• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Privilege and the Schooling story

Macroeconomics101

Mark Lin
16 aug 2016

The Schooling phenomenon is amazing – it stir up so much curry in the pot.

Truthfully, it is never about hard work alone or the capacity to dream big like what PM would have proclaimed. If he followed Meritocracy – Singapore-styled – August 13 would probably be a rather uneventful day. The brutal truth of his success is not just because of the factors above, but because his family did things that are totally Un-Singaporean; like spending more than a million dollars by selling their house and investing painful growing years in providing the best environment to train their son in competitive swimming… with no guarantee of winning of course. The Singaporean-type of cost-benefit practical analysis would have failed miserably – no matter how you weigh them.

The Schooling success, contrary to popular belief, does not reinforce the idea that Singapore-styled Meritocracy works, but seeks to challenge its core philosophy.

This miracle would never have happen if Joseph wasn’t born to this family. Period. If he is born in a different family marred by poverty, family violence and abuse - honestly, what Olympic dreams are we talking about here? Supposedly, he is born in a loving but probably more average middle class family with no million dollar house to sell and support his aspiration, would this miracle be possible? Not likely. Your average Singaporean family ‘might consider’ selling their HDB flat to sponsor their son to study Medicine, but for swimming? Honestly guys – don’t kid yourself.

In addition, you must have not just supportive parents – but the all-out-supporting-don’t-care-just-cheong parents who fight to negotiate with MINDEF and all. As a fair statement, if the State refuse to defer NS for him, the win may not be possible too. And to be fair, the fact is that the State did endorse the deferment (regardless of who is credited for this effort, but the State must still agree to endorse right?). If the situation is that deferment failed, he siam NS, kanna AWOL, but win a Gold medal for Singapore – would it change the Singapore story?

Singapore-styled Meritocracy is challenged because nobody succeeds with pure effort alone – there are privileges that exist in our society that inherently provide advantages in achieving better ‘outcome’. These privileges are bestowed upon us through the lottery of birth, of which one cannot account for our own ‘efforts’ for these privileges because we have never spent a single ounce of effort to ‘work’ for it – we just happened to be born in the ‘right’ family. Sometimes, we owe many things to our society too and when we succeed in life, we must be mindful not to think condescendingly that those people who ‘didn’t make it’ are lazy, unmotivated and deserve to be where they are – without first having to question all the privileges that comes with our lottery of birth that we unconsciously enjoyed and made us unequal to begin with.

Hence the irony of my conclusion; one big part of the reason why this miracle happened is because the family pursue decisions that are completely Un-Singaporean (the other major contributor is that they had some resources/network to work with). Had they ‘just follow lor’ or if Joseph happened to be born in a different family – no amount of hard work alone can produce such a miracle.

dr.wailing

But 69.9% of your fellow countrymen voted for this type of gabrament and expected to receive Sinkie-styled meritocracy.

the miracle would never have happened if schooling was never borned to a brit with a family history of athletes,schooling is a fluke,a one in a million.its not the million dollars that mattered,or the environment or training.just like how african americans dominate the sports scene in america,think of the number of blacks in NBA versus whites vs asians,or american football or boxing.america is 70 percent white and 13 percent blacks but their sports is dominated by blacks.Schooling may have some malaysian chinese blood in him but it was the anglo saxon genetics that made all the difference.not that chinese genes are useless,with chink genes Schooling will probably become a lawyer or accountant or banker or businessman if he didnt become a olympic swimmer.many sinkie chinks are happy that schooling have some traces of chinese blood in him but how many of u chinks have british or anglo saxon ancestry in ur family tree?a miracle like schooling will probably never happen in another 50 years.

3.5 million chinks on this island but all are useless,all it took was a chink to fuck a anglo saxon and hercules or swimming jesus is born.

This is very true. Some evil devils here are like that. Condescending bastards.

