• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Sg] - Russians in Sg feel unfairly targeted by hate speech from locals here in recent days

UltimaOnline

1646653502455.png

Mr Vadim Zoubovski runs a family-owned restaurant, Dumplings.ru, that serves Russian and Ukrainian cuisine.

• Members of the Russian community in Singapore have seen offensive posts and hate speech pop up online since the invasion of Ukraine
  • Already concerned about friends and family members back in Eastern Europe, the hostilities they saw here only added to their worries
  • Some are bracing themselves to face even worse hostilities after hearing reports about xenophobia towards Russians in other parts of the world
SINGAPORE — Anna, the director of the Russian Singapore Amateur Chekhov Theatre, has been based here for 14 years. Yet only in recent weeks she began experiencing anti-Russian sentiment for the first time.

The 44-year-old mother of three said that she has seen people on her social media feed post offensive memes and hate speech about Russians, which has made her feel unwelcome here.

hese displays of hostility, as well as the ongoing conflict in Ukraine, affected her so much that she cancelled three shows between March 3 and 5.

“The performance was supposed to be a funny show featuring a comedian, but we decided to cancel because it is hard to smile now,” said Anna, who declined to provide her full name as she was worried about being a target of harassment.

Like Anna, members of the Russian community in Singapore have seen varying degrees of hostility here, particularly online, since Russian President Vladimir Putin ordered the invasion in Ukraine on Feb 24.

There are about 4,000 Russians living in Singapore, said Mr Aleksandr Solovev, First Secretary of the Russian Embassy here.
Some are bracing themselves for the worst as they hear reports of xenophobic behaviours towards Russians in other parts of the world.

Mr Vadim Zoubovski, who runs a family-owned restaurant selling Russian and Ukrainian cuisine here, had also seen his business receiving online flak since the conflict escalated.

The Singapore permanent resident, who still has family members in Ukraine, was prompted to put up a post on Facebook on March 1 to ask the public to be “kinder in their words and refrain from leaving further hate speech”.

In the post, the restaurant, Dumplings.ru, also announced that it would donate 10 per cent of its proceeds from online orders to humanitarian efforts in Ukraine.

Mr Zoubovski, 51, said that since then, things have turned for the better, with his business seeing more orders.

When TODAY visited the restaurant's main branch at Maxwell Chambers at 2pm on Sunday, the restaurant was full, with a handful of people seen waiting outside, half an hour before it was due to close.

While he still sees a small number of negative comments on social media, Mr Zoubovski said he was thankful for the support he had received both in terms of patronage and encouraging words.

SINGAPOREAN NOT SPARED

One Singaporean has also found herself caught in the crossfire.

Ms Cheryl-Ann Tan, who founded the Singapore-Russia Connection, a local group dedicated to building personal, cultural and business ties between the two countries, said that she has received abusive messages from friends, including one of her closest pals.

The 37-year-old Singaporean said: “When I first founded the club, it was to promote and introduce Russian culture in Singapore. Back then both governments put a lot of work into it; now it feels as if over a decade’s worth of work has gone down the drain.”

She is currently planning an aid mission for Ukraine with a friend who is involved with the International Organisation for Migration, which provides support to internally displaced persons, migrants and refugees.
The Russian Embassy in Singapore has not registered any reports about mistreatment or discrimination of its citizens, said Mr Solovev, who is also the head of the cultural centre Russian House in Singapore.

“At the same time, we regret to note that the anti-Russian campaign launched in the Western media, which is actively reprinted here, cannot but warm up Russophobic sentiments in the society,” he said.

He added that the Russian House has created online channels for Russians around the world to report any cases of provocations, violations of rights and discriminations, as they have seen signs of such happenings “especially in European countries”.

Rachel (not her real name), the founder of a Russian language centre here, set up a Zoom meeting with a psychologist on March 2 to render emotional and psychological support for Russians who may feel affected by the ongoing conflict or have been harassed.

She said: “It’s a difficult time for us, we are concerned. Many people have relatives and close ones who are directly affected by current events.

“So far, we have not faced any hostility. However, we know that it is happening in other countries and we want our community to be prepared for different situations, as well as help adults to talk to their kids about this.”

https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...g-degrees-hostility-some-bracing-more-1837891

winners

I bet they must have also looked into this forum, especially with all my FUCK THE RUSSIAN posts. If they still have any sense of empathy, they should write a petition letter to their embassy, urging Bloodymir Putin to call an end to this war. Bloodymir Putin does not value human lives.

