• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Puteri Harbour Community

xebay11

For those who really wants to buy in JB for compelling reasons, my advice is to buy landed, preferably Freehold titled landed, not strata, at least you can manage your own maintenance and keep your house looking nice for decades, take examples from some large spacious houses in Jalan Sutera, an old estate in Taman Sentosa, but nice houses there and some have been rebuilt to 21st century update and good living, security is an issue, but if you have a large family who can stay there it may be safer, or buy retail standalone shop houses in good locations, there are some in a very promising location I am eyeing and trying to evaluate. I intend to use the rental income to pay for rental of nice brand new condo.

If you die, die want to live in condo and enjoy the facilities, stunning views and nice windy environment then please rent.

Now posting from my 17th floor pool and city view Hatten Hotel room in Malacca, with falling RM, life is good in Malaysia :smile:

Tekkun

Where there's gloom there's always opportunity.
No need to be spooked.
If already invested just ride it out and wait for opportunities. Either to take profit or to cut if really cannot tahan .

You're not alone in this. So just relax. Since you're in no need to keep piling on the bad news and outlook to increase your stress.
Johor investments typically are much slower to materialise but that doesn't mean nothing will happen.

Who knows maybe Najib will be ousted and a new coalition govt takes over and start the country back on the right path again. Projects will move and things will improve. If not then it's not much worse then now. Just enjoy what you've and don't worry yourself unnecessary.

The best time to build your portfolio is during property downturn. This is the time where to get your choice lot. Go after your dreams.

Most important is to enjoy your investments. Savour the journey of your investments be it rise or fall.
Whatever happened, you still have a piece of land or property in your name unlike stock market which is just a piece of paper.

cow138

Fully agree. Hope that some folks will take heart from the discussions in this thread and look at things in perspective.
Things will be challenging for a while . Likely both Singapore and Malaysia will not be spared.

Tekkun

Fully agree. Hope that some folks will take heart from the discussions in this thread and look at things in perspective.
Things will be challenging for a while . Likely both Singapore and Malaysia will not be spared.

Just to give you guys a perspective. I was interested in a factory 21,000 sq ft land area in Selangor. Hot area, high in demand.

Year 2005 - RM 4m
Year 2014 - RM 7m
Year 2015 - RM 6m and still dropping. Latest offer I got is RM 5.8m.

So it all depend on your risk appetite and when to go in.

xebay11

Just to give you guys a perspective. I was interested in a factory 21,000 sq ft land area in Selangor. Hot area, high in demand.

Year 2005 - RM 4m
Year 2014 - RM 7m
Year 2015 - RM 6m and still dropping. Latest offer I got is RM 5.8m.

So it all depend on your risk appetite and when to go in.

Factory not good investment, as it is not location sensitive, unlike retail, commercial and residential, in that order of investment potential.

jasonjst

For those who really wants to buy in JB for compelling reasons, my advice is to buy landed, preferably Freehold titled landed, not strata, at least you can manage your own maintenance and keep your house looking nice for decades, take examples from some large spacious houses in Jalan Sutera, an old estate in Taman Sentosa, but nice houses there and some have been rebuilt to 21st century update and good living, security is an issue, but if you have a large family who can stay there it may be safer, or buy retail standalone shop houses in good locations, there are some in a very promising location I am eyeing and trying to evaluate. I intend to use the rental income to pay for rental of nice brand new condo.

If you die, die want to live in condo and enjoy the facilities, stunning views and nice windy environment then please rent.

Now posting from my 17th floor pool and city view Hatten Hotel room in Malacca, with falling RM, life is good in Malaysia :smile:

Have being reading your " doom and gloom " posts on JB properties .... well it is hard true blah LOL !
In your earlier post , you say you where looking at Capital 21 project , but back off , despite the promising presentation that sound like a fairly tale LOL.

We "unfortunately" brought a F&B shop unit there sometime last year despite the very high risk that we are aware of. Well it only cost 10%~15% of the price compare to our SG retail mall , so we take it like a gamble lah . Very high risk because 1) location is so so only , 2) they may go burst if got no money to complete the project , 3) may become a white elephant if not enough people going there as there are so many big mall with better location coming on stream . (However most retail mall are not for sale one ) Are these the 3 reasons you back off ? Like to hear your view on this . Thank you.

xebay11

Have being reading your " doom and gloom " posts on JB properties .... well it is hard true blah LOL !
In your earlier post , you say you where looking at Capital 21 project , but back off , despite the promising presentation that sound like a fairly tale LOL.

We "unfortunately" brought a F&B shop unit there sometime last year despite the very high risk that we are aware of. Well it only cost 10%~15% of the price compare to our SG retail mall , so we take it like a gamble lah . Very high risk because 1) location is so so only , 2) they may go burst if got no money to complete the project , 3) may become a white elephant if not enough people going there as there are so many big mall with better location coming on stream . (However most retail mall are not for sale one ) Are these the 3 reasons you back off ? Like to hear your view on this . Thank you.

What level did you buy? Anyway the whole location may fail even if you have a super located shop. If you have already bought, there is not much you can do but sit it out. At least you have an F&B shop, so Hatten should be able to get a tenant for you when new. With new rules, the developer won't go bust till project completes.

When you gamble did you factor in market rental psf rates and go for worse case scenario?

Go study case history of Waterfront City, Kemayan City and Pacific Mall to get a feel of failed projects.

jasonjst

Just take my posts as a pinch of salt, I dun have to give any opinions if you think they are fairy tales.

Bro , you get me wrong . I am saying that the presentation of Capital 21 by the developer sound like faily tales , even their show room look like Alice in Wonderland .

jasonjst

What level did you buy? Anyway the whole location may fail even if you have a super located shop. If you have already bought, there is not much you can do but sit it out. At least you have an F&B shop, so Hatten should be able to get a tenant for you when new. With new rules, the developer won't go bust till project completes.

When you gamble did you factor in market rental psf rates and go for worse case scenario?

Go study case history of Waterfront City, Kemayan City and Pacific Mall to get a feel of failed projects.

Level 4, the food court level and main car park entrance. Yes factor in worse case liao ! Maybe own self operate if they can't get good rent when contract ends .
You in malaca , looking into their malaca project ? I think their malaca project might be better , unfortunately we cant operate there , too far away .

jasonjst

Level 4, the food court level and main car park entrance. You in malaca , looking into their malaca project ? I think their malaca project might be better , unfortunately we cant operate there , too far away .

xebay11

Level 4, the food court level and main car park entrance. You in malaca , looking into their malaca project ? I think their malaca project might be better , unfortunately we cant operate there , too far away .

I see, I originally wanted to buy food court level too, do you really want to hear my reasons on pulling out of Capital City?

I won't post unless you say ok.

Yes I wanted to scope out Hatten's two projects in Malacca by going to actual site, definitely no go to me location wise.

jasonjst

I see, I originally wanted to buy food court level too, do you really want to hear my reasons on pulling out of Capital City?

I won't post unless you say ok. alreadyes I wanted to scope out Hatten's two projects in Malacca by going to actual site, definitely no go to me location wise.

Surely like to know your reasons for pulling out of Capital City .
Like you say nothing much we can do . Maybe their concept work , as I notice a new trend of people shopping and eating out in malls rather than shop houses along the roadside. We already got a shophouse , we would like to diversified into shopping mall. As far as I know , they are the only mall with units for sale , not much choice .

Investor888

I guess it depends on where you invest. I have been offered zero downpayment condos elsewhere in JB but dint even bother to drop by to have a look.

Nobody is sore, because astute investors will not invest in JB, unless it is retail investment, your condo will fall into disrepair and poor maintenance soon and property price will erode, open your eyes and see. I bypassed investing in JB after going through property guru and saw so many nice condos for rent under RM 3k and all not rented out, I can pick and choose the best and newest and after a while when maintenence starts to deteriorate, I will just pack and move to the next one, so why should anyone envy you?

Investor888

My RM 5 million condo in Singapore has no view and break in occurs in 2012 ( I get to read this in Straits Times when the chap was charged in court )

Gym equipment is worn out and I have never entered the gym for 3 years as the equipment inside is old and they never replace it.

I am not sure about your condo but perhaps due to inconsiderate neighbours ( not sure where they are from could be from PxC ) my lift floor is often wet and smell with urines. Dog Urines. The CCTV failed to capture the culprits daily

Not saying that PH condos are better but my point is Singapore condos are not that better off.

My 1.4 million dollar SG condo is 15 years old, auto lighting outside broken, gym equipment broken, buzzer at gate broken, leaks when it rains in 2 bedrooms, paint peeling, floor cracked, mid Island nothing special, no maintenance, people don't want to invest in their complex, I don't get it, "we are waiting for a quote...." Is all I hear. I will take my chance in Puteri Harbour as an investment and place to live long term. 1/5 the the price, 30% bigger, 40th floor, sea view, next to marina and Government buildings, foreign ownership who I assume will want to keep buildings maintained. I can buy a car tax free with no COE, join a gold club at the fraction of the cost, and enjoy a lower cost of living. PH is not JB city, nor is it Singapore I admit, which is fine with me, I do not have 5 mill to buy something similar in SG and attain the same lifestyle, nor would I want to spend as much or more on an HDB.

xebay11

My RM 5 million condo in Singapore has no view and break in occurs in 2012 ( I get to read this in Straits Times when the chap was charged in court )

Gym equipment is worn out and I have never entered the gym for 3 years as the equipment inside is old and they never replace it.

