• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Radiologist fined for failing to diagnose facial fracture

P

Pang De

Radiologist fined for failing to diagnose facial fracture

By Mustafa Shafawi |
Posted: 26 January 2011 1850 hrs
<table align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="260"> <tbody><tr> <td align="right" width="20"></td> <td align="right" width="240">
phpiS0ek5.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="60" valign="top"></td> <td class="update" height="80" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="138">Photos </td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="47">1 of 1</td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="19"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

Logo of Singapore Medical Council
</td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td class="update"></td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td>
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>
SINGAPORE : A radiologist who had failed to diagnose a serious facial fracture on a patient some five years ago has been fined S$3,000 by the Singapore Medical Council.

Dr Bertrand Ang Wei Leng was also censured and ordered to pay the costs of the disciplinary inquiry.

The disciplinary committee was of the view that Dr Ang's mistake was one of a fundamental nature and committed out of indifference.

It fell grossly short of the standard observed or approved by members of the profession.

The disciplinary committee concluded that Dr Ang did not do a systematic review of the X-ray image and heavily relied on the clinical notes.

By doing so, it said Dr Ang had committed a fundamental error in his duty as a radiologist.

The failure to carry out a systematic review by Dr Ang also portrayed indifference.

In meting out the punishment, the disciplinary committee said it took into account several mitigating factors including the fact that the error was made in the earlier part of Dr Ang's career for which he has expressed remorse, and that he had no previous record in his otherwise blemish-free career of 12 years.

- CNA/al

What is the difference between a radiologist and a radiographer ? Are they also known as Dr ? I thought their job is just to take X-Ray and the diagnosis of fracture is done by a orthopaedic specialist ? :confused: :confused:

radon39

What is the difference between a radiologist and a radiographer ? Are they also known as Dr ? I thought their job is just to take X-Ray and the diagnosis of fracture is done by a orthopaedic specialist ? :confused: :confused:

Radiographers operate the equipment and produce the images from the various modalities. The Radiologist reads and reports them. Radiologist is MBBS, Radiographer is not.

IMO, some radiographers, after years of experience can also read and detect variances and pathologies from radiographs.....thru years of exposure to the various cases

radon39

Radiographers operate the equipment and produce the images from the various modalities. The Radiologist reads and reports them. Radiologist is MBBS, Radiographer is not.

IMO, some radiographers, after years of experience can also read and detect variances and pathologies from radiographs.....thru years of exposure to the various cases

To add, Radiologists also branch out into interventional radiology where they do work related to different specialties like putting stents, drainage, etc.

I see the future, with image recognition, computers will be able to diagnose films thru intelligent computer software.....

To add, Radiologists also branch out into interventional radiology where they do work related to different specialties like putting stents, drainage, etc.

I see the future, with image recognition, computers will be able to diagnose films thru intelligent computer software.....

Are you in this field of profession ? I always got the mind that Radiographer is a very relax and cool job with decent pay, no stress, no deadlines, meetings etc..is more like operating a equipment similar to any factory operator. Few years back I enrolled for the 2 yrs accelerated Dip in radiography in Nanyang Poly but was selected for Dip in nursing instead, due to overwelming response in radiography.

radon39

Are you in this field of profession ? I always got the mind that Radiographer is a very relax and cool job with decent pay, no stress, no deadlines, meetings etc..is more like operating a equipment similar to any factory operator. Few years back I enrolled for the 2 yrs accelerated Dip in radiography in Nanyang Poly but was selected for Dip in nursing instead, due to overwelming response in radiography.

er.....not at all relaxing. WE do critical cases, operate equipment in the operating theatre and I myself do dead bodies. Rem when MM had a stent put in, we operate the equipment to give the best possible view for the cardiologists operating. Skill definitely needed and we need to know our anatomy.

What I say is good is you dun bring your work home...clinical remains in the hospital:biggrin:

er.....not at all relaxing. WE do critical cases, operate equipment in the operating theatre and I myself do dead bodies. Rem when MM had a stent put in, we operate the equipment to give the best possible view for the cardiologists operating. Skill definitely needed and we need to know our anatomy.

What I say is good is you dun bring your work home...clinical remains in the hospital:biggrin:

wow you mean only MM then you all will give best possble view ?:biggrin:
Nowadays I see lot of pinoy radiographer, hopefully your job don't kena taken all by them ...hehehe

radon39

wow you mean only MM then you all will give best possble view ?:biggrin:
Nowadays I see lot of pinoy radiographer, hopefully your job don't kena taken all by them ...hehehe

yup...helluva lot...but their skills leaves a lot to be desired..

er, that was an example u dumbfark:biggrin::biggrin: