• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [ Singapore News ] Beware of Indian : DBS Piyush Gupta Removed Chinese Language Option @ POSB ATM

grandtour

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/non-english-option-not-available-on-new-atm-machies

Non-English option not available on new ATM machines

bp_atm_150518_20.jpg

A file photo of a POSB bank officer helping an elderly woman with her banking transactions at a Branch Machine (BM). PHOTO: ST FILE

Published
7 hours ago

POSB rolled out new ATM machines recently at Bukit Gombak MRT station.

On multiple occasions, I noticed elderly folk having problems navigating the screens, due to the lack of language options other than the default English.

If there is an option for language choices, this should be made prominent on the starting screen.

If there isn't, then the option of languages other than English should be made available.

It is not safe for the elderly to approach strangers to help with their ATM cash withdrawals.

Sean Goh

Topics:

English is the de facto language of the world. Anyone who does not understand English deserves to be shot.

Reddog

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/non-english-option-not-available-on-new-atm-machies

bp_atm_150518_20.jpg

A file photo of a POSB bank officer helping an elderly woman with her banking transactions at a Branch Machine (BM). PHOTO: ST FILE

Published
7 hours ago

On multiple occasions, I noticed elderly folk having problems navigating the screens, due to the lack of language options other than the default English.

If there is an option for language choices, this should be made prominent on the starting screen.

If there isn't, then the option of languages other than English should be made available.

It is not safe for the elderly to approach strangers to help with their ATM cash withdrawals.

Sean Goh

Topics:
This is the problem having an Indian CEO for DBS / POSB. English is their national language.

KuanTi01

Pui! Zero empathy for non-English speaking POSB/DBS customers; and not just the elderly users. English de facto language of the world so what?

Leckmichamarsch

bp_atm_150518_20.jpg

Published
7 hours ago

Sean Goh

Topics:

AH NEH IT dun noe how to progr chinese leh BUT NOE HOW TO COLLECT PAY LIKE GUPTA

To be honest have u ever seen sinkies who can't read English but can read Chinese?if u can read Chinese u probably had some form of education,if u had any form of education in sg u could probably read some English too.even if u were one of those rare chinese educated breeda in Singapore,surely the school taught some english and uuwould have encountered English at some point. m y grann can't read English and she can't read Chinese either because she's uneducated,and a girl,and also poor.

Seee3

To be honest have u ever seen sinkies who can't read English but can read Chinese?if u can read Chinese u probably had some form of education,if u had any form of education in sg u could probably read some English too.even if u were one of those rare chinese educated breeda in Singapore,surely the school taught some english and uuwould have encountered English at some point. m y grann can't read English and she can't read Chinese either because she's uneducated,and a girl,and also poor.
Your granny is rare. All my uneducated folks can read the Chinese paper which makes me wonder.

The POSB atms should include Hindi and Tagalog. A lot of new sinkies speak these two languages. It's racist to exclude them.

this is the 21st century,if u cant read english in a english speaking first world country,u should clear off!!!u have no business being here.

bp_atm_150518_20.jpg

Published
7 hours ago

Sean Goh

Topics:

DBS got no chink to tell the decision maker that removing chinkish language is clearly a bad idea? Obviously passive aggressive chink executives playing politics again. Fire them all! Make an example of unruly chinks who don’t bow to their higher caste betters! :mad:

DBS does not need chinese customers.more problems caused by them. Singaporeans who cannot speak english, which is the offucial language of india and all indian named islands, should leave for hainan.

very easy to provide all kinds of translation now with software and led screen. even bank of america atm's in sillycon valley have chinese translation. and of course in spanish too as there are so many illegal mexican, central and south american bank customers around. in every customer care call, the automated voice prompt will ask you whether you want it in spanish (1st choice) or in english (2nd choice). very soon, it will just prompt you in only spanish. dalit programmers in dbs are just fucking lazy and bochap.

logo-of-the-bank-of-america-in-english-and-chinese-CRNDAG.jpg

very easy to provide all kinds of translation now with software and led screen. even bank of america atm's in sillycon valley have chinese translation. and of course in spanish too as there are so many illegal mexican, central and south american bank customers around. in every customer care call, the automated voice prompt will ask you whether you want it in spanish (1st choice) or in english (2nd choice). very soon, it will just prompt you in only spanish. dalit programmers in dbs are just fucking lazy and bochap
This is not about lazy but complying to nationsl policies. Hullo! Thus is not china. Malays never insist malay language option in any bank transaction. Chinese should comply likewise.