"..when we succeed in life, we must be mindful not to think condescendingly that those people who ‘didn’t make it’ are lazy, unmotivated and deserve to be where they are – without first having to question all the privileges that comes with our lottery of birth that we unconsciously enjoyed and made us unequal to begin with."

i grew up in a poor family with many siblings. everytime mom buys fried chai tau kway from the street vendor, we will bring our own egg (one lousy egg) to reduce cost. and my siblings will sup ka liao in quick time, leaving a few bits for me as i'm a slow eater. so poor that this is considered a luxury. when we grow up all my siblings have university admissions to nus except me. one becomes doctor of medicine, another an architect, another a banker, and the eldest a high powered and highly paid hr executive. they are still working and earning excellent wages and bonuses into their 60s, owning several properties which are almost all paid up. as for me, i'm only a lowly jaga working the midnight shift, happy to lim kopi and makan kaya toast every morning for a few dollars. thanks to lky and the pap. we will not be where we are without them lifting sg from an improverished sleepy fishing village to world crass metropolis.

Satyr

Mark Lin
16 aug 2016

The Schooling phenomenon is amazing – it stir up so much curry in the pot.

Truthfully, it is never about hard work alone or the capacity to dream big like what PM would have proclaimed. If he followed Meritocracy – Singapore-styled – August 13 would probably be a rather uneventful day. The brutal truth of his success is not just because of the factors above, but because his family did things that are totally Un-Singaporean; like spending more than a million dollars by selling their house and investing painful growing years in providing the best environment to train their son in competitive swimming… with no guarantee of winning of course. The Singaporean-type of cost-benefit practical analysis would have failed miserably – no matter how you weigh them.

The Schooling success, contrary to popular belief, does not reinforce the idea that Singapore-styled Meritocracy works, but seeks to challenge its core philosophy.

This miracle would never have happen if Joseph wasn’t born to this family. Period. If he is born in a different family marred by poverty, family violence and abuse - honestly, what Olympic dreams are we talking about here? Supposedly, he is born in a loving but probably more average middle class family with no million dollar house to sell and support his aspiration, would this miracle be possible? Not likely. Your average Singaporean family ‘might consider’ selling their HDB flat to sponsor their son to study Medicine, but for swimming? Honestly guys – don’t kid yourself.

In addition, you must have not just supportive parents – but the all-out-supporting-don’t-care-just-cheong parents who fight to negotiate with MINDEF and all. As a fair statement, if the State refuse to defer NS for him, the win may not be possible too. And to be fair, the fact is that the State did endorse the deferment (regardless of who is credited for this effort, but the State must still agree to endorse right?). If the situation is that deferment failed, he siam NS, kanna AWOL, but win a Gold medal for Singapore – would it change the Singapore story?

Singapore-styled Meritocracy is challenged because nobody succeeds with pure effort alone – there are privileges that exist in our society that inherently provide advantages in achieving better ‘outcome’. These privileges are bestowed upon us through the lottery of birth, of which one cannot account for our own ‘efforts’ for these privileges because we have never spent a single ounce of effort to ‘work’ for it – we just happened to be born in the ‘right’ family. Sometimes, we owe many things to our society too and when we succeed in life, we must be mindful not to think condescendingly that those people who ‘didn’t make it’ are lazy, unmotivated and deserve to be where they are – without first having to question all the privileges that comes with our lottery of birth that we unconsciously enjoyed and made us unequal to begin with.

Hence the irony of my conclusion; one big part of the reason why this miracle happened is because the family pursue decisions that are completely Un-Singaporean (the other major contributor is that they had some resources/network to work with). Had they ‘just follow lor’ or if Joseph happened to be born in a different family – no amount of hard work alone can produce such a miracle.

You have very clearly outlined why Singaporeans will never be great, unless they learn from JIS and his parents. And they won't. The government will of course try to re-create the JIS story with other candidates for their glory (like what they did with A*star and their PhDs). Sorry, won't work, I don't need to tell you why.

This is very true. Some evil devils here are like that. Condescending bastards.

"..when we succeed in life, we must be mindful not to think condescendingly that those people who ‘didn’t make it’ are lazy, unmotivated and deserve to be where they are – without first having to question all the privileges that comes with our lottery of birth that we unconsciously enjoyed and made us unequal to begin with."

