• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore’s high debt: Internal debt is ok?

WikiTemasek

http://wikitemasek.org/singapores-high-debt-internal-debt-is-ok/

Singapore’s high debt: Internal debt is ok?

Singapore’s debt: higher than that of US or 8 times debt per capita over Malaysia
Singapore is in the top 10 list of countries with the highest debt. Comparing to our neighbor Malaysia, we have 8 times more debt per person. However the PAP defends the high debt saying that Singapore doesn’t owe any countries money, and this internal debt is properly managed through a set of sound fiscal policies, meaning to say if the debt is internal, it doesn’t matter. Or is it?

Most people, including many from the Singapore’s Opposition, are largely influenced by the PAP government thinking Singapore’s debt is safe because the debt is internal. But lets first explain how does this “internal” debt come about:

1) CPF Account Holders, being mostly Permanent Residents and Singaporeans, contribute to the CPF Board monthly so they could get their housing and retirement, hence the CPF Account Holders are the real creditors.

2) CPF Board owes the account holders their funds but how do they pay interest? CPF pays their account holders interests through a special government bond. In short, the CPF lends the Singapore government money by buying their bonds which pays the equivalent CPF interest rates. Over here, the CPF is the Singapore Government’s creditor. As all CPF funds pays interest rates, we can safely conclude that all CPF monies are in the hands of the Singapore Government at any moment.

3) The Singapore government, being the debtor, uses the 2 sovereign wealth fund companies, Temasek Holdings and GIC, to invest these funds from the CPF. So technically if Temasek Holdings and GIC lose money, the Singapore Government loses money, but the CPF doesn’t, simply because CPF doesn’t care if the Singapore Government loses money, so long as they are able to pay up. How much does the Singapore Government or the 2 soverign wealth fund companies have? Nobody knows.

So when debt chalked up and we call it internal because all these debts are money owing to the people. Does an internal debt means the Singapore Government doesn’t has to pay up?

This couldn’t be further away from the truth. There ought to be a losing end and that is the creditor(the CPF). The real creditor of course is CPF account holders which the CPF obliges to pay under law. When there are so many people retiring, the creditor has to meet payments but the creditor is conveniently covered by its debtor(the Government) who makes the law.

You can imagine the Government telling CPF: “Look, don’t worry about not being able to pay back the people, we make the laws. CPF Minimum Sum will be increased and Withdrawal Age is increased to help you ease your obligations.”

CPF Account Holders, or Singaporeans and PRs, are the ones having their retirement jeopardized so the Government doesn’t have to pay CPF so much at this instance. And when the Government loses money here and there everywhere, so how do they pay the debt owing to CPF? Like all governments, they increase taxes, money supply and manipulate the currency to pay off debts. CPF Withdrawal Age has been raised to 67 years old and Minimum Sum has increased 50% in just 8 years during Lee Hsien Loong’s premiership.

If the debt is external, the government needs to pay other countries similarly through the raising of taxes, money supply and manipulation of fiscal policies too. We have exactly the same scenario as Greece: the people will likewise be the ones paying heavy taxes and have their retirement jeopardized too.

So now does it matter if the debt is internal or external? Next time when an investment from Temasek Holdings and GIC goes under water, would your CPF funds be affected? Yes of course. If the Government loses too much, they have nothing to pay CPF who have nothing to pay you. Logically, how is it possible that Singapore is in the top 10 list of countries with the highest debt, and yet it is the only one that is prospering while all of them are struggling in their economy? Or is this Singapore system just a time bomb waiting to explode in the people’s face?

Got difference la....

External debts machiam what you owe to banks, money lenders, ah longs etc....if you dun pay up there will be consequences....
Internal debts machiam the friendly loans you owe to parents, siblings etc.....can't pay up also bo tai chee....

Seee3

http://wikitemasek.org/singapores-high-debt-internal-debt-is-ok/

So when debt chalked up and we call it internal because all these debts are money owing to the people. Does an internal debt means the Singapore Government doesn’t has to pay up?

This couldn’t be further away from the truth. There ought to be a losing end and that is the creditor(the CPF). The real creditor of course is CPF account holders which the CPF obliges to pay under law. When there are so many people retiring, the creditor has to meet payments but the creditor is conveniently covered by its debtor(the Government) who makes the law.

You can imagine the Government telling CPF: “Look, don’t worry about not being able to pay back the people, we make the laws. CPF Minimum Sum will be increased and Withdrawal Age is increased to help you ease your obligations.”....

I think these increased minimum sum and later withdrawal age thingy are not due to no money to pay. More because of the Ah Pek giving their money away to Batam after withdrawal.

Ours is a forward thinking Govt. Long they knew the impact of CPF withdrawal by the baby boomers. Long increased flat prices. Enticed everyone to upgrade and commit loans. Each upgrade means tax plus land price profit for them. Many have fallen for it and now instead of withdrawing CPF only has a so-called house with outstanding loan.

Kinana

There is a diff between internal and external debt.
External debt screwed all the other Asian countries badly in 97 while Singapore was spared because our debt was internal.

blur sotong

I think these increased minimum sum and later withdrawal age thingy are not due to no money to pay. More because of the Ah Pek giving their money away to Batam after withdrawal.

If that is the case, why females also have their minimum sum withdrawal age delayed too?

Just because some Ah Pek squandered away their CPF money, it does not mean that every other Ah Pek will do the same. How many are we talking about? What percentage?

Are there more Ah Pek having this problem or are there more people who fell into debt because of the 2 casinos now operating in Singapore?

Please use your brain.

S'poreans are like sheeps..............do you see sheeps trying to eat the farmer if he starves them ?

end of the day, the sheep still get butchered.........

Panda88

External debt screwed all the other Asian countries badly in 97 while Singapore was spared because our debt was internal.

Watch what you are posting. All the other Asian countries? What rubbish is that?

Is China one of the "all the other Asian countries"?

People will not know how dumb you are until you started posting.

Char_Azn

This post is beyond moronic

1)There is no way that the government will EVER clear those debt in full. The only way to do it is remove CPF and any other retirement scheme all together. That time really U die Ur biz

2)The only unknown portion of the National reserves is GIC. Between Temasek Holdings and MAS, they are more than enough funds to reembuse the total debt in it's entirety(both publish yearly statements)

3)If SG is really that bad as U claimed, it will start borrowing from external sources. The fact that we are not doing so points to your article being bullshit

Conqueror

Who Is Going To Clean Up The Mess

Got difference la....

External debts machiam what you owe to banks, money lenders, ah longs etc....if you dun pay up there will be consequences....
Internal debts machiam the friendly loans you owe to parents, siblings etc.....can't pay up also bo tai chee....

The PAP can then change the law to get away with all sorts of crimes. How convenient when Sinkies kept their mouths shut and do nothing about it.

PAP members won't hav'ta pay a single cent when LHL is no more the emperor of Sinkiesland. He and his whole families can enjoy those ill-gotten money abroad when WP takes control and they can start cleaning up the mess they had created twenty years ago.

Conqueror

Is Sinkieland Inc Still Sea Worthy In Ten Years Time ?

3)If SG is really that bad as U claimed, it will start borrowing from external sources. The fact that we are not doing so points to your article being bullshit

Well, I hope so. But, I will also need to do something before anyone comments something is wrong with this ship.