• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Policy watch: Income gap

SgParent

http://forums.delphiforums.com/3in1kopitiam/messages?msg=65477.8

http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/10/04/18-ways-to-reduce-the-income-gap/
18 Ways to reduce the Income Gap
October 4th, 2012 | Author: Contributions

With the gap between rich and poor widening, financial advisor and commentator Leong Sze Hian argues that new government policies are needed in several key sectors. But that Singaporeans need to change their mindset as well.

“We need to tweak our labour policies, then automatically wages will rise,” Sze Hian told a packed room at SMU in a panel discussion about income inequality organised by ONE (SINGAPORE) and the Wee Kim Wee Centre.

But the outspoken advocate of poor and disenfranchised families also notes that the government can not do everything.

“We cannot put all the blame on the government. Look at the issue of cleaners. Two years ago, their pay was S$800, now (the amount is) less. Why? Because every time the workers’ levy goes up, (companies) cut workers pay and we accept it. As Singaporeans, we need to be more compassionate.”

In this article, Sze Hian focuses on four key areas where new policies – or in some cases, a return to previous rules – could reduce the income gap, increase purchasing power and ensure that catastrophic illnesses do not also bankrupt families.

Wages and CPF

1. Peg the interest rate paid on CPF accounts to the GIC’s historical rate of return (minus a one-percentage administrative fee).

Singaporean’s retirement funds are essentially invested by the government in securities chosen by the Government Investment Corporation. While there has been some controversy about how this works, it appears that the Government sells bonds to the CPF Board and then provides the funds raised to GIC.

Currently, ordinary CPF accounts pay 2.5%. There’s a slightly more complicated formula for calculating the return on Special, Medical and Retirement Accounts (SMRA), but they tend to pay 5% on the first S$60,000 and 4% on subsequent funds.

But the GIC has a historical rate of return over the past twenty years of about 6 percent in US dollar terms. So instead of paying Singaporeans a 2.5% rate of return on their CPF accounts, it would be more equitable to pay about 5 percent (providing GIC with a profit for administering the funds).
By the way, Malaysia’s Employees Provident Fund (EPF) paid a dividend of 5.8 and 5.65 percent in 2010 and 2009, respectively, and has historically paid a return of between 4.25 to 8.5 per cent.

2. Change the rules for self-employed Workfare accounts.

Self-employed individuals currently do not receive any cash payments from Workfare. Instead, Workfare transfers to the self-employed are paid into their CPF Medisave accounts. This discourages older lower-income self-employed Singaporeans from contributing to CPF to qualify for Workfare.

3. Require employers to pay CPF for foreign employees too.

Current policy exempts employers from having to pay a 16 percent contribution to CPF for foreign employees. This policy puts Singaporeans at a disadvantage as employers save 16 per cent of salary costs when they employ foreigners.

Healthcare

4. Pay Medishield premiums
Instead of making periodic CPF Medisave top-ups to older Singaporeans, use the funds to pay for their Medishield premiums instead. Otherwise, such top-ups can easily be consumed by rising medical costs.

5. Provide coverage for all infants
Currently, CPF Medishield does not cover new-born children with congenital illnesses.

6. Increase public spending
Singapore’s spending on healthcare is one of the lowest in the world. The government currently spends about 1.6 percent of GDP on healthcare. We need to invest more in the health of our citizens.

7. Stop Privatising Healthcare

Private sector spending on healthcare, as a percentage of total healthcare spending, has risen from 25 percent not long ago to 60 percent now. We need to reverse this trend. Private healthcare costs patients more.

8. Subsidise out-patient treatments for those in need

Out-patient treatments at polyclinics can be expensive and a large burden on low-income families and individuals. The government Medifund programme should pay for these treatments. Instead, the government has transferred S$86 million of Medifund surpluses to the Protected Reserves over the past decade or so.

9. Better coverage for workplace injuries – Part 1

An injury at work can be all that it takes to push a family into poverty. The Workmen’s Injury Act was amended a few years ago to reduce employers’ and insurers’ liability for medical expenses arising from workplace accidents to S$25,000. But according to the Ministry of Health, medical fees from five percent of industrial accidents exceed this cap, placing an unfair – and potentially debilitating – financial burden on employees.

