• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Simei residents kena screwed...OBIGOOD, serve u rite for voting MIW...

BusNo64

walan..fucking building so big....obviously building a workers dormitary for ahneh workers lah...OBIGOOD...vote for MIW lah...serve u simei farkers rite...now KPKB for wat...u all have to repent for the next 5 yrs....u simei farkers will have only yourselves to blame if your wives, daughters, granddaugher kena molest or rape by these horny ahneh animals....OBIGOOD!!! :rolleyes::oIo:

simei_residents_upset_over_new_giant_house_we_cant-thumbnail.jpg

IT HAS been called a "hulking monster" by those living in a sleepy private housing estate in Simei.

Many residents fear that the massive structure being built in their midst could end up housing foreign workers. Irked, some are even thinking of moving out.

The structure in question is a three-storey building with an attic currently being built in Jalan Angin Laut. Construction began last August and is slated for completion within two months.

Residents say the building dwarfs the surrounding houses and ruins the aesthetic appeal of the estate. The building will have a pool and more than 10 rooms, each with an attached bathroom.

When my paper visited the area, the building, located at unit 17A, looked about two thirds done.

Standing at a height of 16.5m and with a length of 40m, it towers over its adjacent one-storey neighbour.

my paper understands that a one-storey semi-detached house used to stand in its place.

When contacted, the building's main contractor, Mr Anthony Ang, said the project costs more than $2 million and complies with all guidelines.

Written permission from the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) and approval from the Building and Construction Authority were sought before construction started, he added.

A URA spokesman said approval was given because the development proposal for the house "met our planning guidelines and parameters".

Jalan Angin Laut is located in a "mixed landed-housing area", the spokesman explained.

This means that any form of landed housing - terrace houses, semi-detached and detached houses - may be built there. Existing houses may be redeveloped into other forms of housing, subject to parameters such as the plot's size and width, said the spokesman.

my paper understands that the house is being built for a large family.

A resident living nearby, who wanted to be known only as Mr Ho, said: "The building is too huge and takes up almost all the available land.

"A lot of people here are very unhappy. The neighbours can't even see the sky."

The authorities, he added, should be more sensitive, consulting and engaging residents before approving submissions.

Another resident, who has lived in the area for 20 years, said: "We toyed with the idea of moving...but we'll see how it goes."

However, some are blase about the building.

"There's nothing we can do if they want to build it. They bought the land and they own the space, so they can do whatever they want with it," said a resident who wanted to be known only as Mr Ang.

Mr J. A. Goh, a senior marketing director from ERA Realty Network, said the value of the houses directly next door will be "pressed down by potential buyers", as they will use the building as a reason for negotiating lower prices.

"Buyers will say that the surrounding area is blocked and that there is no sunlight", so they will not accept offers at the market rate, he said.

nin-nao-hiah

Another indication why Singapore does not have urban design quality. Those employed "urban planners" & "urban designers" at the URA are nothing but overpaid paper administrators. Why didn't anyone object to the building drawings? Why didn't anyone study this new proposed building in relation to its surroundings? Why didn't...............

Oh sorry, I forgot! As long as the new proposal "meets planning guidelines & requirements", these overpaid administrators are protected.

This is another way the government has been using the physical planning department to affect our lives. No one bothers about the people anymore. All they care about is money money money! Have to pay for land cost, development charge, building cost, then land tax, property tax, ...... money money money.

hairylee

Can't you all see the dirty tricks.
Some developer intend to enbloc that area and first they have to depress the the value of the houses there.

Seee3

Can't you all see the dirty tricks.
Some developer intend to enbloc that area and first they have to depress the the value of the houses there.

Another practice is to buy over a few units in a small development and rent them out to FT. Soon they can buy over the remaining units at a lower price.

Lydia

I wonder why no one has mentioned one of the reasons for the recent floods: Singapore is getting too built up.

Landed homes are getting bigger and it's fashionable for people to tile up their gardens so they don't have to manage a green garden and sweep away brown leaves. However, when the ground is covered up, rain water will take more time to seep into the ground, thus causing floods. As more trees and greenery are removed, there'll also be fewer plants to soak up the rainwater.

The solution?
Encourage home owners to set aside a portion of their land for growing at least a small tree and some grass.
Climate change is here to stay so growing more trees will also help bring down high temperatures.