• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pm lee: Singaporeans' wages will fall if productivity falls

productivity is low in sg because sinkies spend an inordinate amount of time looking for makan, choping tables, whiling away time at upperty eateries, restaurants, food courts, hawker centers and kopitiam, and making a mess. it's like every sinkie is on vacation everyday. :rolleyes:

image.jpg

productivity is low in sg because sinkies spend an inordinate amount of time looking for makan, choping tables, whiling away time at upperty eateries, restaurants, food courts, hawker centers and kopitiam, and making a mess. it's like every sinkie is on vacation everyday. :rolleyes:

View attachment 20851

Productivity in my team is high because I give incentives and bonuses for good performance and I issue warning letters and termination letters if they show poor attitude or perform below satisfaction.

I give bonuses and incentives for staff who are willing to innovate and improve/overhaul existing corporate practices, and make it clear that people who are narrow-minded will not receive any bonuses for being such a stick-in-the-m&d.

CABcommander

What about a pm needing a couple of dpm, some minister in pmo, a dozen perm sec, a few secretaries. Is this poor productivity?

Wunderfool

The problem may not be entirely on the worker. The problem could be the economic structure. We have to constantly review and change the structure as we move from developing country status to developed country status. We have to go up on the value and knowledge based chain in our economic structure. Singapore is a small country. We cannot compete on labor intensive type of industry as compared to Indonesia, Thailand and China. The economy got to change in order for us to be productive.

As a country, we cannot be doing the same thing as what we did 20 years ago or even 10 years ago. Low end manufacturing will migrate to low labor cost countries. The govt must plan ahead in preparing our people for the next wave of economic change. In our schools, institutions and other schools of learning, we must get people to be trained and retrained on new skills in areas that are needed. We have to inculcate the life-long learning in our people to be productive in our work.

No point stating the obvious : Wages will fall if productivity falls. The govt must continually evolve the environment and economic structure and communicate this clearly to the people. Our part is that we must continue to change and upgrade our skills and be relevant to the new economic structure.

Pek Kim Lui

one ministry but 3 minister in it............ how come their salaries intact??
productivity applies to other pple izzit??