• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Qoo10, eBay, Amazon, gumtree.......business opportunities???

lifeafter41

The friend that was retrenched recently, till date, has not managed to find a job. While he has seen sober up after losing a tidy sum in the casino.

Was telling me when his children did online purchase, he has noted quite a number of items was being shipped from Singapore, i.e., there is a presence here, in terms of the items being sold.

He did some checks and noted especially in q0010, he is now contemplating going into online business, buying and selling items, as for what products, he still figuring out.

he was asking if it is a viable business but I just gave him the blank look:confused::confused::confused:

shctaw

Success is build on the way up.

By getting retrench and down in gambling; you will not be able to succeed in anything you wish to venture.

I started online while earning a good salary. I quit when online business income double my salary.

Just sharing; because there are lot of people whom got retrenched and lost money in Casino. Maybe in ten of thousands. People whom succeed in online business are low in number.

The friend that was retrenched recently, till date, has not managed to find a job. While he has seen sober up after losing a tidy sum in the casino.

He did some checks and noted especially in q0010, he is now contemplating going into online business, buying and selling items, as for what products, he still figuring out.

he was asking if it is a viable business but I just gave him the blank look:confused::confused::confused:

Yuan Shao

Was telling me when his children did online purchase, he has noted quite a number of items was being shipped from Singapore, i.e., there is a presence here, in terms of the items being sold.

Good luck to your "friend" if he decides to venture :wink:

Sinke customers are a picky lot. Selling cheap doesn't guarantee success. Sinkie traits : Must be cheap and good :biggrin:

If your friend's business plan is to buy cheap stuffs / fake stuffs from China and sell them online and at pasar malams, surprise and disappointment awaits him. Most educated sinkies have turned to online shopping. The only type of customers he can get are the uneducated, pioneer generation and those who don't use the internet or never shop online.

eBay and Amazon is the best in terms of low prices and variety. If i get fakes from rogue vendors, i can get my money back. I use Amazon for goods over USD35 as free shipping is included.

I have shop at Qoo10 before and accumulated so many gold, silver and green mame, discount coupons, Q stamps but i hardly use them because Qoo10 lacks variety. After doing maths, eBay is still cheaper.

Sinke customers are a picky lot. Selling cheap doesn't guarantee success. Sinkie traits : Must be cheap and good :biggrin:

If your friend's business plan is to buy cheap stuffs / fake stuffs from China and sell them online and at pasar malams, surprise and disappointment awaits him. Most educated sinkies have turned to online shopping. The only type of customers he can get are the uneducated, pioneer generation and those who don't use the internet or never shop online.

eBay and Amazon is the best in terms of low prices and variety. If i get fakes from rogue vendors, i can get my money back. I use Amazon for goods over USD35 as free shipping is included.

I have shop at Qoo10 before and accumulated so many gold, silver and green mame, discount coupons, Q stamps but i hardly use them because Qoo10 lacks variety. After doing maths, eBay is still cheaper.

When you sell online, you can use the mantra of staying away from sinkies...

Most of my online customers are ang Moh and non sinkie Asians in prosperous countries.

lifeafter41

Definitely not those cheap stuff, maybe with a little premium. The thought is that for those you can find in those brick and mortar.

lifeafter41

When you sell online, you can use the mantra of staying away from sinkies...

Most of my online customers are ang Moh and non sinkie Asians in prosperous countries.

Hi tony, what products are you doing and are your presence in the Singapore?

lifeafter41

Success is build on the way up.

By getting retrench and down in gambling; you will not be able to succeed in anything you wish to venture.

I started online while earning a good salary. I quit when online business income double my salary.

Just sharing; because there are lot of people whom got retrenched and lost money in Casino. Maybe in ten of thousands. People whom succeed in online business are low in number.

While that would be ideal, it's too late in this instance. Any suggestion would be welcome.
With the limited capital he has, maybe less than 50k, what would be the products to go for.

Can recommend some good online shopping websites?
I just discover this and machiam a kid in candy store.
I go to groupon and singsale but there items are limited.....I also go to small forums for specific items like the roc forum for watches. I dun like to go to alibaba as the thot of giving biz to chinks turns me off.

LedZeppelin

Can recommend some good online shopping websites?
I just discover this and machiam a kid in candy store.
I go to groupon and singsale but there items are limited.....I also go to small forums for specific items like the roc forum for watches. I dun like to go to alibaba as the thot of giving biz to chinks turns me off.

Depends on what u are buying. Actually it is very hard to siam Chinese vendors :biggrin: and manufacturers themselves advertises at eBay and Amazon besides having their own websites. You can look out for them by their user accounts. Most of my purchases at eBay and Amazon are from Hong Kong and China vendors, and that's because they offer products with the lowest prices with free shipping. For some other products, i can only get from angmo sellers. There are many vendors selling the same product so competition is healthy and favors buyers. :biggrin:

Merchants at eBay and Amazon have reputation ratings below the nicks so do not buy from those with reputation ratings that is 95% and below otherwise it's a risk u are taking. What is important is that e-commerce sites must have reviews and read them before buying. Not the kind of reviews u see at Qoo10 that are mostly one liners and does not help much :biggrin:

I only believe people can succeed in business when they start a business not becos they cannot find a job.
The probability of him succeeding is almost nil.