• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG's problem: PAP created a market society

LITTLEREDDOT

Published on Apr 01, 2014

Are we not living in a market society?

IN FOUR decades, our gross domestic product has grown tremendously, making Singapore one of the world's richest countries.
Singapore is on the right track to globalisation by pursuing a market economy, but it is on the wrong track in becoming a market society ("Is there an ideological cleavage in S'pore?"; last Saturday).

The reality of a market society is that wealth generated in the economic system does not necessarily trickle down to the middle and lower classes.

The administration tends to use money to solve problems. For example, we tackle the growing vehicle population and road congestion by using pricing mechanisms.

In Singapore, money may not be the root of all evil. In fact, it is the most important thing in our society, where elderly retirees in dire straits are advised to sell their homes or monetise them for cash, and where price increases are usually justified by the market forces of supply and demand.

Harvard philosopher Michael Sandel laments that market society is "a way of life where market values seep into almost every sphere of life and sometimes crowd out or corrode important values, non-market values".

Paul Chan Poh Hoi

LITTLEREDDOT

This is what happen when you let US-educated MBAs like Lee Hsien Loong, Lim Hng Khiang, Marlboro Tan etc run the country. They run the country like they are running a business corporation where only the bottom-line ($$$$) matters.

Matters like national identity, community spirit, time and care for the less fortunate neighbours, simple way of life, low-cost of living etc are thrown out of the window. Religious, mental and personal development are non-important matters.

And the PAP say this is progress wor.

kezgtree

This is what happen when you let US-educated MBAs like Lee Hsien Loong, Lim Hng Khiang, Marlboro Tan etc run the country. They run the country like they are running a business corporation where only the bottom-line ($$$$) matters.

Matters like national identity, community spirit, time and care for the less fortunate neighbours, simple way of life, low-cost of living etc are thrown out of the window. Religious, mental and personal development are non-important matters.

I personally do not think this is swiss standard of living ...in terms of "stress" measurement..
imo, even if we can do a survey amongst our neighbouring countries..e.g Malaysia, indon, vietnam, pinoy, china, myanmar, japan..and many more......we are surely way ahead of them....:rolleyes::(

greenies

I personally do not think this is swiss standard of living ...in terms of "stress" measurement..
imo, even if we can do a survey amongst our neighbouring countries..e.g Malaysia, indon, vietnam, pinoy, china, myanmar, japan..and many more......we are surely way ahead of them....:rolleyes::(

Are you sure we are way ahead of Japan?

Even you ask many well-grown Chinese, Indo, Viet, Pinoy and Myanmar businessmen, they prefer staying in their own motherland.
They buy properties in Singapore as an investment, but treat Singapore as transit hotel.

How many of rich and good-class foreigners become Singaporean?
Most new citizens are mere poor or middle-class foreigners.

There is nothing wrong with a market society. It is the most efficient way of allocating resources.

Singapore is on the right track to globalisation by pursuing a market economy,

Globalisation is never the right track. Only globalists want globalisation.

yellowarse

It's good that Sinkies are beginning to wake up to the fundamental ills of our (and the world's) economy: right-wing neo-liberal economics – advocated by the Chicago School and implemented by Reagan and Thatcher. To wit, an emphasis on unbridled economic growth, GDP as indicator of progress, financial deregulation, and a malignant globalization where capital chases cheapest labour and non-productive speculation in financial products dwarfs the real productive economy.

All with total disregard for the environment and ecology, widening income gap and its attendant social problems, local cultural factors, and the depletion of natural resources.

I have no problems with a market driven economy. The problem is that the economy here is controlled by one family. A family which also controls the gov't.

Where else in the world can politicians make millions salaries:confused: The US prez who control the US, a superpower, only makes US$550,000+ inclusive of perks.
In Spore there are many hidden perks such as directorships, free 747s rides , unlimited healthcare, extra eggs, toothpicks, mangoes, ....

You are being too generous to them. They are politicians, their interests come before everything else. That's why we are seeing stop gap solutions to problems they had created. At some point of time, the plasters will no longer hold and the swell will hit sinkees hard. By then, the PAP elites will have jetted out on an SIA 380.

If the PAP leaders are truly working for sinkees, they won't have to fear. Why can't local policemen protect them, instead they have gurkhas to jaga their homes? The PAP doesn't trust sinkees, knowing that sinkees will one day see the light and go after them.

There is nothing wrong with a market society. It is the most efficient way of allocating resources.

Life is more than resource allocation.

Also, the problem in sinkapore is that market-driven solutions are used only to fleece sinkees. If market pricing is used for minister's salary, many of them would only be earning $1k a month!

LITTLEREDDOT

You have the same brilliance as the US-educated MBAs like Lee Hsien Loong and his cronies. Nothing wrong with allocating resources if the only goal is economic efficiency. Running a country is not running a corporation.

There is one check: voters but this check is hampered by the PAP.

Ahead in numbers which have little meaning to the average sinkees. Averages in sinkapore are skewed by the small pool of rich folks. So, we look good as the average income is high ...look at the median and the picture is different.

Go around the region and look at the faces of the people ...sinkees look haggard and weary ...our neighbours have lots of smiling faces despite earning less and having infrastructure deficits. There is more to life than just having money.

Allow me to fill in the gap, excuse for the aw English, but do my best to use superscale English.

In the past 4 decades was technology driven economy, which is producing technology for the mass market. It was after the WW2 and 1 billion babies were born from 1946-1964.

Nobody knows that the consumption of these boomers, and include new technologies which cut into every aspect of industries never imagine before, caused a huge boom of market driven technologies. Baby boomers are dying in the next 20 years which will again cause new economy and technologies to mushroom.

Until the last one died, you will see that one industry at a time will start to collapse and which has started already.

1. First to go is education premises - the school ground. Numbers of students enrollment not enough to justify a big school ground with football field. Better to sell the football field, land, to build residential properties.

Have a nice day, enjoy.

Published on Apr 01, 2014

IN FOUR decades, our gross domestic product has grown tremendously, making Singapore one of the world's richest countries.
Singapore is on the right track to globalisation by pursuing a market economy, but it is on the wrong track in becoming a market society ("Is there an ideological cleavage in S'pore?"; last Saturday).

Paul Chan Poh Hoi

escher

Fucking stupid stinkies got what they fucking voted for
A cuntry where the land stolen from under their feet and they remain head down down and arseholes up high high to be fucked to be tiewed to be kanned by PAP maggots cockroaches
and they got to bow their heads and say thank you to PAP bastards for fucking for tiewing them and their entire families from babies in arms to grand pa and grandma

Kuailan

Fully agree with you!! Sickapoor is being run commercialy by our PAPAYA gahmen!!

Every department has a got a bottom line to full filled. PM act as CEO of Sickapoor
Every department has got an Annual Operation Plan yearly and 5 year plan!!

Typically like the American run company "Bottom Line"
Because Stone Cold Steve Austin said so!!

1. First to go is education premises - the school ground. Numbers of students enrollment not enough to justify a big school ground with football field. Better to sell the football field, land, to build residential properties.

Or you can enrol more foreign students for the schools. All in a day's work for an 'education hub'. :wink: