• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shiok or not? Calvin Cheng f**ked by Ho Ching, Jo Teo. Who else?

LITTLEREDDOT

Which female politician will be the next to screw Calvin? Chiobus Sun Xueling, Low Yen Ling? Or lau kway bus Amy Cheng, Denise Phua?

S’pore should aim to be digital first, not digital only: Josephine Teo​

202302192151795485bf3226-d3ad-4f52-9d7d-5e7754d918b6_0.jpg

Communications and Information Minister Josephine Teo (right) at the E-Payment Learning Journey and Data for All Roadshow in Yishun on Sunday. PHOTO: LIANHE ZAOBAO
Andrew Wong

Feb 19, 2023

Even as 99 per cent of households in Singapore have internet access, and 92 per cent have computer access – not everyone will feel digitally included, Minister for Communications and Information (MCI) Josephine Teo said at a community event on Sunday.
Ms Teo was at Nee Soon East Seniors’ Hub in Yishun to attend the E-Payment Learning Journey and Data for All Roadshow.
Organised by Infocomm Media Development Authority’s (IMDA) Singapore Digital Office, Ms Teo met with IMDA’s Digital for Life partners supporting digital literacy and access for seniors.
She observed that if an individual, particularly a senior, does not have a certain level of digital proficiency, they will not be able to participate, or their participation will be shallow.
“Perhaps even more importantly, we need to pay some attention to digital efficiency,” she added.
Ms Teo said there are many digital services that seniors need to access, but time should also be given for them to pick up those skills.
“So the idea of digital first but not digital only, should be a central organising principle,” she pointed out.

The latest data backs Ms Teo’s statement. Last year, MCI conducted the Digital Readiness Survey across 2,000 Singaporeans. Participants were asked if digital technologies made their lives easier. Around 84 per cent agreed it made their lives easier.
Breaking down the data even more – 70 per cent of seniors in their 60s agreed that it made their lives easier. For those aged 70 and above, 62 per cent agreed with the statement.
The numbers start to fall, however, when it comes to applying the technologies in their lives.

The same group were asked if they are keen to try out new digital technologies. Only 49 per cent of those in their 60s were keen, while the number dropped to 41 per cent among those above 70 years old.
Some of the common challenges that seniors face include using smartphones for contactless payments.
The MCI survey showed 34 per cent of those in their 60s do not know how to use their smartphones for payments. Among those aged 70 and above, it rises to 60 per cent.

Another challenge more prominent among seniors is the ability to sieve through scams.
Nearly half of those in their 60s, and about 62 per cent of those 70 and above say they do not know how to cross check news and information.
“It is more significant,” said Ms Teo. “So that is probably another area of intervention that we could devote some attention,” she said.
But progress has also been made among the seniors in Singapore. Basic or higher digital proficiency among those in their 60s is at 44 per cent today, compared to 28 per cent in 2020.
Among those aged 70 and above, proficiency is at 17 per cent today compared to 14 per cent in 2020.
Ms Teo said: “They may not be as proficient as the general population, but the direction of change is very encouraging.”

While Singapore wants to be digital first because of the innovation potential and productivity angle, a digital only mindset would exclude a lot of people, said Ms Teo.
“I think we have to accept that the right and proper thing to do is not to be digital only,” she said, adding that it is a kinder and more tenable position for Singapore to take.
Ms Teo ended by saying of seniors: “When you meet them where they are, help them with design, help them with skills, then gradually they will get the hang of it.
“With the support of the community. I think they can become even more proficient and confident.”

LITTLEREDDOT

Ho Ching praises Yishun stall with no cashless payment option for allowing diner to pay another day​

Cannot put a price on kindness.
Fasiha Nazren |
clock.png
February 17, 2023, 12:16 PM

Untitled-design-2023-02-17T115709.101.jpg

On Feb. 16, a woman took to Facebook to share her wholesome encounter with a wanton mee stall in Yishun.​

The Facebook user, Sun Meilan, said she ordered four packets of wanton mee at the Jin Wei Wanton Chicken Feet Noodle stall at Block 807 Yishun Ring Road.

