• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Problems that the million-dollar ministers are not solving

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Give some respite from North-South Corridor works on weekend nights​

June 1, 2023

Construction on the North-South Corridor continues to be a nuisance that residents in the Novena area, like me, have had to endure (North-South Corridor: 3 key gripes from residents and how LTA is dealing with them, Jan 25).
The official statements from the Land Transport Authority do not reflect the reality of what is happening on the ground as many times, heavy construction work goes on through the night on weekdays as well as weekends.
The only respite we look forward to is the weekend nights when, by law, no construction activity is permitted from 10pm on Saturday until 7am on Monday morning.
I wish to draw attention to a specific construction site along Thomson Road beside Goldhill Shopping Centre which has flouted this requirement consistently every weekend.
We have lodged repeated complaints with the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and National Environment Agency (NEA), all to no avail. All we get is a generic response that they will monitor the situation, with no enforcement action taken.
What enforcement measures will LTA and NEA take to ensure that residents can at least be given two peaceful nights of sleep over the weekend and not have to suffer incessant construction noise disturbance?

Daniel Tan Yang Sheng (Dr)

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Sad to see rise in number of KTV lounges and pubs in Joo Chiat​

June 6, 2023

I refer to the commentary “A revitalised and gentrified Joo Chiat must not forget its roots” (June 4).
I have lived in Joo Chiat for more than 17 years. I agree with the writer on not forgetting Joo Chiat’s roots.
But he seems to suggest that the fear in the mid-2000s of Joo Chiat “turning into an unofficial red-light district and descending into squalor” is a thing of the past. Nothing could be further from the truth.
Recently, I have seen an increase in the number of KTV lounges bars and pubs operating along Joo Chiat Road. These establishments are anything but family-oriented entertainment venues.
While Joo Chiat has had its fair share of sleaze in the past, the area is now a mainly residential area undergoing gentrification, with a focus on family and heritage.
In fact, the National Heritage Board designated Joo Chiat as Singapore’s first Heritage Town in 2011. Ask any expat or tourist what they know about Joo Chiat, and they would probably say it is the heart of the Peranakans in Singapore.
It is sad to see Joo Chiat, again, in danger of turning into another Geylang. I grew up in the area and saw how it became less family-friendly over the years.

Last Sunday, I counted 11 KTV bars, lounges and pubs along the stretch of Joo Chiat Road, bounded by Joo Chiat Place and Koon Seng Road.
I wonder what the urban development plans for Joo Chiat are, and how these entertainment establishments fit in this Heritage Town.

Lim Wei Siong

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Spare a thought for the elderly on tray return rule​

June 6, 2023

I read with dismay that an 80-year-old man was one of the first people issued with a warning ticket for not returning his tray after a meal at a hawker centre (At least one written warning issued on first day of stricter enforcement to return trays, June 2).
By inference, when caught the next time, he will be fined.
The National Environment Agency (NEA) has said that “those able to bring the trays and food to the table on their own should likewise be able to return their trays and used crockery”.
What NEA failed to consider is that the elderly would usually sit nearest to the stall they patronise because of their difficulty in balancing a laden tray.
In fact, I have also often seen stallholders take food orders to elderly customers.
Instead of punishing seniors who may have difficulty making their way to a tray return station that could be several metres away, we should take their physical condition into consideration and help them.
Isn’t this the inclusive, kind society we want to encourage?

Margaret Chong

Forum: Spare a thought for the elderly on tray return rule​

June 6, 2023

I read with dismay that an 80-year-old man was one of the first people issued with a warning ticket for not returning his tray after a meal at a hawker centre (At least one written warning issued on first day of stricter enforcement to return trays, June 2).
By inference, when caught the next time, he will be fined.
The National Environment Agency (NEA) has said that “those able to bring the trays and food to the table on their own should likewise be able to return their trays and used crockery”.
What NEA failed to consider is that the elderly would usually sit nearest to the stall they patronise because of their difficulty in balancing a laden tray.
In fact, I have also often seen stallholders take food orders to elderly customers.
Instead of punishing seniors who may have difficulty making their way to a tray return station that could be several metres away, we should take their physical condition into consideration and help them.
Isn’t this the inclusive, kind society we want to encourage?

