• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee told SG Malays: No money can be happy too...

kojakbt

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>Less cash doesn't mean less cheer

</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Shuli Sudderuddin </TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->It is not about how much you spend to mark the occasion.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said he had been told that the Ramadan celebrations this year have been somewhat subdued because of the economic crisis.

'Spending less on this festive occasion does not mean that Hari Raya is less significant or not as enjoyable,' he said in his speech in Malay to some 1,000 guests and residents yesterday.

He was the guest of honour at Gemilang Aidilfitri 2009 at Teck Ghee Community Club.

'The most important thing is coming together and enjoying the company of family members, neighbours and friends,' he noted.

The Hari Raya celebration was jointly organised by the Ang Mo Kio Group Representation Constituency and Yio Chu Kang Single Member Constituency.

kojakbt

6fuses.jpg

... 'Spending less on this festive occasion does not mean that Hari Raya is less significant or not as enjoyable,' ...
wise words indeed ...

in ze same vein ...

collectin less donation during ze president's star charity does nt mean dat ze event is less significant or nt as njoyable ... dun hv 2 appeal or wayang so much ...

chinkangkor

What is the percentage of Malays in arrears of their S&CC charges? Why don't all the town councils disclose the breakdown of those owe their conservancy charges by race?

nickers9

Lee Hsien Loong is talking cock and nonsense! If really no money can be happier, why dont he started it first by cutting Lee Kuan Yew, himself and his famiLEE income and salaries by 60%.

If the Lee Hsien Loong and famiLEE can take a 60% or 70% pay cut, then tell his famiLEE that with lesser money and without over spending, you can have happiness too.

If you and your famiLEE can lead by example and do it, we Singaporeans can also do it too, am I rite Lee Hsien Loong?

butoh6050

The malays will swallow everything the pap tells them.
They are the ones holding and waving the singapore flag whenever pap wins an election.

Conan the Barbarian

He is reinforcing his message that Malays must spend within
their means.

I seriously wonder if the Malays really take PAP to be their
champion. It seems on surface that they do.

counsel

Mr Lee, hor

Earning less than three hundred thousand dollars a year (Obama's salary) does not mean that Singapore politicians are less significant or not as powerful

The most important thing is come clean with one self, and not plundering the nation's reserves to make as many million dollars while in office.

mercbenz

One thing is true in SG, the malays are getting angry. I've seen them for the past week, they are angry and agitated on numerous occasion which I witnessed. Post Hari Raya Puasa frustrations?

kansas

They have been robbed of their homeland, being a minority in their own motherland.. who will not be angry.

On the other hand, they are enjoying the show now with the PRCs invading Sporn making the local sinkie a soon-maybe-to be minority in their own country :p

Shi Jin

Poverty breds resentment, resentment turns into angry, angry turns into rioting and looting. Only a matter of time before some idiot comes up with the idea that they are poor because of other races taking advantage of them and when that time comes many will follow. All the need is the excuse.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>Less cash doesn't mean less cheer

</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Shuli Sudderuddin </TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->It is not about how much you spend to mark the occasion.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said he had been told that the Ramadan celebrations this year have been somewhat subdued because of the economic crisis.

'Spending less on this festive occasion does not mean that Hari Raya is less significant or not as enjoyable,' he said in his speech in Malay to some 1,000 guests and residents yesterday.

He was the guest of honour at Gemilang Aidilfitri 2009 at Teck Ghee Community Club.

'The most important thing is coming together and enjoying the company of family members, neighbours and friends,' he noted.

The Hari Raya celebration was jointly organised by the Ang Mo Kio Group Representation Constituency and Yio Chu Kang Single Member Constituency.
He should try walking the talk once in a while.

hairylee

Lee Hsien Loong is talking cock and nonsense! If really no money can be happier, why dont he started it first by cutting Lee Kuan Yew, himself and his famiLEE income and salaries by 60%.

If the Lee Hsien Loong and famiLEE can take a 60% or 70% pay cut, then tell his famiLEE that with lesser money and without over spending, you can have happiness too.

If you and your famiLEE can lead by example and do it, we Singaporeans can also do it too, am I rite Lee Hsien Loong?

If they can do it I will run a charity for free.

nickers9

ministermentor.jpg

If my bloody son dare to cut my salary by 60%, I will cut off his dick!!!

Ash007

Poverty breds resentment, resentment turns into angry, angry turns into rioting and looting. Only a matter of time before some idiot comes up with the idea that they are poor because of other races taking advantage of them and when that time comes many will follow. All the need is the excuse.

Actually, I believe that has happened in mudland before.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/May_13_Incident

On its formation in 1963, Malaysia, a federation incorporating Malaya (Peninsular Malaysia), Singapore, North Borneo (Sabah) and Sarawak, suffered from a sharp division of wealth between the Chinese, who were perceived to control a large portion of the Malaysian economy, and the Malays, who were perceived to be more poor and rural.

Which leads to riots in Singapore.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1969_race_riots_of_Singapore

That causes severe discrimination in mudland for the non-malays till today.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malaysian_New_Economic_Policy

You better hope mudland don't start a riot again. :wink:

Don Muthuswamy

Wah. People should spend lesser whereas his wifey could spluge millions of other people's $$$ without any qualms. Ho Say lah.

myo539

What is the percentage of Malays in arrears of their S&CC charges? Why don't all the town councils disclose the breakdown of those owe their conservancy charges by race?

If a Malay is in arrears, the Town Council uses the feather duster to tickle the resident into action. You see, this resident will usually have many young mouths to feed.

It appears that if a non-Malay is in arrears, the Town Council uses the other end of the feather duster to cane the resident into action, with threat of bringing him to court.

After all that is said and done, the Malays often appears happy and contented with life even though they may not be rich. Wonder how they are able to do that!

As the wise PAP ministers said, the rich Malays in fanciful tudungs and fanciful MPVs must help the not-rich and not-talented Malay more.