• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

School forces students to pay $50 for 45th anniversary

Posted on 17 Aug 2010
School forces students to pay $50 for 45th anniversary

school_forces_students_to_pay_50_for_45th_anniversary-thumbnail.jpg

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US"></SCRIPT><IFRAME class=FB_SERVER_IFRAME src="http://www.facebook.com/extern/login_status.php?api_key=94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6&extern=2&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fxd_receiver.htm&locale=en_US" frameBorder=0 name=loginStatus scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<OBJECT id=flashXdComm name=flashXdComm classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000 width=1 height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash>

</OBJECT>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
78%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
2%

LOL!
7%

So sad
2%

Sure or not?
2%

Bochup
9%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
Yio Chu Kang Secondary School will be celebrating its 45th anniversary this month and STOMPer Buntalk is unhappy that the school has asked its students to contribute $50 for the celebrations.

The STOMPer explained that even the performers have to pay, even when they are contributing to the celebrations.

The STOMPer wrote:

“Yio Chu Kang Secondary school will be celebrating its 45th anniversary this coming month and last week they asked the performers to sell the tickets at $50 each.

“And today, they actually forced everyone in the school to contribute $50 from Edusave and it is compulsory, even some Edusave accounts are empty.

“They will have to pay in cash.

"In a letter sent to all the students, it states: ‘To achieve a high standard of productions for this musical, we have invested heavily in engaging the expertise of various specialists and vendors in training the students. We seek your support in releasing $50 from your child's/ward's Edusave Account to help defray some of the cost’

“And from what I know, these ‘expertise’ are instructors who are paid by the students yearly, by Edusave to teach different areas of talent such as the Enrichment programme which is in the school timetable so I don't see the need to pay another $50 where the students have already paid.

"Even the performers have to pay for it where they do not get to view the performance at all.

“Plus the performance only includes Dance, Drama, Band and Choir. Does that really worth that much of money?

“Or are they just trying to get more money out of it? If the school doesn't have that much of money then they shouldn't even host this celebration and having the programme at all.”

20100817ssdpyck4-data.jpg

Click on thumbnails for larger image

Keywords: donation drive , secondary school

manokie

Well

To them, this is a peasant school

It's a perfect time to start screwing the future peasants before they go out to the society!

There's nothing wrong with holding a school anniversary celebration.

There's nothing wrong with collecting payments cause these things couldn't be free.

There's nothing wrong with S$50 from Edusave or cash, since it's affordable.

There's nothing wrong with few parents who actually couldn't afford can go appeal MCYS or MOE.

So now, pray tell, what's wrong?

There's nothing wrong with holding a school anniversary celebration.

There's nothing wrong with collecting payments cause these things couldn't be free.

There's nothing wrong with S$50 from Edusave or cash, since it's affordable.

There's nothing wrong with few parents who actually couldn't afford can go appeal MCYS or MOE.

So now, pray tell, what's wrong?

That wrong. Why student must pay by force by activity that not support by them. That is not compulsory under MOE.

Brightkid

Please understandd them la. Just couple weeks ago the school already kena 'encouraged' by YOG to spent thousands of $ to buy tickets that no one wants.

So now must 'encourage' parents to release $ to support the anniversary lor.

You know, the boomerang will first hit the students, then boomerang to hit the parents. Schools and authorities never failed at every opportunity to screw the students and parents with a single throw of boomerang.

That wrong. Why student must pay by force by activity that not support by them. That is not compulsory under MOE.

They should support. Nothing to do with MOE. It's their own school for heaven's sake, even if WP or NSP is in charge of MOE.

Why need to pay by force?
Support like attend the school activity by volunteer is OK.
Why need very lavish NDP activity?
Sing school song and Majula no0 need money right.

Why need to pay by force?
Support like attend the school activity by volunteer is OK.
Why need very lavish NDP activity?
Sing school song and Majula no0 need money right.

What happened to the school spirit? We supported our schools hearts and souls, regardless in Anson or elsewhere. It was our school. Nothing to do with whether PAP or WP or whatever party or constituency. Nothing to do do with who's in Parliament or who's in Government. It's our school, where we learn and grow. If that spirit is lost, we're meaningless.

boring

What happened to the school spirit? We supported our schools hearts and souls, regardless in Anson or elsewhere. It was our school. Nothing to do with whether PAP or WP or whatever party or constituency. Nothing to do do with who's in Parliament or who's in Government. It's our school, where we learn and grow. If that spirit is lost, we're meaningless.

lao jiby! u think 50buck is peanut is it?!:oIo:

manokie

If no money, don't celebrate so grand lor :smile:

20100817ssdpyck4jpg1282016487575-data.jpg

Without spending a lot of money, how can the principal be able to impress the zone officers from MOE?

Also, it helps to inflate the GDP more!

All in the best interests of the rich and elite, peasants just pay up!! :biggrin:

We seek your support in releasing $50 from your child's / ward's Edusave Account to help defray some of the cost.

Where does it say compulsory?

My point, even not compulsory, all parents and students should support.

I took part in my school 90th anniversary celebration and am always very proud of it.

It was free then, but we spent weeks putting up paintings and calligraphies for the exhibits.

The materials we used and paid for cost some money too. We happily did it for our school.