10. Better coverage for workplace injuries – Part 2

Require public hospitals to extend the same subsidies to all patients, whether they are in hospital due to an industrial accident or other matter. Currently, ‘subsidised wards’ are actually not subsidised at all if you are hospitalised due to a workplace injury. This means that patients are paying five times as much to stay in a Class C ward.

11. Fight higher costs by changing the way hospitals are reimbursed.

Hospital fees have doubled over the past four years. A major reason for this is that the government reimburses public hospitals based on the MOH’s average treatment type subsidy computation. Yet hospitals are still free to charge higher prices and pass the difference on to patients. Instead, the government should reimburse hospitals for the actual subsidy shown in medical bills.

12. Better means-testing

Review means testing for patients who request for down-grading to lower-class hospital wards. The last time a reply on this was given in Parliament, it was revealed that only one percent of those who applied for downgrading from a higher class ward were successful.

Transparency

Information is a key for effective governance and developing solutions. There are a number of facts though that are not currently public knowledge. For example . . .

13. If someone can not afford medical treatment, what is the likelihood that s/he will receive government support?

MOH discloses the number of successful applications, but not the total number or number rejected. What is the percentage of Medifund applicants that are accepted because they can not pay their medical bills?

14. Make public the criteria for approving Medifund applications.

15. Disclose the “Standard Drug List”.

Patients should be able to know in advance which drugs are subsidised and which are not.

16. How many people discharged from hospital are unable to pay their medical bills?

We know that 21 percent of Singaporeans who seek assistance from Credit Counselling Singapore are requesting help because of medical fees. But we do not know how many patients are left with financial problems due to medical expenses.

Housing

17. Remove the income ceiling of S$2,000 for two-room flats.

This limit is based on a simplistic assumption that every household earning more than $2,000 can afford a three-room flat, regardless of family size or financial circumstances.

18. Do not increase rents for households earning more than S$800.

Families earning between S$800 and S$1,500 may already be finding it heard to make ends meet. The state does not need to add to their burden by increasing their rent. It’s time to reverse this relatively recent policy change.

Leong Sze Hian

Leong Sze Hian is the Past President of the Society of Financial Service Professionals, an alumnus of Harvard University, Wharton Fellow, SEACeM Fellow and an author of 4 books. He is frequently quoted in the media. He has also been invited to speak more than 100 times in 25 countries on 5 continents. He has served as Honorary Consul of Jamaica, Chairman of the Institute of Administrative Management, and founding advisor to the Financial Planning Associations of Brunei and Indonesia. He has 3 Masters, 2 Bachelors degrees and 13 professional qualifications. He blogs at http://www.leongszehian.com.

What's wrong with the income gap widening?

In the Olympics, nobody cares about the time of the runner who came in last so why should we bother about the incomes of the lowest earners?

SgParent

PP:
October 4, 2012 at 9:06 pm (Quote)

Well done! But the PAP gov will read and KIV or trash it just because you are not part of them!

Tortoise:
October 4, 2012 at 9:14 pm (Quote)

Excellent points. The National CONversation panel should invite Mr Leong into its committee. If not, they should take a serious look at Mr Leong’s proposals.

Lim Seah Sway:
October 4, 2012 at 9:20 pm (Quote)

If you want the govt to consider what LSH has suggested, got to replace PAP in 2016

Poison Ivy:
October 4, 2012 at 9:24 pm (Quote)

Leong Sze Hian should contest in the next election in 2016. Or else he can help the alternative parties come up with alternative policies in 2016.

truedirect:
October 4, 2012 at 10:05 pm (Quote)

Good suggestions but it can only appear here. No mainstream media will report it. The PAP does not want themselves to look stupid.