I am not sure about your condo but perhaps due to inconsiderate neighbours ( not sure where they are from could be from PxC ) my lift floor is often wet and smell with urines. Dog Urines. The CCTV failed to capture the culprits daily

Not saying that PH condos are better but my point is Singapore condos are not that better off.

Exactly, that is what I am trying to say, even in Singapore, condos can be quite bad maintenance after five years, so imagine what JB one is like, then why waste money to buy one and suffer heartache? If you really must own JB property due to low price, get free hold landed, at least you can control the maintenance. I am also well exposed to Orchard Road luxury condo segment, maintenance issues also struggling to keep up and even the ultra rich owners default on maintenance fees, so imagine how many owners will default in JB?

Rental for condo in JB for the best and newest condos are so cheap.

Tekkun

Exactly, that is what I am trying to say, even in Singapore, condos can be quite bad maintenance after five years, so imagine what JB one is like, then why waste money to buy one and suffer heartache? If you really must own JB property due to low price, get free hold landed, at least you can control the maintenance. I am also well exposed to Orchard Road luxury condo segment, maintenance issues also struggling to keep up and even the ultra rich owners default on maintenance fees, so imagine how many owners will default in JB?

Rental for condo in JB for the best and newest condos are so cheap.

Do you know why I am a industrial property man? No maintenance fees, no dependence on mall success, no worries about no crowd.
Industrial tenants are long term and seldom default on rentals. Since 2005, I have only 4 tenants for 3 units (1 corner light industrial lot, 2 SemiD)

You just make sure the location is right and don't simply plonk on some wierd palm oil estate with no access roads. Choose your tenants carefully. Anyway, I am enjoying my rentals every month, only that I do not see it. They bank in straight into my wife's account. No headache about small repairs like broken doors or some leakages. Industrial tenants repair them themselves unless it runs into thousands.

xebay11

Surely like to know your reasons for pulling out of Capital City .
Like you say nothing much we can do . Maybe their concept work , as I notice a new trend of people shopping and eating out in malls rather than shop houses along the roadside. We already got a shophouse , we would like to diversified into shopping mall. As far as I know , they are the only mall with units for sale , not much choice .

Ok, I pulled out of fourth floor selection because of the theme, it was African / Turkish / Middle East, JB Chinese are very Cheena, they may not like the theme, the unit I chose initially was facing the food court and the food court was Halal, and unlike Singapore, food court do not seem to thrive in JB, maybe because the food courts are Halal ones, so crowd may not be there, or may turn out to be very Malay crowd. The plus point was Cinema was on the fourth floor.

Later, I chose a unit on the third floor, this one the theme more suitable for Chinese Malaysian, Japan, Taiwan, Korea theme. Also the unit I selected was food capable and I was banking on the tenant selling Taiwanese Xiao Che.

Next was the background and history of Hatten, I was always asking, who the heck were they? They do not have any presence in Singapore and yet they were Singapore developers. So I did some CSI and found out that they were actually Wing Fong group. Ok so now, this group developed Water Front City in JB, and later project abandoned, there were some Singapore owners left holding the baby, they could not get back their booking fees, it seems all the lawyers involved in the deal were connected to the developer, so they could not do squat.

So if this was the case, what good is the contract for four years rental guarantee from Hatten? So alarm bells ringing I decided to pull out. Next thing was location, although investing in mall shops in JB or even Malaysia is very tricky, I noticed a trend, that the more chance a mall has to succeed is how close to the residential area it is located. This is true internationally, Singapore, Australia, America etc, AEON in JB seems to have a formula, except for the Permas Jaya location, all their locations seem to be located near higher end neighborhoods which have golf courses. Tampoi is nada for any up market residential surroundings and now seems to be smack in the industrial estate. Granted the leases have run out and the area will be renewed, but will take time, how long? No one knows, and present state because of the leases running out, the whole area is surrounded by rotting and decaying factories.

Now comes to the financial strength of Hatten, they are involved in so many mega projects at the same time, two huge ones in Malacca, they have visions to build an MBS development in mainland sans Casino and aa Sentosa island resort type development on Palau Malacca both locations are far from the heritage center and in a corner of Malacca, this is also danger sign for commercial property for business. So if they fail, they will fail big time and may even collapse.

So there you have some of my views.