• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rebecca and Gabriel Loh - "No one gets left behind"

soIsee

In other words the PAP attitude is simply the result of Karma. Payback time for the bastard attitude of sinkies. What goes round comes round. :p

I had always said so, Boss.

Initially, the pappy was driven by need too survive and so they had good attitude towards chasing their objective to drive home the point to the Sinkie, to be hard working and not be greedy.

When they got rich and so did their serfs, they all got greedy and both sides are now none better than the other.

They might as well do each other in and let things start anew for a better tomorrow.

I've done meals on wheels and I never received a bloody cent.

Your meals on wheels program is not 100% privately funded and run lah... The government subsidises and offer tax breaks.

The socialist welfare system is even more unsustainable. Countries that place caring for the unfortunate in the hands of the state are growing broke as we speak.

You are in ang mor country and should know exactly WHY they are broke. Their welfare system as simply gone too far. Jobless benefits and expensive rehabilitation programs for drunkards and addicts who don't want to help themselves.

However, is helping out the old and handicapped too much to ask for? Will that bring singapore financial ruin?

Also, if the rich poor divide keeps growing, political stability of this country will be in jeopardy. Events like Arab spring or Aquino's People power movement may happen here one day.

Ultimately, we have to face the fact that a portion of the human race will perish as a result of their lack of survival instincts. You cannot defy the laws of nature forever. In the animal world, when there are more cubs than there are nipples, some are going to die. The human species is no different. Those with inferior genes are going to be left behind.

As individuals, we can change the outcome for some but we can't redefine the way nature works.

I agree with u there's no escaping the natural order we are not animals.

Everyone in society has a role to play. We have our jobs to do and families to feed. As such there must be an organised effort of specialists who can care for those who need help. Of course these costs will have to be shared but these limited services will be available for citizens when required.

The road to hell was paved with good intentions. This is exactly what started the rot that has ruined the Western nations.

If you feel sorry for the poor, go and help some yourself. Don't pass your guilt on to the government.

bushtucker

The kampong spirit and camaraderie were lost when villagers and farmers started moving into HDB flats.

The road to hell was paved with good intentions. This is exactly what started the rot that has ruined the Western nations.

If you feel sorry for the poor, go and help some yourself. Don't pass your guilt on to the government.

So public assistance is an On/Off switch for you? nothing in between?

The fact about public assistance is not everyone will agree about it.

If you think it is the worst idea ever why did you move to NZ? why are you still there? For wide and open spaces to cycle there's East malaysia and northern Thailand etc where you can live like the king with your retirement money.

So public assistance is an On/Off switch for you? nothing in between?

The fact about public assistance is not everyone will agree about it.

If you think it is the worst idea ever why did you move to NZ? why are you still there? For wide and open spaces to cycle there's East malaysia and northern Thailand etc where you can live like the king with your retirement money.

I definitely didn't move here for the welfare benefits. My taxes are what is supporting those lazy good for nothing brown skins.

I chose NZ because I like the weather and the open spaces and the beautiful scenery and the variety of having 4 seasons.... the long days of summer, the cosy winter nights next to the fire place, the beautiful colours of autumn, the freshness of spring. It's the total package that is to my liking despite the fact that the country has many faults.

zeebjii

Read the ST article again. You and you kampong story totally miss the point. The goverment promised and stated very clearly that no one would be left behind. So PM Lee and his team have failed this family, big time.

Spock

A PRC acquaintance once commented to me that SG lacks 人情味 (compassion for fellow humans or something like that) and sadly, I have to agree. It wasn't always like this but somewhere along the path of development, SGreans have traded away whatever little compassion and concern they had for each other for wealth at all costs. It is a vicious cycle, most people will think that no one has shown me any compassion or concern, so why should I show that to others. This is also the reason why foreigners can so easily replace SGreans in every sphere of life. Changing the government will not help, the mentality of the whole society needs to change first.

Changing the government will not help, the mentality of the whole society needs to change first.

We are products of the PAP system. Changing the government is a first start to turn us back to true human beings, instead of the greedy zombies that we are now.

boring

There are many volunteer groups in the West and those that do the best job are the NGOs who have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH ANY GOVERNMENT OR COUNCIL.

The NGOs come about because society actually cares. They may spend a portion of their time lobbying for government support but their primary role is looking after the less fortunate.

The PAP does not care because Singapore society as a whole does not care. A government is merely a reflection of the people.

You twist! Should be people the reflection of the garment.

上梁不正下梁歪

Don't even know this basic logic, must be too much dildos in ur ass

Read the ST article again. You and you kampong story totally miss the point. The goverment promised and stated very clearly that no one would be left behind. So PM Lee and his team have failed this family, big time.

She wasn't left behind. She had a flat to live in. She had more than enough to eat. She had money for a pram. The problem with her is she left her brain behind.

It is easy to be an armchair critic, humans have all sort of faults, whatever the cause of her problems, we may never know. Take it that, mistakes have been made but were there adequate help for people like her?. She may have seek them, she have been offered help, it maybe not enough or even she may have declined them..so many, "maybes". So before firing off "salvo"...think..

You might as well start that, it all began , when she started opening up her legs...& may have used that to think, than her brain..MAYBE!:p

It is easy to be an armchair critic, humans have all sort of faults, whatever the cause of her problems, we may never know.

Yes humans have faults and you can't blame a government for the failures of each and every individual. Had she ensured that a condom was used or she'd used the morning after pill, she wouldn't have ended up in this sort of predicament.

In order to solve problems like hers, perhaps the government should legislate fucking. No fornication allowed without the consent of the home affairs minister.

Bastard LHL. May your grandchildren be albinos.

based on genetics, LHL is a carrier.
the first two children with the late Dr W. possibility ratio is >>> 1 normal : 2 carrier : 1 albino OR 25%:50%:25%
the other two with HC, assuming that HC isn't a carrier, possibility ratio is >>> 1 normal : 1 carrier OR 50%:50%

* carrier = look normal but carries the albino gene
* normal = look normal and carries normal genes
* albino = albino and carries the albino gene

watchman8

A PRC acquaintance once commented to me that SG lacks 人情味 (compassion for fellow humans or something like that) and sadly, I have to agree. It wasn't always like this but somewhere along the path of development, SGreans have traded away whatever little compassion and concern they had for each other for wealth at all costs. It is a vicious cycle, most people will think that no one has shown me any compassion or concern, so why should I show that to others. This is also the reason why foreigners can so easily replace SGreans in every sphere of life. Changing the government will not help, the mentality of the whole society needs to change first.
Yeah, trust a prc to know what is 人情味:rolleyes:
Cultural revolution, labour camps, poisonous milk powder etc.

rodent2005

Before blaming the PAP for everything, why don't Singaporeans take a long hard look at themselves and explain why in an HDB block where thousands live, not a single person offered any form of financial or emotional help to make life more bearable for Rebecca and Gabriel.

If you have read properly, the thread starter is criticising the PAP for trying to score political points from someone's misfortune.

You may justly ask: why blame the government. Well, the PAP has said with chest thumping and all that "no one will be left behind" which I take to mean that they will take care of everybody. Why has the system failed in this case?

If you have read properly, the thread starter is criticising the PAP for trying to score political points from someone's misfortune.

You may justly ask: why blame the government. Well, the PAP has said with chest thumping and all that "no one will be left behind" which I take to mean that they will take care of everybody. Why has the system failed in this case?

And I have already explained unpteen times that she wasn't left behind. She left her birth control pills behind or the father of the child left his condoms behind.