Margaret Chong

Silly woman Margaret Chong:

1) The source of the problem (PAP technocrats) cannot also be its solution.

2) 'Inclusive', 'kind' are just words they throw out to virtue signal about what a wonderful job they are doing running this island, in the non-financial aspect.

mudhatter

a dot sized peesai
also c an't be managed well by those bodohs

bodoh kambing gila these siao chink slanty morons wuhan virus carriers

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Cyclists pose danger to pedestrians on Orchard Road​

st-forum-thumbnail.jpg

June 7, 2023

I refer to the news report “Probation for teen whose speeding PMD hit jogger, injuring him” (June 1).
The report does not capture fully the dangers posed by an increased use of bicycles on crowded footpaths, especially along Orchard Road.
On any day, and in particular on weekends, cyclists can be seen weaving around pedestrians, and sometimes stopping suddenly to avoid collisions.
It is more hazardous on narrower paths around Tangs, Isetan Scotts and Lucky Plaza. These cyclists also do not dismount when using the congested pedestrian crossing between Paragon and Ngee Ann City.
A check on the Land Transport Authority website reveals some rudimentary rules and conduct about cycling, scooting and riding considerately in shared spaces, and a hyperlink to the Active Mobility Act.
It would appear that all paths are shared spaces. The maximum speed limit for a bicycle on footpaths is 10kmh. Imagine a bicycle travelling at that speed colliding with a child or an elderly person in front of Lucky Plaza. Public safety considerations should take precedence over convenience to cyclists.
LTA should consider explaining the rules more clearly on its website, with the Singapore Tourism Board also advising tourists of cycling rules in Singapore. LTA should also designate certain spaces to be pedestrian-only.

Tan Kah Heng

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Enforcement action taken against errant riders in Orchard area​

JUN 12, 2023

We refer to Mr Tan Kah Heng’s letter, “Cyclists pose danger to pedestrians on Orchard Road” (June 7).
We agree with Mr Tan that public safety is paramount. We have established rules on safe riding practices, including speed limits. Cyclists are required to slow down, stop and look out before riding across the road. They are also encouraged to dismount and push their devices in crowded areas.
The Code of Conduct for Users on Public Paths, published on the Land Transport Authority’s (LTA) website, emphasises that device users should give way to pedestrians.
Safe riding practices and gracious path sharing behaviour are highlighted and reinforced in our public education campaigns, and through our “Confidence on Wheels” safe riding programme.
We also work with the Singapore Tourism Board to educate tourists on the rules and guidelines for riding in Singapore.
LTA takes a serious view of those who disregard rules and endanger others. We conduct regular enforcement operations, and Orchard Road is one of the areas we patrol regularly.
Action has been and will continue to be taken against errant riders, including those in Orchard Road.

In land-scarce Singapore, we will not be able to provide dedicated spaces for every path user. In some areas, cyclists and pedestrians will inevitably need to share the same path.
Our public paths are shared spaces, and we urge everyone to play their part to look out for one another to ensure safety for themselves and others.

Chan Boon Fui
Group Director, Active Mobility Group
Land Transport Authority

Enforce cyclists’ code of conduct​

June 16, 2023

Cyclists are advised to dismount and walk with their bicycles in crowded areas, according to the Code of Conduct for Users on Public Paths (Enforcement action taken against errant riders in Orchard area, June 12).

This is not a good enough deterrence, as there is inadequate enforcement action against inconsiderate cyclists.

There must be a better way to make sure cyclists stick to the code of conduct.