329937341_565224755562420_4797791658628260844_n.jpeg
Photo from Sun Meilan's Facebook page.

The total bill for four servings of noodles amounted to S$16.
However, Sun realised during payment that she only had S$7 in her wallet.
Moreover, the wanton mee stall does not accept cashless payment.
Fortunately for her, the stallholder graciously told her: "You can pay the rest the next time you come over!"
In response, Sun said she would provide her phone number to the stallholder and that she will return the next day to pay for her food.
The stallholder said without qualms: "No worries, any time is fine. What's most important is that you're eating well."

Shared by Ho Ching​

In the diner's Facebook post, she shared that such stalls exude an old-school charm with "human touch".

"Sometimes this is what keeps customers coming back and not whether the stall has kept up with times."

Ho Ching, the chairman of Temasek Trust, shared Sun's Facebook post and said: "Indeed there is no need to shame others for using cash - What matters is that the heart is in the right place..."

Sun's heartwarming encounter with the wanton mee stallholder comes after former Nominated Member of Parliament Calvin Cheng went on Facebook to "name and shame" food stalls that only accept cash payment.

LITTLEREDDOT

calvin-cheng-nameshame.png

Former NMP Calvin Cheng calls for food court that accepts cash only to be named and shamed​

11/02/2023 by The Online Citizen
SINGAPORE — Former Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP), Calvin Cheng has incurred the wrath of netizens from a post that he made on Friday, asking for shops in a food court which only accept payment in cash, with hundreds of comments questioning his disgraceful act.
Posting two images of stalls putting up signs stating that they accept cash only, Cheng calls for the food court in the Central Business District to be named and shamed.
Cheng also posted in his comments asking people to boycott all businesses that do not offer alternatives to cash.
“They must not hamper Singapore’s development as a smart nation, ” said Cheng.
“It’s unbelievable and embarrassing that there are people in the comments section here that are defending the use of cash ONLY. I hope this is the minority otherwise Singapore is finished. We will indeed be a village full of backward villagers.”

“I am constantly reminded that 3 generations ago Singapore was still a nation of coolies and peasants. 5 decades can bring economic development , but we will need another 5 for cultural development. Sad. Failure to reach a Swiss standard of living is being held back by the villagers amongst us. I may be tough on us , but it’s out of love. We need to do better and shame those amongst us who think like villagers amidst first world infrastructure.”
On the same day of his post, Cheng made news after his Swiss digital asset firm, Damoon Technologies was granted membership to the country’s Financial Services Standard Association.
Cheng said: “I believe in the future of digital assets, but this has to be done in accordance with traditional finance’s compliance standards. Switzerland is the pre-eminent global financial hub, and is the ideal place to base crypto-fiat-crypto financial services, as well as a trusted custodian.”
Cheng was a former NMP of the Singapore Parliament from 2009 to 2011 and was appointed as Serbia’s honorary consul in Singapore in November last year.

Cannot believe a former NMP can make such comments, say netizens​

Andrew Tan, one of the commenters, wrote, “To boycott it is your issue and nobody cares. To shame is a disgraceful act. These biz owners have the autonomy to decide what they want to offer. It is their biz. Just like you have the right to boycott as you are using your own money to make a decision. Why not tell the nets company to reduce their charges?”
Shawn Tan wrote, “It’s a pity but DEFINITELY NOT A SHAME that they do not adopt technology. The only thing shameful I see is a person of your stature saying things like that.”
HL Tan wrote, “Why must you name and shame? Do the stall owner need to pay extra fees to use the electronic payment? If it is free now, can one ensure that the future platform won’t charge a single cent? What I observe is payment platforms usually try to get you into the ecosystem and then they start to charge a fee. Can I say I know finance or blockchain or AI, and you do not know is a shame also? no! Everyone has their level of knowledge to adopt certain skills.”
A netizen, Fiona Lim commented, “You are being obnoxious. There are many reasons why F&B outlets prefer cash transactions. They could have been victims of people who “scammed” them with fake paynow / Paylah transfers; or that the digital payments platforms slows down the process of simply buying 1 drink. Or that the banks are charging transactional fees. These are the main pain points that vendors face which should be reaolved by the payment gateways. Do not blame the business if they prefer the most efficient way to transact.”

