• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shan: "Only about 50% of Singaporeans pay taxes"

Mr Shanmugam said the Government wants a society where people look after one another, especially those who cannot help themselves.

"There's a lot of debate on whether you can survive in Singapore on S$1,000 or S$850. We don't want anyone to earn that amount, which is why we give opportunities for people to upgrade themselves. And education is made, literally free, for those who can't afford to pay for it," he said.

This year's doubling of healthcare spending and help for the low income as well as the disabled, all point towards an inclusive approach.

Mr Shanmugam said the Government wants to look out for the young and old alike.

"Because we have an ageing population, we must also make sure that our younger people, those in their 20s, 30s, 40s, are not saddled with a heavy tax burden," he said.

The Government also ensures that tax rates in Singapore remain competitive. Rather than increasing taxes, he noted that the Government would rather people keep their money and support those in need.

"When I talk to my grassroots leaders, I just did a walkabout in my constituency, we also have to send another message, which is that, only about 50 per cent of Singaporeans pay taxes. And you look at all the other fees and everything else that's collected, in terms of what the Government gets, and what it spends, it is all in the book."

- http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC120312-0000040/Looking-out-for-the-young-and-old

================================
GST Is So Fair

I am 85, retired, unemployed, why am I paying GST?
I am 70, retired, unemployed, why am I paying GST?
I am 60, lost my job and unemployed. Why am I paying GST?
I am 10, still in school, why am I paying GST?
I am 3, in nursery, why am I paying GST?
I am 3 months old, in my mother’s womb. Why am I paying GST?

- http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com/2012/03/gst-is-fair.html

There's a big difference between saying "Only about 50% of Singaporeans pay taxes" and "Only about 50% of Singaporeans pay INCOME tax".

As is always the case, the devil is in the little details that remain unsaid.

Free education:eek::eek::eek: Nothing is free for Spore males. He's forgetting that all Spore males have to do NS at slave wages. With few exceptions like LHL, that Patrick guy,.....:rolleyes:

Maybe this Shanmugam didn't have to do NS:confused:

since when education is literally free? Talk cock.

Supplementary fees? Textbooks? Uniforms? Class funds? Assessment books? Ex-change progs? CCAs? Tution fees?

Free meh?

Only 50% Singaporean pay tax? Income tax is it? Say until so nice - I even see water borne saving tax in my PUB bill - that is a tax right? GST a tax right? Even GST on the water saving tax...

ssrrvv11

"Because we have an ageing population, we must also make sure that our younger people, those in their 20s, 30s, 40s, are not saddled with a heavy tax burden," he said.

PAP Shan-nonsense :

we help the 20s by making the boys serve NS and giving foreigners scholarships to make sgzens life miserable.

we help the 30s and 40s by allowing FTs to snatch their work, by making housing and cars more expensive.

we help the 50s by NOT giving them the lump sum of their cpf account

we help the 60s by allowing ah tiong to work as karong guni & dishwasher so that they can have more time to play with their grandkids.

we help the 70s by giving their cpf back to them in tiny bits and pieces every month so that they will overspend it.

we help the 80s by means testing their family should they need to be hospitalised.

KNNBCCB.

"There's a lot of debate on whether you can survive in Singapore on S$1,000 or S$850. We don't want anyone to earn that amount, which is why we give opportunities for people to upgrade themselves

Upgrading is a dirty word that the PAP loves to use to tell Sinkies that they need to work till they drop dead...

You don't need to work till you drop dead. All you need to do is create something that makes money without you having to do much.

One good example is setting up an internet forum. This site has a daily ads revenue estimate of USD78.62.

USD78.62 x 30 days = SGD2969.71 so it's pretty obvious nobody has to put up with SGD1000 per month.

Setting up an internet forum takes no skill whatsoever. There is plenty of FREE software (simple machines, phpBB etc) available to do the job so overheads can be kept very low to start off with. All that's needed is a USD9.95 per month hosting plan. As traffic grows, the plan can then be upgraded to a more powerful server when the money starts to roll in.

What he means is only 50% of sinkies pay his salary so he only serve those.....the other 50% are poor sinkies so these sinkies you die your business la!

Can you come up with some hard copy like " Setting up an internet forum for dummy "

1.Go to http://www.bluehost.com or http://www.hostgator.com or http://www.godaddy.com to register a domain of your choice and choose a hosting plan that includes cpanel and fantastico.

2. Install smf or phpBB using the fantastico utility.

3. Go to http://custom.simplemachines.org/themes/ or http://www.awesomestyles.com/ and install a skin of your choice to enhance the look and feel of your forum. Choose a theme that suits the intended content.

4. Go to http://www.google.com/adsense and http://skimlinks.com/ and configure accounts for both.

5. Start working on building up the traffic and watch the money roll in as traffic volume ramps up.

The first 18 months is a slog and may require 12 to 18 hour days. Once the traffic reaches a certain level, it's self sustaining. You can then sit back and enjoy the passive income.

Uh,,what about GST???? that is a tax and all Singaporeans who buys things pay for it,,so that is a blatent lie....

It isn't just GST. The are many forms of covert taxation built into the Singapore system. CPF is a tax too. Petrol is taxed before GST is added so that's a tax on a tax. Then there's the various surcharges on utility bills. Road tax and ERP is paid for by everyone either directly or indirectly. So too is the cost of COEs. The list is endless.

SO THAT proves that Shamugam is nothing but a liar...