Wong Ai Ling

LITTLEREDDOT

Cyclist crashes into mum, toddler at East Coast Park, and now, he’s not contactable​

wgt-alaccident-280623_1.jpg

What was a leisurely stroll on a path used by both cyclists and pedestrians ended terribly when a fast-moving bicycle crashed into them. PHOTOS: ANDREW FOO, SG PCN CYCLIST/FACEBOOK
Amanda%20Lee_0.png

Amanda Lee
Correspondent

June 28, 2023

SINGAPORE - After finishing lunch at East Coast Lagoon Food Village on Sunday, Ms Jodi Lai and her family made their way home, walking towards the Singapore Wake Park.
But what was a leisurely stroll on a path used by both cyclists and pedestrians ended terribly when a fast-moving bicycle crashed into them.
Ms Lai, 36, recalled that she was walking in front of her four-year-old son, with her 36-year-old husband, Mr Andrew Foo, and two-year-old daughter trailing behind them at East Coast Park.
“There is only one lane, where the paths for bicycles and pedestrians merge. We were careful, keeping to the left... My kids were not running about,” Ms Lai, a school counsellor, told The Straits Times on Wednesday.
Turning to her son to take a cup off his hand, she saw the oncoming cyclist.
“He was so fast... he was looking at the side of his bicycle, and by the time he looked up, it was too late. I couldn’t even grab my girl in time to avoid the collision,” said Ms Lai of the accident that left her and her daughter injured.
Ms Lai fell and hit her head and tailbone; her daughter fell forward, hurting her face, arms and legs.

Mr Foo and his son were unscathed.
In a Facebook post about the accident on Tuesday night, Mr Foo said the cyclist was a male Caucasian with blond hair, 1.75m to 1.80m in height, who said he was British and that his name was George.
“The (cyclist) apologised profusely and said that the injuries wouldn’t be too serious. I requested his contact number and told him he needed to be responsible for the matter,” wrote Mr Foo in the post, sharing the contact numbers the man gave him.

“He gave me two numbers... I trusted him (which was a mistake) as my focus back then was to quickly rush my family to hospital for medical attention,” said Mr Foo, a product manager, adding that he was unable to contact the cyclist after the accident.
ST also attempted to contact the cyclist but without success.
Ms Lai told ST that the man who crashed into them was with another cyclist riding ahead of him, but she did not ask this second cyclist for his contact details.
“The friend was pretty much observing what was happening, he didn’t do anything for us,” said Ms Lai.
After the accident, the family returned to their home in Siglap, and Mr Foo drove them to Parkway East Hospital for medical attention.

Ms Lai, who was admitted to the hospital for a night, was given 10 days of hospitalisation leave.
“My tailbone hurts... I cannot bend down, wear my pants properly, carry my child or sit properly,” Ms Lai told ST.
Her daughter was discharged after being admitted for two nights and headed back to nursery on Wednesday.
“My daughter is okay to go back to school, but we have to look out for any behaviour out of the ordinary – such as prolonged sleeping and vomiting – and keep her wounds clean and dry,” said Ms Lai.
She added that she thought about keeping her daughter at home but decided to let her go to nursery, to help her move on from the accident.
“I want her to socialise and get over the incident, because she is a bit traumatised. I want her to be out there, so she can distract herself.”
Mr Foo said in the Facebook post that he had reported the incident to the police and was appealing for eyewitnesses.
The police confirmed that a report was lodged and investigations are ongoing.
ST has also contacted the National Parks Board about the accident.

356229978_10160793548204304_8340040040656645040_n.jpg

Quote Reply
Edit

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Time to do more to rein in reckless cyclists​

JL120copy.jpg

After finishing lunch at East Coast Lagoon Food Village on Sunday, Ms Jodi Lai and her family made their way home, walking first towards the Singapore Wake Park. But what was a leisurely stroll on a path used by both cyclists and pedestrians ended terribly when a fast-moving bicycle crashed on them photo: Jodi Lai/Facebook

July 3, 2023

I refer to the article “Mum and toddler hurt after cyclist crashes into them at East Coast Park” (June 29). I have written about reckless cyclists and the near-collisions I witnessed there (Accident waiting to happen at East Coast Park, Feb 24, 2021).
The recent accident at East Coast Park is probably only the tip of the iceberg, with countless other incidents going unreported.
The family’s description of what happened is consistent with what I have observed of similar incidents, where some cyclists insist on treating shared paths as their own little race track.
The recent accident has highlighted two issues.
First, there is a lack of accountability on the part of the cyclist. Due to difficulties in licensing and registering bicycles, cyclists are able to get away with bad behaviour and dangerous actions without facing any consequences.
This incident is akin to a hit-and-run accident. In this case, the cyclist hurt two people and gave the family two phone numbers, but is uncontactable.
I would suggest to anyone involved in such incidents to establish the cyclist’s identity against his identity documents, or to at least take photos of the cyclist and bicycle to aid police investigations. This is what motorists would do in a traffic accident.