Mr Leong be invited to the NatCon…i doubt the pap would want to debate all this on national TV…

greedy and cunning

In the Olympics, nobody cares about the time of the runner who came in last so why should we bother about the incomes of the lowest earners?

in cum gap widening is no problem IF sinkies with lowest in cum is ablee
affordd 3 decent meals and still have enough to pay for the highly subsidised
hut , the electricity/water bill etc...

the problem is the cost of living is forever rising. :mad: :mad:

O-lum-par runner you can don't care because he from other country.

we are talking about shitizens of the same cuntry.

hurley

307968_286101744828615_1175699950_n.jpg

Spock

Because the lowest earners may start robbing the high earners. In Olympics, robbing the medals is useless as the gold amount is too insignificant.

SgParent

Are you smoking something illegal? In the Olympics, runners are competing against one another

That has no relevance with people looking out for one another in a society.

Or are you saying we should all live alone, kill one another for food or fun, no NS?

Are you smoking something illegal? In the Olympics, runners are competing against one another

In life, we're all competing against each other too. It starts at the moment of conception where the most agile sperm reaches the egg first.

Competition continues through childhood at school via the education system.. then through tertiary studies.. then in the job market and then within the organisation you work for. Countries too are in constant competition for scarce resources and as a result, there will be winners and there will be losers. It's part and parcel of the survival of the fittest and the most agile.

If you interfere with this process, the laws of nature cease to function.

seesuatah

If what you said is true. Then can you explain why there are birth defects and deformities?

(In life, we're all competing against each other too. It starts at the moment of conception where the most agile sperm reaches the egg first.)

Dreamer1

In life, we're all competing against each other too. It starts at the moment of conception where the most agile sperm reaches the egg first.

Competition continues through childhood at school via the education system.. then through tertiary studies.. then in the job market and then within the organisation you work for. Countries too are in constant competition for scarce resources and as a result, there will be winners and there will be losers. It's part and parcel of the survival of the fittest and the most agile.

If you interfere with this process, the laws of nature cease to function.

boss,m sorry to tell you that u are out of date,slightly.
The three laws that will be in existence will be
I.Cosmic Laws:
II. The universal laws
III. The divine laws

If what you said is true. Then can you explain why there are birth defects and deformities?

(In life, we're all competing against each other too. It starts at the moment of conception where the most agile sperm reaches the egg first.)

Because the most agile sperm may still contain genetic defects.

In many cases, the fetus is spontaneously aborted. However, if it does survive till birth, the next stage of the sorting process will begin where the weakest and the most deformed often perish before they can procreate. That's how the law of natural selection works. If we interfere, it affects the quality and the long term survivability of the species.

in cum gap widening is no problem IF sinkies with lowest in cum is ablee
affordd 3 decent meals and still have enough to pay for the highly subsidised
hut , the electricity/water bill etc...

If they can't survive, let them starve to death. It may sound cruel but it's the best long term solution.

1. sammy, you should enrol yourself as one elite sheep thing!
2. kosong compassion kosong empathy too.
3. life is more than just 1 and zero!

Fook Seng

You are wrong. The runner who limped in last got the loudest applause.

1. sammy, you should enrol yourself as one elite sheep thing!
2. kosong compassion kosong empathy too.
3. life is more than just 1 and zero!

Talk is cheap. There is nothing to stop any Singaporean from lending a hand to those they feel sorry for.

If you want to play your part in reducing the income gap, give a portion of your salary to someone you feel isn't earning what he should be.

I pay out more than $20,000 a month towards reducing the income gap.

Talk is cheap. There is nothing to stop any Singaporean from lending a hand to those they feel sorry for.

If you want to play your part in reducing the income gap, give a portion of your salary to someone you feel isn't earning what he should be.

I pay out more than $20,000 a month towards reducing the income gap.

1. sammy, good on you!
2. nevertheless, you are still a 1 and zero individual in my book.
3. no offence boss!:biggrin:
4. we do have our little special way rolling back to the community at large.
5. yours is some 20k, mine is prayers & a heartfelt smile to the needy.

mine is prayers & a heartfelt smile to the needy.

Prayers and smiles aren't going to food on the table. :rolleyes:

Compassion and consideration are personal qualities that can be extended by anyone to those of their choosing. Those who believe in it should practise it in their daily lives instead of simply harping on the fact that others aren't exhibiting these traits.