• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee:- the whole entire spore reserves are used to back Sing dollar

†††††

PM Lee stresses the role reserves play during financial crisis
By S Ramesh | Posted: 09 May 2011 1943 hrs

SINGAPORE : Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said that during the financial crisis in 2009, the government had to use, in some cases, the entire quantum of the country's reserves, to back the Singapore dollar.

In a speech at the 30th anniversary of the Government Investment Corporation of Singapore (GIC), Mr Lee said the moves helped to maintain confidence in Singapore's banking and financial system, which also helped Singapore pull out of the crisis.

In his first official event after the General Election, Mr Lee stressed that it is necessary to continue slowly accumulating the country's reserves, which are mainly used to improve the lives of Singaporeans.

PM Lee, who is also the GIC's deputy chairman, focused his message on how the government needed to get its politics right and to make sure there is political support for its policies.

He emphasised to the audience of corporate honchos and fund managers that the government's aim is to benefit all Singaporeans.

The recurrent theme of his message was that inclusive growth is needed and that there must be policies to help those affected by globalisation and those who are left behind.

Mr Lee said: "We have many different forms of assistance for vulnerable groups, but it goes beyond specific items where you can calculate dollars and cents to a sense of reassurance, concern and empathy and a sense that we are in the same boat together - we will take care of one another and we are going to make this together, sink or swim."

"It is not easy for citizens to cope with these changes even though overall standards of living are rising and the country has been making progress as has been the case in Singapore.

"If you look at it over the last five years, it has been a real roller-coaster ride, we have had plus 14.5 per cent growth in 2010, we have had zero growth the two years before that and the mood of optimism and alarm has swung to extremes.

"Overall, if you take the last five years, we have made five per cent growth on the average, incomes have gone up in real terms despite higher inflation, households have more people employed, our infrastructure has improved, our economy is more competitive."

He added: "We have made progress, but Singaporeans expect more because the going is going to be more challenging and therefore my newly-elected PAP government has its work cut out for it."

The prime minister also spoke of the need to buffer the economy against volatility and storms, and to do this, he said it was important to continue accumulating the reserves. In this regard, he said GIC has been playing an important role.

Some opposition members had questioned the need to constantly focus on accumulating the reserves during the hustings and had suggested using the reserves to pay for various programmes.

But Mr Lee emphasised the need to be prudent, giving the example of how the reserves had helped to maintain confidence in Singapore's banking system during the financial crisis.

He said the government drew down S$4 billion to help Singaporeans - with programmes like Jobs Credit to keep workers employed - and also used the reserves to shore up the Singapore dollar. He said at times, this amounted to the entire quantum of reserves - hundreds of billions - and the move had worked.

Mr Lee said: "We relied on them to give confidence and to back our guarantees and our support for the Singapore collar and the banking system - not just with a few billion dollars but tens of billions of dollars or in some cases potentially with all the reserves that we had so that nobody would be tempted to give it a try and see whether we would run out of ammunition before they did.

"We need to hold fast to these prudent policies and to maintain and continue gradually to build up these reserves for a rainy day. What reserves we have accumulated, we have to invest prudently and shrewdly with a long-term view - rationally, professionally and insulated from political pressures - so that we can make right investment decisions in the long-term interests of Singapore."

Hence Mr Lee believes that professional management of the reserves is necessary as there will be long-term needs which have to be paid for.

The prime minister said Singapore has bright prospects over the next 10 years, but added that global uncertainties will be the "new norm", and the country has to be cautious as there is no magic formula for success.

- CNA/al

I think PM LHL telling lie.
Most of the reserve are use to back his wife Ho Jin losing big money in fund and investment. How can we trust him? If he cant even telll the truth.
Until Temasek need to rise money by selling bond and gov up the age limit and min sum for CPF money.

steffychun

If they were, why wasn't it reported earlier? How come international financial institutions don't know about it?

ahleebabasingaporethief

Oh fuck! I think Singapore is in trouble. I find this hard to believe as well.

I thought he said since this ELECTIONS did not go well; he is willing to listen and have heard all voices?

This is not a good POST ELECTION sign. Expect to be screwed Singaporeans.
This statement a tad hard to swallow.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

SpareTyre

Half-truth at best. They may have done that but it was not necessary.

Lets not talk about spending reserves.

Lets start off with a full accounting of what we have in the reserves, Temasek and GIC. The peoples' interest should not be on spending reserves but on exactly what we have and what our track record has been, how much the stewards (like Ho Ching) get paid in salaries and bonuses, how much do PM Lee and MM Lee and Tony Tan and their family, friends and associates pay themselves for sitting on the boards of GIC and Temasek.....lets do all this basic homework first.

Once we have established full transparency and PROPER controls, then we can talk about everything else.

Lets not fall for PM Lee's strawman of 'Oh, opposition wants to spend reserves'.

The point is, Singaporeans want to know how much is in the reserves and whether the PAP has abused its authority by helping itself and its cronies to the nation's money

DollarsNoSense

well, we need 52 years to do that.... and probably bo lui liao

Half-truth at best. They may have done that but it was not necessary.

Lets not talk about spending reserves.

Lets start off with a full accounting of what we have in the reserves, Temasek and GIC. The peoples' interest should not be on spending reserves but on exactly what we have and what our track record has been, how much the stewards (like Ho Ching) get paid in salaries and bonuses, how much do PM Lee and MM Lee and Tony Tan and their family, friends and associates pay themselves for sitting on the boards of GIC and Temasek.....lets do all this basic homework first.

Once we have established full transparency and PROPER controls, then we can talk about everything else.

Lets not fall for PM Lee's strawman of 'Oh, opposition wants to spend reserves'.

The point is, Singaporeans want to know how much is in the reserves and whether the PAP has abused its authority by helping itself and its cronies to the nation's money

Strike

Our Late President Mr Ong Teng Cheong tried to do that. As a result the PAP refused to support him running for a second term of Presidency. He did not even receive a state funeral when he passed away.

Devil Within

There is no transparency and accountability regarding this. So he can say anything he want without proofing if it were true or not. For all we know, it may be just another one of his spin to help him stay in power.

SpareTyre

There is no transparency and accountability regarding this. So he can say anything he want without proofing if it were true or not. For all we know, it may be just another one of his spin to help him stay in power.

Coming from a finance background and with colleagues who tracks SWFs, I can guarantee you that PM Lee is spinning.

The reserves is the biggest prize in the PAP fortress, and de facto regarded as the private fief of the Lees plus selected family allies.

Windsor

Always knew there will be a U-Turn on the apology made. Now he has won, he is saying "Screw You All...I have another 5 years to do what I want."

TanMaSek

This is a lie. Tell us the exact dates of the forex transaction. How much hot monies Singapore actually held with such uninteresting stock market and utter low interest rates. Mai pian lah. You made lots of investment mistakes. anyway, now that the money has returned especially after casino is opened, our reserves such be back to normal. please give back the cpf to the retiree and don't ask them to stop retiring.