The second issue is safety. I would suggest that bicycle speed-limit signs be displayed prominently in areas where cyclists share the path with pedestrians. Cycling is allowed on footpaths up to a maximum speed of 10kmh. Although it is hard to gauge a cyclist’s speed, such signs would at least serve as a reference point for pedestrians to confront cyclists who appear to be riding too fast.
I have also often seen cyclists on the road going way too fast for their own good, darting recklessly in between vehicles. Bicycles are smaller, vulnerable and often not so easily visible to motorists, so cyclists’ speed limits should be lowered to safeguard themselves and motorists.
The current measures in place regulating cyclists seem grossly inadequate. It is high time the authorities took more definitive measures.
Kevin Sng

LITTLEREDDOT

MOH to work on improving accessibility to polyclinic appointments: Janil​

IMG3997_0.JPG

Senior Minister of State for Health Janil Puthucheary emphasised that there has to be a balance between online bookings and walk-in slots. PHOTO: ST FILE
Lee Li Ying

July 4, 2023

SINGAPORE - The Ministry of Health (MOH) will work on optimising polyclinic appointment bookings for those doing so online and walking in, to address the difficulties faced by less technologically savvy seniors in making online bookings.
This comes after MPs again raised these concerns in Parliament, after doing so in May.
On Tuesday, Mr Liang Eng Hwa (Bukit Panjang) said seniors had given feedback that it was “almost impossible” to make an online booking, while Associate Professor Jamus Lim (Sengkang GRC) said residents in his ward had “significant difficulties” with online appointments.
Dr Tan Wu Meng (Jurong GRC) also filed parliamentary questions on what safeguards exist to ensure access for seniors aged 65 years and above who cannot go online to book appointments or find that such slots are fully booked.
In laying out the reasons for the issue, Senior Minister of State for Health Janil Puthucheary said that the healthcare system is facing increasing demand as people age, while the completion of new polyclinics had been delayed because of the pandemic.
As a result, some polyclinics have greater demand and appointments are less easily available, said Dr Janil.

Pending the development of new polyclinics, short term measures have been put in place, he added.

“The polyclinics will set aside some slots for walk-in patients with urgent medical needs, as well as for elderly patients, particularly those who are frail and have mobility issues. To do so, non-urgent cases may be given an appointment for another day or advised to seek treatment at a nearby Community Health Assist Scheme (CHAS) GP clinic,” Dr Janil said.
“Polyclinics will also try to leverage telemedicine as much as possible, and contract private GPs to help deliver the service.”
Ms He Ting Ru (Sengkang GRC) asked whether it was possible to release polyclinic next-day appointment slots in a few fixed tranches rather than a single release at 10pm.

Responding to Ms He, Dr Janil said that some polyclinics already adopt such a practice. “However, this does not solve the issue of capacity constraint and in fact may frustrate patients more if they are repeatedly unable to book appointments,” he said.
Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh raised the possibility of increasing the number of walk-in slots at polyclinics.
In response, Dr Janil said that while that was possible, it does not address the heart of the issue, which is the overall capacity available at the polyclinic. He acknowledged that there was frustration with the online system for seniors, but others are able to use it.
“As a result, the availability of the resources and the capacity for the services at the polyclinic are better matched to those patients. It means that clinical notes are available ahead of time, preparations can be made for investigations and tests.”
He emphasised that there has to be a balance between online bookings and walk-in slots.
“If we went to a fully walk-in system, that would have an implication on the ability for the care teams to deliver the service that they are used to delivering. If we went to a fully online system, indeed, the frustrations that members in this house have highlighted will become worse.”

