• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

RWS Cuts Cost Like Mad!

Feb 19, 2010

Long waits rile punters

Some gaming areas still closed off and gamblers have to queue to play

<!-- by line -->By Tessa Wong & Lim Wei Chean
<!-- end by line -->
<!--background story, collapse if none-->WE'VE REACTED QUICKLY: CASINO
'Since opening on Sunday, we have reacted very quickly to the unanticipated surge in demand and opened up new slot machines and pits to cater to customers. We will continue to expand services.'
RWS spokesman Krist Boo
TOO MANY PEOPLE
'I didn't get to play anything. The whole place was too crowded. I wanted to play the jackpot, but it was too crowded. I may try to come back again.'
Mr Lim, 34, who works in finance
NO CHANCE TO PLAY
'To spend a few hours there and not get a chance to sit and play at a table is frustrating. What's the point of opening the casino when you can open only half?'
Mr Allan Chia, 33, who helps out in his family's clothing business

<!--end background story-->
<!-- end left side bar -->
c2-1.jpg
The crowd outside the Resorts World Sentosa casino yesterday. Several people interviewed said that they faced waits of up to two hours for a turn at the slot machines. -- ST PHOTO: KEVIN LIM

<!-- story content : start -->
IT HAS been five days since Singapore's first casino at Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) opened, and the gaming tables there are packing punters in.
But a growing number of gamblers are getting increasingly frustrated because once in, they have had trouble placing bets.
The reason: A significant portion of the casino has remained closed, resulting in long lines forming at tables and slot machines.

cooleo

All the construction workers go there for free drinks and crowd around. Of cos crowded la :rolleyes:

Of course lah!...the 15xth ranked in the world...declare it is roaring sucess... We the citizens of SINkingpore...pledge ourselves as one UNITED FOOLS...the foreiign workers, maids etc...enter the CAsino FREE!!, eat, drink, pee, shit for FREE!..whereas we have to pay S$100...

Soon there will be a rule to disallow, all work permits holders, except "S" passes..to enter...

OUR GOVERNMENT INSULTS US>>>>>>>> SINkingporeanS wake UP!!:mad:

Casino flooded by foreign workers

Photos:
» Queuing up at Resorts World Sentosa
BARELY opened for five days, local punters are already expressing their dissatisfaction with the large number of foreign workers who enter the casino for free to enjoy free beverages.

Lianhe Wanbao received feedback from a reader who told the Chinese dailies that ever since the casino at Resorts World Sentosa (RSW) opened, there had been an inlux of foreign workers who would use their foreign passport or work permit to enter for free and instead of gambling, they were there for the free drinks.

One such casino patron was Dr Felix Ong, Group Executive Chairman and CEO of Singapore Exchange, who visited the casino on the second day of Chinese New Year.

He said that his mood was dampened when he saw large groups of foreign workers and left after spending less than two hours there.

Dr Ong told Lianhe Wanbao that: "It's a great thing that Singapore's first casino is attracting so many people. However, the foreign workers who stay inside for long periods, mostly did not gamble.

"They were there to use the facilities such as toilets and drinks, depriving other gamblers of their game."

He also added: "The casino provides free drinks but you have to get it yourself. It is almost impossible to do so due to the large group of foreign workers loitering around.

Dr Ong's friend, Mr Zhuo, 43, manager of an investment company, expressed that he could not stand it and left within the first hour.

Achieve a Recognised Accounting Qualification with Kaplan

A reader also told Lianhe Wanbao that he saw many foreign workers napping on the floor and went over to the tables to look at the game once they woke up.

"One table would have six or seven players, with more than 10 onlookers being foreign workers. Those who wished to play would not even have a chance to go near the tables to place their bets," said the reader.

Local patrons have already asked the authorities to take notice of this situation and have also suggested that the workers be charged a casino levy, similar to the levy imposed on Singaporean citizens and PRs.

A spokesperson from the National Council on Problem Gambling told Lianhe Wanbao that the casino entrance fee was made solely for Singapore citizens and PRs as a deterrent towards problem gambling.

GO FARK SPIDERS!....FW's....no gambling problems....:mad:

cooleo

If i am a high net worth individual, will i wanna go RWS and rub shoulders against those workers with BO? Macau surely!

STUCK_HERE

Of course lah!...the 15xth ranked in the world...declare it is roaring sucess... We the citizens of SINkingpore...pledge ourselves as one UNITED FOOLS...the foreiign workers, maids etc...enter the CAsino FREE!!, eat, drink, pee, shit for FREE!..whereas we have to pay S$100...

A spokesperson from the National Council on Problem Gambling told Lianhe Wanbao that the casino entrance fee was made solely for Singapore citizens and PRs as a deterrent towards problem gambling.

GO FARK SPIDERS!....FW's....no gambling problems....:mad:

Dear Sinkie, Sinkapore is not yours. Why go there and lose face?

Like Father knows best, God knows what is best for Adam and Eve, but yet supposedly grow a tree in his garden to forbid, and tempt, them to eat the fruits of the tree. They take your cpf monies to build something not suitable for local to use. Very classic and unique and can only happen to Singapore.

R4g3

The media did not report the truth.

It is not RWS not opening all the tables, it is CRA slow in issuing licence to the croupier.

Media should make it known so that the gamblers will know who is actually responsible for it.

so much talk big about efficiency, we need a cheaper, better, faster gahmen.