These condescending bastards also think they have the right to judge and slander and insult you as escort or mistress if you are a woman from poor family and achieved a level of success - through scrimping and saving and hard work - that these lowlife are so damn bloody jealous of.

Nevermind let heaven deal with these assumptious mudlander dogs and sinkie traitor dogs to give these scumbags horrible death bbq in hell for the harm they did to me. KNNBCCB bastards acting nice and good human beings infront but are wolves and foxes beneath like my barbarian MALAYSIAN CHINESE MISTRESS neighbours and those MALAYSIAN bastards in the JB forum. Pui!

the miracle would never have happened if schooling was never borned to a brit with a family history of athletes,schooling is a fluke,a one in a million.its not the million dollars that mattered,or the environment or training.just like how african americans dominate the sports scene in america,think of the number of blacks in NBA versus whites vs asians,or american football or boxing.america is 70 percent white and 13 percent blacks but their sports is dominated by blacks.Schooling may have some malaysian chinese blood in him but it was the anglo saxon genetics that made all the difference.not that chinese genes are useless,with chink genes Schooling will probably become a lawyer or accountant or banker or businessman if he didnt become a olympic swimmer.many sinkie chinks are happy that schooling have some traces of chinese blood in him but how many of u chinks have british or anglo saxon ancestry in ur family tree?a miracle like schooling will probably never happen in another 50 years.

3.5 million chinks on this island but all are useless,all it took was a chink to fuck a anglo saxon and hercules or swimming jesus is born.

If you offer this argument, then you are merely pushing Lee CONS U weird idea that genetics determine it all.

Schooling made it because the parents got him to an environment - USA - that provided the correct coaching and nurturing.

i grew up in a poor family with many siblings. everytime mom buys fried chai tau kway from the street vendor, we will bring our own egg (one lousy egg) to reduce cost. and my siblings will sup ka liao in quick time, leaving a few bits for me as i'm a slow eater. so poor that this is considered a luxury. when we grow up all my siblings have university admissions to nus except me. one becomes doctor of medicine, another an architect, another a banker, and the eldest a high powered and highly paid hr executive. they are still working and earning excellent wages and bonuses into their 60s, owning several properties which are almost all paid up. as for me, i'm only a lowly jaga working the midnight shift, happy to lim kopi and makan kaya toast every morning for a few dollars. thanks to lky and the pap. we will not be where we are without them lifting sg from an improverished sleepy fishing village to world crass metropolis.

First millionaire jaga I am acquainted with. Also American.

retrenched

sorry to go on and on abt tan howe liang but

The lack of financial support meant that Tan had to pay out of his own pocket to finance his training and expenses. At that time, Tan was working as a clerk at Cathay Organisation. He also worked as a mechanic. However, he plodded on, after promising his late father that "One day, I will be the strongest man in the world".

and after his medal

Tan tried to run a restaurant business but was unsuccessful. He worked as a taxicab driver for a short stint, before becoming a weight-lifting coach in 1974. After his retirement from competition, Tan was hired as a gym supervisor by the Singapore Sports Council at the Kallang Family ClubFitt in November 1982.

nice story just like a caribbean bobsled team that took part in one winter olympics.

If you offer this argument, then you are merely pushing Lee CONS U weird idea that genetics determine it all.

Schooling made it because the parents got him to an environment - USA - that provided the correct coaching and nurturing.

sinkies spent 1 billion a year on tuition,and what is the end result of that?its 2016 and sinkies are still as useless and pathetic as ever.lets not talk about sporting talent or research talent or jazz talents or entrepreneurial talent or business talent or writing talent ,academic wise sinkies cant even compete with fts,all our elite secondary schools and best jcs and unis are dominated by PRCs and fts and these are just second rate or even third rate talents,we are not even fighting with the first rate talented PRCs that can get into Oxford or Harvard or Cambridge or MIT.our population is Singapore's most valuable resources and sinkies are just deadweight taking up valuable space.but thank god real world economics is not like the olympics,there is always jobs to be done by the stupid and dumb,like hawker or driving taxis or cashier at walmart.