Dr Janil added that the best way to determine the balance is left to the operational teams running the polyclinic to account for their capacity, the services they deliver, and the demographics of the population, which can vary over time.
“We’ll continue to work together with cluster management and operational teams that run the polyclinics to see how we can optimise the correct balance of online appointments, appointments made at an earlier time, same-day appointments and walk-ins,” said Dr Janil.
In response to requests for information from two MPs, Dr Janil said MOH did not have the data sought.
Dr Tan had asked for monthly data showing how fast online booking slots are fully reserved, and how many patients logged into the polyclinic online appointment booking system the night before a consultation date but did not proceed to book one.
Mr Singh had asked for the percentage of walk-in slots set aside and the number of complaints from those unable to book appointments online, but Dr Janil said such data was not available.
To Prof Lim’s query if more of those who are booking online could be channelled to telemedicine options, Dr Janil responded that MOH is exploring that option.
However, he noted that professional teams would need to make the call on which patients would require an in-person appointment and which can be seen online.
“I think that’s something for a clinical judgement rather than a policy position, but we would support the teams so that we can optimise the use of telemedicine and make sure that we improve the capacity available at the polyclinics,” added Dr Janil.
Dr Tan suggested having a hotline that residents could call in for bookings, and Dr Janil said MOH will continue to explore such suggestions so that services available at polyclinics are more accessible and user friendly.
Dr Yip Hon Weng (Yio Chu Kang SMC) raised the possibility of training active ageing centre staff to help seniors book polyclinic appointments. In reply, Dr Janil said MOH will be happy to explore how it can leverage on resources to be able to help people have better access and utilisation of services.

sbfuncle

MOH to work on improving accessibility to polyclinic appointments: Janil​

IMG3997_0.JPG

Senior Minister of State for Health Janil Puthucheary emphasised that there has to be a balance between online bookings and walk-in slots. PHOTO: ST FILE
Lee Li Ying

July 4, 2023

SINGAPORE - The Ministry of Health (MOH) will work on optimising polyclinic appointment bookings for those doing so online and walking in, to address the difficulties faced by less technologically savvy seniors in making online bookings.
This comes after MPs again raised these concerns in Parliament, after doing so in May.
On Tuesday, Mr Liang Eng Hwa (Bukit Panjang) said seniors had given feedback that it was “almost impossible” to make an online booking, while Associate Professor Jamus Lim (Sengkang GRC) said residents in his ward had “significant difficulties” with online appointments.
Dr Tan Wu Meng (Jurong GRC) also filed parliamentary questions on what safeguards exist to ensure access for seniors aged 65 years and above who cannot go online to book appointments or find that such slots are fully booked.
In laying out the reasons for the issue, Senior Minister of State for Health Janil Puthucheary said that the healthcare system is facing increasing demand as people age, while the completion of new polyclinics had been delayed because of the pandemic.
As a result, some polyclinics have greater demand and appointments are less easily available, said Dr Janil.

Pending the development of new polyclinics, short term measures have been put in place, he added.

“The polyclinics will set aside some slots for walk-in patients with urgent medical needs, as well as for elderly patients, particularly those who are frail and have mobility issues. To do so, non-urgent cases may be given an appointment for another day or advised to seek treatment at a nearby Community Health Assist Scheme (CHAS) GP clinic,” Dr Janil said.
“Polyclinics will also try to leverage telemedicine as much as possible, and contract private GPs to help deliver the service.”
Ms He Ting Ru (Sengkang GRC) asked whether it was possible to release polyclinic next-day appointment slots in a few fixed tranches rather than a single release at 10pm.

Responding to Ms He, Dr Janil said that some polyclinics already adopt such a practice. “However, this does not solve the issue of capacity constraint and in fact may frustrate patients more if they are repeatedly unable to book appointments,” he said.
Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh raised the possibility of increasing the number of walk-in slots at polyclinics.
In response, Dr Janil said that while that was possible, it does not address the heart of the issue, which is the overall capacity available at the polyclinic. He acknowledged that there was frustration with the online system for seniors, but others are able to use it.
“As a result, the availability of the resources and the capacity for the services at the polyclinic are better matched to those patients. It means that clinical notes are available ahead of time, preparations can be made for investigations and tests.”
He emphasised that there has to be a balance between online bookings and walk-in slots.
“If we went to a fully walk-in system, that would have an implication on the ability for the care teams to deliver the service that they are used to delivering. If we went to a fully online system, indeed, the frustrations that members in this house have highlighted will become worse.”

Dr Janil added that the best way to determine the balance is left to the operational teams running the polyclinic to account for their capacity, the services they deliver, and the demographics of the population, which can vary over time.
“We’ll continue to work together with cluster management and operational teams that run the polyclinics to see how we can optimise the correct balance of online appointments, appointments made at an earlier time, same-day appointments and walk-ins,” said Dr Janil.
In response to requests for information from two MPs, Dr Janil said MOH did not have the data sought.
Dr Tan had asked for monthly data showing how fast online booking slots are fully reserved, and how many patients logged into the polyclinic online appointment booking system the night before a consultation date but did not proceed to book one.
Mr Singh had asked for the percentage of walk-in slots set aside and the number of complaints from those unable to book appointments online, but Dr Janil said such data was not available.
To Prof Lim’s query if more of those who are booking online could be channelled to telemedicine options, Dr Janil responded that MOH is exploring that option.
However, he noted that professional teams would need to make the call on which patients would require an in-person appointment and which can be seen online.
“I think that’s something for a clinical judgement rather than a policy position, but we would support the teams so that we can optimise the use of telemedicine and make sure that we improve the capacity available at the polyclinics,” added Dr Janil.
Dr Tan suggested having a hotline that residents could call in for bookings, and Dr Janil said MOH will continue to explore such suggestions so that services available at polyclinics are more accessible and user friendly.
Dr Yip Hon Weng (Yio Chu Kang SMC) raised the possibility of training active ageing centre staff to help seniors book polyclinic appointments. In reply, Dr Janil said MOH will be happy to explore how it can leverage on resources to be able to help people have better access and utilisation of services.
When supply cannot meet demand it will only lead to 1 thing I.e you die your business.

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Too many heavy vehicles speeding along expressways​

July 14, 2023

Once again there has been a fatal accident involving a commercial vehicle (Man dies in accident in Upper Thomson Road; lorry driver arrested for careless driving, July 7).
I often drive along the East Coast Parkway (ECP) early in the morning and also along the Ayer Rajah Expressway (AYE) during the day, and I see many lorries and huge container trucks going beyond the speed limit.
On the AYE and the West Coast Highway, I have seen them using the rightmost lane of the expressways, overtaking other vehicles at speeds above 90kmh.
The consequences of an accident involving a speeding car compared with one with a fully laden lorry or container truck are different.
The damage caused by a vehicle with a high mass travelling at a high speed would be greater, with smaller vehicles involved in the crash likely ending up with the worst damage.
On my early morning drives along the ECP, I see lorries full of workers going at top speed, as the drivers probably think there is little chance of getting caught at that time of the day.
Carrying passengers in the back of open lorries is not the safest practice, and these lorries going at 90kmh or more certainly increase the chances of a bad outcome.

For many drivers of these commercial vehicles, the speed limit shown on the back of their vehicles seems to be more of a suggestion than a rule.

