• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pasar Malam traders in HDB are doing badly. And they are caught between greedy people

FuckSamLeong

I heard from an insider that although these traders know it's a losing proposition to set up stalls in these bad times, they are left with little choice, being at the mercy of the middleman who is connected to the RCs and town councils, who demands that they take up a stall at $4000 for a month's duration. If they don't, when the economic situation improves they will be left in the cold.

Looking at the forlorn faces of these traders in the middle of the thunderstorm, I can't help but think about the people who need not lift a finger but enjoying the warmth and comfort on the toil of others.

Learn from human history and the life experiences told. Be on the side of controlling politicians and their cronies.

theblackhole

Re: Pasar Malam traders in HDB are doing badly. And they are caught between greedy pe

today's pasar malam is pathetic...singaporeans are really dead and idealess...selling the same old useless things and all the make shift stalls selling nothing useful....it's an utter waste and a sore eye in fact..

why have singaporeans become so dead and sterile...pathetic.

Re: Pasar Malam traders in HDB are doing badly. And they are caught between greedy pe

Force? siao arrr i wont do it lor :rolleyes::rolleyes::biggrin::biggrin:

today's pasar malam is pathetic...singaporeans are really dead and idealess...selling the same old useless things and all the make shift stalls selling nothing useful....it's an utter waste and a sore eye in fact..

why have singaporeans become so dead and sterile...pathetic.

maybe because useless things are low cost when they buy in bulk ..and most singaporean love cheap things . :wink: . :wink:

dysentry

those hawkers can only blame themselves for selling stuff people aren't interested in.

20 DVD hawkers in Geylang all peddling the same porn, nobody bother to create a niche by selling a good spread of decent movies, which is what I'm looking to buy.

theblackhole

today's pasar malam vendors must be creative...we must produce something interesting and something unique...i go to pasar malam looking for good home-cooked delicacies...but now seems to be the same old thing for so many years..

used to have many home made nonya kuehs, mee siam and malay curry puffs of good quality. but now everything looks so stale and so no class at all..

where have all the creative singaporeans gone to?

Many are jobless. And hope by opening small stall can get some profit. Now many are regret spending last penny of saving to set up stall will items that can't sell. Some even worst borrow/loan money from friends and bank.
See how long pasar malam can survive in Red Dot. Me long time never buy anything from pasar malam.

FuckSamLeong

those hawkers can only blame themselves for selling stuff people aren't interested in.

20 DVD hawkers in Geylang all peddling the same porn, nobody bother to create a niche by selling a good spread of decent movies, which is what I'm looking to buy.

You got to be kidding. Even these traders know that people had turned to the internet. You must be talking about $8 pirated DVDS. These guys had been driven off by the high rentals demanded for space in front of HDB shops and enforcement action.

FuckSamLeong

today's pasar malam vendors must be creative...we must produce something interesting and something unique...i go to pasar malam looking for good home-cooked delicacies...but now seems to be the same old thing for so many years..

used to have many home made nonya kuehs, mee siam and malay curry puffs of good quality. but now everything looks so stale and so no class at all..

where have all the creative singaporeans gone to?

Agree with you to a point but where are the creative people to take up these stalls? Singaporeons? As you had proffered..Creative? What about the rental. Those bastards from the town councils are as heartless as Ah Longs!

dysentry

You got to be kidding. Even these traders know that people had turned to the internet. You must be talking about $8 pirated DVDS. These guys had been driven off by the high rentals demanded for space in front of HDB shops and enforcement action.

I'm talking about Geylang, not pasar malam. Porn is on the internet too. But nobody bother to sell movies, probably controlled by a syndicate there.

FuckSamLeong

Many are jobless. And hope by opening small stall can get some profit. Now many are regret spending last penny of saving to set up stall will items that can't sell. Some even worst borrow/loan money from friends and bank.
See how long pasar malam can survive in Red Dot. Me long time never buy anything from pasar malam.

Nothing of value and quality that I can't buy that's not available in existing HDB shops. What they do contribute is more difficulty in making my way back home.

FuckSamLeong

I'm talking about Geylang, not pasar malam. Porn is on the internet too. But nobody bother to sell movies, probably controlled by a syndicate there.

Then you have to check out what I had posted about porn sites in my other thread.

Blazars

I heard from an insider that although these traders know it's a losing proposition to set up stalls in these bad times, they are left with little choice, being at the mercy of the middleman who is connected to the RCs and town councils, who demands that they take up a stall at $4000 for a month's duration. If they don't, when the economic situation improves they will be left in the cold.

Looking at the forlorn faces of these traders in the middle of the thunderstorm, I can't help but think about the people who need not lift a finger but enjoying the warmth and comfort on the toil of others.

Does these stalls need to sign contract with the middleman? If not, they should jus go off. No point making loss everytime. Moreover, nobody knows if next year the economy is going up.
!&!!

FuckSamLeong

Does these stalls need to sign contract with the middleman? If not, they should jus go off. No point making loss everytime. Moreover, nobody knows if next year the economy is going up.
!&!!

What the insider told me is that there is a head honcho who liaises with the Town Councils (another good opportunity for kickbacks?). If the trader do not agree to take up a lot, when things look up economic wise, they will not be given a stall. And I was flabbergasted that the rental is $4K!

If the trader do not agree to take up a lot, when things look up economic wise, they will not be given a stall. And I was flabbergasted that the rental is $4K!

Silly Sporeans, when you give in to blackmail you end with people like LKY. So if not willing to vote opposition, or boycott these pasar malams then what can you expect. :confused:

dysentry

I think those who can't pay up simply don't pay up. Then it gets waived off. Few months later they come back with a relative. The town councils know they can't do much either, and waive this off easily.

FuckSamLeong

Silly Sporeans, when you give in to blackmail you end with people like LKY. So if not willing to vote opposition, or boycott these pasar malams then what can you expect. :confused:

There is a Hokkien saying of resignation that is very popular.

"Lu Bweh Joh! Bud Lan Eh Joh."

There is always another optimistic jerk to take up the mantle. Singapore Fucks!

cheebye

These stupidporeans should have invested their $ in malaysia. Come and see for yourself what is pasar malam in Malaysia!

S$4K? What the fuck?

No wonder stupidporeans love to be conned by PAP!

fuck the pap to hell.
Remember to vote for oppostiions!

FuckSamLeong

These stupidporeans should have invested their $ in malaysia. Come and see for yourself what is pasar malam in Malaysia!

S$4K? What the fuck?

No wonder stupidporeans love to be conned by PAP!

fuck the pap to hell.
Remember to vote for oppostiions!

That's my point too and I did not pick an issue out of thin air.:mad:

There is a Hokkien saying of resignation that is very popular.

"Lu Bweh Joh! Bud Lan Eh Joh."

There is always another optimistic jerk to take up the mantle. Singapore Fucks!

That's what the PAP must be thinking, but I'm waiting for the day when Sporeans are angry enough to push back. It's already happened in Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Taiwan,,,.

All regimes collapseeventually & I hope I live long enough to see change in Spore. :rolleyes: