to the growing integration of Asia and China," said Dr Apoteker.

He warned that if Chinese companies are unable to export surplus stocks financed on credit, the losses they chalk up could impact their trade with other Asian economies.

But for the moment, the decline in Chinese exports is expected to be short-lived, with the country's growth rate still expected to come in at 7.5 per cent next year.

[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

I hope the govt can cut their salary further by another 50% in Jan 09 and use the money to stimulate the economy and help the poor. We have been giving them too much money in good time, now is the time to pay back to its citizen. Golden period is a lie to milk singaporean of our money.
This is wishful thinking.
The mmore practical solution is to identify those who irritate you the most and don't vote for them in the next elections.

denzuko1

Lim Swee Say," Cutting ministers pay will not solve the problem.":biggrin: