• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Property News

FHBH12

How much is it? Around RM650K? I think Austin Duta will be a better choice.

From the article below, it could be around $620k RM before discounts for the smallest units of 1,710 sqft. After discounts my guess is about $580k RM. Actually it is pretty expensive for the size and location.

Camwood@Taman Pelangi Indah will comprise 83 units of double-storey link homes in a gated and guarded community, and priced from RM620,000 to RM1.86mil each

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nati...imity-to-Pengerang-expected-to-further-boost/

Relaxman

From the article below, it could be around $620k RM before discounts for the smallest units of 1,710 sqft. After discounts my guess is about $580k RM. Actually it is pretty expensive for the size and location.

Camwood@Taman Pelangi Indah will comprise 83 units of double-storey link homes in a gated and guarded community, and priced from RM620,000 to RM1.86mil each

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nati...imity-to-Pengerang-expected-to-further-boost/

The price is similar to BDO N15 20x70 size. Than obvious choice is BDO due to its location.

Relaxman

What is the launch and discounted price of BDO N15?

The launch price is as below and after discount (10%), the 20x70 unit will be around RM580K too.
bdo p15.jpg

enjoylife77

Received email & call from Propertyguru.com.sg that they are having a Malaysia property show at Rendezvous Hotel on 12 & 13 Sep with speaker from the industry. Anyone going ?

sgcount

20 odd years ago, 5-rm AMK HDB was selling at around S$170K, now it's selling abt 650-680K. Big capital appreciation!
20 yrs ago, assuming M'sia house was bought for RM250K (exchange rate S$1 to RM1.70 = S$147K)
Now sold at RM600K (exchange rate S$1 to RM3 = S$200K). Not much profit made.
If exchange rate had remain the same, the profit would be slightly better, but still lose out to S'pore property.
But if leave the proceeds of RM600K to earn M'sian FD interest at 3.45%, is it a good decision?
Is FD interest earned in M'sia free from tax?
But will the ringgit go down further? then it will wipe out all the interest earned!

Well analysed. Short and to the point.

sgcount

The exchange rate was 1.5-1.6 in 1991-1992, fluctuated around that till 1.8 up to 1996-7, then went over 2 to hit 2.3 in 1998-2003 (the capital control years). 2004-2010 rangebound 2.2-2.4.. then drop gradually to hit 2.5 in 2013...That is my recollection, i tried scouring the net to confirm it but can't find data prior to 1997.

Furthermore, the interbank rate (BNM) in the 90's was at 8% and peaked at 10-11% in 1998 (crisis year), so I can imagine the mortgage loan for a 1995 property in malaysia was attracting 10-12% mortgage interest (as opposed to today where the IBR is around 3.xx % and the mortghage is around 4.5%).

Ok thanks.

sgcount

About half the increase in HDB prices could be attributed to high GDP growth in the 1990s. About another half could be attributed to high population growth coupled with reduction in BTOs in the 2000s.

Yes, I can identify with the high population growth and lack of BTOs in 2007 to 2011. A few of my friends were stuck without any BTO flats. Any balloting of remaining flats were all unsuccessful. There was a huge jump in the prices of resale flats. Many new buyers felt frustrated and wondered why the SG government didn't wish to build more BTO flats. Now I know....

They likely wanted to artificially inflate the prices while letting in many new citizens, some of whom are rich and wouldn't mind paying a premium for public flats. A lot of the resale flats sold today are already marked up in price higher than they should be. When buyers take HDB loans, they are in effect paying money from their CPF back to the government. That's one cunning way the government could take money from citizens through this "back door" method that is not so obvious. It was only after GE2011 that they realised many citizens were angry with them and this method wouldn't work any more that they decided to quickly build tons of new BTO flats at one go.

I must say the PAP is Number 1 when it comes to making money, even from the commoners! You got to give it to them.

