• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pirate incident exposes RSN as incompetent

Its a very interesting read and speaks volumes of the ability or lack there-of of the Singapore navy. Despite this article's praise of the co-operation between the Malaysian and Singapore navies, this action can best be described a monumental cock up.

This incident happened 30 nautical miles south of Pulau Aur which itself is an island south of Tioman. A look at the map will show that the closest naval base of any country, would have been Changi naval base. This location is very close to singapore. I estimate the location to be no more than 60 kms from Singapore. But it took the RSN Gallant 4 hours to arrive there. Does the navy not have vessels already patrolling the waters of the east coast of singapore? Why would it take so long for them to arrive there, and after getting there, they only shadowed the vessel and provided updates to the malaysian navy to send their own ship. So, I understand this part, as the vessel seems to be in Malaysian waters and the SIngapore navy does not want to board the vessel and repel the pirates. But how about firing a few rounds into the pirate vessel to disable it before the Malaysian navy gets there. Surely, the malaysians will not complain as it makes their job easier to apprehend the pirates.

Than the next part gets interesting. The pirated ship Ai Maru was at anchor and apparently, the pirates were busy offloading part of its cargo into their own boat. Apparently, 620 tons of magnesium oxide was taken by the pirates as well as the personal belongings of the crew. I am guessing at this point that the pirates are in possession of a small cargo vessel and not a high speed Cigar boat. Despite being surrounded by the RSN Gallant and the KD Trenggannu, the pirates ESCAPED!!.

So, with all the firepower on these 2 naval vessels, they could not prevent the pirates from escaping? No warning shots? No boarding parties? I suppose you can claim the pirates escaped under cover of darkness, but really, the RSS Gallant most certainly must have NVG devices and a functioning radar. they could have pursue the pirates into international waters and either a)blow them out of the water with that 76mm Oto melara cannon or B) use the 4 .5in CIS heavy machine guns they have and turn the pirate vessel into Swiss cheese. It would have been a triumph for the navy if they could have recovered the cargo and arrested the pirates. Yet 150 pirate attacks a year in the area and not one arrest. I always wondered why, but now I see the the reason. A RSN Fearless class patrol vessel is apparently no match for a pirate cargo ship hauling 620 tonnes of stolen oxide. Why don't the PAP simply give citizenships to these pirate captains and put them in command of RSN ships? From what I can see, the pirate captain was surrounded, outgunned, out manned, with an inferior vessel, and yet elluded them. I can only conclude that if this pirate was armed with a 76mm Oto melara, he would have sunk these 2 fuck useless naval ships.

$13 billion a year defence budget and it produces this underwhelming performance from the RSN. I don't feel comfortable at all. One day, the pirates will figure out that they can put 20 ships together, sail into the East Coast. get off, have some seafood, and rob and rape every one at the East Coast Seafood Centre. I don't understand why there is no COI into this sort of fuck performance by the RSN. In fact, I did not even see Shit Times mention this incident at all.

June 16, 2014

Pirates Scared Off in South China Sea

At roughly 8:40 p.m. on Saturday, a ship owner notified authorities of a pirate attack on one of his tankers in the South China Sea.

Singapore’s Information Fusion Center (IFC) reacted quickly and coordinated with its International Liaison Officers from Malaysia and Indonesia for an operational response.

The Republic of Singapore Navy (RSN) swiftly deployed its Patrol Vessel, RSS Gallant, which was the first naval vessel to arrive near the scene of the attack at 12.45 a.m.

RSS Gallant provided position updates and continued to shadow the tanker. Upon receipt of the report, the Royal Malaysian Navy (RMN) deployed patrol ship Terengganu KD [pictured below]. They were able to intercept the pirate ship and approach the hijacked tanker at anchor. Communication links were attempted, but failed.

Fortunately, the presence of maritime security forces from the RSN and RMN in the vicinity of the tanker Ai Maru forced the perpetrators to abandon their attack and flee the scene into international waters.

Other reports stated that the pirates did manage to escape with a large part of the tanker's cargo, despite the multinational efforts. Platts reported that seven pirates tied and locked up the crew, damaged the communication equipment, stole 620 mt of MGO and personal belongings and fled.

The tanker was carrying marine gas oil and was hijacked about 30 nautical miles south of Pulau Aur, Johor, Malaysia. All crewmembers are believed to be safe. The ship was later handed over to the Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency (MMEA) Southern Region for further investigation.

The Honduras-registered tanker was in transit from the outside port limits of western Singapore to the Gulf of Thailand. The same vessel had been boarded by pirates in 2012 in the South China Sea; this attempt was foiled by authorities.

Authorities again emphasize the need for timely information sharing and proper management to curb piracy.

uncle read the article again, not magnesium oxide but fuel for marine vessels. kapitan hook may have just transfer the fuel from the Ai Maru's holds to his own ship fuel tank. Only thing the article never describe the tonnage of the pirate ship or ships invloved.

but i agree no need to physically catch the sob, just blow them off the water, save $$ and time to trial them.

Did you not read the article you have posted? The pirates were scared off, sent scampering at the sound of RSS Gallant, which had bravely arrived at the scene after the rabble took off. That is what the PAP calls "effective deterrence". Please read up more TS!

You don't deter when a crime has been committed and the pirates got away!

Semaj2357

They did not just run away. They were "scared off" see? That's a big difference.

deterrence is before the crime was committed, restrained is when fuckall is done to let the pirates get away.
scratch and sniff the bollocks under cover of darkness, wave bye and rtu to watch the world cup later, rsn boleh :rolleyes:

deterrence is before the crime was committed, restrained is when fuckall is done to let the pirates get away.
scratch and sniff the bollocks under cover of darkness, wave bye and rtu to watch the world cup later, rsn boleh :rolleyes:

Kudos to the RSN for wisely averting armed conflict! It must be difficult to restrain oneself when one has so much firepower at their disposal.