In response, Cheng wrote, “paynow is free + printing out a qr code costs next to nothing. Silly excuses by embarrassing backward villagers.”
Another netizen, Anaria Marcella chimed into Lim’s comments, “My thought is the same with you. I’m not sure but do you notice that in some or most of his post, he frequently point the blames on other people side but never really illustrate any tips or helpful guides towards people who could use some help?”
A former cashier wrote, “As someone with experience as a cashier, I can say that when there is a long queue of people waiting to make payment, cash payment is the fastest mode of payment for anything below $100. Using credit card is second fastest but is most costly for the retailer. This is followed by NETS (because the customer needs to key in their PIN). PayNow is the slowest mode of payment, because very often, the customer fumbles with the app, waiting for the pages to load, point the camera to the QR code, show proof of payment, etc.”
He added, “As a retailer, I want to make the transaction as fast as possible, so that I can process more customers within the same period of time. This is why I will choose cash payment only. Less decisions for the customer, more sales, more revenue.”
Sally Tan criticised, “I can’t believe I am hearing from a former NMP and just shame the stall. My goodness.. I mean u r a public figure, former NMP. Is that how you should behave? I mean if the stall owners who know nothing or find it hard to keep up with the technology because they are the older generations and they need to feed themselves and families because everything in Singapore is so expensive. If u r shameful to be here, then migrate to somewhere else better than Singapore? I’m sure you are rich enough to do that.”
In response to Tan, Cheng wrote, “if there are people in our country who can’t even print out w qr code they shouldn’t be allowed to operate.”
Steven Goh Robo reasoned, “There can be many reasons why an outlet don’t want to go cashless transaction. It could be they are not as tech savvy, or the cost of using tech is too high for them, or they had experienced many dishonest consumers who don’t pay for their meals. Have you attempt to speak to them to understand why? In any case, they are the business owner, they have the right to decide what’s the mode of payment is best for them. Certainly to be named and shamed is not what an inclusive society should be doing.”
In response to Goh, Cheng wrote, “the reason for not being able to print out a simple qr code and turn on notifications for paynow payments, is laziness and close mindedness. Must be shut down,”

Very hard to speak to villagers​

hard-to-speak.png

Lack of empathy by former NMP​

behave.png

LITTLEREDDOT

'This is mad': Ex-NMP Calvin Cheng, who's for cashless society, slams MP Don Wee over new Choa Chu Kang ATM​

Wee said the ATM was installed at the residents' request.
Ilyda Chua
February 17, 2023

atm-don-wee-calvin-cheng.png

Former Nominated Member of Parliament Calvin Cheng is continuing his crusade against physical cash.

In a Feb. 17 Facebook post, he lambasted Choa Chu Kang GRC MP Don Wee for celebrating the installation of a new UOB ATM, which dispenses physical notes.
In particular, Cheng criticised Wee's call for more banks to "join in and provide greater convenience for our residents".
"This is mad," Cheng wrote. "For a member of parliament from the ruling party openly going against our drive to minimise cash."
"Not only celebrating an outdated form of payment, but encouraging banks to install more ATMs."

Installed at residents' request​

The ATM in question was installed at Block 810 Choa Chu Kang Avenue 7.
According to Wee's Facebook post — which also included a TikTok video of him introducing viewers to the machine — the ATM was installed at the request of "many residents", particularly those at Axis Colours.
In the video, he also thanked the bank for setting up the ATM, "as they need to incur a few thousand dollars to maintain this machine as well as to cater security to top up the cash frequently".
He added: "We will continue to invite other banks to set up ATM machines in this precinct."
However, Cheng challenged this, saying that "banks should be doing the opposite", which is, he wrote: "Closing ATMs."
In response to the understanding that such measures are taken for the elderly in our society, Cheng said:

"Let’s not spread the myth that old people cannot use digital payments. Old people from small villages in China do it daily. Are our old people more backward???
And even if it’s the case that this is something for the convenience of old people, then we should STILL be reducing ATMs, not increasing the number."

"What an embarrassment," he noted.

Cash = backward?​

The ex-NMP and fintech evangelist has spoken out widely on his Facebook page against a cash-centric culture, drawing comparisons to other cash-lite societies like the UK and Sweden.
Previously, he called for a boycott against certain food stalls at a CBD food court that only accepted cash.
But members of the public, and even Temasek Trust chairman Ho Ching, have defended these stall-owners.
Sharing a Facebook user's heartwarming encounter with a cash-only wonton mee stall in Yishun, Ho wrote: "Indeed there is no need to shame others for using cash - What matters is that the heart is in the right place..."

LITTLEREDDOT

Someone please tell that CB kia about the dangers of a cashless society.

Cyclone-hit New Zealand exposes the risks of a cashless society​

2023-02-24T003243Z979133097RC2BHZ9O6PTZRTRMADP3NEW-ZEALAND-WEATHER_2.JPG

More than 225,000 households in the North Island lost power in the aftermath of Cyclone Gabrielle. PHOTO: REUTERS

Feb 24, 2023

WELLINGTON – The cyclone that tore through New Zealand last week has exposed the dangers of a cashless society, prompting the central bank to consider new ways of ensuring access to physical money when power and telecommunications fail.
New Zealanders were left unable to pay for vital goods such as food and water for days after cash machines and payment systems were knocked out by Cyclone Gabrielle, which left at least 11 people dead and displaced thousands as it cut across the upper North Island on Feb 13 and 14.
“What it is showing is the importance of physical cash still in society today,” Reserve Bank of New Zealand (RBNZ) assistant governor Karen Silk said in an interview on Friday in Wellington, adding that she was unsure if there could ever be a truly cashless society.
“There’d have to be some quite significant changes from a technology perspective.”
The RBNZ is now looking at whether non-bank entities such as supermarkets that already offer cash-withdrawal services could play a greater role, though this brings additional challenges, Ms Silk said.
“For that to happen there’s obviously a whole number of matters that need to be considered, everything from remuneration all the way through to how do you ensure security,” she said. “But finding options for cash recycling within communities is obviously important, and it’s been highlighted again in this situation.”
RBNZ has been examining the future of money in society for the past few years and has raised concerns about the declining use of physical cash as the payment system becomes increasingly digitalised. Many towns in New Zealand are now without bank branches, which have been replaced with cash machines that rely on electricity and the Internet to operate.
RBNZ governor Adrian Orr said at a press conference on Wednesday that banks’ drive for a cashless society “shows how vulnerable we are”, and that cash management operations are a critical component of financial stability.
“You’re seeing and reading some horrific stories out there at the moment of isolated communities,” Mr Orr said. “When people lose the ability to transact, when they don’t have a means of exchange, then social cohesion is very quickly challenged.”
More than 225,000 households in the North Island lost power in the aftermath of Cyclone Gabrielle – the largest disruption to the nation’s electricity infrastructure in about 35 years. The outages lasted for several days, and some areas are still without a connection more than 10 days later.
The central bank is having discussions with banks and independent third-party operators about how to ensure resilience in the system and make sure cash remains accessible, Ms Silk said.
During natural disasters, “cash becomes incredibly important as the primary form of payment”, she said. “Having resilient distribution is important.” BLOOMBERG

He likes digital so much which bro volunteer to give him a digital penetration ? Can give Jo teo as well. Package deal.

Calvin Cheng should be the next Sinkie PM, he has more balls than Liang Po Po and those foolish women.

Sustanon

want to be a dog hoping to get a pat of approval end up kena gan by master..... this "thing" is worse than a dog lolzz....

use "thing" to describe because I do not see it as a human.