Not defending Russia, but most ruskies oppose the war. The unfortunate truth is the ruskies in russia are constantly fed propaganda shit, so we need all ruskies outside their country to educate and inform their friends and relatives back home. To let them see the truth. Hopefully then, there will be much more opposition to the war, creating a critical mass and a revolution occurs.

searcher1

There is nothing wrong with Communism, Democracy, Dynasty, Tribal, Socialism, Monarchy, Colonialism...etc
They are just different system of governing the Country. However the West loves to impose their Democracy onto others
From this Ukraine & Russia War, we saw a bigger threat to planet earth, that is the Five Eyes .. they have to be removed from Earth

There is nothing wrong with Communism, Democracy, Dynasty, Tribal, Socialism, Monarchy, Colonialism...etc
They are just different system of governing the Country. However the West loves to impose their Democracy onto others
From this Ukraine & Russia War, we saw a bigger threat to planet earth, that is the Five Eyes .. they have to be removed from Earth

All those things are distractions. It's globalism vs nationalism.

Ukraine is a cesspit of human trafficking, money laundering and biological terrorism. Putin is pulling the scab off a festering wound. :cool:

winners

All those things are distractions. It's globalism vs nationalism.

Ukraine is a cesspit of human trafficking, money laundering and biological terrorism. Putin is pulling the scab off a festering wound. :cool:
I wonder since you are so against Winnie, but yet you show your appreciation towards Bloodymir Putin. So, you are approving his killing of the Ukrainian civilians? He's right in doing this?

If Trump is in charge today instead of Sleepy Joe, will this cause you to change your opinion of Russia?

I wonder since you are so against Winnie, but yet you show your appreciation towards Bloodymir Putin. So, you are approving his killing of the Ukrainian civilians? He's right in doing this?

If Trump is in charge today instead of Sleepy Joe, will this cause you to change your opinion of Russia?

Don't be fooled by the apparent alliance between Russia and China, they're at best 'friends with benefits' for now. Both will eventually betray each other.

Putin is a devout Orthodox Christian man, he is sharp and says what he means. The Ukrainians are no saints, ethnic Russians have been massacred in eastern Ukraine.

On the flip side, you have the CCP regime, godless moral reprobates, responsible for many problems in this world, infiltrating governments, corrupting international institutions such as the IMF, WTO, WHO, IOC etc. The darling of the WEF and the globalist Davos cabal.

The choice should be obvious to those who can discern. :cool:

winners

Don't be fooled by the apparent alliance between Russia and China, they're at best 'friends with benefits' for now. Both will eventually betray each other.

Putin is a devout Orthodox Christian man, he is sharp and says what he means. The Ukrainians are no saints, ethnic Russians have been massacred in eastern Ukraine.
Agree that Winnie will take this opportunity to buy up Russian assets cheaply now since Bloodymir Putin is desperate and eventually, Bloodymir Putin will regret.

With regards to ethnic Russians have been massacred in Eastern Ukraine, hmm..... How many? And why did it take Bloodymir Putin 8 years before he starts taking action today if it had been so serious?

As for me, I wouldn't take side with a bastard who will never admit his troops shooting down the MH17 commercial plane in Crimea in 2014 and until today, still denying and even refused to release his soldiers for the trial.

To display my solidarity with Putin and Russia I will proudly wear my black adidas tracksuit whenever I am outside

_kWs-B.gif

Imuho the main leeson of the hate speech by sinkies is becas their investments all go down down down :laugh: :whistling:
Bloodhell thats why my uncle has been saying all this while - who would want to invest and let others leecide the outcome ? :biggrin::eek::cool: then later kpkb :sneaky: :whistling:

LordElrond

I bet they must have also looked into this forum, especially with all my FUCK THE RUSSIAN posts. If they still have any sense of empathy, they should write a petition letter to their embassy, urging Bloodymir Putin to call an end to this war. Bloodymir Putin does not value human lives.
If he looks at your posts, he will write to Russian embassy to update his findings on Sinkies IQ level.

Go fuck more camels pale shitskin angmoh..... anti Russia this time...

winners

If he looks at your posts, he will write to Russian embassy to update his findings on Sinkies IQ level.
I wonder if he even dares to write to the Russian embassy. Will Malaysian Chinese traitors write on their behalf? Sensible patriotic Singaporeans don't welcome such traitors like you.

I repeat again. If they are truly remorseful about this war, they should write their petition letter urging to stop this war. To me, that's the very least they can do, but will they, did they? Is this wrong of them? They are well aware that by doing so, it will get themselves being targeted by their own government.

Bloodhell thats why my uncle has been saying all this while - who would want to invest and let others leecide the outcome ? :biggrin::eek::cool: then later kpkb :sneaky: :whistling:
Next to ponder- where does all the money goes to when share price etc drop ? even without economy knowledge My wisemen uncle can tell everyone - is just a fucking con job . Is there leelee a war? :eek: :wink: