• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rich Minister Tells POOR Sporns to Make More NSmen Woh!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Just look at his fxxx face...

Babies a lot of trouble, but worth the effort: Gan Kim Yong <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Jeremy Au Yong
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
gan.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

'Stress is part of life. It's very difficult to have no stress at all, unless you live in the mountain,' Mr Gan said. -- ST PHOTO: A.B. RICHARD
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->
GETTING married and having kids was something people used to just do naturally, without thinking about what incentives came with it.
Acting Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong on Friday lamented the changed attitude that some Singaporeans now have towards having children, as he joined the growing chorus of leaders calling for more babies.
The topic of babies - or rather the lack of them - has been hitting the headlines frequently of late and it is expected to be a key topic of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's National Day Rally speech later this month.
In making his pitch, Mr Gan said that though raising children was tough, it was well worth the effort.
Ask anyone with children, he said, and very few will say they regret having had children.
'Before you have them, you always think 'Maybe it's going to be a problem'. When you have them and trouble comes, you think, 'Aiyah, why did I do this'.
'But when ... you look back, I think we are all very happy with having children,' he said to a question from housewife Grace Chong at a dialogue with Sembawang residents after a tour of the estate.
Madam Chong, a mother of two girls, wanted to know how more couples could be encouraged to have children.
Mr Gan, who has two daughters, said stress was one of the reasons many young couples cited for not having children.
But he said that work pressure needed to be better managed.
'Stress is part of life. It's very difficult to have no stress at all, unless you live in the mountain,' he said.
Mr Gan offered one suggestion to managing stress: share it with a partner.
He held up his host, Sembawang GRC MP Lim Wee Kiak, as an example of this method of stress management.
'Today, during the community visit, it's a very stressful event, right? But Dr Lim has his wife with him. And so this is, I think, Dr Lim's secret of managing stress.'
During the hour-long session, the over 100 students and residents lobbed a wide-range of questions, including how the government was encouraging women to get back to work and how to prevent local talent from leaving Singapore.
They did not ask questions about the economy or rising cost of living, but Dr Lim raised it at the end, saying he was surprised that no one had beat him to it.
Mr Gan reiterated sentiments expressed by Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam a day earlier - that though dark clouds were looming, the country was starting from a strong position.
While Mr Gan was optimistic that Singapore would ride out the problems that came up, he also had advice for workers. He urged them to keep on training and gaining skills that would help them improve their position should difficult times hit.
The dialogue came at the end of a hectic morning for all, as Mr Gan embarked on his first ministerial visit since becoming Acting Minister in April this year. Apart from meeting residents, he joined a National Day Observance ceremony, launched a book featuring recipes from local residents and officially opened the new Jelutung Community Club.

ccl69

try living as a poor man for 2 months...he will know what is "tough life"...if you earn 1 million a year of course easy to say all these things lah

chinkangkor

S'poreans have done their calculations and many have come to the conclusion that they will be financially better off without children. At least they will have a bigger nest egg for retirements and do not have to continue to slog as cleaners for 3 square meals in their old age.

Valencia

'Stress is part of life. It's very difficult to have no stress at all, unless you live in the mountain,' Mr Gan said.

That's a crap statement, even a kopitiam uncle can quote that.

popdod

The key point is....some people have more stress than the rest.

Some ppl slogging 14hrs a day for 800 bucks salary
while
some ppl sign a few documents a day for million dollars salary.

He must be stressing.....how to spend his bonus this year....

:p :( :p

chinkangkor

'Stress is part of life. It's very difficult to have no stress at all, unless you live in the mountain,' he said.

We think stress probably on a scale from 1 (no stress) to 10 (extreme stress) but this million-dollar minister thinks stress in terms of 1 and 10 only. Such a simple-minded man.

He should ask whether our society has crossed the threshold point where the total stress level has gone so high up that it has become an impediment to families thinking of procreation.

onegoal

try living as a poor man for 2 months...he will know what is "tough life"...if you earn 1 million a year of course easy to say all these things lah

Of course must make baby lah!!
Else next time if not enuff people in sinkapore, where are they going to suck money from?? So even if poor people also must make baby.... else not eunff people for them to tax. And if not enuff tax money, they will not have enuff money to pay minister's salary. If not enuff salary, they cannot cheong KTV, healthcentre.... That is y Mr Gan is worried!

Please, please i beg all sinkaporean to help Ah Gan! Else he cannot sleep at night. He will grow white hair faster......

suteerak1099

sex can relief stress, while kids livelihood & future creates more stress!

i wonder how many NS men has his own factory managed to produce....??? from the looks of it, in order to boost the birth rates, perhaps a bill should be passed, that all high income earners r required to produce 1 child for every SGD10-15k he/she/they earn per annum.

failure to comply, they will incur birth-rate tax, so to supplement/subsidize others who're making babies, bt cant really afford.

ah_phah

make more baby is easy. our men got plenty of sperm to creat a new china + india. if sg woman dun wan make baby, now wif the help of many foreign woman enter sg, got plenty target to make baby. bt who to feed + raise the children? working mother where got time to feed breast milk? they think 3mth maternaty enuf to breast feed the baby to grow up fast + strong meh?

the baby grant is credit on paper only, not cash. they think milk powder drop from the sky.

chinkangkor

Of course must make baby lah!!
Else next time if not enuff people in sinkapore, where are they going to suck money from?? So even if poor people also must make baby.... else not eunff people for them to tax. And if not enuff tax money, they will not have enuff money to pay minister's salary. If not enuff salary, they cannot cheong KTV, healthcentre.... That is y Mr Gan is worried!

Please, please i beg all sinkaporean to help Ah Gan! Else he cannot sleep at night. He will grow white hair faster......

The govt wants more locals to produce babies is because SAF needs manpower for military defence. If still not enough local babies produce, then womanpower will need to be enlisted.

ah_phah

The govt wants more locals to produce babies is because SAF needs manpower for military defence. If still not enough local babies produce, then womanpower will need to be enlisted.
aiya, they like to tok cock la. they everytime haolian say we now use 3G army liao, soldier need to do like playstation/ x-box, press up, down, left left, right, A, B, down down select, start, then the enemy all die liao.

since is so simple, the no need to have so big army liao la.

Pica_NA

another bullshit from our foolnister...

we enjoy sex and it really helps to relieve stress... but it doesn't mean we enjoy raising kids in SG... kaoz.. everything so ex!... !... it is additional load to every one and i agree, not everyone is fetching HIGH pay like our foolnister... pui ! :mad:

Hope

I hope Ah Gan would not degenerate into another Ah heng,and Ah Say,both talk cock kings with beri low IQ type,in comparision to those talk cock kings with medium,or high IQs type,I hope you know who they are.

suteerak1099

looking at the number for FTs flooding into this island, while a good fraction of them bring their wives & kids along. while some FTs r getting married to locals to reproduce as well. nt to mention many men have also resorted to marrying foreign brides to produce the goods.... i dont think manpower for SAF will be of any major concern. besides, with reservist still in order, we practically have an island of soldiers (at their expanse) given any event of distress. nt unless we can clone more beings.

since manpowering is nt the big issue, the next biggest concern is how they run the show, as well as fulfilling the 7 SAF core value: loyalty to country, leadership, discipline, professionalism, fighting spirit, ethics & care for soldier.

i seriously dont have full confidence in the loyalty rendered by 2nd generation migrants. many of whom sulk at serving NS, cos the folks decided to move the cheese here. leadership? wat leadership? every1 in uniform abides by 1 rule "just follow law" - afraid to stick their necks out for wat in principle is wrong. discipline? the only discipline we witness is the art of carrying balls & wayang.

professionalism? the men in uniform make very good calefares for movie production - refer to the propaganda adverts for army recruitment. fighting spirit? yes, fighting takes place on day to day basis... fighting for survival, fighting to secure ricebowls.

ethics? i think its being played down alot in recent yrs. if there was ethics in how they conduct their trg for reality (objectively), young n fit potential future leaders wont be dropping dead while in service. care for soldier? well, apart from the improvements in accomodations & logistics these days, the run of the mill from day to day hasnt really been realistic, often times based on fiction & not reality. their planning & war gaming executions sometimes produce horrendous results, thinking that our NSmen can teleport, cross terrain/waterbodies from pt A to B in lightspeed.