Yeah, like the PAP government doing nothing when the country and sinkees are being insulted by foreigners day in and day out.

maxxi

Are you aware how many statements must write for firing even 1 round of ammunition?

And if catch them who going to answer?

Yeah, like the PAP government doing nothing when the country and sinkees are being insulted by foreigners day in and day out.

It is more important to maintain Singapore's reputation as the top destination for skilled professionals than to pander to the whims of peasant rabble. Whoever pays more taxes is master, just like how some customers are more important than others!

These simple words easy enough for you to understand?

uncle read the article again, not magnesium oxide but fuel for marine vessels. kapitan hook may have just transfer the fuel from the Ai Maru's holds to his own ship fuel tank. Only thing the article never describe the tonnage of the pirate ship or ships invloved.

but i agree no need to physically catch the sob, just blow them off the water, save $$ and time to trial them.

Sorry, so MGO is marine fuel. So, I guess the RSN Gallant crew was just standing there watching while these pirates off loaded the marine fuel. Apparently, the pirates first use 3 speedboats to board the Ai Maru. Than after tying up the crew, called a larger vessel to come along board to unload the fuel. I guess the RSN very proud to have minimize the loss to 620 metric tonnes. And called it scaring off. As to why they never even give chase in international waters is a big mystery to me. For sure, they should have used the pirate vessel as target practice. Even can all in the air force to practice live firing on it.

Vessels from the Republic of Singapore Navy (RSN) and Royal Malaysian Navy (RMN) conducted a combined operation to rescue a Honduras-registered oil tanker in the South China Sea on 15 June, the RSN told IHS Jane's .

The tanker, Ai Maru , was carrying 1,520 tonnes of marine gas oil (MGO) from Singapore to the Gulf of Thailand when it was boarded at about 20:30 pm on 14 June, off Eastern Peninsular Malaysia, by seven men from three speed boats.

The armed attackers tied and locked up the crew while they siphoned 620 tonnes of MGO onto an unidentified vessel. Also seized were crew personal belongings including laptops, money, and mobile telephones. Ai Maru was placed on a south-easterly course at a speed of about 4.5 kt while the MGO was being taken.

An Ai Maru crew member notified its regional shipping company and information was relayed to the Regional Cooperation Agreement on Combating Piracy and Armed Robbery against Ships in Asia (ReCAAP) Information Sharing Centre (ISC) in Singapore.

According to the RSN, its Fearless-class patrol vessel RSS Gallant was deployed to the scene of incident at about 12:45 am on 15 June after receiving information from the ISC. Gallant was then joined by the RMN's Kedah (Meko 100 RMN)-class guided-missile corvette KD Terengganu .

"RSS Gallant provided position updates and continued to shadow the tanker. The presence of maritime security forces from the RSN and Royal Malaysian Navy in the vicinity of Ai Maru forced the perpetrators to abandon their attack and flee the scene," said the RSN. No injuries were reported.

ReCAAP's ISC said that Gallant and Terengganu were subsequently joined by two vessels from the Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency (MMEA) and two unnamed vessels from the Indonesian Navy. Ai Maru was then escorted by the MMEA towards Pengerang, Southern Peninsular Malaysia for investigations.

The MMEA Deputy Director General for Operations Datuk Mohd Puzi Abdul Kahar told reporters on 15 June that the agency was focusing its investigations on the time taken to siphon the MGO and whether the attack was an "inside job".

A 2012 ReCAAP report indicated that Ai Maru had been boarded on 5 June that year by armed men, approximately 30 n miles from Horsburgh Lighthouse in the South China Sea and not far from the location of the recent incident. According to ReCAAP, the original attempt to siphon MGO was foiled when the presence of authorities in the vicinity deterred the perpetrators.

According to ReCAAP's quarterly report, 2014 has seen an increase in piracy incidents in the Malacca and Singapore straits despite a global reduction in attacks. Between January and March 2014, eight incidents in the straits were reported, compared to five incidents across the whole of the region in 2013 and so far in 2014 combined.

"Not only are we seeing an increase in number, we are also seeing a trend of pirates being armed with firearms and targeting bigger vessels such as tankers," said Lee Yin Mui, ReCAAP's assistant director for research, during an interview with IHS Jane's on 25 April 2014.

Are you aware how many statements must write for firing even 1 round of ammunition?

And if catch them who going to answer?

Just call it a live firing training exercise. Authorized by the captain of the RSN Gallant at his own discretion. No need to write statement for exercise.

How did the PAP press reporter know that the pirates were 'scared off'?
If that was true, then the RSN must be in cahoots with the pirates.

All the reports were from marine publications, not Shit Times. I guess they are trying to give face to the Malaysian and SIngapore navies.

Yeah lor, they just park the ship near the pirated vessel, and watched world cup. after the game over, pirates run far away already.

escher

They did not just run away. They were "scared off" see? That's a big difference.

Oh im sure of faggot of a minister will praise them for "exercising restraint" like in the riot

Is the reason due to the absence of sea ambulances ?:confused:

IMAGES OF AMBULANCES AND POLICE SHITTING IN PANTS IN AMBULANCES KEPT COMING INTO MY MIND.
I am sure their spin doctors preparing loads of good reasons and not so good reasons and outright lies.
I think at the end, outright and half baked lies will win as lies spin off their lips so well.

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

PAP is finished.
The stinking glue and terror that hold PAP together is that old fart smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY. LKY is about to die in days or weeks.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP. Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.
None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.
They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS
WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN
WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.
AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.
https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en