Howard Wan

LITTLEREDDOT

26 errant cyclists fined for flouting rule on group size​

img6_0.jpg

The operation was conducted from June 24 till July 8, TP and LTA said in a statement on Friday. PHOTO: SINGAPORE POLICE FORCE
wallacewoon.png

Wallace Woon

July 14, 2023

SINGAPORE - A total of 26 cyclists were fined for breaching the rule on cycling group size during an enforcement operation by officers from the Traffic Police (TP) and the Land Transport Authority (LTA).
The operation was conducted from June 24 till July 8, TP and LTA said in a statement on Friday.
A fine of $150 is meted out for cyclists who flout the rule on group size, which limits cyclists to a group of 10 if riding in two rows, or five if riding in a single file.
The fine is also issued for cyclists who beat the red light, ride on expressways, or ride abreast of another cyclist along single-lane roads and bus lanes during the bus lane operational hours.
The higher fine amount, which came into effect on Jan 1, 2022, is double the previous amount of $75.
Besides issuing the fines, the officers also conducted education outreach to raise awareness on cycling rules and guidelines.
The commander of TP, Senior Assistant Commissioner Daniel Tan, said: “This enforcement operation is part of TP’s ongoing efforts to clamp down on errant cyclists. Cycling rules are put in place to ensure the safety of all cyclists and road users.”

TP said that they will continue to conduct enforcement operations against errant cyclists.
img5_0.jpg

TP said that they will continue to conduct enforcement operations against errant cyclists. PHOTO: SINGAPORE POLICE FORCE
They also advised cyclists to abide by the rules and guidelines for their own safety and the safety of other road users:
  • Obey all traffic signals and travel in the same direction as the flow of traffic.
  • Wear a helmet when cycling on roads.
  • Ride close to the far left edge of the road and allow traffic to overtake you safely.
  • Cycle in a single file on single-lane roads and on bus lanes during operational hours.
  • When riding in the dark, a front-white light and rear red light should be switched on.
  • When bicycle lanes are available, they should be used and not other parts of the road way.
  • Do not use mobile devices while cycling.
  • Do not cycle on expressways, road tunnels or selected viaducts such as the Tuas viaduct.

LITTLEREDDOT

Police appeal for information on cyclist who crashed into woman and toddler in East Coast Park​

yusacyclistcollage2007.png

The cyclist (left) is described as a male Caucasian with blond hair. The man crashed into Ms Jodi Lai and her two-year-old daughter in East Coast Park on June 25. PHOTOS: SPF, JODI LAI/FACEBOOK
sarahkoh.png

Sarah Koh

July 20, 2023

SINGAPORE - The police are looking for a man to assist with investigations into a case of committing a rash act causing hurt, after he crashed into a woman and her toddler while cycling in East Coast Park on June 25.
In a release on Thursday, the police said anyone with information can call the police hotline on 1800-255-0000, or submit information online at www.police.gov.sg/i-witness.
All information received will be kept strictly confidential.
Ms Jodi Lai told The Straits Times in June that she and her family were making their way home after eating lunch at East Coast Lagoon Food Village, when a cyclist crashed into them.
She fell and hit her head and tailbone, while her two-year-old daughter fell forward, hurting her face, arms and legs.
Her husband, Mr Andrew Foo, and her son escaped unscathed.
Ms Lai was hospitalised for a night and given 10 days of hospitalisation leave.

In a follow-up interview with ST on Thursday, the 36-year-old school counsellor said her daughter still has very visible facial scars and is still afraid of taking showers even though her wounds should no longer hurt.
She added that though her daughter is adapting well to being back in school after her facial bandage was removed, it had earlier attracted unwanted attention, which gave her an inferiority complex.
“I have taken her to see a child psychiatrist and she was crying the entire 45 minutes we were in there,” said Ms Lai.
“To determine whether she is suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder, we will have to bring her back to the park, which I am not ready to do yet. I have attempted to show her photos of the park on the day of the incident my husband posted on his Facebook, and she became progressively more scared as I scrolled through them.”
Ms Lai added that she had been getting sporadic splitting headaches since the incident, which she had never suffered from before.
“On Monday, it was so bad I even threw up,” she said.
“I’m unsure if my recent headaches have anything to do with the incident, but I am going back to my neurosurgeon for review this Saturday to be safe.”
In a Facebook post about the accident, Mr Foo said the cyclist was a male Caucasian with blond hair, 1.75m to 1.8m tall, who said he was British and gave his name as George.
Even though the cyclist gave his contact number to Mr Foo, he has been uncontactable since the incident.