By the way, anyone got any news or info on how the rental market for condos is right now in Iskandar area?

potter

http://property.sinchew.com.my/node/3207?tid=6

發展商轉向可負擔房產

隨著房產價格上揚,發展商響應政府的號召,先後推出“可負擔房屋”計劃,在他們推出的房產計劃中,開始對“可負擔房屋”重新訂位,為何這麼說?在我們的認知,“可負擔房屋”應該是價格在30萬至40萬令吉的房屋。

可是,一些發展商最近在策略性地點推出的房產計劃,價格普遍從65萬令吉起跳,在有關產業計劃中,65萬令吉、70萬令吉或75萬令吉,被視為“可負擔房屋”,因為同一個地區的房產,還有價格更昂貴的單位。

這些房產單位的售價,何以如此價位還被歸為“可負擔房產”?另外,訂價如此偏高,是否也好賣?假如是,相信與它靠近公共設施,例如捷運站、輕快鐵站、購物商場、學院有很大關係,否則,不應該是這樣的訂價,要不將面臨滯銷問題。
- See more at: http://property.sinchew.com.my/node/3207?tid=6#sthash.1cbyNrNP.dpuf

FHBH12

Peter Lim-linked firm to develop healthcare city in Iskandar

The Vantage Bay project, originally a mixed-used lifestyle township, will be reconceptualised to a healthcare city comprising a medical hub, a healthcare education hub and a wellness hub, Rowsley says.

POSTED: 22 Sep 2015 17:52

SINGAPORE: A firm controlled by Singapore billionaire Peter Lim has dropped plans to build a township in Iskandar Malaysia and will instead develop a healthcare city besides the upcoming Thomson Iskandar medical hub.

Rowsley, a Singapore-listed real estate company, announced on Tuesday (Sep 22) that it has received “favourable response” from the Johor Head of State to reconceptualise Vantage Bay from a mixed-used lifestyle township to a healthcare city comprising a medical hub, a healthcare educational hub and a wellness hub.

“This rezoning is in line with the State Government’s vision to transform Johor into an international medical destination,” Rowsley said in a statement.

The Vantage Bay site is located near the Johor end of the Causeway that links Singapore to Malaysia. The site is next to the Thomson Medical Hub in Johor Bahru that is being developed by another firm linked to Mr Lim.

Rowsley said its decision to covert Vantage Bay from a township to a healthcare city was partly due to the large number of residential apartments being built in Iskandar.

The strong growth prospects for the health and wellness sector, as well as the increasing demand for more affordable and sophisticated healthcare facilities and services in Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia, were also factors behind its decision.

Rowsley said the healthcare city will house a specialist hospital, a community hospital, long-term care facilities, a teaching hospital, a medical school, research and training institutions, an urban wellness resort, wellness retail services and other associated facilities.

The gross development value of the healthcare city is expected to be RM5 billion (S$1.65 billion), it said, adding that it intends to fund the investment through a mix of internal funding and bank financing.

- CNA/dl

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/peter-lim-linked-firm-to/2143260.html

freedom

Ok thanks.

Just heard a Johor property advert on Sg Class 95 radio on way to work advertising for semiD in Johor at prices starting from S$800k! Which is RM2.4million! At a new development but I did not manage to catch the name of the development, anyway, sure to hear rpt adverts later....made me happy that prices seems to be on uptrend....JB likely to capitalise on Sgpn desire to own a piece of landed property which is so expensive in landscarce Sgp...

I bought my resale Austin Height semi D at RM950k with good surrounding amenities...if savvy sgpn know how to look around, hopefully my resale value and demand will go up too...

Heard from my colleague who bought Bestari Height for own stay that rental demand there is very low or in his words practically non-existent just as I guessed as pple would not want to stay where there r many empty units that is why I bought where they are many Malaysians staying....he also said that Austin Height is beautiful which I think so too, very envious of my neighbours beautiful gardens...when we stay there , if we do, for long term, must do up my gardens....I think it also helps if we wanna sell the house but hubby begs to differ..

RedsYNWA

Just heard a Johor property advert on Sg Class 95 radio on way to work advertising for semiD in Johor at prices starting from S$800k! Which is RM2.4million! At a new development but I did not manage to catch the name of the development, anyway, sure to hear rpt adverts later....made me happy that prices seems to be on uptrend....JB likely to capitalise on Sgpn desire to own a piece of landed property which is so expensive in landscarce Sgp...

I bought my resale Austin Height semi D at RM950k with good surrounding amenities...if savvy sgpn know how to look around, hopefully my resale value and demand will go up too...

Heard from my colleague who bought Bestari Height for own stay that rental demand there is very low or in his words practically non-existent just as I guessed as pple would not want to stay where there r many empty units that is why I bought where they are many Malaysians staying....he also said that Austin Height is beautiful which I think so too, very envious of my neighbours beautiful gardens...when we stay there , if we do, for long term, must do up my gardens....I think it also helps if we wanna sell the house but hubby begs to differ..

I thought your Austin Heights is currently being rented out?