sure u can send sinkies overseas have the best resources,the best facilities and the best trainers and the best environment,but if there is no talent or potential to be unlocked what is the point?in that case i reccommend all 3.5 million sinkies better leave this island,go to another country where u feel can best unlock sinkies hidden talents and potential.

the saddest thing is no matter how daft and stupid u are, sinkies dont even know how to protect the one thing they have,their country and sovereignty and sanctity of their home,their castle.otherwise sinkies could have live peacefully on this island,safe and warmth in their own blissful ignorance and Rich mediocrity peasant lives.now we have to listen to woody goh tell us sinkies might be losing out.

sinkies spent 1 billion a year on tuition,and what is the end result of that?its 2016 and sinkies are still as useless and pathetic as ever.lets not talk about sporting talent or research talent or jazz talents or entrepreneurial talent or business talent or writing talent ,academic wise sinkies cant even compete with fts,all our elite secondary schools and best jcs and unis are dominated by PRCs and fts and these are just second rate or even third rate talents,we are not even fighting with the first rate talented PRCs that can get into Oxford or Harvard or Cambridge or MIT.our population is Singapore's most valuable resources and sinkies are just deadweight taking up valuable space.but thank god real world economics is not like the olympics,there is always jobs to be done by the stupid and dumb,like hawker or driving taxis or cashier at walmart.
It is the environment that makes sinkee stupid. PAP wants sinkees to be stupid ...a smart population would have tossed the PAP out long time ago. Look at the ministers and judges ...they are plain stupid. And these are supposed to be the cream of this country.

sure u can send sinkies overseas have the best resources,the best facilities and the best trainers and the best environment,but if there is no talent or potential to be unlocked what is the point?in that case i eccommend all 3.5 million sinkies better leave this island,go to another country where u feel can best unlock sinkies hidden talents and potential.

Get rid to the PAP and sinkees will be smarter in a generation. Schooling was taken out of the system at age 13 and given opportunity to develop.

PAP government doesn't want sinkees to get other form of education, just the brainwashing type. That's why MOE has tightened the rules; permission must be given before sinkees can attend private schools.

the saddest thing is no matter how daft and stupid u are, sinkies dont even know how to protect the one thing they have,their country and sovereignty and sanctity of their home,their castle.otherwise sinkies could have live peacefully on this island,safe and warmth in their own blissful ignorance and Rich mediocrity peasant lives.now we have to listen to woody goh tell us sinkies might be losing out.

The PAP is the scourge of this country.

ChineseDog

Good job my fellow chinese dog. We chinks are useless.

Sure or not, poor family can send 4 or 5 siblings to university? Some more expensive and long duration courses like medicine and architecture. Who paid for their education? Parents or scholarships or ownself pay? Anyway those in the 60s now have it easy lah - plenty of chance to buy cheap property and catch the property boom - compare to those in the 40s, but the latter group still has it easier than those in the 20s now.

shittypore

Sure or not, poor family can send 4 or 5 siblings to university? Some more expensive and long duration courses like medicine and architecture. Who paid for their education? Parents or scholarships or ownself pay?

Found the cash stack in a dustbin at Victoria Theatre.

According to the condescending bastards here, they must have worked as escorts to be poor family and able to study university, not to mention so many studying and especially expensive or long duration medicine or architecture courses.

My family was so poor I had to shit in a bucket shared by 50 other households.

935983_10202354506007177_945223459_n_kamal.jpg

I frankly don't think privilege is the defining issue when it comes to sports in general. Maybe in sports like Golf, Equestrian etc Firstly its the environment and secondly the individual. Singapore in the early days like any other country around the World recognised sports and excellence in Sports. We had world badminton greats like Wong Peng Soon and weighlifter Tan Howe Laing. Ang Peng Siong did not come from a wealthy family and he held the 50m freestyle swimming record for a time. His father coached him initially and worked as a swim coach. The environment changed dramatically in the 70s and 80s when schools paid little or no attention to sports. The formative years was thus lost. The Singapore govt chose to treat sports as a no competitive past-time.

If the govt decides to step in and create the right environment especially in schools, we should expect more kids to step forward and amongst them a few champions on an international stage.