• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Patient seeks private treatment due to long wait at public hospital

[h=2]Patient seeks private treatment due to long wait at public hospital[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
October 24th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Online Press

sgh.png
SGH

I am a caregiver to my mother, who was a subsidised patient in a restructured hospital, and agree with last Thursday’s letters by Dr David Ong (“Heavy patient load an obstacle to holistic care”) and Dr Leong Choon Kit (“How to reduce wait for specialist appointments”).
The waiting time for an appointment to see a doctor is at least six months, even for follow-up visits. But if one is a private patient, the waiting time is just one week.
When I took my mother to the hospital’s accident and emergency department because she developed post-operative complications, we had to wait for 14 hours to see a doctor, even though her leg was almost turning black.
During my mother’s hospitalisation, I did not even get to speak to the doctor who operated on my mother’s knee.
In the end, we sought private treatment.

Lee Kok Leong

* Letter first appeared in ST Forum (24 Oct).

soIsee

Lee Kok Leong can 'thank' Khaw for fucking up the medical system before he went on to fuck his HDB pigeon hole housing rigut now.

Seems like Kok Leong first get his parent fucked and then he get fucked later with his own housing and medical needs! lol

This issue has been debated again and again.

If you can afford to pay for private medical treatment, you are a lucky Singaporean. There is no need to wait .Money speaks ....

If your mother's leg is turning black and gangrenous and there is no medical help, you can go into the doctor's room and bash him up!!! Mr Wong Meng Meng will defend you.
You can also sue the doctor for not treating your mother earlier.

Writing such a letter to the press does nobody any good at all. You got the money, you are lucky.

I believe nobody in Singapore is denied any appropriate medical treatment simply because he cannot afford the medical feeds. Such a case should be investigated in details and see where is the fault and why was the patient not seen earlier.

I don't believe if a patient has a gangrenous leg, the doctors and hospitals would wait even for more than 24 hours to see the patient.

The letter is rather dubious and I think not all the details of the case were known to readers.

I am happy to note that the patient can afford private medical care. But this is no slap for our world class healthcare system.

I don't believe if a patient has a gangrenous leg, the doctors and hospitals would wait even for more than 24 hours to see the patient.

The letter is rather dubious and I think not all the details of the case were known to readers.

I am happy to note that the patient can afford private medical care. But this is no slap for our world class healthcare system.

There is not a single country in the world where the public system does not have long waiting lists. If the looney anti PAP brigade thinks that voting the PAP out in 2016 is going to solve this problem, they are even more stupid than I first thought.

hockbeng

[h=2]Patient seeks private treatment due to long wait at public hospital[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
October 24th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Online Press

sgh.png
SGH

I am a caregiver to my mother, who was a subsidised patient in a restructured hospital, and agree with last Thursday’s letters by Dr David Ong (“Heavy patient load an obstacle to holistic care”) and Dr Leong Choon Kit (“How to reduce wait for specialist appointments”).
The waiting time for an appointment to see a doctor is at least six months, even for follow-up visits. But if one is a private patient, the waiting time is just one week.
When I took my mother to the hospital’s accident and emergency department because she developed post-operative complications, we had to wait for 14 hours to see a doctor, even though her leg was almost turning black.
During my mother’s hospitalisation, I did not even get to speak to the doctor who operated on my mother’s knee.
In the end, we sought private treatment.

Lee Kok Leong

* Letter first appeared in ST Forum (24 Oct).

What if 10 patients with life threatening medical problems show up at the same time demanding immediate treatment?

The truth is most sporeans are under insured and view insurance as money wasted. They would rather channel all their savings into their property and buy the biggest they can afford. After that they will try for a car, and then holidays to exotic places and then fine dining.

When it comes to primary health care, everything above $30 if too expensive.

When a major medical problem hits, the Gov gets the blame.

hockbeng

There is not a single country in the world where the public system does not have long waiting lists. If the looney anti PAP brigade thinks that voting the PAP out in 2016 is going to solve this problem, they are even more stupid than I first thought.

Sporeans are rather stupid. Strange you thought otherwise.

I find it hard to believe some of the letters written to the press and the cases too. In my own personal experience, when I went to the AE, the treatment was one smooth breeze. No problems at all.

Why are there so many complaints. I really don't understand.

Our world class compassionate and health-conscious government have implemented many schemes to help Singaporeans who are in need of medical help. There are many schemes available and they should learn how to utilise such schemes. It's very sad some Singaporeans who can afford private medical care and who are rich and wealthy are abusing such schemes. They become demanding ,selfish and even abuse their privileges.

Some of these helpful medical schemes have turned many Singaporeans into Hypochondraics and they become a big nuisance and drain a lot of resources which are better used for the genuine sick and needy.

Singaporeans are lucky people to have such an enlightened government. They should count their blessings instead of complaining all the time. We should be eternally grateful to our wonderful government. We have the best civil governance in the world. The best!

I agree with you on this, any medical public system in the world not only have long but extremely long waiting list. Voting the PAP out in 2016, or 2015...will not solve the problem...reducing their percentage will. This will put spurs in their hides, be on their toes...& SERVE THE PEOPLE.

It is very simple, you have the money, you get the best, medical attention & facilities...you are a common average Joe, live life healthy, avoiding the common medical problems that will besiege us, Diabetes, High Blood Pressure..that leads to strokes & heart problems etc..

But people do not understand, they expect to be treated at the medical fascilities well, quickly & at the best at a fraction of a cost...their expectations are too much...no government can match that....but we can work towards getting a government to work hard FOR US, giving us medical facilities that are timely & at a cost that are affordable.

These means a change in the way we vote...we will get what we want...the best of what we will have...

I agree with you on this, any medical public system in the world not only have long but extremely long waiting list. Voting the PAP out in 2016, or 2015...will not solve the problem...reducing their percentage will. This will put spurs in their hides, be on their toes...& SERVE THE PEOPLE.

It is very simple, you have the money, you get the best, medical attention & facilities...you are a common average Joe, live life healthy, avoiding the common medical problems that will besiege us, Diabetes, High Blood Pressure..that leads to strokes & heart problems etc..

But people do not understand, they expect to be treated at the medical fascilities well, quickly & at the best at a fraction of a cost...their expectations are too much...no government can match that....but we can work towards getting a government to work hard FOR US, giving us medical facilities that are timely & at a cost that are affordable.

These means a change in the way we vote...we will get what we want...the best of what we will have...

Thank you Sir for a wonderful post. You are a very enlightened Singaporean. Yes, there are always room for improvement. Waiting time at OPDs and AEs should be reduced.More doctors and more nurses should be delegated to the healthcare centres. Waiting time to see specialists can be reduced. Medical cost should be kept affordable .Yes, I totally agree. We have much to do and many areas can be improved and I believe our compassionate health-conscious Government is doing that. Thank you Sir! Happy Morning Singapore!!!

They key to all this, is to keep cost at a level that is equitable not only to the health service provider, that is the government, but to the people who have no choice but to use them. This in not about those can afford seek private medical facilities...it is those who cannot, is the concern or those who can afford private medical facilities are abusing the public ones..& MOAN!!

There are always two sides to a coin...unless the coin have the same face on each side...we need to get oppositions to spur complacent people...& make people, whom we pay handsomely to work well for the interest of the citizens...

Nothing is perfect...but,we must get the best for what we pay for...realistically!!

They key to all this, is to keep cost at a level that is equitable not only to the health service provider, that is the government, but to the people who have no choice but to use them. This in not about those can afford seek private medical facilities...it is those who cannot, is the concern or those who can afford private medical facilities are abusing the public ones..& MOAN!!

There are always two sides to a coin...unless the coin have the same face on each side...we need to get oppositions to spur complacent people...& make people, whom we pay handsomely to work well for the interest of the citizens...

Nothing is perfect...but,we must get the best for what we pay for...realistically!!

Yes Sir! Another very enlightening observation and comment. Yes, I agree.

For the average Joe, I recommend cycling to work and back. In my cycling group, there are literally dozens of members who took up cycling because the doctors told them they were prime candidates for an early demise.

After a couple of years of bike commuting and recreational rides, every single one of them is healthier, has a lower cholesterol level, has kept type 2 diabetes at bay and has lowered blood pressure.

Mankind was not designed to commute in air con comfort. The health problems of today's world are caused primarily by lack of exercise.

It is also suspected that many cancers are caused by motor vehicle pollution. Instead of cursing cyclists, all Sinkies should be embracing the activity with a passion and leaving their cars at home as much as possible. By all means drive if you're traveling long distances. For a 20km trip to work, nothing beats cycling.

hockbeng

For the average Joe, I recommend cycling to work and back. In my cycling group, there are literally dozens of members who took up cycling because the doctors told them they were prime candidates for an early demise.

After a couple of years of bike commuting and recreational rides, every single one of them is healthier, has a lower cholesterol level, has kept type 2 diabetes at bay and has lowered blood pressure.

Mankind was not designed to commute in air con comfort. The health problems of today's world are caused primarily by lack of exercise.

It is also suspected that many cancers are caused by motor vehicle pollution. Instead of cursing cyclists. All Sinkies should be embracing the activity with a passion and leaving their cars at home as much as possible. By all means drive if you're traveling long distances. For a 20km trip to work, nothing beats cycling.

with seat or without seat?

Perhaps the question one should ask is

1) how many Drs are standby at A & E vs the Population?

2) And how many Drs are available at the A & E in each hospital? what if there is only 1 or 2?

3) How come the triage in Spore is so backward?

4) How many foreigners are at A & E?

Ok 1 suggestion, for A & E to be more efficient,,is there like a senior nurse etc that can assess the situation for each patient,,,this one has minor cuts and bruises, so go down the bottom of the list,,this one broken leg,,go up the list etc,,for minor cuts and bruises etc, surely the nurse can offer medical treatment. Like stitching etc.

To get more locals as Drs etc,,perhaps the gahmen should offer a system whereby nurses who are good,,be given the route to become qualified Drs,,like a specialised four year course after having 5 years nursing experience etc,,,

That is why limpei never bother with Subsidize medical treatment whatsoever.

Since 1993, I took charge of my own medical needs and took up an Enhanced Shield Plan to cover myself, in case in am hit with a large medical bill hit me.

why do they have cholesterol and diabetes problems in the first place? Because they eat meat.

bryanlim1972

the should have a team of GPs based at every A&E to handle the non-critical cases.

Perhaps the question one should ask is

1) how many Drs are standby at A & E vs the Population?

2) And how many Drs are available at the A & E in each hospital? what if there is only 1 or 2?

3) How come the triage in Spore is so backward?

4) How many foreigners are at A & E?

Ok 1 suggestion, for A & E to be more efficient,,is there like a senior nurse etc that can assess the situation for each patient,,,this one has minor cuts and bruises, so go down the bottom of the list,,this one broken leg,,go up the list etc,,for minor cuts and bruises etc, surely the nurse can offer medical treatment. Like stitching etc.

To get more locals as Drs etc,,perhaps the gahmen should offer a system whereby nurses who are good,,be given the route to become qualified Drs,,like a specialised four year course after having 5 years nursing experience etc,,,